DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/23/26 and 11/20/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 22, 24, 25, 27, 32, 33, 35, 37, 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ericsson WO 2022/015229).
As to claim 1, Ericsson teaches a method performed by a terminal device (Ericsson, [0047], a method by a wireless device), comprising:
receiving a command, indicating a switch of the terminal device between a first cell and a second cell, and indicating the terminal device to keep a first path with the first cell and a second path with the second cell during the switch (Ericsson, [0036]-[0037][0047], receive a HO command to perform a DAPS handover (keep sending/receiving with the source cell “first path” and setup and forward connections with a target cell “second path”));
detecting a radio link failure, RLF, on the first path and/or on the second path (Ericsson, [0047], detect a RLF with the source and/or the target cell); and
transmitting a first message indicating a first RLF over the second path, when the first RLF is detected on the first path (Ericsson, [0047][0104], transmitting a RLF report indicating the RLF to the network node. The network node could be a node serving the target cell).
As to claim 2, Ericsson teaches wherein the first path is a direct path, or an indirect path via a first relay device (Ericsson, Fig 7, Fig 4, [0036][0131], a direct connection, but the a relay device may exist).
As to claim 5, Ericsson teaches wherein the first RLF report comprises information about at least one of: an identifier of the first cell in which the first RLF has been detected (Ericsson, [0099]-[0105], and identifier of the source cell)
As to claim 6, Ericsson teaches wherein the first message comprises a first indication, indicating that the first path failed (Ericsson, [0047], the RLF is an indication that the source connection failed); wherein the first message is transmitted by the terminal device to the second base station (Ericsson, [0047][0104], transmitting a RLF report indicating the RLF to the network node. The network node could be a node serving the target cell).
As to claim 8, Ericsson teaches wherein detecting the first RLF comprises: obtaining information about the first RLF from the first relay device, when the first RLF is on a Uu link of the first path (Ericsson, [0047] Fig 2 [0131] , the RLF is an indication that the source connection failed provided via relay station).
As to claim 11, Ericsson teaches wherein the first indication comprises information about at least one of: a cause for the first RLF (Ericsson, [0101], the cause for the RLF)
As to claim 13, Ericsson teaches transmitting to the first relay device, an indication about a start of the switch (Ericsson, Fig 2 [0037], the HO command is an indication about the start of the switch to target cell and goes through any relay [0131])
As to claim 15, Ericsson teaches further comprising: transmitting a second message indicating a second RLF over the first path, when the second RLF is detected on the second path; wherein the second message comprises a second RLF report; and wherein the terminal device transmits the second RLF report during the switch (Ericsson, [0095], sending a second RLF (sending to both), over the target cell path during the HO); wherein the second RLF report comprises information about at least one of: an identifier of the second cell in which the second RLF has been detected (Ericsson, [0047][0104], transmitting a RLF report indicating the RLF to the network node. The network node could be a node serving the target cell)
As to claim 17, Ericsson teaches wherein the second message comprises a second indication, indicating that the second path failed; wherein the second message is transmitted to the first relay device, during the switch; and wherein the first relay device forward the second indication to the first base station (Ericsson, [0095][0131] Fig 7, Fig 2, two RLF reports one indicating a target cell path failure, can be sent to the first base station cell via relay),
As to claim 19, Ericsson teaches wherein detecting the second RLF comprises: obtaining information about the second RLF from the second relay device, when the second RLF is on a Uu link of the second path (Ericsson, [0047] Fig 2 [0131] , the RLF is an indication that the target connection failed provided via relay station)
As to claim 21, Ericsson teaches wherein the first relay device transmits information about the second RLF to the second relay device (Ericsson, [0047] Fig 2 [0131] , the RLF is an indication that the target connection failed provided via relay station)
As to claim 22, Ericsson teaches further comprising: transmitting to the second relay device, an indication about a start of the switch (Ericsson, Fig 2 [0037], the HO command is an indication about the start of the switch to target cell and goes through any relay [0131])
As to claim 24, Ericsson teaches further comprising: triggering a radio resource control, RRC, reestablishment procedure, when the terminal device detects the first RLF and the second RLF (Ericsson, [0103], an RRC reestablishment procedure upon RLF HO failure).
As to claim 25, Ericsson teaches wherein the first RLF and/or the second RLF is detected when at least one of following happens: an expiration of a timer that is started when the switch is started (Ericsson, [0103], expiration of a timer)
As to claim 27, Ericsson teaches wherein the terminal device receives a reconfiguration from the first base station, after detecting the second RLF; and wherein the reconfiguration indicates a restoration of the first path; wherein the reconfiguration is transmitted within a RRC message, wherein the terminal device receives a RRC release message from the first base station, after detecting the first RLF and/or the second RLF (Ericsson, [0103], an RRC reestablishment procedure upon RLF HO failure via RRC message and Reconfiguration complete indicates a restoration).
As to claim 32, Ericsson teaches a method performed by a first base station, comprising (Ericsson, Fig 7, a method by a first source cell/base station node):
transmitting a command to a terminal device, wherein the command indicates a switch for the terminal device between a first cell and a second cell, and indicates the terminal device to keep a first path with the first cell and a second path with the second cell during the switch (Ericsson, [0036]-[0037][0047] Fig 7, send a HO command to perform a DAPS handover (keep sending/receiving with the source cell “first path” and setup and forward connections with a target cell “second path”)); and
receiving a second message about a second RLF on the second path (Ericsson, [0047][0104], receive a RLF report indicating the RLF to the network node. The network node could be a node serving the target cell).
As to claim 33, Ericsson teaches wherein the first path is a direct path, or an indirect path via a first relay device (Ericsson, Fig 7, Fig 4, [0036][0131], a direct connection, but the a relay device may exist).
As to claim 35, Ericsson teaches further comprising: transmitting a reconfiguration to the terminal device, after receiving the second message; wherein the reconfiguration indicates another second path to the second cell, or indicates a restoration of the first path; wherein the reconfiguration is transmitted within a RRC message, or a downlink message over a downlink control channel, DCCH (Ericsson, [0103], an RRC reestablishment procedure upon RLF HO failure via RRC message and Reconfiguration complete indicates a restoration).
As to claim 37, Ericsson teaches transmitting a RRC release message to the terminal device, after receiving the second message, or receiving a first message about a first RLF on the first path (Ericsson, [0091], release the UE after the RLF message).
As to claim 65, Ericsson teaches an apparatus for a second base station, comprising: a processor; and a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processor (Ericsson, Fig 7, a target cell base station node), whereby the apparatus for the second base station is operative for:
receiving a first message about a first RLF on a first path from a terminal device (Ericsson, [0047][0104], receive a RLF report indicating the RLF to the network node. The network node could be a node serving the target cell), during a switch for the terminal device between a first cell and a second cell; wherein the terminal device keeps the first path with the first cell and a second path with the second cell during the switch (Ericsson, [0036]-[0037][0047] Fig 7, during a DAPS handover (keep sending/receiving with the source cell “first path” and setup and forward connections with a target cell “second path”)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (Pub No: 2026/0255236) [0726].
Chen (Pub No: 2015/0133122) Fig 2, 5
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469