DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the preliminary amendment filed on 03/12/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The “random generator” in at least claim 3 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. The valves arranged within the water pipe walls between the sections, in at least claim 5 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. The “means of spectroscopy” in at least claim 9 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. The “a main pump and an auxiliary pump” in at least claim 13 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. The “auxiliary line” and “a valve is designed and arranged on the auxiliary line” in at least claim 14, must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. The ”piston” and “a volume change region” in at least claim 15 must be shown or canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains at least one of the phrases that can be implied, such as the phrase “the invention relates to”. The Abstract has more than one paragraph. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the preamble teaches “a method for detecting a water leak” but the method steps does not explicitly teach detecting the water leak. The method steps of “determining with the evaluation device the correlation” and “output the correlation” do not appear to directly teach water leak detection, as required by the preamble. The claim is incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps (see MPEP § 2172.01). The omitted step is the detection of the water leak.
The claim recites the method step of “output the correlation” but does not directly or implicitly teach the device for outputting the correlation. The claim is incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements (see MPEP § 2172.01). The omitted element is the device for outputting the correlation.
The claim recites “the course of the pressure fluctuation” without explaining how the “course of the pressure fluctuation” is determined from the step of applying “a pressure fluctuation to the cooling water. The claim does not appear to disclose a device for determining the course of the pressure fluctuation. The claim is incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements (see MPEP § 2172.01). The omitted element is the device for determining the course of the pressure fluctuation. Furthermore, the phrase “the course of the pressure fluctuation” lacks proper antecedent basis.
The claim recites “the course of the exhaust gas parameter” without explaining how the measured “at least one exhaust gas parameter” is related to “the course of an exhaust gas parameter”. The claim does not appear to disclose a device for determining the course of the exhaust gas parameter. The claim is incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements (see MPEP § 2172.01). The omitted element is the device for determining the course of the exhaust gas parameter Furthermore, the phrase “the course of the exhaust gas parameter” lacks proper antecedent basis.
The claim discloses “a pressure regulator” without describing the structural cooperation between the regulator and the furnace. The claim is incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections (see MPEP § 2172.01). The omitted structural cooperative relationship is the structural cooperation or connection between the pressure regulator and the furnace.
Further clarification is respectfully requested.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “a random generator is used to create an irregular sequence of pressure deviations” without disclosing the structural cooperation between the random generator and the furnace. The claim is incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections (see MPEP § 2172.01). The omitted structural cooperative relationship is the structural cooperation or connection between the random generator and the furnace.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites that “the measurement according to step b) is carried out by means of spectroscopy” without disclosing the structural cooperation between the means of spectroscopy and the furnace. The claim is incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections (see MPEP § 2172.01). The omitted structural cooperative relationship is the structural cooperation or connection between the means of spectroscopy and the furnace.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “a pressure regulator” without describing the structural cooperation between the regulator and the furnace. The claim is incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections (see MPEP § 2172.01). The omitted structural cooperative relationship is the structural cooperation or connection between the pressure regulator and the furnace.
Further clarification is respectfully requested.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites that “the auxiliary pump is designed to be controllable and/or adjustable in such a way that an additional volume flow generated by the auxillary pump produces the pressure fluctuation” without disclosing the device for controlling/adjusting/operating the auxiliary pump. The claim is incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements (see MPEP § 2172.01). The omitted element is the device for controlling/adjusting/operating the auxiliary pump.
Claims 2, 4-8, 10-11, and 14-15 are rejected as being dependent on the rejected base claim.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 12, the dependent claim 12 is directed to a device or an apparatus for carrying the method of the independent claim 1 without further defining or limiting the method steps of the independent method claim 1.
Claims 13-15 are rejected as being dependent on the rejected base claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abel et al. (Pat. No. US 10,563,922) (hereafter Abel).
Regarding claim 1, Abel teaches a method for detecting a water leak in a metallurgical melting furnace (1) by means of:
a metallurgical melting furnace (1), comprising a furnace vessel (2) (i.e., furnace 1) (see Fig. 1), the walls of which are composed at least partially of water pipe walls (5) through which cooling water (7) flows (i.e., a coolant supply unit 9 supplies the cooling device 2 with liquid coolant 20 in the form of water, which is guided through the cooling device 2 for the cooling thereof) (see Fig. 1), and an exhaust gas outlet (13) (i.e., gas removal line 3) (see Fig. 1), an exhaust gas measuring device (15) arranged in the exhaust gas flow direction (R) downstream of the exhaust gas outlet (13) for measuring at least one exhaust gas parameter (i.e., a measuring mechanism 6 for determining the stream of condensate obtained 10 and exhaust gas analyzer 25 is arranged between the partial stream removal line 3a and the condensing mechanism 5) (see Fig. 2 an 3), a pressure regulator (21) for adjusting the pressure of the cooling water (7) in the water pipe walls (5) (i.e., coolant supply unit 9) (see Fig. 2), and an evaluation device (23) connected to the exhaust gas measuring device (15) and the pressure regulator (21) (i.e., arithmetic logic unit 7 can optionally reduce the amount of coolant 20 supplied to the cooling device 2) (see Column 7, lines 22-31) for data transfer (i.e., arithmetic logic unit 7) (see Fig. 2), comprising the following steps:
a) applying with the pressure regulator (21) a pressure fluctuation to the cooling water (7) (i.e., it is possible to make a selective change to the coolant volumetric flow rate in the case of the suspected presence of a leakage) (see Column 8, lines 21-30), wherein a pressure fluctuation is a sequence of time-limited pressure deviations from an average pressure (i.e., a change in the coolant volumetric flow rate) (see Column 8, lines 21-30),
b) measuring with the exhaust gas measuring device (15) the course of an exhaust gas parameter (i.e., exhaust gas analyzer 25 is arranged between the partial stream removal line 3a and the condensing mechanism 5 and is used, for example, to determine the carbon dioxide content, the carbon monoxide content, the hydrogen content, the oxygen content, nitrogen oxide content etc. of the partial stream 30a of the stream of exhaust gas 30) (see Column 8, lines 31-47),
c) determining with the evaluation device (23) the correlation of the course of the pressure fluctuation of the cooling water (7) (i.e., measured values for the atmospheric moisture and/or the cooling medium feed stream onto the electrodes 4 are sent to the arithmetic logic unit 7) (see Column 7, line 64, to Column 8, line 3) with the course of the exhaust gas parameter (i.e., detection of the coolant volumetric flow rate by the cooling device 2 and its transmission to the arithmetic logic unit 7, it is possible to use a change in the coolant volumetric flow rate to draw immediate conclusions regarding the change in the measured stream of condensate KS and hence the size of the leakage) (see Column 8, lines 21-30), and
d) outputting (i.e., the value for the stream of condensate (KS) 10 is above the condensate-stream limit value (KSG), i.e. KS>KSG, it is assumed that there is a leakage in the cooling device 2 and the signal is sent to the display unit 8, which emits an optical and/or acoustic warning signal to indicate the leakage) (see Column 6, line 65, to Column 7, line 12) of the correlation with the evaluation device (23) (i.e., If, following an increase or decrease of the coolant volumetric flow rate, an increase or decrease of the stream of condensate is also measured, the change established in the stream of condensate can be used as here as the basis for drawing direct conclusions regarding the size of a leakage present) (see Column 4, lines 53-60).
Regarding claim 2, Abel teaches that the pressure fluctuation applied according to step a) follows a predetermined, irregular pattern (i.e., it is possible to make a selective change to the coolant volumetric flow rate in the case of the suspected presence of a leakage) (see Column 8, lines 21-30).
Regarding claim 4, Abel teaches that cooling water (7) flows within the water pipe walls (5) at least through two different sections which are subjected to different pressure fluctuations according to step a) (i.e., via lines 20 and 20’) (see Fig. 1), and wherein a correlation according to step c) is performed for each of the sections (i.e., If, following an increase or decrease of the coolant volumetric flow rate, an increase or decrease of the stream of condensate is also measured, the change established in the stream of condensate can be used as here as the basis for drawing direct conclusions regarding the size of a leakage present) (see Column 4, lines 53-60).
Regarding claim 6, Abel teaches that the exhaust gas parameter measured in step b) is the gas velocity and/or the water content (i.e., exhaust gas analyzer 25 is arranged between the partial stream removal line 3a and the condensing mechanism 5 and is used, for example, to determine the carbon dioxide content, the carbon monoxide content, the hydrogen content, the oxygen content, nitrogen oxide content etc. of the partial stream 30a of the stream of exhaust gas 30) (see Column 8, lines 31-47) and/or the water quantity.
Regarding claim 7, Abel teaches that the pressure fluctuation in step a) is non-periodic (i.e., it is possible to make a selective change to the coolant volumetric flow rate in the case of the suspected presence of a leakage) (see Column 8, lines 21-30).
Regarding claim 8, Abel teaches that the correlation according to step c) is a cross-correlation (i.e., If, following an increase or decrease of the coolant volumetric flow rate, an increase or decrease of the stream of condensate is also measured, the change established in the stream of condensate can be used as here as the basis for drawing direct conclusions regarding the size of a leakage present) (see Column 4, lines 53-60).
Regarding claim 11, Abel teaches that the metallurgical melting furnace (1) is constructed as an arc furnace (1) (i.e., an electric arc furnace 1) (see Fig. 1) with electrodes (9) as a heating device (8) (i.e., electrodes 4) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Abel teaches a device for carrying out the method according to claim 1, the device comprising a metallurgical melting furnace (1) comprising a furnace vessel (2) (i.e., furnace vessel 1b) (see Fig. 1), the walls of which consist at least partially of water pipe walls (5) through which cooling water (7) flows, and an exhaust gas outlet (13) and an exhaust gas measuring device (15) arranged in the exhaust gas flow direction (R) downstream of the exhaust gas outlet (13) for measuring at least one exhaust gas parameter according to step b), a pressure regulator (21) for imparting on the pressure of the cooling water (7) a pressure fluctuation according to step a), and an evaluation device (23) connected to the pressure regulator (21) and to the exhaust gas measuring device (15) for carrying out the correlation according to step c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abel et al. (Pat. No. US 10,563,922) (hereafter Abel)
Regarding claim 4, Abel as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach a random generator is used to create an irregular sequence of pressure deviations (25). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a random generator or selected the optimal pressurization for leak determination. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II-A).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abel et al. (Pat. No. US 10,563,922) (hereafter Abel) in view of Valentas et al. (Pat. No. US 7,832,367) (hereafter Valentas).
Regarding claim 5, Abel as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that valves are arranged within the water pipe walls (5) between the sections. However, Valentas teaches that valves are arranged within the water pipe walls between the sections (i.e., valves 44a and 44b) (see Fig. 3). In view of the teaching of Valentas, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an auxiliary line and associated control valves in order to provide countermeasures in the event of a leak.
Regarding claim 14, Abel as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the pressure regulator (21) has an auxiliary line connected to the water pipe walls, wherein a valve is designed and arranged on the auxiliary line such that the flow through this auxiliary line can be controlled and/or regulated by the valve. However, Valentas teaches that pressure regulator has an auxiliary line connected to the water pipe walls (i.e., coolant conduit inlets 32a and 32b) (see Fig. 3), wherein a valve is designed and arranged on the auxiliary line such that the flow through this auxiliary line can be controlled and/or regulated by the valve (i.e., valves 44a and 44b) (see Fig. 3). In view of the teaching of Valentas, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an auxiliary line and associated control valves in order to provide countermeasures in the event of a leak.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abel et al. (Pat. No. US 10,563,922) (hereafter Abel) in view of Watanabe et al. (Pat. No. US 12,553,859) (hereafter Watanabe)
Regarding claim 13, Abel as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the pressure regulator has a main pump and an auxiliary pump, wherein the auxiliary pump is designed to be controllable and/or adjustable in such a way that an additional volume flow generated by the auxiliary pump produces the pressure fluctuation. However, Watanabe teaches a main pump (i.e., main pump cell 21) (see Fig. 1) and an auxiliary pump (i.e., auxiliary pump cell 50) (see Fig. 1), wherein the auxiliary pump is designed to be controllable and/or adjustable in such a way that an additional volume flow generated by the auxiliary pump produces the pressure fluctuation (i.e., by operating the main pump cell 21 and the auxiliary pump cell 50 in this manner, the gradient of the oxygen partial pressure in the measurement-object gas introduced into the second internal cavity 40 from the third diffusion-rate limiting part 30 is controlled to remain constant. In using as a NOx sensor, the oxygen concentration in the second internal cavity 40 is kept at a predetermined concentration by the actions of the main pump cell 21 and the auxiliary pump cell 50) (see Column 11, line 6, to Column 13, line 10). In view of the teaching of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an auxiliary pump in order to further adjust the flow rate at lower power cost.
Claims 9-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abel et al. (Pat. No. US 10,563,922) (hereafter Abel) in view of Cormier et al. (Pat. No. US 8,288,727) (hereafter Cormier)
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Abel as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the measurement according to step b) is carried out by means of spectroscopy (claim 9);
wherein the measurement is a laser-based emission measurement or a laser-based absorption measurement (claim 10).
Regarding the spectroscopy, Cormier teaches that the measurement according to step b) is carried out by means of spectroscopy (i.e., an ultra-sensitive cavity-enhanced spectrometer) (see Abtract) (claim 9);
wherein the measurement is a laser-based emission measurement or a laser-based absorption measurement (i.e., the absorption cross-section for each absorbing analyte at each laser frequency provides sufficient information to obtain accurate quantification of the analytes of interest) (see Column 11, lines 10-25) (claim 10). In view of the teaching of Cormier, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a spectrometer, as the gas analyzer, in order to improve the accuracy of complex mixture gas analysis.
Regarding claim 15, Abel as disclosed above does not directly or implicitly teach that the pressure regulator (21) has a volume change region on which a piston is designed and arranged such that a volume change generated by the movement of the piston influences the pressure in the water pipe walls. However, Cormier teaches that the pressure regulator has a volume change region on which a piston is designed and arranged such that a volume change generated by the movement of the piston influences the pressure in the water pipe walls (i.e., the pressure of the gas mixture inside the collection chamber is adjusted by using piston 106 which is connected to piston chamber 105. If piston 106 is freely-moving and has negligible friction, then it moves until the pressure inside the collection chamber equals the ambient air pressure outside the apparatus) (see Column 7, lines 1-21). In view of the teaching of Cormier, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the piston in order to optimize the measurement sensitivity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892
/Tran M. Tran/Examiner, Art Unit 2855