DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 10-13 and 17-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-10, 12-13, and 15-16, respectively, of copending Application No. 18/866,207 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because though not verbatim, they claim the same invention as claims 9-10, 12-13, and 15-16 of the above copending Application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 10 be found allowable, claim 18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170324294 A1 to Schulz et al.
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Schulz et al. discloses a component comprising:
an annular lamination stack (Fig. 5: 100) with a plurality of radially arranged slots (110); and
a wave winding with at least a first continuous conductor (Fig. 7: A-D) and a second continuous conductor (E-H) which are each guided in a plurality of revolutions through adjacent slots (110) and which are connected in parallel or in series and form a composite conductor [0057],
wherein the composite conductor has a slot jump in which the first continuous conductor (A-D) and the second continuous conductor (E-H), respectively, span an equal number of slots (120) and in which there is a layer change, and the composite conductor has at least one slot jump change in which the first continuous conductor and the second continuous conductor span different numbers of slots (121) such that an arrangement of the first continuous conductor and the second continuous conductor relative to one another is swapped after the slot jump change (slots 1, 2, 13, 14),
wherein there is at least one slot jump change within every revolution of the composite conductor (slots 1, 2, 13, 14).
Regarding claim 13, Schulz et al. discloses the slot jump changes are arranged radially adjacent to one another at the lamination stack (Fig. 7: slots 1, 2, 13, 14).
Regarding claim 17, Schulz et al. discloses the wave winding has a plurality of phases comprising one or more composite conductors in each instance [0040].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170324294 A1 to Schulz et al. in view of JP 2016127639 A to Yoshihisa.
Regarding claims 11-12, Schulz et al. discloses a component as described above.
However, it fails to disclose the limitations from claims 11-12.
Yoshihisa teaches:
the first continuous conductor and the second continuous conductor, respectively, comprise a curved winding head having an S- shaped twist at its apex (Fig. 5: 48).
the curved winding heads of the first continuous conductor and second continuous conductor are arranged parallel to one another in a slot jump (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the curved winding heads as disclosed by Yoshihisa to the component disclosed by Schulz et al.
One would have been motivated to do so to reduce current loss.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VIET P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834