DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 05/18/2026 without traverse of Group I, claims 17-33 for further examination. Claims 34-38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024, 05/08/2026 & 08/27/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “dosing element” in claims 17-28; “contact pressure unit” in claims 17-18; “magnetic element” in claims 17, 20 & 22-27’ “device for profiling magnetic force” in claim 28.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner' s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 17-19, 21-22 & 27-28 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zimmer (US 4,943,451 A) hereinafter Zimmer (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Zimmer are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 17, Zimmer discloses a device for dosing or levelling a liquid or pasty application medium onto a moving surface (abs; fig 1), comprising:
a dosing element (1) for contacting the application medium in a contact zone (see fig 1, area between 10a-10b), the dosing element (1) being formed wholly or partly of a magnetic or ferromagnetic material (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11);
a contact pressure unit (12) for pressing (see fig 1, arrow 5b) the dosing element (1) against the moving surface (14) (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11); and
at least one magnetic element (13/46) having an attractive/repulsive effect (based on force exerted/not exerted by 13) on the dosing element (1), the at least one magnetic element (13/46) exerting a controllable magnetic force acting on the dosing element (1) (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11).
As regards to claim 18, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the magnetic force having the attractive/repulsive effect (based on force exerted/not exerted by 13) on the dosing element (1) wholly or partly assumes a function of the contact pressure unit (12) (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11).
As regards to claim 19, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the dosing element (1) has a return device being a prestressed or bent elastically resilient blade or a prestressed elastic resilient mount of a doctor rod, counteracting the repulsive magnetic force (col 1, ln 47-col 2, ln 58; fig 1).
As regards to claim 21, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the dosing element (1) includes a dosing blade or a doctor rod (col 1, ln 47-col 2, ln 58; fig 1).
As regards to claim 22, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the at least one magnetic element (13/46) is disposed at an adjustable distance (see fig 1, arrow) from the dosing element (1) (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11).
As regards to claim 27, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the at least one magnetic element (13/46) extends over an entire length (see fig 1) of the dosing element (1) along a cross direction of the device (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11).
As regards to claim 28, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), which further comprises a device (43) for profiling magnetic force over a length of the dosing element (1) (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 20, 24-26 & 29-31are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer as applied to claim 17 above.
As regards to claim 20, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the at least one magnetic element (13/46) has the attractive/repulsive effect (based on force exerted/not exerted by 13) on the dosing element (1), and has an attractive/repulsive effect (based on force exerted/not exerted by 13) on the dosing element (1) (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11), however Zimmer does not disclose a plurality of magnetic elements.
Although the figures of Zimmer only depict a singular magnetic element, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zimmer to have additional magnetic elements as recited in the claim to accommodate additional substrates or as needed for an intended coating method and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated more than one magnetic element since It is held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result it produced, see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
As regards to claim 24, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the at least one magnetic element (13/46) is disposed at a distance that can be measured in mm from the dosing element (1) (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11), however Zimmer does not disclose of less than 20 mm.
Although Zimmer does not explicitly disclose the claimed distance, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Zimmer to have the distance recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the distance (relative dimensions) is considered engineering aspects of an apparatus, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the relative dimensions of the distance the at least one magnetic element is disposed at.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
As regards to claim 25, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the at least one magnetic element (13/46) is disposed at a distance that can be measured in mm from the dosing element (1) (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11), however Zimmer does not disclose of less than 5 mm.
Although Zimmer does not explicitly disclose the claimed distance, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Zimmer to have the distance recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the distance (relative dimensions) is considered engineering aspects of an apparatus, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the relative dimensions of the distance the at least one magnetic element is disposed at.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
As regards to claim 26, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the at least one magnetic element (13/46) is disposed at a distance that can be measured in mm from the dosing element (1) (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11), however Zimmer does not disclose of less than 1 mm.
Although Zimmer does not explicitly disclose the claimed distance, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Zimmer to have the distance recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the distance (relative dimensions) is considered engineering aspects of an apparatus, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the relative dimensions of the distance the at least one magnetic element is disposed at.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 29, the recitation “wherein said controllable magnetic force per cm is between 0.01 g/cm and 10 kg/cm”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Zimmer since Zimmer meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having said controllable magnetic force per cm be between 0.01 g/cm and 10 kg/cm, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 29, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the controllable magnetic force per cm can be measured in kg/cm (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11), however Zimmer does not disclose is between 0.01 g/cm and 10 kg/cm.
Although Zimmer does not explicitly disclose the claimed controllable magnetic force per cm, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Zimmer to have the controllable magnetic force per cm recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the controllable magnetic force per cm (relative dimensions) is considered engineering aspects of an apparatus, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the relative dimensions of the controllable magnetic force per cm.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 30, the recitation “wherein said controllable magnetic force per cm is between 0.05 g/cm and 5 kg/cm”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Zimmer since Zimmer meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having said controllable magnetic force per cm be between 0.01 g/cm and 10 kg/cm, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 30, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the controllable magnetic force per cm can be measured in kg/cm (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11), however Zimmer does not disclose is between 0.05 g/cm and 5 kg/cm.
Although Zimmer does not explicitly disclose the claimed controllable magnetic force per cm, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Zimmer to have the controllable magnetic force per cm recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the controllable magnetic force per cm (relative dimensions) is considered engineering aspects of an apparatus, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the relative dimensions of the controllable magnetic force per cm.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 31, the recitation “wherein said controllable magnetic force per cm is between 0.5 g/cm and 3 kg/cm”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Zimmer since Zimmer meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having said controllable magnetic force per cm be between 0.01 g/cm and 10 kg/cm, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 31, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the controllable magnetic force per cm can be measured in kg/cm (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11), however Zimmer does not disclose is between 0.5 g/cm and 3 kg/cm.
Although Zimmer does not explicitly disclose the claimed controllable magnetic force per cm, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Zimmer to have the controllable magnetic force per cm recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way as the controllable magnetic force per cm (relative dimensions) is considered engineering aspects of an apparatus, not problems or sources of problems to be solved. In addition, it is the position of the examiner that the disclosure provides no evidence of criticality with regard to the relative dimensions of the controllable magnetic force per cm.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
12. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Madrzak et al. (US 5,893,951 A) hereinafter Madrzak (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Madrzak are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 23, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the at least one magnetic element (13/46) is disposed at an adjustable distance (see fig 1, arrow) from the dosing element (1) (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11), however Zimmer does not disclose at least one servo motor or linear servo motor for adjusting the adjustable distance.
Madrzak discloses a device for direct or indirect application of a liquid or pasty coating medium onto a traveling material web (abs; fig 1), comprising at least one drive system which powers the coating edge delimiting apparatus and/or moves it as needed for adjustment of the coating width, wherein the drive system is at least one manually or mechanically powered device, for example, at least one electronic, pneumatic, hydraulic, magnetic or electromagnetic actuator or a corresponding motor etc. or mixed forms thereof, wherein the drive system may feature, depending on its configuration, suitable drive means, transmitting elements, connecting elements and the like (col 3, ln 35-50). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include at least one servo motor or linear servo motor for adjusting said adjustable distance of said at least one magnetic element from said dosing element in the apparatus of Zimmer, because Madrzak teaches the use of at least one drive system which powers the coating edge delimiting apparatus and/or moves it as needed for adjustment of the coating width, wherein the drive system is at least one manually or mechanically powered device, for example, at least one electronic, pneumatic, hydraulic, magnetic or electromagnetic actuator or a corresponding motor etc. or mixed forms thereof, wherein the drive system may feature, depending on its configuration, suitable drive means, transmitting elements, connecting elements and the like (col 3, ln 35-50).
13. Claims 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Sollinger (US 5,138,970 A) hereinafter Sollinger (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Sollinger are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 32, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the wholly or partly magnetic or ferromagnetic material has a Curie temperature (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11), however Zimmer does not disclose of at least 80° C.
Sollinger discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1), wherein the wholly or partly magnetic or ferromagnetic material (magnets may also be solenoids consisting of a yoke plate 34, a sleeve 33 and a wire coil 28 that is contained in it and arranged around an iron core) has a Curie temperature of at least 80° C (iron (TC=759° C) (col 3, ln 50-col 4, ln 3; fig 1-4). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein said wholly or partly magnetic or ferromagnetic material has a Curie temperature of at least 80° C in the apparatus of Zimmer, because Sollinger teaches the use of wherein the wholly or partly magnetic or ferromagnetic material (magnets may also be solenoids consisting of a yoke plate 34, a sleeve 33 and a wire coil 28 that is contained in it and arranged around an iron core) has a Curie temperature of at least 80° C (iron (TC=759° C) to be adjustable for controlling the field strength of the coils (col 3, ln 50-col 4, ln 3).
As regards to claim 33, Zimmer discloses a device (abs; fig 1), wherein the wholly or partly magnetic or ferromagnetic material has a Curie temperature (col 4, ln 17-22; col 5, ln 11-40; col 10, ln 3-col 12, ln 41; fig 1 & 11; clm 9-11), however Zimmer does not disclose of at least 100° C.
Sollinger discloses a coating device (abs; fig 1), wherein the wholly or partly magnetic or ferromagnetic material (magnets may also be solenoids consisting of a yoke plate 34, a sleeve 33 and a wire coil 28 that is contained in it and arranged around an iron core) has a Curie temperature of at least 100° C (iron (TC=759° C) (col 3, ln 50-col 4, ln 3; fig 1-4). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include wherein said wholly or partly magnetic or ferromagnetic material has a Curie temperature of at least 100° C in the apparatus of Zimmer, because Sollinger teaches the use of wherein the wholly or partly magnetic or ferromagnetic material (magnets may also be solenoids consisting of a yoke plate 34, a sleeve 33 and a wire coil 28 that is contained in it and arranged around an iron core) has a Curie temperature of at least 100° C (iron (TC=759° C) to be adjustable for controlling the field strength of the coils (col 3, ln 50-col 4, ln 3).
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717