DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooiman, US 2020/0173940 A1 (Kooiman).
Regarding claim 1, Kooiman teaches a system (electron beam inspection system) (Figs. 1 and 2; [0038]) for distortion adjustment (linear distortion correction) ([0051]), the system (electron beam inspection system) (Figs. 1 and 2; [0038]) comprising:
a controller including circuitry (processing unit 80) (Fig. 1; [0041]) configured to cause the system to perform (configured to cause the execution of a method for the system) (Fig. 1; [0041-0042]):
obtaining a plurality of images (obtaining a plurality of SEM (scanning electron microscope) images) ([0051] and [0056]);
determining alignment differences (difference between SEM images and target patterns; including an image alignment between the SEM image and the target pattern) (Fig. 4; [0051]) between a plurality of features on the plurality of images (contact holes) (Fig. 4; [0051]) and corresponding features in layout data (target pattern 340) (Fig. 3; [0051]) corresponding to the plurality of images (determining alignment differences, linear distortion, between contact holes in the SEM images 300 and target pattern 340 using grid 410) (Figs. 3 and 4; [0051]);
modeling the alignment differences (showing the alignment differences between the contact hole centers and the grid intersections) (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]); and
adjusting at least one of:
a machine setting corresponding to obtaining the plurality of images (when an apparent error is identified as caused by the SEM, the SEM can be adjusted to reduce the apparent error) ([0037]) (which includes adjusting an operational parameter of the SEM) ([0017]); or
at least one feature of the plurality of features on at least one image of the plurality of images using the modeling (when real errors are detected then steps in the lithography process can be modified to reduce these real errors) ([0037]).
Kooiman teaches using a grid (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]) but does not explicitly state that the grid is a model; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that since the grid is part of the imaging (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]) and that the imaging is based on a process model ([0118-0119]) that the grid is obviously part of the model.
Regarding claim 2, Kooiman teaches wherein obtaining the plurality of images further comprises extracting the corresponding machine setting (wherein the machine setting corresponds to the images by monitoring the images for potential errors) ([0087-0088]).
Regarding claim 3, Kooiman teaches wherein determining the alignment differences (difference between SEM images and target patterns; including an image alignment between the SEM image and the target pattern) (Fig. 4; [0051]) comprises using the corresponding machine setting (using the initial setting of the SEM) and the layout data (target pattern 340) (Fig. 3; [0051]) to align the plurality of features on the plurality of images with the corresponding features in the layout data (align the contact holes in the SEM images 300 and target pattern 340 using grid 410) (Figs. 3 and 4; [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Kooiman teaches wherein modeling the alignment differences (showing the alignment differences between the contact hole centers and the grid intersections) (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]) comprises using a model based on the corresponding machine setting (using a process model based on the machine settings to simulate a patterning process) ([0087-0088] and [0118-0119]).
Regarding claim 6, Kooiman teaches wherein the model characterizes higher order distortions (using higher order polynomial distortions) ([0052]).
Regarding claim 8, Kooiman teaches wherein the adjustment is a distortion correction (linear distortion correction) ([0051-0052]).
Regarding claim 9, Kooiman teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause the system to perform determining a plurality of metrology errors associated with the alignment differences (metrology errors, such as real errors, based on the alignment difference) ([0050-0052], [0076-0077]) and tuning the modeling based on the plurality of metrology errors (based on the errors, refining a positioning grid calibration of the SEM in response to analysis of the SEM distortion) ([0017], [0087-0088], and [0119]).
Regarding claim 10, Kooiman teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to cause the system to perform extracting a plurality of measurements from the adjusted at least one image (wherein each new image is still checked for recalibration/calibration based on the new operation) ([0087-0088] and [0119]).
Regarding claim 11, Kooiman teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium that stores a set of instructions (a non-transitory computer-readable media that has instructions recorded thereon) ([0124]) that is executable by at least one processor of a computing device (the instructions executed by a computer with a processor) ([0124]) to cause the computing device (computer) ([0124]) to perform a method for distortion adjustment (linear distortion correction) ([0051]), the method comprising:
obtaining a plurality of images (obtaining a plurality of SEM (scanning electron microscope) images) ([0051] and [0056]);
determining alignment differences (difference between SEM images and target patterns; including an image alignment between the SEM image and the target pattern) (Fig. 4; [0051]) between a plurality of features on the plurality of images (contact holes) (Fig. 4; [0051]) and corresponding features in layout data (target pattern 340) (Fig. 3; [0051]) corresponding to the plurality of images (determining alignment differences, linear distortion, between contact holes in the SEM images 300 and target pattern 340 using grid 410) (Figs. 3 and 4; [0051]);
modeling the alignment differences (showing the alignment differences between the contact hole centers and the grid intersections) (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]); and
adjusting at least one of:
a machine setting corresponding to obtaining the plurality of images (when an apparent error is identified as caused by the SEM, the SEM can be adjusted to reduce the apparent error) ([0037]) (which includes adjusting an operational parameter of the SEM) ([0017]); or
at least one feature of the plurality of features on at least one image of the plurality of images using the modeling (when real errors are detected then steps in the lithography process can be modified to reduce these real errors) ([0037]).
Kooiman teaches using a grid (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]) but does not explicitly state that the grid is a model; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that since the grid is part of the imaging (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]) and that the imaging is based on a process model ([0118-0119]) that the grid is obviously part of the model.
Regarding claim 12, Kooiman teaches wherein obtaining the plurality of images further comprises extracting the corresponding machine setting (wherein the machine setting corresponds to the images by monitoring the images for potential errors) ([0087-0088]).
Regarding claim 13, Kooiman teaches wherein determining the alignment differences (difference between SEM images and target patterns; including an image alignment between the SEM image and the target pattern) (Fig. 4; [0051]) comprises using the corresponding machine setting (using the initial setting of the SEM) and the layout data (target pattern 340) (Fig. 3; [0051]) to align the plurality of features on the plurality of images with the corresponding features in the layout data (align the contact holes in the SEM images 300 and target pattern 340 using grid 410) (Figs. 3 and 4; [0051]).
Regarding claim 14, Kooiman teaches wherein modeling the alignment differences (showing the alignment differences between the contact hole centers and the grid intersections) (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]) comprises using a model based on the corresponding machine setting (using a process model based on the machine settings to simulate a patterning process) ([0087-0088] and [0118-0119]).
Regarding claim 16, Kooiman a method for distortion adjustment (linear distortion correction) ([0051]), the method comprising:
obtaining a plurality of images (obtaining a plurality of SEM (scanning electron microscope) images) ([0051] and [0056]);
determining alignment differences (difference between SEM images and target patterns; including an image alignment between the SEM image and the target pattern) (Fig. 4; [0051]) between a plurality of features on the plurality of images (contact holes) (Fig. 4; [0051]) and corresponding features in layout data (target pattern 340) (Fig. 3; [0051]) corresponding to the plurality of images (determining alignment differences, linear distortion, between contact holes in the SEM images 300 and target pattern 340 using grid 410) (Figs. 3 and 4; [0051]);
modeling the alignment differences (showing the alignment differences between the contact hole centers and the grid intersections) (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]); and
adjusting at least one of:
a machine setting corresponding to obtaining the plurality of images (when an apparent error is identified as caused by the SEM, the SEM can be adjusted to reduce the apparent error) ([0037]) (which includes adjusting an operational parameter of the SEM) ([0017]); or
at least one feature of the plurality of features on at least one image of the plurality of images using the modeling (when real errors are detected then steps in the lithography process can be modified to reduce these real errors) ([0037]).
Kooiman teaches using a grid (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]) but does not explicitly state that the grid is a model; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that since the grid is part of the imaging (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]) and that the imaging is based on a process model ([0118-0119]) that the grid is obviously part of the model.
Regarding claim 17, Kooiman teaches wherein obtaining the plurality of images further comprises extracting the corresponding machine setting (wherein the machine setting corresponds to the images by monitoring the images for potential errors) ([0087-0088]).
Regarding claim 18, Kooiman teaches wherein determining the alignment differences (difference between SEM images and target patterns; including an image alignment between the SEM image and the target pattern) (Fig. 4; [0051]) comprises using the corresponding machine setting (using the initial setting of the SEM) and the layout data (target pattern 340) (Fig. 3; [0051]) to align the plurality of features on the plurality of images with the corresponding features in the layout data (align the contact holes in the SEM images 300 and target pattern 340 using grid 410) (Figs. 3 and 4; [0051]).
Regarding claim 19, Kooiman teaches wherein modeling the alignment differences (showing the alignment differences between the contact hole centers and the grid intersections) (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]) comprises using a model based on the corresponding machine setting (using a process model based on the machine settings to simulate a patterning process) ([0087-0088] and [0118-0119]).
Claim(s) 5, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooiman, US 2020/0173940 A1 (Kooiman), and further in view of Shirai et al., US 2013/0301954 A1 (Shirai).
Regarding claim 5, Kooiman teaches a beam deflector ([0040]) and frequency analysis of distortion profiles ([0088]).
However, Kooiman does not explicitly teach “the corresponding machine setting comprises a plurality of deflector signal frequencies”.
Shirai teaches a scanning electron microscope (Abstract); and wherein the corresponding machine setting comprises a plurality of deflector signal frequencies (wherein the device state includes a deflection signal frequency) ([0069], [0072], and [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kooiman to include deflector signal frequencies as part of the machine settings since it allows for the system to cancel out noise (Shirai; [0072]) and thus making it possible to execute the high-accuracy image formation or measurement (Shirai; [0072]).
Regarding claim 15, Kooiman teaches a beam deflector ([0040]) and frequency analysis of distortion profiles ([0088]).
However, Kooiman does not explicitly teach “the corresponding machine setting comprises a plurality of deflector signal frequencies”.
Shirai teaches a scanning electron microscope (Abstract); and wherein the corresponding machine setting comprises a plurality of deflector signal frequencies (wherein the device state includes a deflection signal frequency) ([0069], [0072], and [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kooiman to include deflector signal frequencies as part of the machine settings since it allows for the system to cancel out noise (Shirai; [0072]) and thus making it possible to execute the high-accuracy image formation or measurement (Shirai; [0072]).
Regarding claim 20, Kooiman teaches a beam deflector ([0040]) and frequency analysis of distortion profiles ([0088]).
However, Kooiman does not explicitly teach “the corresponding machine setting comprises a plurality of deflector signal frequencies”.
Shirai teaches a scanning electron microscope (Abstract); and wherein the corresponding machine setting comprises a plurality of deflector signal frequencies (wherein the device state includes a deflection signal frequency) ([0069], [0072], and [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kooiman to include deflector signal frequencies as part of the machine settings since it allows for the system to cancel out noise (Shirai; [0072]) and thus making it possible to execute the high-accuracy image formation or measurement (Shirai; [0072]).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kooiman, US 2020/0173940 A1 (Kooiman), and further in view of Kramer et al., US 2006/0266953 A1 (Kramer).
Regarding claim 7, Kooiman teaches wherein the model comprises a plurality of models (wherein the process model means a model that includes one or more models) ([0118]); wherein the alignment can include, for example, performing any combination of translations in X and Y (or Z for 3D images), symmetric and asymmetric rotations, and symmetric and asymmetric magnification ([0051]); wherein such a procedure can be referred to as a six-parameter linear distortion correction ([0051]); and alignment differences (showing the alignment differences between the contact hole centers and the grid intersections) (Fig. 4; [0051-0052]).
However, Kooiman does not explicitly teach “including at least one model corresponding to a first dimension of the alignment differences and at least one model corresponding to a second dimension of the alignment differences”.
Kramer teaches to determine a positioning error of a scanning electron microscope (Abstract); and wherein including at least one model (simulation model) ([0053-0056]) corresponding to a first dimension of the alignment differences (offset in a first dimension along a first axis) ([0009] and [0053-0056]) and at least one model (simulation model) ([0053-0056]) corresponding to a second dimension of the alignment differences (offset in a first dimension along a first axis) ([0009] and [0053-0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kooiman to include first and second dimensions since it allows for accurate determination of the positioning error (Kramer; [0011]).
Contact
/MICHAEL J VANCHY JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666 Michael.Vanchy@uspto.gov