DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024 & 11/3/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Power transmission characteristic acquisition unit (claims 1, 3, 4)
Power reception characteristic acquisition unit (claims 1, 3, 4)
Abnormality detection means (claims 1, 3, 4)
Notification device (claims 3, 4)
With the exception of the notification device, the above limitations are interpreted to be provided upon at least a CPU ([0027]). The notification device lacks a description in the specification and will be interpreted as any device capable of sending a signal indicating an abnormality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a vehicle” in two instances. It is unclear if these instances are the same or different. For purposes of examination these instances will be interpreted as being the same.
As per claims 3 and 4, the limitation of “notification device” is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function(s). In particular the specification states “a notification device that notifies an abnormality detection means of the contactless power feeding system of the measured power reception characteristic” ([0008]).
Claims 3, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function(s). The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an
abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-4 are directed to a product, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES). The examiner has identified product claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to product claims 2-4.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, in part, “power feeding system…measures a power transmission characteristic…measures a power reception characteristic…calculates efficiency…determines abnormality…”. The limitations of determining and generating, when read in light of the specification, are mental processes capable of being performed in the human mind, which have
been identified as being abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The limitations of: acquisition unit(s) are considered an insignificant extra-solution activity for data gathering and outputting (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The additional element of a vehicle is just a generic device. Invocation of generic devices to perform or aid the abstract idea does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the additional limitation of notifying via a notification device is considered extra solution activity such as transmitting/displaying data.
This judicial exception is not integrated into practical application because the claim does not
include limitations that purport the improvement to the function of a computer or another technology,
apply the abstract idea by way of a particular machine, or effect a tangible transformation in state of a
particular article (MPEP 2106.05). Rather, the abstract ideas are instead merely generally linked to a
particular technical field (MPEP 2106.04(3)).
Controlling the feed power based on abnormality/efficiency as described in the specification [0027] would be sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20140285029A1 Ichikawa et al ("Ichikawa") in view of CN114268173A Mao ("Mao", English machine translation provided).
As per claims 1 and 2, Ichikawa teaches the limitations of the system and non-transitory computer readable recording medium:
a power transmission characteristic acquisition unit that is provided on a side of the power supply segment and measures a power transmission characteristic of the power supply segment; a power reception characteristic acquisition unit that is provided on a side of the vehicle and measures a power reception characteristic of the vehicle; and an abnormality detection means that matches a measurement period of the power transmission characteristic of the power supply segment measured by the power transmission characteristic acquisition unit with a measurement period of the power reception characteristic of the vehicle measured by the power reception characteristic acquisition unit, calculates efficiency of the power supply segment using the power transmission characteristic of the power supply segment and the power reception characteristic of the vehicle, the measurement periods of which are matched, and determines abnormality of the power supply segment on a basis of the calculated efficiency. (Ichikawa at least the abstract, FIG. 6, [0019-0020]: “Preferably, the electric power reception portion is configured such that a difference in natural frequency from the electric power transmission portion is within ±10%.”, [0028]: “Preferably, the electric power transmission portion is configured to have peaks at which transmission efficiency is higher than transmission efficiency at the power supply frequency at least two locations… a central axis of the electric power reception portion and a central axis of the electric power transmission portion matching with each other.”)
Ichikawa does not disclose the contactless power feeding system supplying power from a power supply segment provided on a traveling path of a vehicle to a traveling vehicle. Mao teaches the aforementioned limitation (Mao at least the abstract: “The system comprises a ground power supply coil, a vehicle-mounted receiving coil, a voltage-stabilizing chopper and an external power supply, wherein the ground power supply coil is uniformly arranged between rails on two sides along the rail direction, the vehicle-mounted coil is arranged at the bottom of a train, the voltage-stabilizing chopper is arranged on the train and connected with the vehicle-mounted coil… the electric energy can be transmitted to the vehicle from the ground in the static state of the vehicle, and when the vehicle runs, the power supply coil is cut along with the receiving coil, so that more stable electric energy supply can be realized; the relation between the induction voltage and the phase between the receiving coil and the power supply coil is utilized in the running process of the vehicle, so that the sensing of speed, direction and position can be realized, and the speed measurement and positioning of the vehicle can be completed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ichikawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Mao with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to provide stable power to a moving vehicle (Mao abstract).
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa and Mao, in further view of US20230347759A1 Maekawa ("Maekawa").
As per claims 3 and 4, Ichikawa in combination with the other reference teaches the limitations of the invention as described above for claims 1 and 2. Ichikawa does not disclose a notification device that notifies an abnormality detection of the power feeding system. Maekawa teaches the aforementioned limitation (Maekawa at least FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ichikawa with the aforementioned limitations taught by Maekawa with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to notify a driver of a misalignment (Maekawa [0054]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. FR2947113A1, JP2020178437A both teach matching frequencies of transmitter and receivers of non-contact power supplies for vehicles to improve efficiency.
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669