DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH01244948 to Yoshimasa.
Regarding claim 1 Yoshimasa discloses an alignment system for use in coupling a work machine system, the work machine system comprising: a plurality of interchangeable trailer units (2b and 2b’); and a tractor unit (2a) for coupling to each of the trailer units to form a work machine, wherein the alignment system comprises: a storage area comprising a plurality of storage stations (see area 1 in figure 6 with trailers 2b and 2b’), each storage station being for receiving a trailer unit (see figure 6); a platform adjacent to the storage area for receiving and supporting the tractor unit (4 and figure 1), the platform comprising a support arrangement for supporting the tractor unit when received on the platform such that the tractor unit remains in an upright position (see figure 2 showing tractor 2a upright on floor of 4), the support arrangement comprising at least one mount against which the tractor unit rests or to which the tractor unit is coupled (floor of 4); and a platform transport system configured to convey the platform into alignment with each of the storage stations for aligning the tractor unit mounted on the platform with an adjacent trailer unit such that the tractor unit can be releasably coupled to the adjacent trailer unit (7 and movement of 9 to align 2a with either trailer).
Regarding claim 7 Yoshimasa discloses the plurality of interchangeable trailer units are for locating in the storage stations and the tractor unit is for location on the platform (see e.g., figures 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 11 Yoshimasa discloses a method of operating an apparatus comprising a work machine system and an alignment system, the work machine system comprising a tractor unit (2a) coupleable to a plurality of interchangeable trailer units (2b and 2b’) and the alignment system comprising a storage area and an adjacent platform moveable by a platform transport system (see figures 1 and 6 as well as discussion of claim 1 above), the platform comprising a support arrangement for supporting the tractor unit when received on the platform such that the tractor unit remains in an upright position (see figure 2 and discussion above), the support arrangement comprising at least one mount against which the tractor unit rests or to which the tractor unit is coupled (see figure 2a and discussion above), wherein the method comprises: operating a work machine of the work machine system comprising the tractor unit coupled to a first trailer unit of the plurality of trailer units so as to mount the tractor unit on the platform and locate the first trailer unit in the storage area (backing in one of trailers 2b or 2b’); decoupling the tractor unit from the first trailer unit (disconnecting 2a from trailer); operating the platform transport system to move the platform and tractor unit mounted thereon relative to the storage area until the tractor unit is aligned with a second trailer unit of the plurality of trailer units in the storage area; and coupling the tractor unit to the second trailer unit (see figure 5, moving 9 to align 2a with other trailer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 8-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimasa in view of US 12,162,544 to Clauer.
Regarding the claims Yoshimasa discloses all the limitations except the alignment system further comprises an alignment identification arrangement for identifying the alignment of the platform relative to each of the storage stations such that the tractor unit on the platform can be aligned for coupling with the trailer units in each storage station, an alignment identification arrangement for identifying the alignment of the tractor unit on the platform relative to each of the trailer units in the storage stations such that the tractor unit on the platform can be aligned for coupling with the trailer units, wherein the alignment identification arrangement comprises at least one sensor for identifying alignment between the tractor and trailer units, the tractor unit comprises the at least one sensor and the trailer unit comprises a trailer identifier, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect the trailer identifier so as to identify if the trailer unit is aligned for coupling with the tractor unit and the alignment identification arrangement comprises an alignment identification communication module for communicating alignment information from the at least one sensor to a platform communication module of a platform control system of the platform transport system, wherein the platform control system is configured to control an actuator arrangement of the platform transport system to move the platform based upon the alignment information.
Clauer teaches a system including an alignment identification arrangement for identifying the alignment of the platform relative to each of the storage stations such that the tractor unit on the platform can be aligned for coupling with the trailer units in each storage station (col. 2 lines 45-55 col. 5 lines 3-15), an alignment identification arrangement for identifying the alignment of the tractor unit on the platform relative to each of the trailer units in the storage stations such that the tractor unit on the platform can be aligned for coupling with the trailer units (col. 2 lines 45-55 col. 5 lines 3-15), wherein the alignment identification arrangement comprises at least one sensor (col. 5 lines 1-5) for identifying alignment between the tractor and trailer units, the tractor unit comprises the at least one sensor (col. 5 lines 1-5) and the trailer unit comprises a trailer identifier (kingpin 3 is identified by sensor on tractor), wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect the trailer identifier so as to identify if the trailer unit is aligned for coupling with the tractor unit and the alignment identification arrangement comprises (col. 2 lines 45-55 col. 5 lines 3-15) an alignment identification communication module for communicating alignment information from the at least one sensor to a platform communication module of a platform control system of the platform transport system, wherein the platform control system is configured to control an actuator arrangement of the platform transport system to move the platform based upon the alignment information (col. 2 lines 45-60, sensor data is used to drive vehicle in order to align the coupling for attachment) in order to automatically couple the trailer to the tractor and move it (col. 2 lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims to have modified Yoshimasa to include the alignment system further comprises an alignment identification arrangement for identifying the alignment of the platform relative to each of the storage stations such that the tractor unit on the platform can be aligned for coupling with the trailer units in each storage station, an alignment identification arrangement for identifying the alignment of the tractor unit on the platform relative to each of the trailer units in the storage stations such that the tractor unit on the platform can be aligned for coupling with the trailer units, wherein the alignment identification arrangement comprises at least one sensor for identifying alignment between the tractor and trailer units, the tractor unit comprises the at least one sensor and the trailer unit comprises a trailer identifier, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect the trailer identifier so as to identify if the trailer unit is aligned for coupling with the tractor unit and the alignment identification arrangement comprises an alignment identification communication module for communicating alignment information from the at least one sensor to a platform communication module of a platform control system of the platform transport system, wherein the platform control system is configured to control an actuator arrangement of the platform transport system to move the platform based upon the alignment information, as taught by Clauer, in order to automatically couple the trailer to the tractor and move it.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimasa in view of US 10,195,914 to Johnson.
Regarding the claims Yoshimasa discloses all the limitations except the platform comprises a holding arrangement for restraining movement of the tractor unit relative to the platform and the holding arrangement comprises a wheel receiving arrangement for receiving wheels of the tractor unit.
Johnson teaches an alignment system including a holding arrangement (102) for restraining movement of the tractor unit (10) relative to the platform and the holding arrangement comprises a wheel receiving arrangement (102) for receiving wheels of the tractor unit in order to guide the vehicle/tractor into a position where the trailer can be attached (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims to have modified Yoshimasa to include the platform comprises a holding arrangement for restraining movement of the tractor unit relative to the platform and the holding arrangement comprises a wheel receiving arrangement for receiving wheels of the tractor unit, as taught by Johnson, in order to guide the vehicle/tractor into a position where the trailer can be attached. Additionally, it is noted that wheel chocks/stops are well known for securing vehicles and ensuring a consistent positioning when such is desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the configuration of the tractor and/or its combination with the mount or support system such that the tractor is not independently balanced in an upright position differentiate the claims from the prior art when considered in combination with the other limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652