DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-37 are pending.
Drawings
2. The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
The drawings are objected to because FIG. 1-2 and 6 include text that is illegible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: Reciting the acronyms TBTT, RNR, and ML without including the meaning of the acronyms. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 27-30 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being disclosed by Lu et al., US 2023/0113355 hereafter Lu.
As for claim 27, Lu discloses:
A method comprising: transmitting, by an access point (AP) device supporting multi-link communication (Lu, FIG. 1, [0024] MLD 120 may be an AP MLD (such as a common AP MLD or NSTR non-AP MLD) operating on the NSTR link pair) a first notification message comprising AP unavailable information indicating one or more APs within the AP device being unavailable to a device supporting multi-link communication (Lu, FIG. 1, FIG. 5, [0024]-[0025], [0034], [0041], FIG. 7, 720, [0061], transmitting, as the first AP and via transceiver 626, the beacon frame or probe response frame on a link that is not the non-primary link to indicate that a second AP affiliated with apparatus 620 and operating on the non-primary link is unavailable, quiet or disabled.)
As for claim 28, Lu discloses:
associating, by the AP device supporting multi-link communication, with the device supporting multi-link communication for multi-link communication (Lu, [0033], [0057] processor 622 may receive, as the first AP via transceiver 626, an association request frame or re-association request frame on the primary link from a STA affiliated with apparatus 610 as a non-AP MLD and capable of operating on the NSTR link pair. Furthermore, processor 622 may transmit, as the first AP and via transceiver 626, an association response frame or re-association response frame on the primary link to the STA to establish a multi-link setup with the STA responsive to receiving the association request frame or re-association request frame).
As for claim 29, Lu discloses the AP unavailable information comprises channel available check (CAC) status related information indicating the one or more APs within the first AP device being in CAC state. (Lu, FIG. 4, FIG. 5, [0025] with respect to unavailability indication of a non-primary link among the at least two links, an AP (e.g., a reporting AP) affiliated with the AP MLD (e.g., NSTR AP MLD) and operating on a link that is not a non-primary link may indicate that the non-primary link is not available in reference to a Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) of the reporting AP or another AP that is affiliated with the same AP MLD and operating on the primary link (or the reporting AP if the reporting AP is operating on the primary link). It is understood that, as an AP is operating on the non-primary link, indicating the AP is not available is equivalent to indicating the non-primary link is not available.)
As for claim 30, Lu discloses:
closing, by the AP device supporting multi-link communication, a link of an AP to be unavailable within the AP device (Lu, [0058] In some implementations, a Quiet element carried in a per-STA profile sub-element corresponding to the second AP in the association response frame or re-association response frame may indicate that the one or more quiet intervals on the non-primary link have been scheduled (e.g., have started).); and in response to the AP becoming available, reopening by the AP device supporting multi-link communication, the link of the AP (Lu, FIG. 3, [0071]-[0072], [0057], [0033], Since the (Re-)Association Response frame may be transmitted by AP1 on the primary link after the quiet interval has started on the non-primary link, AP1 on the primary link may include the Quiet element in the Per-STA Profile corresponding to AP2 on the non-primary link in the (Re-)Association Response frame it transmits. The value of the Quiet Count field of the Quiet element carried in the (Re-)Association Response frame may be set to 128 to indicate that the quiet interval on the non-primary link started in the beacon interval that occurred 1 TTBT in the past on the primary link.)
As for claim 36, Lu discloses:
An access point (AP) device (Lu, FIG. 1, [0024] MLD 120 may be an AP MLD (such as a common AP MLD or NSTR non-AP MLD) operating on the NSTR link pair) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (FIG. 6, [0047] In some implementations, apparatus 610 may further include a memory 614 coupled to processor 612 and capable of being accessed by processor 612 and storing data therein. In some implementations, apparatus 620 may further include a memory 624 coupled to processor 622 and capable of being accessed by processor 622 and storing data therein.), cause the AP device at least to: transmit, to a device supporting multi-link communication (LU, FIG. 1, [0024], Transmit to a STA of multiple STAs affiliated with MLD 110 may function as a non-AP STA) affiliated with MLD 110 may function as a non-AP STA, and each STA of multiple STAs), a notification message comprising AP unavailable information indicating one or more APs within the AP device being unavailable (Lu, FIG. 1, FIG. 5, [0024]-[0025], [0034], [0041], FIG. 7, 720, [0061], transmitting, as the first AP and via transceiver 626, the beacon frame or probe response frame on a link that is not the non-primary link to indicate that a second AP affiliated with apparatus 620 and operating on the non-primary link is unavailable, quiet or disabled.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 18-21, 23-26, 31-35 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Zhou et al., US 2015/0245280 hereafter Zhou.
As for claim 18, Lu discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a device supporting multi-link communication, from a first access point (AP) device supporting multi-link communication, a first notification message comprising AP unavailable information indicating one or more APs within the first AP device being unavailable; (Lu, FIG. 1, [0024]-[0025], [0041] receive, by the STA, from an AP the Link Unavailability Parameters subfield in the TBTT Information field corresponding to the reported AP, in case that the reported AP (corresponding to a non-primary link) is scheduled to be or is not available or quiet or disabled, the reporting AP of an AP MLD may include the Link Unavailability Parameters subfield in the TBTT Information field corresponding to the reported AP in the RNR element in the Beacon frame(s) and/or Probe Response frame(s) transmitted by the reporting AP.) and
Lu discloses making, by the device supporting multi-link communication, association decision (Lu, [0033], a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD, which is capable of operating on the primary and non-primary links, may transmit a (Re-)Association Request frame to the AP (e.g., AP1) on the primary link, in order to perform multi-link setup. The multi-link setup may include both the primary link and the non-primary link. Since the (Re-)Association Response frame may be transmitted by AP1 on the primary link after the quiet interval has started on the non-primary link, AP1 on the primary link may include the Quiet element in the Per-STA Profile corresponding to AP2 on the non-primary link in the (Re-)Association Response frame it transmits.).
Lu does not explicitly disclose based on the AP unavailable information.
However, Zhou discloses making, by the device, association decision based on the AP unavailable information (Zhou, FIG. 8, “N”/NO at steps 810, 825, 840 [0126] If no OB AP 740 is available at decision block 810, scan 800 proceeds to decision block 825 and determines whether, or the available APs, if there is an LR AP 730. If there is more than one, then the STA 710 may associate with the best LR AP 730 at block 830. [0013], The moving STA may then, based on available APs and their characteristics selectively associate with an AP based on that priority.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu with making, by the device supporting multi-link communication, association decision with the first AP device based on the AP unavailable information as taught by Zhou to provide power savings and increased efficiency (Zhou, [0109]).
As for claim 19, Lu discloses the AP unavailable information comprises channel available check (CAC) status related information indicating the one or more APs within the first AP device being in CAC state. (Lu, FIG. 4, FIG. 5, [0025] with respect to unavailability indication of a non-primary link among the at least two links, an AP (e.g., a reporting AP) affiliated with the AP MLD (e.g., NSTR AP MLD) and operating on a link that is not a non-primary link may indicate that the non-primary link is not available in reference to a Target Beacon Transmission Time (TBTT) of the reporting AP or another AP that is affiliated with the same AP MLD and operating on the primary link (or the reporting AP if the reporting AP is operating on the primary link). It is understood that, as an AP is operating on the non-primary link, indicating the AP is not available is equivalent to indicating the non-primary link is not available.)
As for claim 20, Lu discloses the CAC status related information comprises an indication of at least one of APs within the first AP device being in CAC state and status information of each of the APs within the first AP device being in CAC state. (Lu, [0026] with respect to unavailability indication of a non-primary link, the IE may include at least one of a plurality of parameters corresponding to link unavailability/quiet indication. Such parameters may include, for example and without limitation, Count, Period, Duration, and Offset.)
As for claim 21, Lu discloses the status information comprises the CAC duration and CAC remaining time of the each of the APs within the first AP device being in CAC state. (Lu, FIG. 5, [0039], The parameter of Period may be set to a number of beacon intervals of the reporting AP between the start of regularly scheduled unavailability/quiet/disablement intervals. A value of 0 may indicate no periodic interval is defined. The parameter of Duration may be set to the duration or left time of the unavailability/quiet/disablement interval, expressed in TUs. The parameter of Offset may be set to an offset value of the unavailability/quiet/disablement interval from the TBTT specified by the Count field, expressed in TUs. The value of the unavailability/quiet/disablement interval may be less than one beacon interval of the reporting AP.)
As for claim 23, Lu discloses information associated to each of the APs within the first AP device being in CAC state are appended at the end of the RNR element (Lu, FIG. 4, FIG. 5, [0039] Under the proposed scheme, a Link Unavailability/Disable Parameters Subfield may be included in the TBTT Information field of a Neighbor AP Information field in the RNR element. [0040]-[0041]. The TBTT is at the end of the RNR element)
As for claim 24, Lu discloses receiving, from a second AP device supporting multi-link communication, a second notification message without the AP unavailable information (Lu, [0041], the reporting AP may not include the Link Unavailability Parameters subfield in the TBTT Information field corresponding to the reported AP in the RNR element.), wherein making association decision further comprises: making, by the device supporting multi-link communication, association decision between the first AP device and second AP device (Lu, [0033], a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD, which is capable of operating on the primary and non-primary links, may transmit a (Re-)Association Request frame to the AP (e.g., AP1) on the primary link, in order to perform multi-link setup. The multi-link setup may include both the primary link and the non-primary link. Since the (Re-)Association Response frame may be transmitted by AP1 on the primary link after the quiet interval has started on the non-primary link, AP1 on the primary link may include the Quiet element in the Per-STA Profile corresponding to AP2 on the non-primary link in the (Re-)Association Response frame it transmits.).
Lu does not explicitly disclose based on the AP unavailable information.
However, Zhou discloses wherein making association decision further comprises: making, by the device, association decision between the first AP device and second AP device based on the AP unavailable information (Zhou, FIG. 8, “N”/NO at steps 810, 825, 840 [0126] If no OB AP 740 is available at decision block 810, scan 800 proceeds to decision block 825 and determines whether, or the available APs, if there is an LR AP 730. If there is more than one, then the STA 710 may associate with the best LR AP 730 at block 830. [0013], The moving STA may then, based on available APs and their characteristics selectively associate with an AP based on that priority.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu with wherein making association decision further comprises: making, by the device, association decision between the first AP device and second AP device based on the AP unavailable information as taught by Zhou to provide power savings and increased efficiency (Zhou, [0109]).
As for claim 25, Zhou discloses the first AP device has a stronger signal strength than the second AP device; wherein making association decision further comprises: association, by the device supporting multi-link communication, with the second AP device for multi-link communication (Zhou, [0104], a moving STA 610 may utilize the information provided in a neighbor list from AP 620 to scan for other alternative APs when the signal strength is poor or falls below a threshold. [0113], These association priorities may be set, based on the received signal strength, ranges, coverage, bandwidth, throughput, or other pertinent capabilities or characteristics of the various available AP's related to link stability.); and in response to the one or more unavailable APs within the first AP device becoming available again, reassociating by the device supporting multi-link communication, with the first AP device for multi-link communication (Lu, FIG. 3, [0071]-[0072], [0057], [0033], Since the (Re-)Association Response frame may be transmitted by AP1 on the primary link after the quiet interval has started on the non-primary link, AP1 on the primary link may include the Quiet element in the Per-STA Profile corresponding to AP2 on the non-primary link in the (Re-)Association Response frame it transmits. The value of the Quiet Count field of the Quiet element carried in the (Re-)Association Response frame may be set to 128 to indicate that the quiet interval on the non-primary link started in the beacon interval that occurred 1 TTBT in the past on the primary link. Zhou, [0137] The first AP may use this information and update its neighbor list at block 1054, maintaining a record of the identity and capabilities of the available APs in the vicinity. The first AP may do this repeatedly for each additional AP encountered or may further remove information as the respective APs are no longer available. At block 1056, the first AP may transmit the contents of the neighbor list to a neighboring STA for use in the STA making association determination see [0104]-[0105])
As for claim 26, Lu discloses the method further comprises: rescheduling, by the device supporting multi-link communication, traffic on the link of a first AP to be unavailable to one or more other links of APs within the same first AP device (Lu, [0027] As a first example of implementation of the above-described proposed scheme, an NSTR AP MLD operating on an NSTR link pair (e.g., a 5 GHz primary link and a 6 GHz non-primary link) may have a first AP (e.g., AP1) and a second AP (e.g., AP2) affiliated with the NSTR AP MLD operating on the primary link (5 GHz) and the non-primary link (6 GHz), respectively. When AP2 is unavailable or is in a scheduled quiet interval or is disabled, AP1 may indicate that AP2 is not available in reference to a TBTT of AP1 (which is the reporting AP as well as the AP that operates on the primary link) using an Unavailability/Quiet IE carried in a Beacon frame and/or Probe Response frame transmitted by AP1 on the primary link. AP1 may include the Unavailability/Quiet IE in a Per-STA profile sub-element corresponding to AP2, which is carried in a Multi-Link element in the Beacon frame and/or Probe Response frame transmitted by AP1 AP2 may not include the Unavailability/Quiet IE in any frame it transmits on the non-primary link); and in response to the first AP becoming available again, scheduling by the device supporting multi-link communication, the traffic back on the link of the first AP (Lu, FIG. 3, [0071]-[0072], [0057], [0033], Since the (Re-)Association Response frame may be transmitted by AP1 on the primary link after the quiet interval has started on the non-primary link, AP1 on the primary link may include the Quiet element in the Per-STA Profile corresponding to AP2 on the non-primary link in the (Re-)Association Response frame it transmits. The value of the Quiet Count field of the Quiet element carried in the (Re-)Association Response frame may be set to 128 to indicate that the quiet interval on the non-primary link started in the beacon interval that occurred 1 TTBT in the past on the primary link. Zhou, [0137] The first AP may use this information and update its neighbor list at block 1054, maintaining a record of the identity and capabilities of the available APs in the vicinity. The first AP may do this repeatedly for each additional AP encountered or may further remove information as the respective APs are no longer available. At block 1056, the first AP may transmit the contents of the neighbor list to a neighboring STA for use in the STA making association determination see [0104]-[0105])
As for claim 31, Lu discloses:
A device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (FIG. 6, [0047] In some implementations, apparatus 610 may further include a memory 614 coupled to processor 612 and capable of being accessed by processor 612 and storing data therein. In some implementations, apparatus 620 may further include a memory 624 coupled to processor 622 and capable of being accessed by processor 622 and storing data therein.), cause the device at least to:
receive, from a first access point (AP) device supporting multi-link communication, a first notification message comprising AP unavailable information indicating one or more APs within the first AP device being unavailable; (Lu, FIG. 1, [0024]-[0025], [0041] receive from an AP the Link Unavailability Parameters subfield in the TBTT Information field corresponding to the reported AP, in case that the reported AP (corresponding to a non-primary link) is scheduled to be or is not available or quiet or disabled, the reporting AP of an AP MLD may include the Link Unavailability Parameters subfield in the TBTT Information field corresponding to the reported AP in the RNR element in the Beacon frame(s) and/or Probe Response frame(s) transmitted by the reporting AP.) and
Lu discloses make association decision with the first AP device (Lu, [0033], a STA affiliated with a non-AP MLD, which is capable of operating on the primary and non-primary links, may transmit a (Re-)Association Request frame to the AP (e.g., AP1) on the primary link, in order to perform multi-link setup. The multi-link setup may include both the primary link and the non-primary link. Since the (Re-)Association Response frame may be transmitted by AP1 on the primary link after the quiet interval has started on the non-primary link, AP1 on the primary link may include the Quiet element in the Per-STA Profile corresponding to AP2 on the non-primary link in the (Re-)Association Response frame it transmits.).
Lu does not explicitly disclose based on the AP unavailable information.
However, Zhou discloses make association decision with the first AP device based on the AP unavailable information (Zhou, FIG. 8, “N”/NO at steps 810, 825, 840 [0126] If no OB AP 740 is available at decision block 810, scan 800 proceeds to decision block 825 and determines whether, or the available APs, if there is an LR AP 730. If there is more than one, then the STA 710 may associate with the best LR AP 730 at block 830. [0013], The moving STA may then, based on available APs and their characteristics selectively associate with an AP based on that priority.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu with make association decision with the first AP device based on the AP unavailable information as taught by Zhou to provide power savings and increased efficiency (Zhou, [0109]).
Claim 32 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 24.
Claim 33 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 19.
Claim 34 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 20.
Claim 35 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 21.
Claim 37 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 31 and claim 36 above.
6. Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Zhou as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Adachi et al., US 2022/0110123 hereafter Adachi.
As for claim 22, Lu discloses the indication of at least one of APs within the first AP device being in CAC state is included in the TBTT Information field with a predefined value in the RNR element (Lu, FIG. 5, [0039] Under the proposed scheme, a Link Unavailability/Disable Parameters Subfield may be included in the TBTT Information field of a Neighbor AP Information field in the RNR element. The Link Unavailability/Disable Parameters Subfield may include parameters such as, for example and without limitation, Count, Period, Duration, and Offset. The parameter of Count may be set to a number of TBTTs of the reporting AP until the beacon interval during which the link is unavailable or quiet or disabled. [0040]-[0041]),
Lu does not explicitly disclose the status information of each of the APs within the first AP device being in CAC state is included in the CAC element of the ML element.
However, Adachi discloses the status information of each of the APs within the first AP device being in CAC state is included in the CAC element of the ML element (Adachi, FIG. 7, B7, [0135] In the second example, the AP MLD describes, in the bit B3 of the TBTT information Header field, multi-link (hereinafter, referred to as ML) information that is capable of identifying the AP reported by the Reduced Neighbor Report element is performing multi-link operation under the same AR MLD. The AD MLD sets the ML bit to “1” when the AP is used under the seine AP MLD, and sets the ML bit to “0” when the AP is not performing multi-link operation under the same AP MLD. [0136] When the ML bit of the Reduced Neighbor Report element is “1”, the STA MLD that receives the Beacon frame including the ML bit sets the wireless link notified by the Reduced Neighbor Report element as a candidate for the wireless link to be used in the multi-link operation with the AP MLD that transmits the Beacon frame. [0436] When the AP MLD has to detect non-STR link relationship, the AP MLD also has to detect the time. As a frame that notifies the information relating to the change or the new addition, a Link Change Indication Action frame to be newly defined can be used. In this Action frame, information may be notified by the ML element as illustrated in FIGS. 11 and 13 to 16. [0138]-[0139], [0145]-[0150]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Lu and Zhou with the status information of each of the APs within the first AP device being in CAC state is included in the CAC element of the ML element as taught by Adachi to provide increased communication efficiency (Adachi, [0198]).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Patil et al., US 2025/0317830 FIG. 8A, 802, 804, [0117] the process 800 may be performed by a wireless communication device operating as or within a STA, such as one of the STAs 104 and 604 described above with reference to FIGS. 1 and 6B [0118], receives a first packet from a second wireless communication device on a first communication link, the first packet including discovery information for at least the first communication link and a second communication link. Transmits an ML association request on the first communication link based at least in part on the discovery information.
JENEE HOLLAND
Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469