DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the response filed on July 10, 2026. Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 1-14 represent a method and claims 15-16 represents an apparatus directed to enabling cellular based zero trust network access.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of the Remarks, the applicant argues that claims 7, 11, and 16 recite the SASE entity as an intermediary gatekeeper between the UE and the GBA/AKMA platform, and that the examiner “has conflated the SASE entity with the AF”. The applicant further asserts that “there is no intermediary entity that first determines whether to allow the request and then authorizes the AAnF to share the key” disclosed by the prior art 3GPP.
This argument is not persuasive.
The limitation the applicant describes in the remarks to establish separate entities (“sending a session establishment request message to the application entity”) was not rejected over 3GPP. It was rejected over the prior art Soryal ¶ 12 (See Non-Final Action March 11, 2026), which discloses that the SASE may establish one or more communication sessions between a user device and one or more applications in one or more clouds via the SASE. The applicant’s remarks do not address Soryal ¶ 12.
The applicant further asserts that there is no intermediary entity that first determines whether to allow the request and then authorizes the AAnF to share the key. The limitation “determining whether to allow the establishment request” was rejected over Soryal ¶¶ 28 and 44, not over 3GPP. In the combination as set forth, the intermediary entity is the SASE of Soryal, which receives the establishment request (Soryal, ¶ 27), determines whether to allow (Soryal, ¶¶ 28, 44), and upon determining to allow it, engages the anchor function of 3GPP by way of the initiate message. In the combination disclosed, the SASE entity corresponds to the SASE of Soryal, the application entity corresponds to the enterprise systems of Soryal, and the claimed GBA/AKMA platform corresponds to the AAnF of 3GPP. The AF of 3GPP designates a functional role which requests the application key from the anchor function. The applicant has not identified any statement in 3GPP requiring that this role be performed by an endpoint application rather than by an intermediary role. The applicant’s specification and drawing (Fig 8.) disclose a SASE entity residing within an enhanced user plane function and states that GBA/AKMA platforms may reside in a telecommunication infrastructure.
On page 8 of the Remarks, the applicant further argues that 3GPP section 6.2.1, step 5 confirms that the AF is the endpoint of the communication with the UE and is the application entity itself, and that the 3GPP architecture does not contemplate the recited trilateral flow.
This argument is not persuasive.
As set discussed above, the intermediary entity in the combination is supplied by Soryal, not by 3GPP, and 3GPP is relied upon the message exchange with the GBA/AKMA platform. The applicant instead treats the operations of the AF in step 5, requesting the key from the AAnF and sending the establishment response to the UE, as the same operations that the claims attribute to the application entity. Claim 1 recites “receiving an establishment response from the application entity”, and the applicant’s specification, describes the claimed embodiment with respect to Fig. 9 wherein the App (A) obtains the session key by sending an AKMA AF key request to the AAnF and then responds to the UE. The operations the applicant identifies in step 5 is therefore the conduct of the claimed invention itself and it does not distinguish the claims over the cited combination.
On pages 7-8 of the Remarks, the applicant argues that the recited “wherein the initiate message comprising an authorization to share a session key with the application entity” requires the SASE entity to authorize the GBA/AKMA platform to share the key with a third party, and that “no entity in 3GPP performs the function of authorizing the AAnF to share a key with a third party”, and lastly that Soryal does not cure this deficiency because “Soryal’s SASE does not perform any intermediary authorization function with respect to any GBA/AKMA platform.”
This argument is not persuasive.
As previously stated and in the office action submitted on March 11, 2026, Soryal does not explicitly disclose a GBA/AKMA platform and 3GPP was relied upon the initiate message and acknowledgement response. The citation to Soryal ¶ 12 pertains to the sending of the session establishment request message. The claims recite that the initiate message “comprises” an authorization and the applicant’s specification (¶ 108) as cited by the applicant in the Interview Summary, describes that content including a session key identifier together with additional properties/parameters that may include app identifiers, session key, nonce, etc. Under the applicant’s own disclosure, the recited authorization contains a session key identifier together with an identifier of the application entity. 3GPP section 6.2.1 discloses a message comprising the same elements. With respect to the combination, the SASE entity of Soryal sends the anchor function a message comprising the session key identifier and the identifier of the application entity, and it is the identifier which determines the entity for which the anchor function derives and releases the application key. This authorization recited in the claims as understood in light of the applicants specification (¶ 108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soryal et al. (US 20230297664), hereinafter referred to as Soryal, in view of 3GPP TS 33.535 V17.5.0 (NPL: 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Authentication and Key Management for Applications (AKMA) based on 3GPP credentials in the 5G System (5GS)), hereinafter referred to as 3GPP.
Regarding Claim 1, Soryal discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) (In ¶ 19, Soryal discloses “each of the devices 111-113 may comprise any single device or combination of devices that may comprise a user endpoint device, or client device.”) for establishing a secured connection with an application entity in an enterprise network (In ¶ 3, Soryal discloses “establishing a communication session between a user device and an enterprise system”), the method comprising sending an establishment request to a Secure Access Secure Edge (SASE) entity (In ¶ 27, Soryal discloses “device 111 may establish a communication with SASE 198 to seek such access.”); receiving an establishment response from the application entity if the SASE entity determines to allow the establishment request (In ¶ 28, Soryal discloses “If the two-factor authentication code is correct, the SIA of SASE 198 may then request the second key from the enterprise network 162” and further discloses in ¶ 44 “the enterprise may provide the second key when the at least one of the user or the user device is authorized to use the at least one access credential”); and establishing a connection with the application entity based on the session key (In ¶ 12, Soryal discloses “the SASE may establish one or more communication sessions between a user device and one or more applications in one or more clouds via the SASE.” and further discloses “then obtain access to one or more enterprise systems in one or more clouds using the access credential(s)”).
However, Soryal does not explicitly disclose the use of a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application platform.
3GPP discloses:
and authorizes a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application (GBA/AKMA) platform to share a session key with the application entity (In section 6.2.1, 3FPP discloses “the AF selects the AAnF as defined in clause 6.7, and sends a Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get request to AAnF with the A-KID to request the KAF for the UE.” And further discloses “The AAnF sends Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get response to the AF with SUPI, KAF and the KAF expiration time.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal’s approach by utilizing 3GPP of utilizing a GBA/AKMA platform defined by 3GPP to provide a key required by the SASE architecture as the motivation would allow enterprise applications to leverage 3GPP hardware-based security for cloud-distributed resources (See 3GPP, Section 1).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose:
The method of claim 1, further comprising the steps of: receiving an error message from the SASE entity if the SASE entity determines not to allow the establishment request (In ¶ 44, Soryal discloses “the enterprise may decline to provide the second key, or may provide an incorrect second key that may present the access credential locker from being properly decrypted.”); and terminating a connection between the UE and the application entity (In ¶ 31, Soryal discloses “SASE 198 and/or enterprise network 162 may then implement any number of automated actions, such as closing connections between device 111 and enterprise system, locking/encrypting the access credential locker, etc.”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose the limitations of claim 1.
However, Soryal does not explicitly disclose the generating a session key with GBA/AKMA prior to the request.
3GPP discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of: generating a session key with the GBA/AKMA platform before sending the establishment request to the SASE entity (In section 6.1, 3GPP discloses “AKMA reuses the 5G primary authentication procedure executed e.g. during the UE Registration to authenticate the UE. A successful 5G primary authentication results in KAUSF being stored at the AUSF and the UE.”).
One of ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal’s approach by utilizing 3GPP of utilizing a GBA/AKMA platform defined by 3GPP to provide a key required by the SASE architecture as the motivation would allow enterprise applications to leverage 3GPP hardware-based security for cloud-distributed resources (See 3GPP, Section 1).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose:
The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of: establishing a Virtual Private Network (VPN) tunnel with the SASE entity (In ¶ 10, Soryal discloses “remote access is facilitated at an SASE point-of-presence (POP), and the user can then be steered to an enterprise system (e.g., a database, an application, etc.) directly (e.g., without having to hairpin the traffic via a VPN termination point in an enterprise data center).” wherein the SASE functions as an enhanced version of a VPN) before sending the establishment request to the SASE entity (In ¶ 56, Soryal discloses “step 220 may precede step 215.” Wherein a first key is obtained prior to the access credential needed).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose the limitations of claim 1.
However, Soryal does not disclose the use of a GBA/AKMA platform.
3GPP discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the session key is computed by the GBA/AKMA platform. (In section 6.3, 3GPP discloses “The AAnF generates the KAF as specified in clause 6.2 and sends the response to the NEF with the KAF, the KAF expiration time (KAF exptime) and SUPI.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal’s approach by utilizing 3GPP of utilizing a GBA/AKMA platform defined by 3GPP to provide a key required by the SASE architecture as the motivation would allow enterprise applications to leverage 3GPP hardware-based security for cloud-distributed resources (See 3GPP, Section 1).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: providing user data; and forwarding the user data to a host via the transmission to the application entity (In ¶ 12, Soryal discloses “all communications between the user device and the enterprise system(s) may be routed via the SASE, e.g., without first having to pass through an enterprise data center and hairpin back out to one or more clouds in which the enterprise system(s) is/are deployed.”)
Regarding Claim 7, Soryal discloses:
A method performed by a Secure Access Secure Edge (SASE) entity for establishing a secured connection between a user equipment (UE) and an application entity in an enterprise network (In ¶ 3, Soryal discloses “establishing a communication session between a user device and an enterprise system”), the method comprising: receiving an establishment request from the UE (In ¶ 27, Soryal discloses “device 111 may establish a communication with SASE 198 to seek such access.”); determining whether to allow the establishment request (In ¶ 28, Soryal discloses “If the two-factor authentication code is correct, the SIA of SASE 198 may then request the second key from the enterprise network 162” and further discloses in ¶ 44 “the enterprise may provide the second key when the at least one of the user or the user device is authorized to use the at least one access credential”); and sending a session establishment request message to the application entity, wherein the initiate message comprises an authorization to share a session key with the application entity (In ¶ 12, Soryal discloses “the SASE may establish one or more communication sessions between a user device and one or more applications in one or more clouds via the SASE.” and further discloses “then obtain access to one or more enterprise systems in one or more clouds using the access credential(s)”).
However, Soryal does not explicitly disclose the use of a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application platform.
3GPP discloses:
sending an initiate message to a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application (GBA/AKMA) platform if the SASE entity determines to allow the establishment request; receiving an acknowledgement (ACK) response from the GBA/AKMA platform; (In section 6.2.1, 3FPP discloses “the AF selects the AAnF as defined in clause 6.7, and sends a Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get request to AAnF with the A-KID to request the KAF for the UE.” And further discloses “The AAnF sends Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get response to the AF with SUPI, KAF and the KAF expiration time.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal’s approach by utilizing 3GPP of utilizing a GBA/AKMA platform defined by 3GPP to provide a key required by the SASE architecture as the motivation would allow enterprise applications to leverage 3GPP hardware-based security for cloud-distributed resources (See 3GPP, Section 1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose:
The method of claim 7, further comprising the step of: sending an error message to the UE to terminate a connection between the UE and the application entity if the SASE entity determines not to allow the establishment request (In ¶ 44, Soryal discloses “the enterprise may decline to provide the second key, or may provide an incorrect second key that may present the access credential locker from being properly decrypted.” and further in ¶ 31 “SASE 198 and/or enterprise network 162 may then implement any number of automated actions, such as closing connections between device 111 and enterprise system, locking/encrypting the access credential locker, etc”)
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose:
The method of claim 7, wherein the establishment request comprises a session key identifier (In ¶ 3, Soryal discloses “where the request comprises a token that identifies the access credential locker, obtain a first key from the user device,”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose the limitations of claim 7.
However, Soryal does not explicitly disclose the use of a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application platform.
3GPP discloses:
The method of claim 7, wherein the initiate message comprises at least one of the following :one or more properties assigned to the session key based on credentials of the UE or the session key identifier (In section 6.2.1, 3GPP discloses “The AF also includes its identity (AF_ID) in the request.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal’s approach by utilizing 3GPP of utilizing a GBA/AKMA platform defined by 3GPP to provide a key required by the SASE architecture as the motivation would allow enterprise applications to leverage 3GPP hardware-based security for cloud-distributed resources (See 3GPP, Section 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Soryal discloses:
A method performed by a computer-implemented controller for establishing a secured connection between a user equipment (UE) and an application entity in an enterprise network (In ¶ 3, Soryal discloses “establishing a communication session between a user device and an enterprise system”), the method comprising: receiving an establishment request from the UE (In ¶ 27, Soryal discloses “device 111 may establish a communication with SASE 198 to seek such access.”); determining whether to allow the establishment request (In ¶ 28, Soryal discloses “If the two-factor authentication code is correct, the SIA of SASE 198 may then request the second key from the enterprise network 162” and further discloses in ¶ 44 “the enterprise may provide the second key when the at least one of the user or the user device is authorized to use the at least one access credential”); and sending a session establishment request message to the application entity, wherein the initiate message comprises an authorization to share a session key with the application entity. (In ¶ 12, Soryal discloses “the SASE may establish one or more communication sessions between a user device and one or more applications in one or more clouds via the SASE.” and further discloses “then obtain access to one or more enterprise systems in one or more clouds using the access credential(s)”).
However, Soryal does not explicitly disclose the use of a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application platform.
3GPP discloses:
sending an initiate message to a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application (GBA/AKMA) platform if the computer-implemented controller determines to allow the establishment request; receiving an acknowledgement (ACK) response from the GBA/AKMA platform (In section 6.2.1, 3FPP discloses “the AF selects the AAnF as defined in clause 6.7, and sends a Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get request to AAnF with the A-KID to request the KAF for the UE.” And further discloses “The AAnF sends Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get response to the AF with SUPI, KAF and the KAF expiration time.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal’s approach by utilizing 3GPP of utilizing a GBA/AKMA platform defined by 3GPP to provide a key required by the SASE architecture as the motivation would allow enterprise applications to leverage 3GPP hardware-based security for cloud-distributed resources (See 3GPP, Section 1).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose:
The method of claim 11, further comprising the step: sending an error message to the UE to terminate a connection between the UE and the application entity if the computer-implemented controller determines not to allow the establishment request. (In ¶ 44, Soryal discloses “the enterprise may decline to provide the second key, or may provide an incorrect second key that may present the access credential locker from being properly decrypted.” and further in ¶ 31 “SASE 198 and/or enterprise network 162 may then implement any number of automated actions, such as closing connections between device 111 and enterprise system, locking/encrypting the access credential locker, etc”)
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose:
The method of claim 11, wherein the establishment request comprises a session key identifier (In ¶ 3, Soryal discloses “where the request comprises a token that identifies the access credential locker, obtain a first key from the user device,”).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Soryal and 3GPP disclose the limitations of claim 11.
However, Soryal does not explicitly disclose the use of a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application platform.
3GPP discloses:
The method of claim 11, wherein the initiate message comprises at least one of the following :one or more properties assigned to the session key based on credentials of the user equipment or the session key identifier (In section 6.2.1, 3GPP discloses “The AF also includes its identity (AF_ID) in the request.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal’s approach by utilizing 3GPP of utilizing a GBA/AKMA platform defined by 3GPP to provide a key required by the SASE architecture as the motivation would allow enterprise applications to leverage 3GPP hardware-based security for cloud-distributed resources (See 3GPP, Section 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Soryal discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for establishing a secured connection with an application entity in an enterprise network (In ¶ 3, Soryal discloses “establishing a communication session between a user device and an enterprise system”), comprising: processing circuitry configured to perform: sending an establishment request to a Secure Access Secure Edge (SASE) entity (In ¶ 27, Soryal discloses “device 111 may establish a communication with SASE 198 to seek such access.”); and establishing a connection with the application entity based on the session key (In ¶ 12, Soryal discloses “the SASE may establish one or more communication sessions between a user device and one or more applications in one or more clouds via the SASE.” and further discloses “then obtain access to one or more enterprise systems in one or more clouds using the access credential(s)”); and power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the processing circuitry (In ¶ 59, Soryal discloses “As depicted in FIG. 3, the processing system 300 comprises one or more hardware processor elements 302 (e.g., a microprocessor, a central processing unit (CPU) and the like), a memory 304, (e.g., random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), a disk drive, an optical drive, a magnetic drive, and/or a Universal Serial Bus (USB) drive)” wherein hardware components require power to operate).
However, Soryal does not explicitly disclose the use of a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application platform.
3GPP discloses:
receiving an establishment response from the application entity if the SASE entity determines to allow the establishment request and authorizes a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application (GBA/AKMA) platform to share a session key with the application entity; (In section 6.2.1, 3FPP discloses “the AF selects the AAnF as defined in clause 6.7, and sends a Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get request to AAnF with the A-KID to request the KAF for the UE.” And further discloses “The AAnF sends Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get response to the AF with SUPI, KAF and the KAF expiration time.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal’s approach by utilizing 3GPP of utilizing a GBA/AKMA platform defined by 3GPP to provide a key required by the SASE architecture as the motivation would allow enterprise applications to leverage 3GPP hardware-based security for cloud-distributed resources (See 3GPP, Section 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Soryal discloses:
A computer-implemented controller for establishing a secured connection between a user equipment (UE) and an application entity in an enterprise network (In ¶ 3, Soryal discloses “establishing a communication session between a user device and an enterprise system”), the computer-implemented controller comprising: processing circuitry configured to perform: receiving an establishment request from the UE (In ¶ 27, Soryal discloses “device 111 may establish a communication with SASE 198 to seek such access.”); determining whether to allow the establishment request (In ¶ 28, Soryal discloses “If the two-factor authentication code is correct, the SIA of SASE 198 may then request the second key from the enterprise network 162” and further discloses in ¶ 44 “the enterprise may provide the second key when the at least one of the user or the user device is authorized to use the at least one access credential”); and sending a session establishment request message to the application entity, wherein the initiate message comprises an authorization to share a session key with the application entity (In ¶ 12, Soryal discloses “the SASE may establish one or more communication sessions between a user device and one or more applications in one or more clouds via the SASE.” and further discloses “then obtain access to one or more enterprise systems in one or more clouds using the access credential(s)”); and power supply circuitry configured to supply power to the processing circuitry (In ¶ 59, Soryal discloses “As depicted in FIG. 3, the processing system 300 comprises one or more hardware processor elements 302 (e.g., a microprocessor, a central processing unit (CPU) and the like), a memory 304, (e.g., random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), a disk drive, an optical drive, a magnetic drive, and/or a Universal Serial Bus (USB) drive)” wherein hardware components require power to operate).
However, Soryal does not explicitly disclose the use of a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application platform.
3GPP discloses:
sending an initiate message to a Generic Bootstrapping Architecture/Authenticated Key Management for Application (GBA/AKMA) platform if the processing circuitry determines to allow the establishment request; receiving an acknowledgement (ACK) response from the GBA/AKMA platform (In section 6.2.1, 3FPP discloses “the AF selects the AAnF as defined in clause 6.7, and sends a Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get request to AAnF with the A-KID to request the KAF for the UE.” And further discloses “The AAnF sends Naanf_AKMA_ApplicationKey_Get response to the AF with SUPI, KAF and the KAF expiration time.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soryal’s approach by utilizing 3GPP of utilizing a GBA/AKMA platform defined by 3GPP to provide a key required by the SASE architecture as the motivation would allow enterprise applications to leverage 3GPP hardware-based security for cloud-distributed resources (See 3GPP, Section 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhuang et al. (US 20250056227) discloses an authentication and/or key management method between a first device, terminal, and communication device.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHADI H KOBROSLI/Examiner, Art Unit 2492 /RUPAL DHARIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2492