DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al (AU2021103763) in view of Kusakabe et al (US 5,929,351)
Cao et al teaches a method synthesizing a polycrystalline crystal of a radiation sensitive material used for radiation detectors and shielding, note entire reference. The method comprising the steps of providing constituent powders, note para 54. Then forming a single phase powder of the radiation sensitive material via solid-state thermochemical and/or thermomechanical reaction between constituent powders by heating and milling, para 55 and 56. Further, pressing the powder of the radiation sensitive material via Sintering Technology to form a pellet of the polycrystalline radiation sensitive material (Paras. 0055-0061). The mixed sintered body is prepared by heat-treating the above mixture in a pressure-controlled chamber. This mixed sintered body serves as the source of a film forming material. Next, a 300-600 µm thick film is formed by proximity sublimation method as the radiation conversion layer. The sole difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the use of Field Assisted Sintering Technology. However. The Kusakabe is in the field of thermoelectric materials (abstract) and teaches pressing the single phase powder via Field Assisted Sintering Technology (Col. 7 lines 1 - 18: single-phase powder of a compound of CoSb3 were obtained. The powder was preliminarily pressed into a compact in a desired shape, placed between a pair of graphite plugs provided for compression in a graphite cylinder of a spark plasma sintering field assisted sintering apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Cao et al process to include sintering methods as taught by Kusakabe in order to use sintering techniques that increase the electric conductivity of a sintered body (Kusakabe, Col. 2 lines 42 - 47).
With regards to claim 4, the Cao et al reference teaches a metal halide perovskite, note example 1.
With regards to claim 5, the Cao et al reference teaches a powders of CsBr and PbBr, note example 1.
With regards to claim 7, the Cao et al reference teaches ball milling, note examples.
With regards to claim 10, the Cao et al reference teaches pellet diameters of 3 inches, note examples.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al (AU2021103763) in view of Kusakabe et al (US 5,929,351)
The Cao et al and Kusakabe et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claim in the pre milling of CsBr. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable pre milling of the CsBr in the combined references in order to have both powders of the same size increasing the uniformity of the mixing.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al (AU2021103763) in view of Kusakabe et al (US 5,929,351)
The Cao et al and Kusakabe et al references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claims in the FAST parameters. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable FAST parameters of pressure and temperature in the combined references in order to create a uniform pellet of the CsPbBr compound.
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach nor render obvious the instantly claimed mixing of the powder with another material to create a matrix.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714