DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4, 10, 28, 34-35, 38, 40, 45 and 48-50 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, Line 1: “an electronic device” should be amended to recite “the electronic device”.
Claim 4, Line 2: “is capable of comprises” should be amended to recite “is capable of or comprises”.
Claim 10, Lines 1-2: “a dielectric” should be amended to recite “the dielectric”.
Claim 28, Line 1: “wherein an inlet” should be amended to recite “wherein the inlet”.
Claim 34, Lines 1-2: “a dielectric” should be amended to recite “the dielectric”.
Claim 35, Line 2: “an electronic device” should be amended to recite “the electronic device”.
Claim 38 should amended to depend from claim 36 not claim 35, as claim 38 is a method claim and claim 35 is an apparatus claim.
Claim 40, Line 4: “a fluid flow” should be amended to recite “the fluid flow”.
Claim 45, Lines 2-3: “a temperature storage reservoir” should be amended to recite “a temporary storage reservoir”.
Claim 48, Lines 1-2 and 4: “an electronic device” should be amended to recite “the electronic device” in lines 1 and 4; “at least one heat-generating electronic component” should be amended to recite “the least one heat-generating electronic component” in lines 2 and 4.
Claim 49, Lines 3 and 10: “at least one heat-generating electronic component” should be amended to recite “the least one heat-generating electronic component”; “respectively” should be amended to recite “respective”.
Claim 50, Line 2: “have first and second heat-generating electronic components” should be amended to recite “have the first and second heat-generating electronic components”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-13, 21-30, 34, 36-39, 41-42 and 48-50 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10-16, 18-23, 25, 27-30, 32 and 36-39 of copending Application No. 18/866,793 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the same claimed structure/method as shown below:
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/866,808
18/866,793
1. Liquid cooling apparatus for an electronic device comprising:
a primary housing defining a chamber to accommodate at least one electronic device having at least one heat-generating electronic component;
at least one liquid flow inlet and at least one liquid flow outlet provided at the housing to allow a flow of a dielectric cooling liquid to enter and exit the chamber in direct contact with the electronic device;
a second housing located within the chamber defining an enclosure to at least partially accommodate the at least one heat-generating electronic component of the device;
at least one liquid flow inlet and at least one liquid flow outlet provided at the second housing to allow a flow of the liquid to enter and exit the enclosure in direct contact with the heat-generating electronic component; and
a cooling unit connected in fluid communication with at least one of the inlets and at least one of the outlets forming part of a fluid flow network to transfer heat energy from the liquid.
1. Liquid cooling apparatus for an electronic device comprising:
a first housing defining a chamber to at least partially accommodate at least one first heat-generating electronic component of an electronic device;
at least one inlet and at least one outlet provided at the first housing to enable a dielectric cooling liquid to enter and exit the chamber in direct contact with the first heat- generating electronic component;
a second housing defining an enclosure to at least partially accommodate at least one second heat-generating electronic component of an electronic device;
at least one inlet and at least one outlet provided at the second housing to enable the dielectric cooling liquid to enter and exit the enclosure in direct contact with the second heat- generating electronic component;
at least one cooling unit connected in fluid communication to at least one of the inlets and at least one of the outlets to cool the dielectric liquid received from at least one of the outlets and to deliver the liquid to at least one of inlets; and
a control unit to control a flow of the liquid through the chamber and enclosure.
16. (Currently Amended) The apparatus as claimed in claim 1 wherein the cooling unit comprises a heat exchanger to transfer heat energy from the liquid to a heat transfer fluid.
Claims 2-6, 8-13, 21-30, 34 and 48-50 are encompassed within claims 2-7, 10-16, 18-23, 28 and 36-39 of the reference application.
18/866,808
18/866,793
36. (Original) A method of cooling at least part of an electronic device comprising:
immersing an electronic device having at least one heat-generating electronic component within a dielectric cooling liquid contained within a chamber defined by a primary housing;
immersing the heat-generating electronic component within the liquid within an enclosure defined by a second housing located within the chamber;
providing a first flow of the liquid through the chamber via at least one inlet and at least one outlet provided at the primary housing;
providing a second flow of the liquid through the enclosure via at least one inlet and at least one outlet provided at the second housing;
cooling the liquid heated by the electronic device and/or the heat-generating electronic component using a cooling device forming part of a fluid flow network connected in fluid communication to at least one of the inlets and at least one of the outlets.
25. (Original) A method of cooling at least part of an electronic device comprising:
delivering a dielectric cooling liquid to flow into a chamber via at least one inlet of a first housing, the chamber at least partially accommodating an electronic device having at least one first heat-generating electronic component and allowing the liquid to flow out of the chamber via at least one outlet of the first housing, the first heat-generating electronic component positioned in direct contact with the liquid within the chamber;
delivering a flow of the dielectric cooling liquid into an enclosure via at least one inlet of a second housing, the enclosure at least partially accommodating at least one second heat- generating electronic component of the electronic device and allowing the liquid to flow out of the enclosure via at least one outlet of the second housing, the second heat-generating electronic component positioned in direct contact with the liquid within the enclosure;
routing the liquid from at least one of the outlets of the chamber and/or the enclosure to at least one cooling unit to reduce a temperature of the liquid received from the chamber and/or enclosure;
controlling a flow of the liquid through the chamber and enclosure using a control unit.
Claims 37-39 and 41-42 are encompassed within claims 27-30 and 32 of the reference application.
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-21, 23, 25, 29, 31-36-40 and 48-49 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 14-18, 21-24, 29-32, 35-36, 39-43, 45, 48, 50 and 52 of copending Application No. 18/866,802 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the same claimed structure/method as shown below:
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/866,808
18/866,802
1. Liquid cooling apparatus for an electronic device comprising:
a primary housing defining a chamber to accommodate at least one electronic device having at least one heat-generating electronic component;
at least one liquid flow inlet and at least one liquid flow outlet provided at the housing to allow a flow of a dielectric cooling liquid to enter and exit the chamber in direct contact with the electronic device;
a second housing located within the chamber defining an enclosure to at least partially accommodate the at least one heat-generating electronic component of the device;
at least one liquid flow inlet and at least one liquid flow outlet provided at the second housing to allow a flow of the liquid to enter and exit the enclosure in direct contact with the heat-generating electronic component; and
a cooling unit connected in fluid communication with at least one of the inlets and at least one of the outlets forming part of a fluid flow network to transfer heat energy from the liquid.
1. Liquid cooling apparatus for an electronic device comprising:
a housing defining a chamber to at least partially accommodate at least one electronic device having at least one heat-generating electronic component;
at least one cover at least partially within the chamber and positionable over the heat- generating electronic component, the cover configured with at least one inlet to allow a dielectric cooling liquid to enter an enclosure defined by the cover and in direct contact with the heat- generating electronic component, and at least one outlet to allow the liquid to exit the enclosure;
a cooling unit connected in fluid communication with at least one of the inlets and at least one of the outlets to receive the liquid from at least one of the outlets and to deliver the liquid to at least one of inlets.
4. (Currently Amended) The apparatus as claimed in claim 1 comprising at least one inlet provided at the housing to enable the liquid to enter the chamber and/or at least one outlet provided at the housing to enable the liquid to exit the chamber.
24. The apparatus as claimed in claim 1 wherein the cooling unit comprises a heat exchanger to remove heat energy from the liquid.
Claims 3-9, 11-21, 23, 25, 29, 31-35 and 48-49 are encompassed within claims 2-3, 5-11, 14-18, 21-24, 29-32, 35-36, 39, 50 and 52 of the reference application.
18/866,808
18/866,802
36. A method of cooling at least part of an electronic device comprising:
immersing an electronic device having at least one heat-generating electronic component within a dielectric cooling liquid contained within a chamber defined by a primary housing;
immersing the heat-generating electronic component within the liquid within an enclosure defined by a second housing located within the chamber;
providing a first flow of the liquid through the chamber via at least one inlet and at least one outlet provided at the primary housing;
providing a second flow of the liquid through the enclosure via at least one inlet and at least one outlet provided at the second housing;
cooling the liquid heated by the electronic device and/or the heat-generating electronic component using a cooling device forming part of a fluid flow network connected in fluid communication to at least one of the inlets and at least one of the outlets.
40. A method of cooling a heat-generating electronic component of an electronic device comprising:
at least partially accommodating an electronic device having at least one heat-generating electronic component within a chamber defined by a housing;
positioning a cover over the heat-generating electronic component to define an enclosure containing the heat-generating electronic component, at least one liquid flow inlet and at least one liquid flow outlet provided at the cover;
providing a flow of a dielectric cooling liquid within the enclosure between the at least one inlet and the at least one outlet, the liquid in direct contact with the heat-generating electronic component so as to receive directly heat energy from the heat-generating electronic component; and
cooling the liquid heated by the heat-generating electronic component using a cooling device forming part of a fluid flow network connected in fluid communication to the at least one inlet and/or the at least one outlet.
41. The method as claimed in claim 40 comprising providing a flow of the liquid through the chamber via at least one liquid flow inlet and at least one liquid flow outlet at the housing, the electronic device at least partially immersed within the liquid within the chamber.
Claims 37-40 are encompassed within claims 42-43, 45 and 48 of the reference application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 24, 40-41 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the liquid flow" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the control unit" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the cooling unit" in 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 41 recites the limitation "the first pathway" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "the cooling unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-13, 15, 21, 26, 28-30, 34-38, 40-44 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Malouin (US 20230048500 A1).
As to Claim 1, Malouin discloses:
Liquid cooling apparatus for an electronic device (see Fig. 2) comprising:
a primary housing (bath 201) defining a chamber (inside of bath 201) to accommodate at least one electronic device (device within 210, 204 and each 207 considered an electronic device) having at least one heat-generating electronic component (primary and secondary heat-generating components 204, 207; Par. 0034 “The primary heat-generating component (204) may be, for example, a semiconductor die forming part of a processor assembly, such as a central processing unit (CPU), graphics processing unit (GPU), application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), field-programmable gate array (FPGA), or other”; “The other, secondary heat-generating electronic components (207) may comprise, for example, memory chips, DIMMs, voltage regulator modules, power conversion electronics, power supplies, capacitors, processors, or other such heat-generating components common to server boards”; “A primary heat-generating component (204) is mounted on a server within the bath (201)”);
at least one liquid flow inlet (fluid entering 210, at 213) and at least one liquid flow outlet (liquid exiting, at 211) provided at the housing to allow a flow of a dielectric cooling liquid (The dielectric fluid 210) to enter and exit the chamber 201 in direct contact with the electronic device (204,207; fluid enters and exits 201, fluid in direct contact with 204, 207; Par. 0035 “the chilled dielectric fluid (210) to flow over the surfaces of the primary heat-generating component (204)”);
a second housing 205 located within the chamber 201 defining an enclosure to at least partially accommodate the at least one heat-generating electronic component 204 of the device (204 accommodated beneath 205);
at least one liquid flow inlet (where tube 206 meets 205) and at least one liquid flow outlet (exit indicated by arrows 215) provided at the second housing 205 to allow a flow of the liquid to enter and exit the enclosure 205 in direct contact with the heat-generating electronic component 204 (Par. 0035 “chilled dielectric fluid (210) to the flow-through cooling module (205), which directs the chilled dielectric fluid (210) to flow over the surfaces of the primary heat-generating component (204) to remove heat from the primary heat-generating component (204)”); and
a cooling unit 203 connected in fluid communication with at least one of the inlets and at least one of the outlets (203 in fluid communication with 213, 211 and defined inlet and outlet of 205) forming part of a fluid flow network (entire structure comprises fluid flow network as fluid is all connected) to transfer heat energy from the liquid (Par. 0035 “The heated flow (indicated by arrow 211) then enters the pump (202), where it is then routed into the heat exchanger (203) as indicated by arrow 212. The warm dielectric fluid (210) is chilled back down for re-entry into the bath (201) by the heat exchanger (203) via a facility chilled-water supply or liquid-air heat exchanger, for example”).
As to Claim 2, Malouin discloses:
wherein the at least one outlet (at 211) of the primary housing 201 is connected in fluid communication to the at least one inlet (205/206 connection) of the second housing 205 such that the liquid is configured to flow through the chamber (within 201) and then through the enclosure 205 (fluid 210 flows from within 201, through 211, through 203 and then through 205).
As to Claim 3, Malouin discloses:
comprising the electronic device (204,207) having:
at least one first heat-generating electronic component 207 at least partially accommodated within the chamber (inside 201) for immersion in the liquid 210 within the chamber (207 disposed in 201 and immersed in 210); and
at least one second heat-generating electronic component 204 at least partially accommodated within the enclosure 205 (204 accommodated beneath and within the periphery of 205) for immersion in the liquid 210 within the enclosure 205 (204 immersed in 210 beneath and within periphery of 205).
As to Claim 4, Malouin discloses:
wherein the second heat-generating electronic component 204 is capable of or comprises a higher-operating temperature than the first heat-generating electronic component 207 (Par. 0034 “As these secondary heat-generating electronic components (207) may be lower in power or power density compared to the primary heat-generating component (204) and therefore they generate less heat”).
As to Claim 5, Malouin discloses:
wherein the at least one outlet (at 215) of the second housing 205 is connected in fluid communication to an inlet (at 212) of the cooling unit 203 (fluid from 205 at arrow 215 is fluidly connected to inlet of 203) and an outlet of the cooling unit 203 is connected in fluid communication to the at least one inlet (at 213) of the primary housing 201 (fluid exits 203 and enters 201 at 213).
As to Claim 6, Malouin discloses:
wherein the chamber (inside 201) is connected in fluid communication in-series with the enclosure 205 (fluid travels from 205 to inside bath 201, connected in series).
As to Claim 9, Malouin discloses:
wherein the primary housing 201 comprises a liquid immersion tank and the second housing 205 is smaller in size than the primary housing 201 and is located within the chamber (inside 201; 201 is immersion bath, 205 is smaller than 201 and located within 201).
As to Claim 10, Malouin discloses:
comprising the dielectric cooling liquid 210 contained within the chamber of the primary housing (inside 201) and wherein the second housing 205 is at least partially immersed in or completely submerged by the liquid 210 within the chamber of the primary housing (205 completely submerged in dielectric liquid 210 within bath 201).
As to Claim 11, Malouin discloses:
wherein at least a part of the second heat-generating electronic component 204 is positioned in direct contact with the liquid within the enclosure 205 defined by the second housing (204 is in direct contact with fluid 210) and/or at least a part of the first heat-generating electronic component 207 is positioned in direct contact with the liquid within the chamber (inside 201; components 207 are disposed in direct contact with 210 inside 201).
As to Claim 12, Malouin discloses:
wherein the electronic device comprises any one or a combination of:
a computer entity (server comprising components highlighted in Par. 0034 comprise a computer entity);
a server (Par. 0034 “A primary heat-generating component (204) is mounted on a server within the bath (201)”);
a motherboard;
a printed circuit board comprising a plurality of electronic components.
As to Claim 13, Malouin discloses:
wherein the first heat-generating electronic component 207 and/or the second heat-generating electronic component 204 comprise any one or a combination of:
a motherboard;
random access memory (RAM);
a graphics processing unit (GPU);
a central processing unit (CPU) (Par. 0034 “The primary heat-generating component (204) may be, for example, a semiconductor die forming part of a processor assembly, such as a central processing unit (CPU), graphics processing unit (GPU)”).
As to Claim 15, Malouin discloses:
wherein the inlet (205/206 connection) and outlet (at 215) of the second housing 205 are separate from one another (205/205 connection and 215 are separate) and/or positioned at different regions of the second housing 205 (defined inlet and outlet are at different regions of 205).
As to Claim 21, Malouin discloses:
further comprising a pump 202 connected in fluid communication to the inlet (205/206 connection) and/or the outlet (at 215) of the second housing 205 to drive a flow of the liquid 210 through the enclosure 205 (202 is fluidly connected to defined inlet and outlet of 205; Par. 0036 “the pump and the heat exchanger cooperate with each other to draw coolant fluid from the dielectric bath of the container, and cool the coolant fluid before transferring the cooled coolant fluid back to the inlet conduit of the cooling module”).
As to Claim 26, Malouin discloses:
further comprising a liquid return conduit (tube 206) connecting in fluid communication the outlet (at 211) of the chamber 201 and the inlet (205/206 connection) of the enclosure 205 to circulate the liquid that exits the chamber 201 into the enclosure 205 (206 fluidly connected between 211 and 205/206 connection; fluid 210 from inside 201 flows through tube 206 to 205).
As to Claim 28, Malouin discloses:
wherein the inlet (at 211) of the chamber (inside 201) comprises a plenum to distribute a flow of the liquid 210 into the chamber (inside 211; 205 at least in part acts as a plenum as it distributes liquid 210 within 201; 205 fluidly connected to 211).
As to Claim 29, Malouin discloses:
wherein the cooling unit 203 comprises a heat exchanger to transfer heat energy from the liquid 210 to a heat transfer fluid (Par. 0035 “The warm dielectric fluid (210) is chilled back down for re-entry into the bath (201) by the heat exchanger (203) via a facility chilled-water supply or liquid-air heat exchanger, for example”).
As to Claim 30, Malouin discloses:
wherein the outlet (at 211) of the primary housing 201 is connected in fluid communication to an inlet (at 212) of the cooling unit 203 (211 connected to 212) and an outlet of the cooling unit 203 is connected in fluid communication to the inlet (205/206 connection) of the second housing 205 (outlet of 203 at 213 connected to defined inlet of 205).
As to Claim 34, Malouin discloses:
comprising the dielectric cooling liquid 210 contained within the chamber (inside 201) and capable of flowing through the enclosure 205 (210 within 201 and flows through 205).
As to Claim 35, Malouin discloses:
comprising the electronic device (204,207) having:
at least one first heat generating electronic component 207 at least partially accommodated within the chamber (inside 201) for immersion in the liquid 210 within the chamber (207 disposed in 201 and immersed in 210); and
at least one second electronic component 204 at least partially accommodated within the enclosure 205 (204 accommodated beneath and within the periphery of 205) for immersion in the liquid 210 within the enclosure 205 (204 immersed in 210 beneath and within periphery of 205), wherein at least a part of the electronic device and/or the at least a part of first heat-generating electronic component 207 is positioned within the chamber (inside 201) and immersed in direct contact with the liquid 210 within the chamber (207 directly immersed in 210) and at least a part of the at least one second heat-generating electronic component 204 is positioned within the enclosure (beneath and within periphery of 205) and immersed in direct contact with the liquid 210 within the enclosure 205 (204 directly immersed in 210 of 205).
As to Claim 36, Malouin discloses:
A method of cooling at least part of an electronic device (204,207; Fig. 2) comprising:
immersing an electronic device (204, and each 207 considered an electronic device) having at least one heat-generating electronic component (components 204,207) within a dielectric cooling liquid 210 contained within a chamber (inside 201) defined by a primary housing 201 (Par. 0034 “The dielectric fluid (210) is cycled through the bath (201) by an external pump (202) and is cooled by an external heat exchanger (203). A primary heat-generating component (204) is mounted on a server within the bath (201)”);
immersing the heat-generating electronic component 204,207 within the liquid 210 within an enclosure 205 defined by a second housing located within the chamber (205 disposed within 201; coolant flows through 205);
providing a first flow of the liquid through the chamber (inside 201) via at least one inlet (at 213) and at least one outlet (at 211) provided at the primary housing 201 (fluid enters at 213, flows through 201 and exits at 211);
providing a second flow of the liquid through the enclosure 205 via at least one inlet (connection between 205/206) and at least one outlet (at 215) provided at the second housing 205 (fluid enters 205 via connection between 205/206 and exits at 215);
cooling the liquid heated by the electronic device (204,207) and/or the heat-generating electronic component 204,207 using a cooling device 203 forming part of a fluid flow network (entire structure comprises fluid flow network as fluid is all connected) connected in fluid communication to at least one of the inlets (205/206 and at 213) and at least one of the outlets (215 and at 211; Par. 0034 “The dielectric fluid (210) is cycled through the bath (201) by an external pump (202) and is cooled by an external heat exchanger (203)”; 203 is in fluid communication with all disclosed inlets and outlets).
As to Claim 37, Malouin discloses:
wherein the electronic device (204,207) comprises at least a first heat-generating electronic component 207 and at least one second heat-generating electronic component 204 that is capable of or comprises a higher operating temperature than the first heat-generating electronic component 207 (Par. 0034 “As these secondary heat-generating electronic components (207) may be lower in power or power density compared to the primary heat-generating component (204) and therefore they generate less heat”), wherein at least a part of the second heat-generating electronic component 204 is positioned in direct contact with the liquid within the enclosure 205 defined by the second housing (Par. 0035 “which directs the chilled dielectric fluid (210) to flow over the surfaces of the primary heat-generating component (204) to remove heat from the primary heat-generating component (204)”; 204 in direct contact with liquid from 205) and/or at least a part of the first heat-generating electronic component 207 is positioned in direct contact with the liquid 210 within the chamber 201 (207 in direct contact with 210 within 201, see Fig. 2).
As to Claim 38, Malouin discloses:
wherein the chamber (inside 201) is connected in fluid communication in-series with the enclosure 205 such that the liquid 210 is configured to flow through the chamber (inside 201) and then to flow through the enclosure 205 (fluid travels from inside bath 201, through heat exchanger 203 and then through 205, connected in series).
As to Claim 40 (as best understood), Malouin discloses:
wherein the liquid 210 is configured to flow from the outlet (at 211) of the chamber (inside 201) to the inlet (205/206 connection) of the enclosure 205 via a return flow conduit (tube 206; 206 fluidly connected between 211 and 205/206 connection; fluid 210 from inside 201 flows through tube 206 to 205) and then the liquid 210 is configured to flow from the at least one outlet 215 of the enclosure 205 to the fluid flow network that includes the cooling device 203 (fluid flows from 215 to 203 via 211).
As to Claim 41 (as best understood), Malouin discloses:
comprising controlling a flow of the liquid 210 to flow along a first pathway (see Fig. below) through the chamber (inside 201) in direct contact with at least a part of the first heat-generating electronic component 207 (at least some of fluid 210 is directed from inside 201, over 217 and out of 201 at 211) and then along a second flow pathway (see Fig. below) through the enclosure 205 in direct contact with at least a part of the second heat-generating electronic component 204 (fluid 210 is directed from 211, through 203, to 205 and in direct contact with 204) such that heat energy transferred to the liquid 210 is a sum of a heat energy transferred from the first heat-generating electronic component 207 and the second heat-generating electronic component 204 (fluid exiting 211 is a sum of heat transferred from 204 and 207 as fluid 210 passes over both 204 and 207 before exiting 201).
As to Claim 42, Malouin discloses:
further comprising driving a flow of the liquid 210 through the chamber (inside 201) and/or the enclosure 205 using a pump 202 (Par. 0036 “the pump and the heat exchanger cooperate with each other to draw coolant fluid from the dielectric bath of the container, and cool the coolant fluid before transferring the cooled coolant fluid back to the inlet conduit of the cooling module”; pump 202 drives fluid in both 201 and 205).
As to Claim 43, Malouin discloses:
comprising directing a return flow of the liquid 210 from the outlet (at 211) of the chamber (inside 201) at an end of the first flow pathway (211 is end of first path, see Fig. in rejection of claim 41 above) to the inlet (205/206 connection) of the enclosure 205 at a start of the second flow pathway (fluid from 211 directed to 205/206 connection at beginning of second flow path).
As to Claim 44 (as best understood), Malouin discloses:
comprising:
directing the flow of the liquid from the outlet 215 of the enclosure 205 to the cooling device 203 to reduce the temperature of the liquid 210 (fluid from 215 flows to 203 via 211); and
providing a return flow of the liquid 210 cooled by the cooling device 203 to the inlet (205/206 connection) of the enclosure 205 (cooled fluid 210 travels to 205 from 203; Par. 0035 “The heated flow (indicated by arrow 211) then enters the pump (202), where it is then routed into the heat exchanger (203) as indicated by arrow 212. The warm dielectric fluid (210) is chilled back down for re-entry into the bath (201) by the heat exchanger (203) via a facility chilled-water supply or liquid-air heat exchanger, for example”).
As to Claim 48, Malouin discloses:
A liquid immersion cooling bath 201 to cool the electronic device (204,207) having the at least one heat-generating electronic component 204,207, the bath comprising the apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and
the electronic device (204,207) having the at least one heat-generating electronic component 204,207, the device (204,207) and the heat-generating electronic component 204,207 immersed respectively within the dielectric cooling liquid 210 contained within the chamber (inside 201) as defined by the primary housing 201 and/or the enclosure 205 as defined by the second housing (components 204, 207 each constitute an electronic device and are thus directly immersed within fluid 210 within bath 201).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malouin (US 20230048500 A1) as applied to claims 1, 3 and 6 above, and further in view of Matsuo (US 20240389266 A1).
As to Claim 7, Malouin does not disclose:
further comprising:
at least one electronically controllable valve provided in fluid communication with the inlet and/or the outlet of the primary housing and/or the second housing; and
a control unit to control the valve and a flow of the liquid to enter and exit the primary housing and/or the second housing via the respective inlet and outlet.
However, Matsuo discloses:
further comprising:
at least one electronically controllable valve (flow rate adjustment unit 34; Fig. 11, Par. 0126 “the flow rate adjustment unit 34 is a flow rate adjustment valve”) provided in fluid communication with the inlet and/or the outlet of the primary housing (tank 3; 34 in fluid communication with inlet 13a; see Figs. 1 and 11; also fluidly connected to return 15 as system is closed loop) and/or the second housing (11; each substrate and housing corresponds to 205 of Malouin as they are separate portions of an entire immersion bath; 34 connected to 11, see Fig. 11); and
a control unit (control device 40b; Fig. 12) to control the valve 34 and a flow of the liquid to enter and exit the primary housing 3 and/or the second housing 11 via the respective inlet 13/nozzle 32 and outlet 15 (Par. 0126 “The flow rate adjustment unit 34 is controlled by the system control device 40b”; Par. 00128 “the nozzle flow rate control unit 55 controls the flow rate adjustment unit 34 so that the cooling efficiency becomes uniform when the cooling efficiency distribution varies”; see Fig. 12, 55 part of control device 40b);
in order to reduce variations in the cooling efficiency in the tank (Par. 0128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Matsuo e.g., providing:
further comprising:
at least one electronically controllable valve provided in fluid communication with the inlet and/or the outlet of the primary housing and/or the second housing; and
a control unit to control the valve and a flow of the liquid to enter and exit the primary housing and/or the second housing via the respective inlet and outlet;
in order to reduce variations in the cooling efficiency in the enclosure/housing.
As to Claim 22, Malouin does not disclose:
comprising a first electronically controllable valve connected in fluid communication to the inlet and/or the outlet of the chamber and a second electronically controllable valve connected in fluid communication to the inlet and/or the outlet of the enclosure.
However, Matsuo discloses:
comprising a first electronically controllable valve (at least one flow rate adjustment unit 34; Fig. 11, Par. 0126 “the flow rate adjustment unit 34 is a flow rate adjustment valve”) connected in fluid communication to the inlet and/or the outlet of the chamber (tank 3; 34 in fluid communication with inlet 13a; see Figs. 1 and 11; also fluidly connected to return 15 as system is closed loop) and a second electronically controllable valve (at least another valve 34) connected in fluid communication to the inlet and/or the outlet of the enclosure (11; each substrate and housing corresponds to 205 of Malouin as they are separate portions of an entire immersion bath; 34 connected to inlet side and outlet side of 11, see Fig. 11; valves 34 controlled by control device 40b; Par. 0126 “The flow rate adjustment unit 34 is controlled by the system control device 40b”; Par. 00128 “the nozzle flow rate control unit 55 controls the flow rate adjustment unit 34 so that the cooling efficiency becomes uniform when the cooling efficiency distribution varies”; see Fig. 12, 55 part of control device 40b).
in order to reduce variations in the cooling efficiency in the tank (Par. 0128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Matsuo e.g., providing:
comprising a first electronically controllable valve connected in fluid communication to the inlet and/or the outlet of the chamber and a second electronically controllable valve connected in fluid communication to the inlet and/or the outlet of the enclosure;
in order to reduce variations in the cooling efficiency in the enclosure/housing.
As to Claim 23, Malouin does not disclose:
comprising at least one electronically controllable valve provided in fluid communication with the inlet and/or the outlet of the second housing.
However, Matsuo discloses:
comprising at least one electronically controllable valve (at least one flow rate adjustment unit 34; Fig. 11, Par. 0126 “the flow rate adjustment unit 34 is a flow rate adjustment valve”) provided in fluid communication with the inlet and/or the outlet of the second housing (11; each substrate and housing corresponds to 205 of Malouin as they are separate portions of an entire immersion bath; 34 connected to inlet side and outlet side of 11, see Fig. 11; valves 34 controlled by control device 40b; Par. 0126 “The flow rate adjustment unit 34 is controlled by the system control device 40b”; Par. 00128 “the nozzle flow rate control unit 55 controls the flow rate adjustment unit 34 so that the cooling efficiency becomes uniform when the cooling efficiency distribution varies”; see Fig. 12, 55 part of control device 40b);
in order to reduce variations in the cooling efficiency in the tank (Par. 0128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Matsuo e.g., providing:
comprising at least one electronically controllable valve provided in fluid communication with the inlet and/or the outlet of the second housing;
in order to reduce variations in the cooling efficiency in the enclosure/housing.
As to Claim 24 (as best understood), Malouin does not disclose:
comprising at least one temperature sensor to determine a temperature or relative temperature difference of the liquid and/or the heat-generating electronic component, the temperature sensor provided in electronic communication with a control unit.
However, Matsuo discloses:
comprising at least one temperature sensor to determine a temperature or relative temperature difference of the liquid and/or the heat-generating electronic component 30, the temperature sensor provided in electronic communication with a control unit 40 (Par. 0076 “The immersion cooling system 1 may include a temperature sensor (not illustrated) that measures a temperature of the electronic device 30, and a communication unit (not illustrated) that transmits a signal output from the temperature sensor to the system control device 40”);
in order to measure and communicate the temperature of the electronic device (Par. 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Matsuo e.g., providing:
comprising at least one temperature sensor to determine a temperature or relative temperature difference of the liquid and/or the heat-generating electronic component, the temperature sensor provided in electronic communication with a control unit;
in order to measure and communicate the temperature of the electronic device/heat-generating electronic component.
As to Claim 25, Malouin does not disclose:
wherein the electronic device or the first and/or second heat-generating electronic components comprise a temperature sensor to determine a temperature or a temperature difference of the liquid and the first and/or second heat-generating electronic components.
However, Matsuo discloses:
wherein the electronic device 11 or the first and/or second heat-generating electronic components 30 comprise a temperature sensor to determine a temperature or a temperature difference of the liquid and the first and/or second heat-generating electronic components 30 Par. 0076 “The immersion cooling system 1 may include a temperature sensor (not illustrated) that measures a temperature of the electronic device 30, and a communication unit (not illustrated) that transmits a signal output from the temperature sensor to the system control device 40”; Par. 0037 “The liquid coolant circulation unit 5 is provided with a temperature sensor (not illustrated) for measuring each of a temperature of the liquid coolant flowing into the heat exchanger 17 and an outlet temperature of the liquid coolant fed from the heat exchanger 17”);
in order to provide and communicate the temperature of the components and liquid coolant (Par. 0037, 0076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Matsuo e.g., providing:
wherein the electronic device or the first and/or second heat-generating electronic components comprise a temperature sensor to determine a temperature or a temperature difference of the liquid and the first and/or second heat-generating electronic components;
in order to provide and communicate the temperature of the components/heat-generating electronic components and liquid coolant.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malouin (US 20230048500 A1) alone.
As to Claim 16, Malouin does not disclose (in the present embodiment):
wherein the second housing comprises an opening to enable the second housing to receive and envelope the heat-generating electronic component at the enclosure and a roof positioned opposite the opening.
However, Malouin discloses (in another embodiment):
wherein the second housing (module 901; Fig. 9, corresponds to 205 of Fig. 2) comprises an opening (underside of 901 is open) to enable the second housing 901 to receive and envelope the heat-generating electronic component 908 at the enclosure 901 (bottom of 901 receives and envelopes devices 908) and a roof (top of 901) positioned opposite the opening (top side of 901 is opposite bottom of 901);
in order to provide efficient and high reliability cooling to multiple primary heat-generating components (Par. 0050-0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Malouin e.g., providing:
wherein the second housing comprises an opening to enable the second housing to receive and envelope the heat-generating electronic component at the enclosure and a roof positioned opposite the opening;
in order to provide efficient and high reliability cooling to multiple primary heat-generating components.
As to Claim 17, the obvious modification of Malouin alone discloses:
wherein the inlet 903/901 of the second housing 901 is positioned at the roof (top of 901) of the second housing (inlet tube 903 provides fluid to top of 901).
As to Claim 18, the obvious modification of Malouin alone discloses:
wherein the outlet 904 of the second housing 901 is defined, in part by the opening (fluid exits 901 via bottom side/opening in 901; Par. 0049 “After removing heat from the cooling surfaces (909), the coolant exits the fluid chambers (902) and flows through outlet passageways (904) immediately into the dielectric fluid bath (905)”).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malouin (US 20230048500 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang (US 7233493 B2).
As to Claim 19, Malouin does not disclose:
further comprising an actuator connected to the second housing to actuate a movement of the second housing, the actuator configured to change any one or a combination of:
an internal volume of the enclosure;
a position of the enclosure relative to the housing and/or the heat-generating electronic component;
a separation distance between the second housing and the heat-generating electronic component;
an extent to which the second housing encapsulates or accommodates the heat-generating electronic component within the enclosure.
However, Wang discloses:
further comprising an actuator (actuators 722,726 of Fig. 14) connected to the second housing (upper plate 704; corresponds to 205 of Malouin) to actuate a movement of the second housing 704 (col. 16, Lines 29-37 “the controller 734 can activate the worm screw actuator 722 and the linear actuator 726 in order to move the upper plate 704 away from the lower plate 702 in order to increase the volume of heat transfer fluid flowing across the lower plate 702 and thus, increase the heat exchange between the heat transfer fluid and the lower plate 702. The change to the upper plate 704 can change the geometry (e.g., the height) of the channel”) the actuator 722,726 configured to change any one or a combination of:
an internal volume of the enclosure (changes geometry/volume of channel);
a position of the enclosure relative to the housing and/or the heat-generating electronic component;
a separation distance between the second housing and the heat-generating electronic component;
an extent to which the second housing encapsulates or accommodates the heat-generating electronic component within the enclosure;
in order to increase the volume of heat transfer fluid flowing across the plate and increase heat exchange (col. 16, Lines 32-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Wang e.g., providing:
further comprising an actuator connected to the second housing to actuate a movement of the second housing, the actuator configured to change any one or a combination of:
an internal volume of the enclosure;
a position of the enclosure relative to the housing and/or the heat-generating electronic component;
a separation distance between the second housing and the heat-generating electronic component;
an extent to which the second housing encapsulates or accommodates the heat-generating electronic component within the enclosure;
in order to increase the volume of heat transfer fluid within the enclosure and increase heat exchange.
As to Claim 20, Malouin does not disclose:
wherein the second housing is adjustably mounted at the apparatus via an actuator that by actuation is configured to change an internal volume of the enclosure.
However, Wang discloses:
wherein the second housing (upper plate 704 of Fig. 14; corresponds to 205 of Malouin) is adjustably mounted at the apparatus (assembly 700) via an actuator (actuators 722,726) that by actuation is configured to change an internal volume of the enclosure (channel; col. 16, Lines 29-37 “the controller 734 can activate the worm screw actuator 722 and the linear actuator 726 in order to move the upper plate 704 away from the lower plate 702 in order to increase the volume of heat transfer fluid flowing across the lower plate 702 and thus, increase the heat exchange between the heat transfer fluid and the lower plate 702. The change to the upper plate 704 can change the geometry (e.g., the height) of the channel”; geometry/volume of channel changes);
in order to increase the volume of heat transfer fluid flowing across the plate and increase heat exchange (col. 16, Lines 32-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Wang e.g., providing:
wherein the second housing is adjustably mounted at the apparatus via an actuator that by actuation is configured to change an internal volume of the enclosure;
in order to increase the volume of heat transfer fluid within the enclosure and increase heat exchange.
Claims 27 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malouin (US 20230048500 A1) as applied to claim 26 and 44 above, and further in view of Mizuno (US 5293754 A).
As to Claim 27, Malouin does not disclose:
further comprising a temporary storage reservoir connected in fluid communication between the outlet of the chamber and the inlet of the enclosure to temporarily store a volume of the liquid for circulation from the chamber to the enclosure.
However, Mizuno discloses:
further comprising a temporary storage reservoir (buffer tank 101; Fig. 1) connected in fluid communication between the outlet of the chamber (outlet of cooling tank 107; corresponds to 211 of Malouin) and the inlet of the enclosure (inlet side of tank 107; corresponds to inlet of 201 connected to 205/206 connection of Malouin) to temporarily store a volume of the liquid for circulation from the chamber 107 to the enclosure (inside 107, e.g., object to be cooled 105 corresponding to 205 over 204 of Malouin; col. 3, Lines 9-14 “The buffer tank 101 absorbs a variation in volume of a coolant 102 caused by a change in temperature. The discharge pump 103 supplies the coolant 102 in the buffer tank 101 to an object to be cooled 105 such as an electronic part through a pipe 104”);
in order to absorb a variation in volume of a coolant caused by temperature change (col. 3, Lines 9-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Mizuno e.g., providing:
further comprising a temporary storage reservoir connected in fluid communication between the outlet of the chamber and the inlet of the enclosure to temporarily store a volume of the liquid for circulation from the chamber to the enclosure;
in order to absorb a variation in volume of a coolant caused by temperature change.
As to Claim 45, Malouin does not disclose:
comprising temporarily storing the liquid received from the outlet of the chamber at the end of the first flow pathway at a temporary storage reservoir prior to the step of directing the return flow of the liquid to the inlet of the enclosure.
However, Mizuno discloses:
comprising temporarily storing the liquid received from the outlet of the chamber (outlet of cooling tank 107; corresponds to 211 of Malouin) at the end of the first flow pathway at a temporary storage reservoir (buffer tank 101; Fig. 1) prior to the step of directing the return flow of the liquid to the inlet of the enclosure (inside 107, e.g., object to be cooled 105 corresponding to 205 over 204 of Malouin; col. 3, Lines 9-14 “The buffer tank 101 absorbs a variation in volume of a coolant 102 caused by a change in temperature. The discharge pump 103 supplies the coolant 102 in the buffer tank 101 to an object to be cooled 105 such as an electronic part through a pipe 104”; liquid stored in tank 101 after exiting 107 and before returning to 107);
in order to absorb a variation in volume of a coolant caused by temperature change (col. 3, Lines 9-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Malouin as further suggested by Mizuno e.g., providing:
comprising temporarily storing the liquid received from the outlet of the chamber at the end of the first flow pathway at a temporary storage reservoir prior to the step of directing the return flow of the liquid to the inlet of the enclosure;
in order to absorb a variation in volume of a coolant caused by temperature change.
Claims 31-33, 39, 46-47 and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malouin (US 20230048500 A1) as applied to claims 1, 36 and 48 above, and further in view of Jia (US 20240324146 A1).
As to Claim 31, Malouin does not disclose:
comprising a plurality of second housings, each having a respective inlet and outlet connected in fluid communication to the cooling unit.
However, Jia discloses:
comprising a plurality of second housings (cold plates 131; see Figs. 2A-2B), each having a respective inlet and outlet (each 131 have an inlet and outlet) connected in fluid communication to the cooling unit 32 (Par. 0058 “The heat exchange unit 32 is integrated at the rear of the cabinet body 2, and the heat exchange unit 32 is configured to cool coolant transported to a device node 2 to reduce a temperature of the coolant, to perform good cooling and heat dissipation for the device node 1”; each cold plate 131 fluidly connected to 32; see Fig. 7);
in order to provide cooling to a plurality of main chips 121 (Par. 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Jia e.g., providing:
comprising a plurality of second housings, each having a respective inlet and outlet connected in fluid communication to the cooling unit;
in order to provide cooling to a plurality of main chips/heat generating components.
As to Claim 32, the obvious modification of Malouin in view of Jia discloses:
wherein at least some of the second housings (131 of Jia) are connected in-series (Par. 0049 “the liquid cold plates 131 may be disposed in series (as shown in FIG. 2A)”) with one another as part of a liquid flow network including the cooling unit (connected to 32 of Jia; connection defined a fluid flow network).
As to Claim 33, the obvious modification of Malouin in view of Jia discloses:
wherein at least some of the second housings (131 of Jia) are connected in-parallel (Par. 0049 “the liquid cold plates 131 may be disposed in parallel (as shown in FIG. 2B)”) with one another as part of a liquid flow network including the cooling unit (connected to 32 of Jia; connection defined a fluid flow network).
As to Claim 39, Malouin does not disclose:
comprising:
plurality of enclosures defined by respective second housings each enclosing a respective heat-generating electronic component provided at the electronic device;
wherein the plurality of enclosures are connected in liquid flow in-series with one another; and
wherein the respective heat-generating electronic components comprise substantially the same operating temperature or comprise different operating temperatures arranged within respective second housings in order of increasing operating temperature such that the liquid is configured to flow through the respective enclosures in contact with the respective heat-generating electronic components in-series from the relative low to high operating temperature.
However, Jia discloses:
comprising:
plurality of enclosures (cold plates 131, Fig. 2A) defined by respective second housings each enclosing a respective heat-generating electronic component 121 provided at the electronic device (board 12; 131 corresponds to 205 in that 205 encloses 204 of Malouin);
wherein the plurality of enclosures 131 are connected in liquid flow in-series with one another (Par. 0049 “the liquid cold plates 131 may be disposed in series (as shown in FIG. 2A)”); and
wherein the respective heat-generating electronic components 121 comprise substantially the same operating temperature (Par. 0046 “At least one main chip 121 is disposed on the circuit board 12. The main chip 121 has high power consumption and can generate high heat, and the main chip 121 may be defined as a first-type device”; main chips 121 are high heat chips, 121 are same under each cold plate 131) or comprise different operating temperatures arranged within respective second housings in order of increasing operating temperature such that the liquid is configured to flow through the respective enclosures in contact with the respective heat-generating electronic components in-series from the relative low to high operating temperature;
in order to provide cooling to a plurality of main chips 121 (Par. 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Malouin as further suggested by Jia e.g., providing:
comprising:
plurality of enclosures defined by respective second housings each enclosing a respective heat-generating electronic component provided at the electronic device;
wherein the plurality of enclosures are connected in liquid flow in-series with one another; and
wherein the respective heat-generating electronic components comprise substantially the same operating temperature or comprise different operating temperatures arranged within respective second housings in order of increasing operating temperature such that the liquid is configured to flow through the respective enclosures in contact with the respective heat-generating electronic components in-series from the relative low to high operating temperature;
in order to provide cooling to a plurality of main chips/heat generating components.
As to Claim 46, Malouin discloses:
wherein the electronic device (204,207) comprises a plurality of first heat-generating electronic components (plurality of 207) each immersed in the liquid 210 (plurality of 207 immersed in 210).
Malouin does not disclose:
a plurality of second housings defining respective enclosures to accommodate the heat-generating electronic components.
However, Jia discloses:
a plurality of second housings (cold plates 131, Fig. 2A) defining respective enclosures to accommodate the heat-generating electronic components 121 (131 corresponds to 205 in that 205 encloses 204 of Malouin; Par. 0047 “each main chip 121 corresponds to one liquid cold plate 131”);
in order to provide cooling to a plurality of main chips 121 (Par. 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Malouin as further suggested by Jia e.g., providing:
a plurality of second housings defining respective enclosures to accommodate the heat-generating electronic components;
in order to provide cooling to a plurality of main chips/heat generating components.
As to Claim 47, the obvious modification of Malouin in view of Jia discloses:
wherein the liquid flows through the enclosures (131 of Jia correspond to 205 of Malouin) in direct contact with the heat-generating electronic components (210 in direct contact with 204 of Malouin, correspond to multiple components 121) and the flow through some of the enclosures is in-series (Par. 0049 “the liquid cold plates 131 may be disposed in series (as shown in FIG. 2A)”; Jia) and/or the flow through some of the enclosures is in-parallel.
As to Claim 49, Malouin discloses:
comprising:
at least one primary housing 201 defining the chamber (inside 201) to accommodate the at least one electronic device (204,207) having at the least one heat-generating electronic component (204,207 each constitute an electronic device);
a plurality of electronic devices (204,207) each having at least one heat-generating electronic component (each component 204,207 is a device), the devices 204,207 immersed within the liquid 210 contained within the chamber 201 and the at least one heat-generating electronic component 204 immersed within the liquid 210 contained within the respective enclosures (at least one 204 is disposed within perimeter of 205 and immersed within 210 of 205).
Malouin does not disclose:
a plurality of second housings located within the chamber defining respective enclosures to at least partially accommodate respective heat-generating electronic component of the devices.
However, Jia discloses:
a plurality of second housings (cold plates 131, Fig. 2A) located within the chamber (housing 11) defining respective enclosures to at least partially accommodate respective heat-generating electronic component 121 of the devices (131 corresponds to 205 in that 205 encloses 204 of Malouin; Par. 0047 “each main chip 121 corresponds to one liquid cold plate 131”);
in order to provide cooling to a plurality of main chips 121 (Par. 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Malouin as further suggested by Jia e.g., providing:
a plurality of second housings located within the chamber defining respective enclosures to at least partially accommodate respective heat-generating electronic component of the devices;
in order to provide cooling to a plurality of main chips/heat generating components.
As to Claim 50, the obvious modification of Malouin in view of Jia discloses:
wherein the plurality of electronic devices (204, 207 of Malouin) each have the first 207 and second heat-generating electronic components 204, the devices and the first heat-generating electronic components 207 at least partially immersed within or completely submerged by the liquid 210 contained within the primary housing 201 (207 of Malouin submerged within 210 of bath 201) and the second heat-generating electronic components (204 of Malouin, wherein 204 correspond to plurality of 121 of Jia) at least partially immersed within or completely submerged by the liquid 210 contained within the enclosures (205 of Malouin; plurality of components 121 of Jia correspond to 204 of Malouin; 204 of Malouin immersed within 210 of 205).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 8 and 14, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device as recited in the dependent claims 8 and 14, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because claims 8 and 14 recite the following limitations:
“wherein the control unit is configured to control the liquid flow through the chamber for a first heat energy exchange with the first heat-generating electronic component and then to control the liquid flow through the enclosure for a second heat energy exchange with the second heat-generating electronic component, the second heat energy exchange being supplemental and additional to the first heat energy exchange such that an increase in a temperature of the liquid at the outlet of the enclosure is a sum of a temperature increase of the liquid having passed through the chamber and the enclosure.” – claim 8;
“wherein the inlet of the second housing is defined by at least a perimeter of an opening by which the second housing is positionable to receive and envelope the heat-generating electronic component at the enclosure.” – claim 14.
Attlesey (US 20090260777 A1) discloses dispersion plenums over processors, however, the inlet is not defined by a perimeter of an opening of the plenum enveloping the processor. Additionally, the temperature of the liquid at the outlet of the plenums are not a sum of both inside the plenum and within the case 12, rather just the increase from plenums 74.
Tufty (US 20190090383 A1) discloses plenum housings 126 and 130 over CPUs and GPUs, however, the inlet is not defined by a perimeter of an opening of the plenum enveloping the processors. Additionally, the temperature of the liquid at the outlet of the plenums are not a sum of both inside the plenum and within the space 114, rather just the increase from plenums 126 and 130.
Campbell (US 7916483 B2) discloses open flow cold plates comprising a coolant supply however, the inlet is not defined by a perimeter of an opening of the plenum enveloping the processors. Additionally, the temperature of the liquid at the outlet of the cold plates are not a sum of both inside the cold plates and within the enclosure 720 of Fig. 7, rather just the increase from the cold plates 700.
Longhurst (US 11917796 B2) discloses a receptacle covering a heat generating element with an open bottom, however, the inlet is not defined by a perimeter of an opening of the receptacle enveloping the component.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claims 8 and 14, are believed to render said claims 8 and 14 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841