DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2024 and 04/03/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “121” has been used to designate both the first assembly structure and the first long brushes. The reference character “122” has been used to designate both the first guide sleeve and the first short brushes.
The drawings are objected to because the air channel opening recited in claims 7 and 19, and the second support recited in claim 9 do not have reference characters.
Specification
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to PCT/CN2023/120488 is ineffective because the incorporation by reference was filed after the PCT date of 09/21/2023, which considered the filing date of the US application. As such, the incorporation by reference statement must be removed, as it introduces new matter by being filed after the filing date of the application.
See MPEP 608.01(p) I B: For the incorporation by reference to be effective as a proper safeguard, the incorporation by reference statement must be filed at the time of filing of the later-filed application. An incorporation by reference statement added after an application s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date and MPEP 1893.03(b): An international application designating the U.S. has two stages (international and national) with the filing date being the same in both stages. Often the date of entry into the national stage is confused with the filing date. It should be borne in mind that the filing date of the international stage application is also the filing date for the national stage application. Specifically, 35 U.S.C. 363 provides that an international application designating the United States shall have the effect, from its international filing date under Article 11 of the treaty, of a national application for patent regularly filed in the Patent and Trademark Office as well as:
PCT Article 11(3) - ...an international filing date shall have the effect of a regular national application in each designated State as of the international filing date, which date shall be considered to be the actual filing date in each designated State. The specification amendment filed on 11/13/2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the incorporation by reference to PCT/CN2023/120488.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 9, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 7 and 19, the phrase may be amended as “an air channel opening located at [[the]]a top of the first rolling brush”.
In claim 9, line 4, the phrase may be amended as “… being incompressible; or[[,]]”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 11-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang (CN 109953696A, cited on 11/13/2024 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses a cleaning module (fig. 1 and Tang English translation, p. 9:21-24, rotatable brush assembly 20), comprising:
a first rolling brush comprising a first brush member, the first brush member comprising first brushes configured to be rotatable in a first rotational direction to form a first brush outer end trajectory (Tang English translation, p. 8:21-9:4, 10:37-40 and fig. 3, a first brush 21 [corresponds to the recited first rolling brush] comprises a first brush member comprising first brushes 211. The first brush 21 rotates the same direction as a driving wheel 50 as a cleaning robot moves forward. Ends of the first brushes 211 form a first brush outer end trajectory); and
a second rolling brush arranged substantially side by side with the first rolling brush and comprising a second brush member, the second brush member comprising second brushes configured to be rotatable in a second rotational direction to form a second brush outer end trajectory (Tang English translation, p. 8:21-9:4, 10:37-40 and fig. 3, a second brush 22 [corresponds to the recited second rolling brush] comprises a second brush member comprising second brushes 221. The second brush 22 rotates in opposite direction to the rotating direction of the first brush 21. Ends of the second brushes 221 form a first brush outer end trajectory. The second brush 22 is arranged side by side with the first brush 21),
wherein the first brush outer end trajectory and the second brush outer end trajectory form an interfering region, and a distance between at least one of the first brushes and at least one of the second brushes is greater than zero when the at least one of the first brushes and the at least one of the second brushes rotate into the interfering region (the first and second brush outer end trajectories of the first and second brushes 211, 221 forms an interfering region. The first and second brushes 211, 221 overlap in the recited interfering region so that a distance between the brushes 211, 221 is greater than zero. See fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Tang discloses a cleaning device, comprising a cleaning module (fig. 1 and Tang English translation, p. 9:21-24, a machine body 10 of a cleaning robot comprises a rotatable brush assembly 20), wherein the cleaning module comprises:
a first rolling brush comprising a first brush member, the first brush member comprising first brushes configured to be rotatable in a first rotational direction to form a first brush outer end trajectory (Tang English translation, p. 8:21-9:4, 10:37-40 and fig. 3, a first brush 21 [corresponds to the recited first rolling brush] comprises a first brush member comprising first brushes 211. The first brush 21 rotates the same direction as a driving wheel 50 as a cleaning robot moves forward. Ends of the first brushes 211 form a first brush outer end trajectory); and
a second rolling brush arranged substantially side by side with the first rolling brush and comprising a second brush member, the second brush member comprising second brushes configured to be rotatable in a second rotational direction to form a second brush outer end trajectory (Tang English translation, p. 8:21-9:4, 10:37-40 and fig. 3, a second brush 22 [corresponds to the recited second rolling brush] comprises a second brush member comprising second brushes 221. The second brush 22 rotates in opposite direction to the rotating direction of the first brush 21. Ends of the second brushes 221 form a first brush outer end trajectory. The second brush 22 is arranged side by side with the first brush 21),
wherein the first brush outer end trajectory and the second brush outer end trajectory form an interfering region, and a distance between at least one of the first brushes and at least one of the second brushes is greater than zero when the at least one of the first brushes and the at least one of the second brushes rotate into the interfering region (the first and second brush outer end trajectories of the first and second brushes 211, 221 forms an interfering region. The first and second brushes 211, 221 overlap in the recited interfering region so that a distance between the brushes 211, 221 is greater than zero. See fig. 3).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Tang discloses the cleaning module (as to claim 2) and the cleaning device (as to claim 14) as in the rejections of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein the distance between the at least one of the first brushes and the at least one of the second brushes varies reciprocally within a preset range when the at least one of the first brushes and the at least one of the second brushes rotate into the interfering region (fig. 2, because the positions of the first brush 21 and the second brush 22 are set in the brush assembly 20, and lengths of the first brushes 211 and the second brushes 221 are set, the distance between the first and second brushes varies within a certain range [corresponds to the recited preset range] as the first and second brushes rotate into the recited interfering region).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Tang discloses the cleaning module (as to claim 7) and the cleaning device (as to claim 19) as in the rejections of claims 1 and 13 respectively, wherein the cleaning module further comprises: an air channel opening located at the top of the first rolling brush or the second rolling brush, wherein an unobstructed airflow channel exists between the air channel opening and the interfering region when the first rolling brush and the second rolling brush rotate (fig. 3 and Tang English translation, p. 9:21-35, a dust outlet 12 [corresponds to the recited air channel opening] is provided at a top of the second brush 21 such that an unobstructed airflow channel is formed between the dust outlet 12 and the recited interfering region).
Regarding claim 11, Tang discloses the cleaning module as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first rolling brush and the second rolling brush rotate in opposite directions, and the first brushes are not in contact with the second brushes when the first rolling brush and the second rolling brush rotate (Tang English translation, p. 10:1-4, the first brush 21 and the second brush 22 rotate in opposite directions; figs. 2-4 and Tang English translation, p. 11:29-31, the first brushes 211 and second brushes 221 are equally spaced on the first brush 21 and the second brush 22 respectively. The first brush 21 and the second brush 22 rotate at the same speed. The first and second brushes 211, 221 are not in contact with each other when the first brush 21 and the second brush 22 rotate as shown in figs. 2-4. They would not contact each other because the first brush 21 and the second brush 22 rotate in the same speed)
Regarding claim 12, Tang discloses the cleaning module as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first rolling brush and the second rolling brush are arranged one behind the other side by side in a direction of movement of the cleaning module (see figs. 1-4, the first brush 21 and the second brush 22 are arranged one behind the other side by side in a direction of movement of the rotatable brush assembly 20 [corresponds to the recited cleaning module]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, as applied to claims 2 and 14 above respectively.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Tang discloses the cleaning module (as to claim 3) and the cleaning device (as to claim 15) as in the rejections of claims 2 and 14 respectively, but does not disclose a maximum value of the preset range is equal to a distance between two adjacent ones of the first brushes or a distance between two adjacent ones of the second brushes.
Tang discloses the first brushes 211 and the second brushes 221 having the same lengths wherein the first and second brushes 211, 221 are equally spaced on the first brush 21 and the second brush 22 respectively. Then by adjusting a distance between a center of the first brush 21 and a center of the second brush 22, the recited maximum value of the preset range can be adjusted to be equal to the distance between two adjacent one of the first brushes 211 or the second brushes 221.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first brush and the second brush of Tang to provide a maximum value of the preset range as recited in order to brush up debris effectively between the two rolling brushes. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claims 4-6, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, as applied to claims 2 and 14 above respectively, in view of Doughty (US 2014/0259475, cited on 11/16/2024 IDS).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Tang discloses the cleaning module (as to claim 4) and the cleaning device (as to claim 16) as in the rejections of claims 2 and 14 respectively, but does not disclose the first brushes comprise first long brushes and first short brushes, the first long brushes and the first short brushes being alternately arranged at intervals; or the second brushes comprise second long brushes and second short brushes, the second long brushes and the second short brushes being alternately arranged at intervals.
Doughty teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the first brushes comprise first long brushes and first short brushes, the first long brushes and the first short brushes being alternately arranged at intervals; or the second brushes comprise second long brushes and second short brushes, the second long brushes and the second short brushes being alternately arranged at intervals (figs. 6, 10A and ¶ 0070, 0076, a first roller brush 310a comprises bristles 318 [correspond to the first long brushes] and vanes 340 [correspond to the recited first short brushes]. The bristles 318 and the vanes 340 are alternatively arranged at intervals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first brush of Tang to provide the first long brushes and the first short brushes as taught by Doughty. The vanes 340 prevent hair from wrapping about a brush core and keep the hair toward an outer portion of the brush core for easier removal and cleaning (Doughty ¶ 0076).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Tang as modified by Doughty teaches the cleaning module (as to claim 5) and the cleaning device (as to claim 17) as in the rejections of claims 4 and 16 respectively, wherein the interfering region is formed by the first long brush outer end trajectory and the second long brush outer end trajectory (Doughty fig. 6, the recited interfering region is formed by the bristles 318 of the first roller brush 310a and bristles 330 of a second roller brush 310b. The bristles 318, 330 are the recited long brushes forming the recited first and second long brush outer end trajectories respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the brushes of Tang as modified by Doughty to provide the interfering region formed by the first and second long brush outer end trajectories as taught by Doughty. The long brushes sweep a large surface area to clean, thus forming the interfering region by the long brushes enables brushing up more debris on the large area of a floor surface.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Tang as modified by Doughty teaches the cleaning module (as to claim 6) and the cleaning device (as to claim 18) as in the rejections of claims 4 and 16 respectively, but does not disclose a maximum value of the preset range is half of a distance between two adjacent ones of the first long brushes or of a distance between two adjacent ones of the second long brushes.
As discussed similarly in the rejections of claims 3 and 15 above, Tang discloses the first brushes 211 and the second brushes 221 having the same lengths wherein the first and second brushes 211, 221 are equally spaced on the first brush 21 and the second brush 22 respectively. Doughty discloses the equally spaced long brushes 318, 330 on the first and second roller brushes 310a, 310b respectively. Then by adjusting a distance between a center of the first brush 21 (or 310a) and a center of the second brush 22 (or 310b), the recited maximum value of the preset range can be adjusted to be half of a distance between two adjacent ones of the first long brushes 211 (or 318) or the second long brushes 221 (or 330).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first brush and the second brush of Tang as modified by Doughty to provide a maximum value of the preset range as recited in order to brush up debris effectively between the two rolling brushes. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above respectively, in view of Zhao (CN 217040011U, cited on 11/13/2024 IDS).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Tang discloses the cleaning module (as to claim 8) and the cleaning device (as to claim 20) as in the rejections of claims 1 and 13 respectively, but does not disclose the first brushes spirally extend in an axial direction of the first rolling brush; or the second brushes spirally extend in an axial direction of the second rolling brush.
Zhao teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the first brushes spirally extend in an axial direction of the first rolling brush; or the second brushes spirally extend in an axial direction of the second rolling brush (Zhao English translation, p. 8:22-26 and fig. 1, a brush strips 20 [corresponds to the recited first or second brushes] are extended spirally in an axial direction on a main body 10 of a rolling brush).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rolling brush of Tang to provide the spiral brushes as taught by Zhao. The dirt moves along the brush strip and led to a suction port so that the dirt between the brush strips can be cleaned in time (Zhao English translation, p. 8:22-26).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, as applied to claim 1, in view of Langer (DE 3247087C2).
Regarding claim 9, Tang discloses the cleaning module as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first rolling brush comprises a first support, the first support being provided with a supporting surface that supports the first brush member in a contact manner; or the second rolling brush comprises a second support, the second support being provided with a supporting surface that supports the second brush member in a contact manner (annotated Tang fig. 7 below, each of the first brush 21 and the second brush 22 is provided with a support having a supporting surface. Each supporting surface supports each brush member in a contact manner), but does not disclose at least a part of the supporting surface of the first support being incompressible, or at least a part of the supporting surface of the second support being incompressible.
Langer teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, at least a part of the supporting surface of the first support being incompressible, or at least a part of the supporting surface of the second support being incompressible (Langer English translation, p. 3:30 and fig. 1, a roller brush 10 comprises a plastic cap 13, which is equivalent to the recited first or second support having a supporting surface. The cap is made of plastic, thus at least a part of the recited supporting face is incompressible).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rolling brush of Tang to provide the at least partially incompressible supporting surface as taught by Langer so that the roller brush is securely positioned in a head of a cleaner. It would provide uniform cleaning capability when the cleaner moves on a surface with lots of debris.
Annotated Tang Fig. 7
Regarding claim 10, Tang discloses the cleaning module as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a supporting surface of the first rolling brush is incompressible; or a supporting surface of the second rolling brush is incompressible.
Langer teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a supporting surface of the first rolling brush is incompressible; or a supporting surface of the second rolling brush is incompressible (Langer English translation, p. 3:30 and fig. 1, a roller brush 10 comprises a plastic cap 13, which is equivalent to the recited first or second support having a supporting surface. The cap is made of plastic, thus the recited supporting face is incompressible).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rolling brush of Tang to provide the at least partially incompressible supporting surface as taught by Langer so that the roller brush is securely positioned in a head of a cleaner. It would provide uniform cleaning capability when the cleaner moves on a surface with lots of debris.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Geng et al. (CN 113854913A) discloses a cleaning machine comprising rolling brushes wherein each rolling brush comprises long teeth and short teeth arranged at intervals.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723