Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an optical system in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-8, & 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ilchenko et al (PGPub 2021/0270669)(Ilchenko).
Regarding Claims 1 & 15, Ilchenko discloses a Raman or photoluminescence or fluorescence spectrometry apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
a light source (11) adapted to generate an excitation light beam (13) incident on a sample (15);
an optical system (21, 23, 49) to collect and direct a light beam (25) emitted by the sample towards an input (51) of a spectrometer (31);
the spectrometer (31) comprising at least one diffraction grating (55) and a detection system (29);
wherein the apparatus comprises a polarization splitter and modifier optical device comprising a polarization splitter (45, 47) and a compensator (41, 43),
the optical device being located on a path of the emitted light beam (25, 35, 37) out of the path of the excitation light beam (13) (See fig. 1);
the optical device being configured and oriented to split the emitted light beam incident on the diffraction grating (55) into a first part (35a, 37a) of the emitted light beam polarized according to a first polarization state and a second part (35b, 37b) of the emitted light beam polarized according to a second polarization state;
the second polarization state being orthogonal to the first polarization state (Paragraph 61);
said first (37a) and second (37b) polarization states being chosen among polarization states having a component S1 of their Stokes vector less than or equal to 0.2 in absolute value; and
the detection system (29) being adapted to receive, on a first detection area (59);
a spectrum of the first part of the emitted light beam polarized according to the first polarization state and simultaneously, on a second detection area, a spectrum of the second part of the emitted light beam polarized according to the second polarization state, the first area and the second area being separated along a direction transverse to a direction of spectral diffraction on the detection system (Paragraph 64 & 65).
The method of claim 15 is also met by the disclosure.
Regarding Claim 2, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned. Further, Ilchenko discloses wherein the polarization splitter (45, 47) is located on the path of the emitted light beam downstream from the compensator (41, 43, See fig. 1).
Regarding Claims 4, 6, & 16-19, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned. Further, Ilchenko discloses wherein the polarization splitter (45, 47) is adapted to laterally split the emitted light beam (35a, 35b, 37a, 37b) to form the first part (35a, 37a) of the emitted light beam and, respectively, the second part (35b 37b) of the emitted light beam. Laterally splitting a beam is a function of the Wollaston prisms.
Regarding Claim 7, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned. Further, Ilchenko discloses wherein the polarization splitter (45, 47) comprises a Wollaston prism, a Rochon prism or a Nomarski prism (Paragraph 61).
Regarding Claims 8 & 20, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned. Further, Ilchenko discloses wherein the compensator comprises a half-wave plate oriented so that said first polarization state is linear inclined at -45 degrees relative to the diffraction grating lines and the second linear polarization state inclined at +45 degrees relative to the diffraction grating lines, or wherein the compensator comprises a quarter-wave plate oriented so that said first polarization state is right-hand circular and the second polarisation state is left-hand circular (Paragraph 34) or wherein the compensator comprises a Fresnel rhombohedron.
Regarding Claim 12, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned. Further, Ilchenko discloses an optical retarder (69, Fig. 2) placed on a path that is common to the emitted light beam (61) and the excitation light beam, the optical retarder having an optical retardance and being oriented so as to adjust at least one polarization state of the excitation light beam incident on the sample (Paragraph 68).
Regarding Claim 13, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned. Further, Ilchenko discloses wherein the optical retarder (69) comprises a quarter-wave plate, a half-wave plate, a Fresnel rhombohedron, a birefringent plate having an adjustable retardance or a pixelated optical retarder having a spatially adjustable retardance (Paragraph 68).
Regarding Claim 14, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned. Further, Ilchenko discloses a calculator adapted to calculate a degree of polarization as a function of the spectrum of the first part of the emitted light beam polarized according to the first polarization state and of the spectrum of the second part of the emitted light beam polarized according to the second polarization state (Paragraph 34). Recovering information about depolarization of vibrational peaks from measured spectra would meet this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 10, & 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilchenko.
Regarding Claim 3, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned. Further, Ilchenko disclose the compensator (43) has a Mueller matrix having an element M1,1 less than 0.2 in absolute value over a spectral range of detection. An ideal QWP meets this limitation;
Ilchenko fails to explicitly disclose wherein the polarization splitter is located on the path of the emitted light beam upstream from the compensator;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ilchenko with wherein the polarization splitter is located on the path of the emitted light beam upstream from the compensator because this is a trivial change, generally rearrangement of optics is commonplace where the rearrangement would not effect the functioning of the device, thus one would switch the order of the splitter and compensator because it’s obvious to try and would not significantly change the outcome of the optics.
Regarding Claim 5, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the polarization splitter comprises a birefringent plate or a Savart plate;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ilchenko with wherein the polarization splitter comprises a birefringent plate or a Savart plate because these are functionally equivalent to the disclosed Wollaston prism and would be chosen based upon cost and availability of parts.
Regarding Claim 10, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the polarization splitter and modifier optical device is located in the spectrometer between the spectrometer input and the at least one diffraction grating, or wherein the polarization splitter and modifier optical device is located in a converging part of the emitted light beam upstream from the spectrometer input wherein the polarization splitter is located in a collimated part of the emitted light beam upstream from the spectrometer input and wherein the compensator is located downstream from the polarization splitter, the compensator being located between the last optical component liable to modify the polarization of the emitted light beam on the collimated path and the diffraction grating;
However, the examiner takes official notice that any one of these combinations would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ilchenko with wherein the polarization splitter and modifier optical device is located in the spectrometer between the spectrometer input and the at least one diffraction grating, or wherein the polarization splitter and modifier optical device is located in a converging part of the emitted light beam upstream from the spectrometer input wherein the polarization splitter is located in a collimated part of the emitted light beam upstream from the spectrometer input and wherein the compensator is located downstream from the polarization splitter, the compensator being located between the last optical component liable to modify the polarization of the emitted light beam on the collimated path and the diffraction grating because this is a functionally equivalent change, generally rearrangement of optics and collimating or focusing of light to adjust for the changes is commonplace where the rearrangement would not affect the functioning of the device, thus one would chose any of these arrangements because it’s obvious to try and would not significantly change the outcome of the optics.
Regarding Claim 11, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned. Further, the limitation “wherein the polarization splitter and modifier optical device can be retracted out of the emitted light beam,” is inherent since those items can always be removed;
Further, Ilchenko fails to explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus comprises an optical component adapted to be inserted on the path of the emitted light beam to compensate for a defocusing of the emitted light beam at the input of the spectrometer or on the detection system of the spectrometer, when the polarization splitter and modifier optical device is retracted;
However, the examiner takes official notice that any one of these combinations would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ilchenko with because wherein the apparatus comprises an optical component adapted to be inserted on the path of the emitted light beam to compensate for a defocusing of the emitted light beam at the input of the spectrometer or on the detection system of the spectrometer, when the polarization splitter and modifier optical device is retracted one of ordinary skill in the art would know that removing optics from the optical train will cause the light going through the apparatus to be defocused and it would be common sense to put in an appropriate lens in order to fix that defocus.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilchenko in view of Acher et al (PGPub 20210010928) (Acher).
Regarding Claim 9, Ilchenko discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the compensator has an achromatic retardance on the spectrum of the first part of the emitted light beam, and respectively on the spectrum of the second part of the emitted light beam;
However, Acher discloses an achromatic compensator (Paragraph 26) thus meeting the limitation wherein the compensator has an achromatic retardance on the spectrum of the first part of the emitted light beam, and respectively on the spectrum of the second part of the emitted light beam;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ilchenko with wherein the compensator has an achromatic retardance on the spectrum of the first part of the emitted light beam, and respectively on the spectrum of the second part of the emitted light beam because one wouldn’t want optics in spectrometer to have a chromatic dispersion on the light because this would cause the different wavelengths to defocus and cause errors in the measurement thus an achromatic waveplate would be ideal for such an apparatus.
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 January 10, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877