Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1-4, 11, 17, 19-21, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZARIFI (US 2020/0358576 A1) in view of BENGTSSON (WO 2022/078763 A1).
As per claim 1, ZARIFI teaches an apparatus (Fig.3A, electronic device 110), comprising: at least one processor (Fig.3A, processing device 200); and at least one memory including computer program code (Fig.3A, memory storage 208), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform transmitting to a user equipment a positioning-specific association between a sounding reference signal index and an index of downlink resources (¶0030, transmitting to the UE positioning relation between SRS index and downlink control information with index provided).
However, ZARIFI does not explicitly teach configuring the user equipment with a reporting behavior for uplink positioning in radio resource control inactive mode; and receiving a parameter from the user equipment according to the configured reporting behavior.
In the same field of endeavor, BENGTSSON teaches configuring the user equipment with a reporting behavior for uplink positioning in radio resource control inactive mode (Fig.10 and page 19, lines 19-30, configuring the UE with reporting performance/behavior of positioning signals for UL transmission in RRC_INACTIVE mode); and receiving a parameter from the user equipment according to the configured reporting behavior (page 18, lines 26-32 and page 19 lines 23-25, UE start to transmit UL SRS and parameter based on the configured reporting performance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI’s invention in order to facilitate positioning of the UE that is performed by the UE while being unconnected to a wireless network to improve position accuracy.
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, ZARIFI teaches wherein the transmitting is performed periodically based on periodic generation of the positioning-specific association, is performed in response to a predetermined event, or is performed on demand (¶0160, transmitting is performed periodically based on the positioning and is performed based on scheduled or configured UL transmissions to a second UL BWP (i.e. predetermined event)).
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 1 above, ZARIFI does not explicitly teach wherein the transmitting to the user equipment is contingent on the user equipment being in radio resource control connected mode.
In the same field of endeavor, BENGTSSON teaches wherein the transmitting to the user equipment is contingent on the user equipment being in radio resource control connected mode (page 12, lines 27-29, transmitting to the UE 10 depends on the UE 10 in RRC connected mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI’s invention in order to facilitate positioning of the UE that is performed by the UE while being unconnected to a wireless network to improve position accuracy.
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 1 above, ZARIFI does not explicitly teach wherein the association is between the sounding reference signal index and a synchronization signal block index or a beam index.
In the same field of endeavor, BENGTSSON teaches wherein the association is between the sounding reference signal index and a synchronization signal block index or a beam index.
In the same field of endeavor, BENGTSSON teaches wherein the association is between the sounding reference signal index and a synchronization signal block index or a beam index (Fig.9 and page 16, lines 7-10, association between the SRS index and beam index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI’s invention in order to facilitate positioning of the UE that is performed by the UE while being unconnected to a wireless network to improve position accuracy.
As per claim 11 as applied to claim 1 above, ZARIFI teaches selecting a sounding reference signal index based on the parameter received from the user equipment (¶0055, selecting SRS index based on the received parameter).
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 1 above, ZARIFI does not explicitly teach, wherein the configuring is performed while the user equipment is in radio resource control inactive mode without the user equipment switching to radio resource control connected mode.
In the same field of endeavor, BENGTSSON teaches wherein the configuring is performed while the user equipment is in radio resource control inactive mode without the user equipment switching to radio resource control connected mode (page 14, lines 26-29, Based on receiving the cell information, the network is configured to release the UE 10 by the transmission of Msg4, without proceeding to RRC_CONNECTED).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI’s invention in order to facilitate positioning of the UE that is performed by the UE while being unconnected to a wireless network to improve position accuracy.
As per claim 19, ZARIFI teaches an apparatus (Fig.3A, electronic device 110), comprising: at least one processor (Fig.3A, processing device 200); and at least one memory including computer program code (Fig.3A, memory storage 208), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform receiving a positioning-specific association between a sounding reference signal index and an index of downlink resources (¶0030, transmitting to the UE positioning relation between SRS index and downlink control information with index provided).
However, ZARIFI does not explicitly teach receiving a configuration of a reporting behavior for uplink positioning in radio resource control inactive mode; and transmitting a parameter according to the configured reporting behavior.
In the same field of endeavor, BENGTSSON teaches receiving a configuration of a reporting behavior for uplink positioning in radio resource control inactive mode (Fig.10 and page 19, lines 19-30, receiving configuration by configuring the UE with reporting performance or behavior of positioning signals for UL transmission in RRC_INACTIVE mode); and transmitting a parameter according to the configured reporting behavior (page 18, lines 26-32 and page 19 lines 23-25, UE start to transmit UL SRS and parameter based on the configured reporting performance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI’s invention in order to facilitate positioning of the UE that is performed by the UE while being unconnected to a wireless network to improve position accuracy.
As per claim 20 as applied to claim 19 above, ZARIFI does not explicitly teach wherein the receiving the positioning- specific association is performed in radio resource control connected mode.
In the same field of endeavor, BENGTSSON teaches wherein the receiving the positioning- specific association is performed in radio resource control connected mode (page 12, lines 27-29, transmitting to the UE 10 depends on the UE 10 in RRC connected mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI’s invention in order to facilitate positioning of the UE that is performed by the UE while being unconnected to a wireless network to improve position accuracy.
As per claim 21 as applied to claim 19 above, ZARIFI does not explicitly teach wherein the association is between the sounding reference signal index and a synchronization signal block index or a beam index.
In the same field of endeavor, BENGTSSON teaches wherein the association is between the sounding reference signal index and a synchronization signal block index or a beam index.
In the same field of endeavor, BENGTSSON teaches wherein the association is between the sounding reference signal index and a synchronization signal block index or a beam index (Fig.9 and page 16, lines 7-10, association between the SRS index and beam index).
As per claim 46, ZARIFI teaches a method, comprising: receiving, by a user equipment, a positioning-specific association between a sounding reference signal index and an index of downlink resources (¶0030, transmitting to the UE positioning relation between SRS index and downlink control information with index provided).
However, ZARIFI does not explicitly teach receiving, by the user equipment, a configuration of a reporting behavior for uplink positioning in radio resource control inactive mode; and transmitting, by the user equipment, a parameter according to the configured reporting behavior.
In the same field of endeavor, BENGTSSON teaches receiving a configuration of a reporting behavior for uplink positioning in radio resource control inactive mode (Fig.10 and page 19, lines 19-30, receiving configuration by configuring the UE with reporting performance or behavior of positioning signals for UL transmission in RRC_INACTIVE mode); and transmitting a parameter according to the configured reporting behavior (page 18, lines 26-32 and page 19 lines 23-25, UE start to transmit UL SRS and parameter based on the configured reporting performance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI’s invention in order to facilitate positioning of the UE that is performed by the UE while being unconnected to a wireless network to improve position accuracy.
B) Claims 5-6, 10, and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZARIFI (US 2020/0358576 A1) in view of BENGTSSON (WO 2022/078763 A1) and further in view of AKKARAKARAN (US 2018/0295540 A1).
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, ZARIFI in view of BENGTSSON does not explicitly teach, wherein the reporting behavior configuration identifies that when a predetermined trigger occurs the user equipment transmits at least one of a predetermined rank-ordered resource index values and a time stamp of the predetermined trigger, wherein the parameter comprises predetermined rank-ordered resource index values.
In the same field of endeavor, AKKARAKARAN teaches wherein the reporting behavior configuration identifies that when a predetermined trigger occurs the user equipment transmits at least one of a predetermined rank-ordered resource index values and a time stamp of the predetermined trigger, wherein the parameter comprises predetermined rank-ordered resource index values (¶0024, trigger occurs the UE transmit ordered PUCCH resource ID index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI and BENGTSSON’s invention in order to provide a common protocol that enables different wireless devices to communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level to reduce latency in uplink grant and improve data transmission time.
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 5 above, BENGTSSON further teaches wherein the predetermined trigger comprises a determination that a resource index is preferable to a previously best resource index based on criteria provided to the user equipment (page 18, lines 1-5, trigger information such as preferred beams quality index and etc.).
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 1 above, ZARIFI in view of BENGTSSON does not explicitly teach, wherein the receiving the parameter comprises receiving the parameter sent by the user equipment using small data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, AKKARAKARAN teaches wherein the receiving the parameter comprises receiving the parameter sent by the user equipment using small data transmission (¶0031, receiving the data buffered in the UE's transmission queue using minimum/small transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI and BENGTSSON’s invention in order to provide a common protocol that enables different wireless devices to communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level to reduce latency in uplink grant and improve data transmission time.
As per claim 22 as applied to claim 19 above, ZARIFI in view of BENGTSSON does not explicitly teach wherein the reporting behavior configuration identifies that when a predetermined trigger occurs the apparatus is caused to transmit at least one of predetermined rank-ordered resource index values or a time stamp of the predetermined trigger.
In the same field of endeavor, AKKARAKARAN teaches wherein the reporting behavior configuration identifies that when a predetermined trigger occurs the apparatus is caused to transmit at least one of predetermined rank-ordered resource index values or a time stamp of the predetermined trigger (¶0024, trigger occurs the UE transmit ordered PUCCH resource ID index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI and BENGTSSON’s invention in order to provide a common protocol that enables different wireless devices to communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level to reduce latency in uplink grant and improve data transmission time.
As per claim 23 as applied to claim 22 above, BENGTSSON further teaches a determination that a resource index is preferable to a previously best resource index based on criteria used by the apparatus (page 18, lines 1-5, trigger information such as preferred beams quality index, etc.).
As per claim 24 as applied to claim 22 above, AKKARAKARAN teaches, wherein the rank- ordered resource index values comprise a first predetermined number of values ordered by the criteria used by the apparatus (¶0024, ordered resource index includes predetermined value(s)).
As per claim 25 as applied to claim 23 above, ZARIFI teaches wherein the criteria is based on at least one of synchronization signal block reference signal received power, synchronization signal block signal to interference plus noise ratio, synchronization signal block line of sight indication, or synchronization signal block timing advance (¶0195, synchronization signal block signal).
As per claim 26 as applied to claim 23 above, ZARIFI teaches the rank-ordered resource index values comprise a second predetermined number of sounding reference signal indices, wherein the sounding reference signal indices are derived from the positioning-specific association (¶0031-34, second number of SRS are received from the positioning measurements).
As per claim 27 as applied to claim 19 above, ZARIFI in view of BENGTSSON does not explicitly teach, wherein the transmitting the parameter using small data transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, AKKARAKARAN teaches wherein the transmitting the parameter using small data transmission (¶0031, receiving the data buffered in the UE's transmission queue using minimum/small transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI and BENGTSSON’s invention in order to provide a common protocol that enables different wireless devices to communicate on a municipal, national, regional, and even global level to reduce latency in uplink grant and improve data transmission time.
C) Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZARIFI (US 2020/0358576 A1) in view of BENGTSSON (WO 2022/078763 A1) and further in view of DONG (US 2023/0189198 A1).
As per claim 18 as applied to claim 1 above, ZARIFI in view of BENGTSSON does not explicitly teach wherein a single message comprises a first information element comprising the positioning-specific association and a second information element comprising the configuration of the report behavior.
In the same field of endeavor, DONG teaches wherein a single message comprises a first information element comprising the positioning-specific association and a second information element comprising the configuration of the report behavior (¶0106-110, first paging message includes first information element carrying positioning indication information and second information element carrying positioning configuration (i.e. reporting performance)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ZARIFI and BENGTSSON’s invention in order to provide the UE with positioning assistance information to save energy consumption of the UE and reduce positioning delay.
Conclusion
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643