DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-15, 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghamisi et al., "Multisource and Multitemporal Data Fusion in Remote Sensing: A Comprehensive Review of the State of the Art" as provided in the applicant’s information disclosure statement in view of Hoshii et al. US2011/0069334 hereinafter referred to as Hoshii.
As per Claim 1, Ghamisi teaches the method to be performed by an electronic device to predict reflectance intensity, the method comprising:
pairing a first
generating a prediction function for the point cloud to perform reflectance intensity prediction based on the first and second tuples, the prediction function being trained using reflectance intensity spectral distributions of a plurality of materials; and (Ghamisi, page 8, right column, “Finally, we define the statistical model framework as including 1) measurement to provide data, as described previously 2) characterization of the data through model fitting 3) prediction of unobserved data, given 2)4) forecasting [26]. Prediction—item 3—can be of the measured property x (e.g., reflectance…”)
determining a third reflectance intensity based on an input of a third wavelength to the prediction function. (Ghamisi, page 8, right column, “Finally, we define the statistical model framework as including 1) measurement to provide data, as described previously 2) characterization of the data through model fitting 3) prediction of unobserved data, given 2)4) forecasting [26]. Prediction—item 3—can be of the measured property x (e.g., reflectance…”)
Ghamisi does not explicitly teach the first tuple including a first reflectance intensity and a first wavelength through which the first reflectance intensity is obtained and the second tuple including a second reflectance intensity and a second wavelength through which the second reflectance intensity is obtained;
Hoshii teaches the first tuple including a first reflectance intensity and a first wavelength through which the first reflectance intensity is obtained and the second tuple including a second reflectance intensity and a second wavelength through which the second reflectance intensity is obtained; (Hoshii, Figure 7, tuple considered to be wavelength, spectral reflectance, pixel value)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Hoshii into Ghamisi because by organizing information in a smaller format like a tuple of Hoshii will provide essential information for effective processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the two references to obtain the invention in Claim 1.
As per Claim 2, Ghamisi in view of Hoshii teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first tuple is from data collected by a first sensor that operates at the first wavelength and the second tuple is from data collected by a second sensor that operates at the second wavelength, wherein the point cloud for the physical region is generated based on a plurality of point clouds that include a first point cloud generated from the data collected by the first sensor and a second point cloud generated from the data collected by the second sensor. (Hoshii, Figure 7, tuple considered to be wavelength, spectral reflectance, pixel value and Ghamisi, p 17, “Data fusion can be performed by different algorithms, such as point based (e.g., iterative closest point), keypoint based (e.g., scale invariant feature transform), surface based (e.g., local planes), or any combination of these [116]. This fusion principle is generally valuable in the merging of point clouds Imagery + Point Cloud Enriched Point Cloud from different sensor types”)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 3, Ghamisi in view of Hoshii teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second tuples further includes one three-dimensional coordinates of the same or adjacent points, and a value based on one sensor through which corresponding data is collected. Hoshii, Figure 7, tuple considered to be wavelength, spectral reflectance, pixel value and Ghamisi, page 16, Figure 5)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 10, Ghamisi in view of Hoshii teaches the method of any of claim 1, further comprising: providing the determined third reflectance intensity as input to a process for localization with respect to the physical region. (Ghamisi, page 8, right column, “Finally, we define the statistical model framework as including 1) measurement to provide data, as described previously 2) characterization of the data through model fitting 3) prediction of unobserved data, given 2)4) forecasting [26]. Prediction—item 3—can be of the measured property x (e.g., reflectance…”)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 11, Ghamisi in view of Hoshii teaches the method of any of claim 1, wherein the same or adjacent points represented by the first and second tuples corresponds a same point position in the point cloud, and the first and second wavelengths are different wavelengths. (Ghamisi, page 16, right column and Figure 5, “Point Cloud Level: pixel to point and point to point”, coordinates are paired with intensity, RGB, and class ID and Hoshii, Figure 7, tuple considered to be wavelength, spectral reflectance, pixel value”)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 12, Ghamisi in view of Hoshii teaches the method of any of claim 1, wherein the same or adjacent points represented by the first and second tuples are adjacent points in the point cloud for the physical region and the same or adjacent points corresponding to a same material in the physical region. (Ghamisi, page 16, right column and Figure 5, “Point Cloud Level: pixel to point and point to point”, coordinates are paired with intensity, RGB, and class ID and Hoshii, Figure 7, tuple considered to be wavelength, spectral reflectance, pixel value”)
The rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein.
As per Claim 13, Claim 13 claims an electronic device comprising a processor and non-transitory machine-readable storage medium that provides instructions for performing the method as claimed in Claim 1. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 1.
As per Claim 14, Claim 14 claims the same limitation as Claim 2 and is dependent on a similarly rejected independent claim. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 2.
As per Claim 15, Claim 15 claims the same limitation as Claim 3 and is dependent on a similarly rejected independent claim. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 3.
As per Claim 22, Claim 22 claims the same limitation as Claim 10 and is dependent on a similarly rejected independent claim. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 10.
As per Claim 25, Claim 25 claims a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium that provides instructions for performing the method as claimed in Claim 1. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 16 and 28-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MING Y HON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666