18867977DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 have been made of record. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-15, 18-20, 27-34, 37, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hanson et al. (US 2015/0237618 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Hanson discloses a distributed antenna system (see Fig. 1, 102), and a method of performing uplink combining in a distributed antenna system serving a base station (101), the distributed antenna system comprising:
a combining entity (unit 104); and
a plurality of source entities (remote units 110a-110d) communicatively coupled to the combining entity (see Fig. 2) and configured to source uplink user-plane data for the base station to the combining entity ([0016] In some aspects, a unit of a DAS can analyze each channel from a set of channels used by the DAS to identify which remote units have transmitted uplink transmissions with data for that channel. The unit can generate a combined uplink signal for each of the channels); and
wherein the distributed antenna system is configured to perform selection combining by doing the following:
select some of the uplink data sourced from the source entities ([0033] The selection engine 206 can include one or more algorithms for selecting portions of uplink transmissions to be combined by the combining 208); and
perform uplink combining using only the selected uplink user-plane data to generate combined uplink user-plane data for the base station ([0033] The selection engine 206 can identify a second portion of the uplink transmissions that does not include data to be transmitted to the base station (e.g., uplink transmissions that includes noise without uplink signals). The identification of the second uplink transmissions portion can cause the processor 202 to configure one or more components of the combining module 108 to exclude or attenuate the second uplink transmissions portion).
Regarding claim 8 and 27 Hanson further discloses wherein the uplink user-plane data comprises frequency-domain user-plane data ([0040] In some aspects, the unit 104 depicted in FIG. 2 can use a fast Fourier transform ("FFT") or other suitable transform to identify and select portions of uplink transmissions having data for transmission. In a non-limiting example, an FFT can be applied to uplink transmissions received from a remote unit to convert the uplink transmissions from the time domain to the frequency domain)’
Regarding claims 9 and 28 Hanson further discloses wherein the uplink user-plane data comprises time-domain user-plane data ([0040] In some aspects, the unit 104 depicted in FIG. 2 can use a fast Fourier transform ("FFT") or other suitable transform to identify and select portions of uplink transmissions having data for transmission. In a non-limiting example, an FFT can be applied to uplink transmissions received from a remote unit to convert the uplink transmissions from the time domain to the frequency domain)
Regarding claims 10 and 29 Hanson further discloses wherein the combining entity is configured to select some of the uplink user-plane data sourced from the source entities for the base station ([0031] In this example, the unit 104 can selectively combine uplink transmissions that are received from the different remote units and that correspond to different frequency channels used by the remote units to communicate with the terminal devices).
Regarding claims 11 and 30 Hanson further discloses wherein each of the source entities is configured to determine if uplink user-plane data sourced from that source entity is selected ([0016) a unit of a DAS can analyze each channel from a set of channels used by the DAS to identify which remote units have transmitted uplink transmissions with data for that channel).
Regarding claims 12 and 31 Hanson further discloses wherein the combining entity is configured to perform uplink combining using only the selected uplink user-plane data to generate combined uplink user-plane data for the base station ([0055] Executing the selection engine 206 can configure the processor 202 to execute one or more algorithms for selecting the uplink transmissions from at least some remote units that includes the data for transmission to the base station 101, as described above with respect to FIGS. 2 and 3. In some aspects, selecting the uplink transmissions can involve configuring at least some of the attenuators 210a-d to attenuate non-selected uplink transmissions portions, as described above with respect to FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 13 and 32, Hanson further discloses wherein the combining entity comprises one of a master unit, an intermediate combining node, an access point, and a physical donor interface configured to by-pass the master unit ([0020] Examples of a unit 104 include a master unit, a base station router, or other suitable unit that can communicate with a base station), and
wherein each of the source entities comprises one of an access point or the intermediate combining node (0021] A non-limiting example of a remote unit is a universal access point).
Regarding claims 14 and 33 Hanson further discloses wherein one of the source entities is the combining entity (see Fig. 3)
Regarding claims 15 and 34 Hanson further discloses wherein the combining entity comprises a set of antennas used to receive analog radio frequency for use in generating uplink user-plane data for the base station (inherent in processor 202 configuring transmitter 210 of the unit 204 to transmit combined uplink signal including the selected uplink transmissions portions to the base station 101, see Fig. 3), [0039])
Regarding claim 18 and 37, Hanson further discloses wherein the distributed antenna system is configured to select some of the uplink user-plane data sourced from the source entities for the base station by excluding uplink data that tends to contribute primarily interference ([0031] The combined uplink signal for the second frequency channel can omit or attenuate uplink transmissions corresponding to the second frequency channel that is received from remote units 110c, 110d (e.g., noise on the second frequency channel). For the third frequency channel, the unit 104 can transmit an uplink signal that includes uplink signals received from the remote unit 110d and excludes or attenuates uplink transmissions received from remote units 110a-c)
Regarding claims 19 and 38, Hanson further discloses wherein the distributed antenna system is configured to perform uplink combining using only the selected uplink user-plane data to generate combined uplink user-plane data for the base station by performing proportional fairness combining, interference rejection combining, maximal-ratio combining, equal-gain combining, or similar techniques, where the input uplink user-plane data for the combining comprises only the selected uplink user-plane data ([0033] The selection engine 206 can select a first portion of the uplink transmissions that includes data to be transmitted to the base station 101 (e.g., uplink transmissions including uplink signals from terminal devices). The selection engine 206 can identify a second portion of the uplink transmissions that does not include data to be transmitted to the base station (e.g., uplink transmissions that includes noise without uplink signals).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson as applied to claims 1 and 20 above and further in view of Mochida et al. (US 20120201221 A1)
.Regarding claims 3 and 22 Hanson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the distributed antenna system is configured to select some of the uplink user-plane data sourced from the source entities for the base station on a resource-by-resource block basis.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Mochida discloses a wireless communication system in which a base station performs communication with wireless terminals using resource blocks according to a resource allocation method. According to Mochida, by determining a weight on a resource-block-by-resource-block basis, the resource block being a minimum unit of resource allocation to users, and performing array combining, a weight can be computed using only reference signals transmitted from the same user, and thus, a weight can be prevented from being inappropriately computed using reference signals transmitted from a different user (see [0100).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated Mochida’s teaching of determining of resource block weights for array combining on a resource-block-by-resource-block basis with Hanson’s selective combining system in order to ensure the capability of performing interference removal during selective combining in order to avoid optimal weight fluctuations as taught by Mochida ([0033]).
Regarding claims 4 and 23 Hanson further discloses wherein the distributed antenna system is configured to select some of the uplink user-plane data sourced from the source entities for the base station, by for each source entity, calculating a signal strength metric for each resource block, comparing the signal strength metric for the resource block to a threshold, and selecting the corresponding uplink user-plane data if the signal strength metric for the resource block exceeds the threshold (0056] the unit 104 can determine whether a portion of uplink transmissions received from a given remote unit for a channel includes data by determining whether the uplink transmissions portion has a signal strength equal to or exceeding a threshold. The threshold signal strength can be stored in the memory 204. The processor 202 can access the threshold signal strength and compare the threshold signal strength to a signal strength for the received portion of uplink transmissions. If the signal strength for the received portion of uplink transmissions is greater than or equal to the threshold signal strength, the selection engine 206 can identify the received portion of uplink transmissions as having data for transmission to the base station 101).
Regarding claims 5 and 24 Hansen further discloses wherein the distributed antenna system is configured to select some of the uplink user-plane data sourced from the source entities for the base station by, for each resource block, calculating a signal strength metric for each source entity, sorting the signal strength metrics for the resource block, and selecting the corresponding uplink user-plane data sourced from a predetermined number of the source entities having the strongest signal strength metrics ([0034] The processor 202 can communicate with the power measurement device 212 to obtain data describing signal power levels for uplink transmissions from each of the remote units. In one example, the power measurement device 212 can have an analog output that is electrically connected to the processor 202. The power measurement device 212 can provide a voltage or a current to the processor 202 via the analog output. The voltage or current can be equivalent to or otherwise indicative of the measured power level in the uplink paths from the remote units 110a-d. In another example, the power measurement device 212 can provide a digital output signal to the processor 202 that represents the measured power level in the uplink paths from the remote units 110a-d. The processor 202 can execute the selection engine 206 to compare the data obtained from the power measurement device 212 with data stored in the memory 204 that describes a threshold signal power. Uplink transmissions having a signal power greater than or equal to the threshold signal power can be selected for inclusion in a combined uplink signal).
Claims 6 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Raghothaman et al. (US 2021/0243840 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 25 Hansen discloses that the combining unit using the combining module can selectively combine uplink transmissions received from the remote units by only combining portions of the spectrum where uplink signals are present ([0028], as well as only channelized baseband uplink transmissions[0029] but fails to explicitly teach wherein the distributed antenna system is configured to perform uplink combining using only the selected uplink user-plane data to generate combined uplink user-plane data for the base station on a resource-element-by-resource element basis.
In the same field of endeavor, Raghothaman discloses a system for a shared cell configuration that includes a distributed unit (DU) and remote units (RUs) wherein the each RU communicates user-plane messages to a fronthaul multiplexer (FHM) which combines resource elements received from the remote units prior to sending a single user-plane message including the combined Res to the DU (see Fig. 3, [0030]-[0032].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the uplink resource element combining approach disclosed by Raghothaman into the distributed antenna system of Hansen for the benefit of enabling more finer signal processing in the combined uplink data sent to the base station to enhance the distributed antenna system’s ability to perform fine-grained uplink combining, thereby enhancing the quality and reliability of the combined uplink user-plane data.
Claims 7 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Kummetz et al. US 2014/0119281 A1)
Regarding claims 7 and 26 Hansen fails to explicitly disclose wherein the distributed antenna system is configured to perform uplink combining using only the selected uplink user-plane data to generate combined uplink user-plane data for the base station on a sample-by-sample basis.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kummetz discloses a distributed antenna system that optimized performance in baseband processing controlling a gain of an uplink digital baseband signals independently, that are received from remotely located units prior to summing the uplink digital baseband signals (see abstract). Kummetz teaches that using a variable gain block in a remote unit, signals can be summed by an adder and distortion of the summed (combined) signal can be reduced by avoiding gain reduction on sample-by-sample basis of a summed signal (see [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sample-by-sample uplink combining approach disclosed by Kummetz into the distributed antenna system of Hansen for the benefit of enabling more precise signal processing and improved signal quality in the combined uplink data sent to the base station to enhance the distributed antenna system’s ability to perform fine-grained uplink combining, thereby improving the quality and reliability of the combined uplink user-plane data.
Claims 17 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Kim et al US 2021/0391896 A1)
Regarding claims 17 and 36, Hanson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the distributed antenna system comprises a virtualized distributed antenna system.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses a system and method for operating a distributed antenna stem interworking with spectrum sharing distributed antenna system that can be operated as a virtualized radio service device capable of activation/deactivation of a radio resource ([0182]. Kim teaches that the distributed antenna system may be simply implemented with legacy structures for processing a limited range of frequencies and bandwidths without significant changes in design, and may interwork with the spectrum sharing system without limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the virtualization distributed system of Kim with the distributed antenna system of Hansen for the benefit of ensuring backward compatibility with legacy systems and structures for communications without requiring significant design changes as taught by Kim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 16, 21, and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rosenschild et al. (US 2021/0153034 A1) discloses a system and method for a multiple operator virtualized distributed antenna system.
Stapleton et al. (US 2015/0256358 A1) discloses a wireless communication system employing Distributed Antenna System as part of a distributed wireless network that utilizes distributed radio units and remote radio heads.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641