DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 11/14/2024. Claims 26-45 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2024 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26-28, 33 and 41-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mueller (US20200068412A1).
Regarding claim 26 Mueller discloses: A method performed by a radio node for radio resource management (RRM) in a radio access network (RAN) (Paras 0065-0068: “[0065] suitable configuration/controlling of base stations, switches and routers, etc. [0066] adaptation of scheduling tables, initiation of handovers, tracking transmission beams/received beams, adaptation of the modulation and coding methods and of other radio resource management functionalities [0067] proactive caching of data near the application (or on the terminal itself) if, for example, a disconnection is expected in the near future [0068] relocation of applications on the network side, for example, from one edge cloud environment to another proactively carrying out a data backup.”) , the method comprising: obtaining environmental information for the radio node, wherein the environmental information is indicative of a future state of one or more physical objects in an environment of the radio node (Para 004: “A method is provided for adapting or controlling a wireless communication system, for example, a 5G network or a WLAN network in surroundings, in particular, in controlled surroundings, i.e., surroundings with pieces of information available about essential elements of the surroundings or about the behavior of the surroundings as such. First pieces of information about actual or planned changes of the surroundings are ascertained and a future state of the first surroundings is predicted on the basis of the first pieces of information. An adaptation or adapted controlling of the wireless communication system then takes place as a function of the predicted future state. Specific examples for controlled surroundings are factories, process engineering plants, agricultural production facilities, etc.”), wherein propagation of radio waves in the environment depends on the one or more physical objects (Para 0006: “In this case, dynamic surroundings, i.e., surroundings which may result in a change of the properties (for example, of the transmission quality) of connections as a result of movements and changed locations of elements of the surroundings, such as production machines and processing machines, robots or partially automated vehicles and/or communication users, are particularly relevant. Here, a prediction may be made and the communication system may be suitably adapted using corresponding pieces of status information and pieces of planning information from the surroundings, in particular, from the elements of the surroundings and/or from the communication users or from their applications.”); and performing, or initiating performance of, RRM based on the future state of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node (Para 0006: “In this case, dynamic surroundings, i.e., surroundings which may result in a change of the properties (for example, of the transmission quality) of connections as a result of movements and changed locations of elements of the surroundings, such as production machines and processing machines, robots or partially automated vehicles and/or communication users, are particularly relevant. Here, a prediction may be made and the communication system may be suitably adapted using corresponding pieces of status information and pieces of planning information from the surroundings, in particular, from the elements of the surroundings and/or from the communication users or from their applications.”).
Claim 41 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 26, therefore claim 41 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 27 Mueller discloses all the limitations of claim 26. Mueller further teaches: wherein the environmental information is indicative of a current state of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node, and the current state is indicative of the future state of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node (Para 0006: “ In this case, dynamic surroundings, i.e., surroundings which may result in a change of the properties (for example, of the transmission quality) of connections as a result of movements and changed locations of elements of the surroundings, such as production machines and processing machines, robots or partially automated vehicles and/or communication users, are particularly relevant. Here, a prediction may be made and the communication system may be suitably adapted using corresponding pieces of status information and pieces of planning information from the surroundings, in particular, from the elements of the surroundings and/or from the communication users or from their applications.”).
Regarding claim 28 Mueller discloses all the limitations of claim 27. Mueller further teaches: wherein the environmental information is obtained based on or more of the following: measuring the current state of at least one of the one or more physical objects, and receiving measurements of the current state of at least one of the one or more physical objects from one or more other radio nodes (Para 0006: “ In this case, dynamic surroundings, i.e., surroundings which may result in a change of the properties (for example, of the transmission quality) of connections as a result of movements and changed locations of elements of the surroundings, such as production machines and processing machines, robots or partially automated vehicles and/or communication users, are particularly relevant. Here, a prediction may be made and the communication system may be suitably adapted using corresponding pieces of status information and pieces of planning information from the surroundings, in particular, from the elements of the surroundings and/or from the communication users or from their applications.”) .
Regarding claim 33 Mueller discloses all the limitations of claim 26. Mueller further teaches: wherein for each of the one or more physical objects, the future state of the physical object in the environment of the radio node includes one or more of the following: position, velocity, trajectory, size, shape, orientation, rotation, electromagnetic reflectivity, and electromagnetic absorption (Paras 0043-0045: “Mobile devices provide, for example, your instantaneous route planning (to where do I drive next and how, if necessary, including speed, etc.). [0044] Pieces of control information are supplied, from which, for example, it becomes apparent how a robot arm or a motion system is intended to move next. [0045] Pieces of status information about the device such as, for example, battery status, instantaneous connection quality, utilized capacity, etc. are supplied and conveyed. “) .
Claim 42 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 33, therefore claim 42 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US20200068412A1) in view of Kwan (US9432901B1).
Regarding claim 29 Mueller discloses all the limitations of claim 28. Mueller does not teach “the radio node and the one or more other radio nodes are network nodes of the RAN; and the one or more physical objects include respective radio devices served by the radio node or by one of the other radio nodes “.
However, Kwan in the analogous arts teaches: wherein: the radio node and the one or more other radio nodes are network nodes of the RAN (Figure 1, element 116); and the one or more physical objects include respective radio devices served by the radio node or by one of the other radio nodes (Example embodiments 20: “In various embodiments, UE 112a-112e can be associated with users, employees, clients, customers, etc. wishing to initiate a flow in communication system 100 via some network. The terms ‘user equipment’, ‘mobile node’, ‘end user’, ‘user’, and ‘subscriber’ are inclusive of devices used to initiate a communication, such as a computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop or electronic notebook, a cellular telephone, an i-Phone™, i-Pad™, a Google Droid™ phone, an IP phone, or any other device, component, element, or object capable of initiating voice, audio, video, media, or data exchanges within communication system 100. UE 112a-112e may also be inclusive of a suitable interface to a human user such as a microphone, a display, a keyboard, or other terminal equipment.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller with Kwan to incorporate the feature of: the radio node and the one or more other radio nodes are network nodes of the RAN; and the one or more physical objects include respective radio devices served by the radio node or by one of the other radio nodes. Mueller and Kwan are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the methods for radio frequency communication. However, Mueller fails to disclose a feature of radio nodes being network nodes of the RAN. This feature is disclosed by Kwan. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller with Kwan to incorporate the feature of: the radio node and the one or more other radio nodes are network nodes of the RAN; and the one or more physical objects include respective radio devices served by the radio node or by one of the other radio nodes as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 30 the combination of Mueller and Kwan discloses all the limitations of claim 28. Mueller further teaches: wherein: the radio node is a radio device wirelessly connected to a network node of the RAN (Figure 4); the one or more other radio nodes are other radio devices wirelessly connected to at least one of the following: the network node of the RAN, and the radio node (Figure 4); the one or more physical objects include the one or more other radio nodes (Description 115: “Turning to FIG. 4, FIG. 4 is a simplified block diagram illustrating an example radio access network use case for an example radio access network 416 that can be associated with one potential embodiment of communication system 100, which can provide a method for determining a maximum energy savings based on or more predicted load changes for one or more potential UE handovers within RAN 416. FIG. 4 includes RAN 416, which can include a number of radio access points, such as, for example small cell radios 414a-414c (e.g., HNBs and/or HeNBs), which may be part of a small cell deployment/small cell network, and a macro cell radio 418 (e.g., NodeB or NodeB), which may be part of a macro cell deployment/macro cell network. Also shown in FIG. 4 are a number of UE 112m-112w, which may have the same capabilities as UE 112a-112e as shown in FIG. 1, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure. Each small cell radio 414a-414c may serve a corresponding small cell coverage area, which is illustrated by the smaller dashed-line circle surrounding each small cell radio 414a-414c.”).
The reason for modifying Mueller with Kwan is the same as the one given in claim 29 above.
Regarding claim 31 Mueller discloses all the limitations of claim 26. Mueller does not teach “the radio node is a core node wirelessly connected to at least one network node of the RAN; the environmental information of the core node is obtained from at least one of the following: the at least one network node, and radio devices served by the at least one network node; and the one or more physical objects include respective radio devices served by the core node “.
However, Kwan in the analogous arts teaches: wherein: the radio node is a core node wirelessly connected to at least one network node of the RAN (Figure 4); the environmental information of the core node is obtained from at least one of the following: the at least one network node, and radio devices served by the at least one network node (Figure 4); and the one or more physical objects include respective radio devices served by the core node (Description 27: “In some embodiments, any of radio access points 114a-114c can be deployed as a macro cell radio such as, for example, an evolved Node B (eNodeB or eNB), which can provide cellular/mobile coverage for a 4G/LTE macro cell network, or a Node B (NodeB), which can provide cellular/mobile coverage for a 2G/3G macro cell network. In general, a NodeB is deployed in conjunction with a Radio Network Controller (RNC), which may provide radio control for the NodeB. In various embodiments, a given macro cell radio (e.g., any of 114a-114c) can be responsible for selecting a Mobility Management Entity (MME) or a serving General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) support node (SGSN) within service provider network 120 for session establishment for each UE served by the given macro cell radio, for managing radio resources for such UE, and making handover (HO) decisions for such UE, for example, handover (HO) to other radio access points (e.g., eNodeBs, HeNBs, and/or HNBs)”).
The reason for modifying Mueller with Kwan is the same as the one given in claim 30 above.
Regarding claim 32 Mueller discloses all the limitations of claim 26. Mueller does not teach “the environmental information is external to at least one the RAN and a core network (CN) coupled to the RAN; at least one of the one or more physical objects is not a radio device served by a RAN or the CN; the environmental information is obtained based on one or more of the following: receiving reports of the environmental information from radio devices served by the radio node “.
However, Kwan in the analogous arts teaches: the environmental information is external to at least one the RAN and a core network (CN) coupled to the RAN (Figure 1, element 118);at least one of the one or more physical objects is not a radio device served by a RAN or the CN (Description 20: “In various embodiments, UE 112a-112e can be associated with users, employees, clients, customers, etc. wishing to initiate a flow in communication system 100 via some network. The terms ‘user equipment’, ‘mobile node’, ‘end user’, ‘user’, and ‘subscriber’ are inclusive of devices used to initiate a communication, such as a computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop or electronic notebook, a cellular telephone, an i-Phone™, i-Pad™, a Google Droid™ phone, an IP phone, or any other device, component, element, or object capable of initiating voice, audio, video, media, or data exchanges within communication system 100. UE 112a-112e may also be inclusive of a suitable interface to a human user such as a microphone, a display, a keyboard, or other terminal equipment.”); the environmental information is obtained based on one or more of the following: receiving reports of the environmental information from radio devices served by the radio node (Description 22: “ In various embodiments, interfaces and/or a series of interfaces can be provided in communication system 100 (e.g., for elements of communication system 100), which can offer interoperation for mobility, policy control, power control, load control, interference mitigation or other operations between various elements of communication system 100. For example, interfaces can be used to exchange point of attachment, location, and/or access data for one or more end users, for example, users operating UE 112a-112e. In various embodiments, resource information, accounting information, location information, access network information, network address translation (NAT) control, etc. can be exchanged using a remote authentication dial in user service (RADIUS) protocol or any other suitable protocol where appropriate.”); and retrieving the environmental information from a database used for scheduling or controlling the motion of the one or more physical objects.
The reason for modifying Mueller with Kwan is the same as the one given in claim 29 above.
Claims 34-39 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US20200068412A1) in view of Zeb (Zeb et. al., Industry 5.0 is Coming: A Survey on Intelligent NextG Wireless Networks as Technological Enablers, 18 May 2022).
Regarding claim 34 Mueller discloses all the limitations of claim 26. Mueller does not teach “further comprising predicting the future state of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node based on the obtained environmental information, wherein the RRM is based on the predicted future state of the at least one of the one or more physical objects “.
However, Zeb in the analogous arts teaches: further comprising predicting the future state of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node based on the obtained environmental information Figure 16; Page 27: “Moreover, DT technology can be utilized as standalone services, forming a DT-as-a-service (DTaaS) paradigm to provide numerous digital services [210], such as visualization and insights, status monitoring, process optimization, automated control, fault prediction, remote control maintenance, etc. Likewise, DT capabilities can enable true mass customization and personalization in matrix productions to achieve sustainable goals of zero-defect manufacturing. The two phases, i.e., DT training and implementation, of autonomous DT creation together with the deep learning method has been illustrated in Fig. 16.”, wherein the RRM is based on the predicted future state of the at least one of the one or more physical objects (Page 14: “Fig. 8 shows the expected deployment and operation of controllers/orchestrators in various micro-domains, including Core, Transport, Edge (hosting the RAN’s cloud part), and Far Edge (consisting of radio units (RUs) and the fronthaul).Note that the E2E Orchestrators operate at a global network level (i.e., in core network deployments and service-related applications in private network deployments [147]) while Edge/Fog Orchestrators on the mobile edge level. Meanwhile, the Controllers introduce enhanced RAN versatility by shifting the network functionalities closer to the user; Non-Real-Time controllers for less time-critical network functionalities at a limited number of sites, and Real-Time Controllers for fasttimescale functionalities (e.g., radio resource and interference management) to meet QoS targets.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller with Zeb to incorporate the feature of: further comprising predicting the future state of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node based on the obtained environmental information, wherein the RRM is based on the predicted future state of the at least one of the one or more physical objects. Mueller and Zeb are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the methods for radio frequency communication. However, Mueller fails to disclose a feature of machine learning models for predicting the state of physical objects. This feature is disclosed by Zeb. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller with Zeb to incorporate the feature of: further comprising predicting the future state of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node based on the obtained environmental information, wherein the RRM is based on the predicted future state of the at least one of the one or more physical objects as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claim 43 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 34, therefore claim 43 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 35 the combination of Mueller and Zeb discloses all the limitations of claim 34. Mueller further teaches: wherein one or more of the following applies: the one or more physical objects include an automated guided vehicle (AGV) and the environmental information is obtained from the AGV (Para 0059: “More or less reliable predictions are possible in this case depending on availability and type of input data. If, for example, only camera images of a moving element of the surroundings (for example, of a machine, of a robot or of a vehicle) are available, it is possible with these to then estimate the speed and to extrapolate the movement, though the possibility of a sudden change in speed and/or direction still exists. Historical data may help in this case, if necessary. If, for example, the element of the surroundings turned right at a particular intersection in 90% of the cases in the past, it is quite likely that it will do this again. However, with the advantageous availability of a detailed route planning, a prediction is possible with even far greater reliability. “); and the obtained environmental information includes a schedule of a trajectory of the one or more physical objects, and the future state of the one or more physical objects is predicted based on the schedule (Para 0060: “In the industrial sector, for example, there is particularly great potential here when control programs are included in the prediction. A robot, for example, often already carries out cyclical activities and, to the extent these are known, this piece of information may be called upon for predicting and thus for adapting or optimizing the communication system overall. In the same way, it is usually permanently defined in the case of a machine tool how exactly the tool will move in order to produce a particular object. Such a piece of information may also be used for predicting and for adapting the communication system.”).
Claim 44 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 35, therefore claim 44 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 36 Mueller discloses all limitations of claim 34. Mueller does not teach “predicting the future state of the one or more physical objects is performed by a machine learning entity; and the machine learning entity is trained based on one or more of the following: the obtained environmental information for the radio node, and a digital twin (DT) of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node”.
However, Zeb in the analogous arts teaches: predicting the future state of the one or more physical objects is performed by a machine learning entity (Page 18: “In [64], authors emphasized the human-machine collaboration for the realization of Industry 5.0. The study considers sensor data interoperability, digital twins, virtual training, intelligent autonomous systems, and machine cognition to be the driving forces for human-machine collaboration. The study suggested that CI techniques are analogous to threads that connect the aforementioned driving forces in the context of Industry 5.0. Similarly, Maddikunta et al. [47] suggested that CI is one of the key enabling technologies for the realization of Industry 5.0. They suggested that CI can be used to bring sustainability and automation in applications such as smart additive manufacturing, predictive maintenance, hypercustomization, and cyberphysical cognitive systems.”); and the machine learning entity is trained based on one or more of the following: the obtained environmental information for the radio node, and a digital twin (DT) of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node (Figure 16).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller with Zeb to incorporate the feature of: predicting the future state of the one or more physical objects is performed by a machine learning entity; and the machine learning entity is trained based on one or more of the following: the obtained environmental information for the radio node, and a digital twin (DT) of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node. Mueller and Zeb are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the methods for radio frequency communication. However, Mueller fails to disclose a feature of machine learning models for predicting the state of physical objects. This feature is disclosed by Zeb. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller with Zeb to incorporate the feature of: predicting the future state of the one or more physical objects is performed by a machine learning entity; and the machine learning entity is trained based on one or more of the following: the obtained environmental information for the radio node, and a digital twin (DT) of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 37 the combination of Mueller and Zeb discloses all the limitations of claim of claim 34. Zeb further teaches: wherein predicting the future state of the one or more physical objects comprises, for each of the one or more physical objects, maintaining a digital twin (DT) representing the physical object and deriving the future state of the physical object from the DT representing the physical object (Page 27: “Moreover, DT technology can be utilized as standalone services, forming a DT-as-a-service (DTaaS) paradigm to provide numerous digital services [210], such as visualization and insights, status monitoring, process optimization, automated control, fault prediction, remote control maintenance, etc. Likewise, DT capabilities can enable true mass customization and personalization in matrix productions to achieve sustainable goals of zero-defect manufacturing. The two phases, i.e., DT training and implementation, of autonomous DT creation together with the deep learning method has been illustrated in Fig. 16.”).
Regarding claim 38 Mueller discloses all limitations of claim 26. Mueller does not teach “wherein the RRM is performed or initiated further based on at least one of the following: the obtained environmental information for the radio node; a digital twin (DT) representing the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node; and a predicted future state of the environment of the radio node, the predicted future state being predicted based on the obtained environmental information”.
However, Zeb in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the RRM is performed or initiated further based on at least one of the following: the obtained environmental information for the radio node; a digital twin (DT) representing the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node (Page 6: “Digital twin technology implementation enables the real-time cyber world through creating a virtual/digital images of counterpart physical assets, which can be devices, process, sensors, etc. DT technology realizes following critical two functional aspects.”); and a predicted future state of the environment of the radio node, the predicted future state being predicted based on the obtained environmental information (Figure 16; Page 27: “Moreover, DT technology can be utilized as standalone services, forming a DT-as-a-service (DTaaS) paradigm to provide numerous digital services [210], such as visualization and insights, status monitoring, process optimization, automated control, fault prediction, remote control maintenance, etc. Likewise, DT capabilities can enable true mass customization and personalization in matrix productions to achieve sustainable goals of zero-defect manufacturing. The two phases, i.e., DT training and implementation, of autonomous DT creation together with the deep learning method has been illustrated in Fig. 16.”).
Regarding claim 39 Mueller discloses all limitations of claim 26. Mueller does not teach wherein: the future state is a future state of a digital twin (DT) representing the one or more physical objects (Page 6: “Digital twin technology implementation enables the real-time cyber world through creating a virtual/digital images of counterpart physical assets, which can be devices, process, sensors, etc. DT technology realizes following critical two functional aspects.”); the method further comprises computing one or more of the following RRM parameters based on the future state of the DT and/or the environmental information: channel gain, signal gain, signal to noise and interference ratio (SINR), modulation and coding scheme (MCS), a link adaptation parameter, and a beamforming parameter; and the RRM is performed or initiated based on the computed one or more RRM parameters.
Claims 40 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US20200068412A1) in view of Egner (US9167591B2).
Regarding claim 40 Mueller discloses all limitations of claim 26. Mueller further teaches: wherein performing, or initiating performance of, RRM based on the future state of the one or more physical objects in the environment of the radio node comprises one or more of the following(Para 0004: First pieces of information about actual or planned changes of the surroundings are ascertained and a future state of the first surroundings is predicted on the basis of the first pieces of information. An adaptation or adapted controlling of the wireless communication system then takes place as a function of the predicted future state. Specific examples for controlled surroundings are factories, process engineering plants, agricultural production facilities, etc.”). Mueller does not teach “controlling a power of a radio transmission from the radio node“.
However, Egner in the analogous arts teaches: controlling a power of a radio transmission from the radio node (Description 41: “This data provides the context aware radio resource management system with an ability to manage the mobile information handling system power consumption when battery levels are low. The context aware radio resource management system may switch wireless protocols being when receiving a shut down recommendation.”); steering a beam of a radio transmission from the radio node and/or a radio reception at the radio node; handing over a radio device to another serving cell; allocating radio resources in a frequency domain and/or a time domain to a radio device (Description 44: “At method step 250, the context aware radio resource management system receives the user profile data 210, the wireless link radio frequency broadband traffic reports 220, and battery power level data 230. Alternatively, the energy link reports 240 may be received as a variation of the wireless link radio frequency broadband traffic reports 220. These inputs are assessed by the context aware radio resource management system software agent at 250. The context aware radio resource management system software agent determines the optimal radio frequency technology protocol and service provider to be used. “); adapting modulation and coding scheme (MCS) of at least one of a downlink and an uplink between the radio node and a radio device; selecting respective MCS for a plurality of radio devices served by the radio node; and computing beamforming weights for a plurality of radio devices served by the radio node.
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller with Egner to incorporate the feature of: controlling a power of a radio transmission from the radio node. Mueller and Egner are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the methods for radio frequency communication. However, Mueller fails to disclose a feature of machine learning models for predicting the state of physical objects. This feature is disclosed by Egner. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller with Egner to incorporate the feature of: controlling a power of a radio transmission from the radio node as such a feature would decrease power consumption and increase the efficiency of the system.
Claim 45 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 40, therefore claim 45 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
/BONGANI JABULANI MASHELE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648