DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2024 and 12/31/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the return element 81 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to PCT/EP2023/067372 is ineffective because the incorporation by reference was filed after the PCT date of 06/27/2023, which considered the filing date of the US application. As such, the incorporation by reference statement must be removed, as it introduces new matter by being filed after the filing date of the application.
See MPEP 608.01(p) I B: For the incorporation by reference to be effective as a proper safeguard, the incorporation by reference statement must be filed at the time of filing of the later-filed application. An incorporation by reference statement added after an application s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date and MPEP 1893.03(b): An international application designating the U.S. has two stages (international and national) with the filing date being the same in both stages. Often the date of entry into the national stage is confused with the filing date. It should be borne in mind that the filing date of the international stage application is also the filing date for the national stage application. Specifically, 35 U.S.C. 363 provides that an international application designating the United States shall have the effect, from its international filing date under Article 11 of the treaty, of a national application for patent regularly filed in the Patent and Trademark Office as well as:
PCT Article 11(3) - ...an international filing date shall have the effect of a regular national application in each designated State as of the international filing date, which date shall be considered to be the actual filing date in each designated State. The specification amendment filed on 11/20/2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the incorporation by reference to PCT/EP2023/067372.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 3, the term may be amended as “[[a]]the spindle unit”.
Claims 3 and 4 are identical, thus one of them may be cancelled.
In claim 6, line 7, the term may be amended as “[[the]]a first locking area”.
In claim 8, line 2, the term may be amended as “[[an]]the even surface”.
In claim 10, line 3, the term may be amended as “a first locking element”.
In claim 11, line 4, the term may be amended as “the first locking element”.
In claim 11, lines 2-3, the term may be amended as “a second locking element”.
In claim 15, lines 8-9, the phrase may be amended as “[[an]]the drive axis of the spindle area is located, in [[a]]the locked state, between [[a]]the first locking area …”
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a locking unit configured to lock a spindle unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alagesan et al. (DE 102017217504A1, cited on 11/20/2024 IDS, hereinafter Alagesan), in view of Kani et al. (DE 102020113160A1, cited on 11/20/2024 IDS, hereinafter Kani).
Regarding claim 1, Alagesan discloses a hand-held power tool (fig. 1, hand tool machine 12), comprising:
a drive unit which comprises a spindle unit (Alagesan English translation, p. 8:37-9:7, the hand tool machine 12 comprises a drive unit 26 and a spindle 34); and
a locking unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The locking unit comprises a locking element (¶ 0035)) configured to lock a spindle unit, which is mounted about a drive axis (fig. 2 and Alagesan English translation, p. 9:3-20, the locking unit 32 locks a relative movement of the spindle 34 in a circumferential direction U about an output axis a [corresponds to the recited drive axis]. The locking unit 32 has a stop area 58, which is equivalent to the locking element. See fig. 5), but does not disclose the spindle unit is configured to be pre-centered, with respect to the locking unit, by a cogging torque.
Kani teaches, in an analogous hand-held power tool field of endeavor, the spindle unit is configured to be pre-centered, with respect to the locking unit, by a cogging torque (figs. 1-3 and Kani English translation, p. 2:35-3:11, a power tool comprises a shaft locking mechanism used to lock rotation of a spindle. Permanent magnets generate cogging torque applied to a rotor; p. 8:16-9:7 and fig. 15, the cogging torque can allow the rotor to be an equilibrium position. Because the rotor 23 is coupled with the spindle 17, the spindle can be pre-centered to be in equilibrium position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power tool of Alagesan to pre-center the spindle by the cogging torque as taught by Kani. The cogging torque created by magnetic force improves locking efficiency of the tool.
Regarding claim 2, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the spindle unit is arranged in an idle state in a position oriented toward the locking unit (Alagesan English translation, p. 5:41-42 and fig. 4-6, the spindle 34 can be shifted to a locked state from a stationary state [corresponds to the recited idle state]. Thus, the spindle is in a position oriented toward the locking unit in the idle state).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the spindle unit is arranged in a position oriented toward the locking unit (Alagesan English translation, p. 5:41-42 and fig. 4-6, the spindle 34 can be shifted to a locked state from an idle state. Thus, the spindle is in a position oriented toward the locking unit in the idle state), but does not disclose, in a plurality of idle states, more than 50% of the idle states of the spindle unit are arranged in a position oriented toward the locking unit.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power tool of Alagesan as modified by Kani to set the power tool such that the spindle unit is oriented toward the locking unit for more than 50% of the idle states for achieving necessary and effective locking state. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Regarding claim 5, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the spindle unit comprises a permanent magnet (Kani English translation, p. 8:17-28, the motor coupled with the spindle has permanent magnets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power tool of Alagesan as modified by Kani to provide the permanent magnet as taught by Kani. The magnet enables the locking member to operate (Kani English translation, p. 3:32-34).
Regarding claim 6, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the spindle unit comprises a flat area configured to limit a movement of the spindle unit in a locked state of the locking unit (Alagesan English translation, p. 11:32-33 and figs. 4 and 6, a flat spindle surface 66 [corresponds to the recited flat area] of the spindle 34 is limited by locking edges 4, 46);
the flat area has an even surface, which is bounded by an inner boundary circle and an outer boundary circle about a drive axis (fig. 4, the flat spindle surface 66 has an even surface; annotated Alagesan fig. 5 below, the flat spindle surface is bounded by an inner boundary circle and an outer boundary circle about the axis “a” [corresponds to the recited drive axis]); and
the first locking area is arranged in an unlocked state along an axis of motion, at a height between the inner boundary circle and the outer boundary circle (annotated Alagesan fig. 5 below, the recited first locking area is arranged in an unlocked state along the axis of motion. The inner and outer boundary circles are arranged as recited).
Annotated Alagesan Fig. 5
Regarding claim 7, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 6, but does not disclose the outer boundary circle has an outer diameter, with respect to a maximum movement of the locking element along the axis of motion, of greater than 1.6, and of less than 2.2.
However, Alagesan discloses the outer boundary circle having an outer diameter and the locking element 36 can have a maximum movement along the axis of motion Ax as shown in annotated Alagesan fig. 5 above. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the locking unit of Alagesan to provide the recited ratio in order to achieve effective locking state of the locking unit. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Regarding claim 8, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 6, but does not disclose the flat area has an even surface less than 60% of which is overlapped by the locking unit circumferentially about the drive axis.
However, Alagesan discloses the spindle has the flat area having the even surface. Thus, the even surface can be adjusted to be overlapped by the locking unit 32 circumferentially about the drive axis by less than 60%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flat area of the Alagesan to provide the less than 60% of the even surface to overlap the locking unit for smooth transition into the locking state. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Regarding claim 9, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the spindle unit is mounted rotationally in a locked state in a range of angles of in particular more than 5° and in particular less than 50°.
However, the spindle unit of Alagesan is placed in the locked state with a particular angle as shown in fig. 6. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spindle unit of Alagesan to provide to be in the recited angle range in the locked state in order to be place the drive unit in the locked state securely. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Regarding claim 10, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the locking unit comprises a locking element having a first locking area and a second locking area at an angle with respect to the first locking area (see annotated Alagesan fig. 5 above for the recited components. Any angle can be the recited angle respect to the first locking area).
Regarding claim 11, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the locking unit comprises a further locking element having a first locking area and a second locking area at an angle with respect to the first locking area, wherein the locking element and the further locking element are arranged on opposite sides (see annotated Alagesan fig. 5 above for the recited components and relation).
Regarding claim 12, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the locking unit is arranged in a drive state of the spindle unit with respect to a direction of rotation of the spindle unit such that a change of the locking unit from an unlocked state to a locked state is prevented and/or damage is reduced (Alagesan English translation, p. 9:21-31, the locking unit 32 remains in an unlocked state or a locked state until an actuating element is activated to change the state. Thus, the change of the locking unit from the unlocked state or the locked state is prevented).
Regarding claim 13, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein: the locking unit comprises a return element configured to return the locking unit to a drive state of the spindle unit; the return element is arranged on the locking unit, preventing the locking unit from changing from an unlocked state to a locked state during an operating state of the spindle unit; and the return element is perpendicular to an axis of motion of the spindle unit (Alagesan English translation, p. 9:21-31 and fig. 3, the locking unit 32 comprises the actuating member 40 [corresponds to the recited return element], which can be configured to switching the state so that it prevents the locking unit from changing from the unlocked stated to the locked state during operation of the spindle unit. The actuating member 40 moves in a direction perpendicular to an axis of motion of the spindle unit).
Regarding claim 14, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the locking unit comprises a first locking element and a second locking element which is opposite to the first locking element; and the first locking element and the second locking element are differently spaced from the spindle unit (see annotated Alagesan fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 15, Alagesan as modified by Kani teaches the hand-held power tool as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein at least one of: a movement of the spindle unit in a locked state in the rotational direction is limited by a first locking area; a movement of the spindle unit in a locked state against the direction of rotation is limited by a second locking area; an axis of the spindle unit is located, in a locked state, between a first locking area of the first locking element and a first locking area of the second locking element (Alagesan fig. 6 and annotated Alagesan fig. 5 above, rotation of the spindle unit is limited by the second locking area).
Conclusion
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723