DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office action for Application No. 18/868,400 filed 11/22/2024.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending;
Claims 1-8 are original; claims 9-15 are new;
Claims 1-15 are rejected herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 11/22/2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
Line 2, the casing (21) as shown does not appear to be cylindrical as stated.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Appropriate correction is required
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature "a casing which… has a cylindrical shape" (claim 1, line 2; claim 9, lines 7 and 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7, it is suggested that "one end" be changed to --a first end--.
Claim 1, line 9, it is suggested that "the other end" be changed to --a second end--.
Claim 9, line 11, it is suggested that "one end" be changed to --a first end--.
Claim 9, line 12, it is suggested that "the other end" be changed to --a second end--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the limitations "wherein the holding member includes a base portion which is disposed at a position overlapping the guide belt in a thickness direction of the guide belt and the locking portion" in lines 2 and 3 are interpreted as --wherein the holding member includes a base portion which is disposed at a position both overlapping the guide belt in a thickness direction of the guide belt and overlapping the locking portion--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-15 are replete with indefinite limitations. The indefinite limitations identified and discussed below are merely exemplary and are not exhaustive. It is requested that Applicant proofread claims 1-15 and amend wherever applicable.
Regarding claim 1, where Applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). As best understood, the term "cylindrical" in claim 1 (line 2) is used by the claim to seemingly mean --prismatic--, while the accepted meaning of the term "cylindrical" is "of, pertaining to, or having the form of a cylinder" (https://www.thefreedictionary.com/cylindrical, last accessed 03/11/2026), wherein the term "cylinder" is commonly known as "a solid consisting of two parallel planes bounded by identical closed curves, usually circles, that are interconnected at every point by a set of parallel lines, usually perpendicular to the planes" (https://www.thefreedictionary.com/cylinder, last accessed 03/11/2026). As shown in the drawings, the casing (21) appears to have a prismatic shape rather than "a cylindrical shape" as claimed. Therefore, the term "cylindrical" in claim 1 (line 2) is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. Same rejection applies to the limitations in claim 9 (lines 7 and 8). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation "one end of the flexible flat cable" in claim 1 (line 7) and the limitation "the other end of the flexible flat cable" in claim 1 (line 9) appear to imply that the flexible flat cable (23) has two ends, i.e., "one end" and "the other end" as claimed. However, claim 1 further recites "wherein the flexible flat cable includes… a base end" in lines 14 and 15. It is not clear as to how many ends the flexible flat cable (23) are being claimed. For example, does the flexible flat cable (23) have three ends, i.e., "one end" in line 7, "the other end" in line 9, and "a base end" in line 15? Or does the flexible flat cable (23) have two ends, i.e., one end" in line 7 and "the other end" in line 9, wherein "a base end" in line 15 is "the other end" in line 9? Same rejection applies to the limitations in claim 9 (line 19). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the width direction of the guide belt" (claim 2, line 5) in the claim. Note that claim 1 merely recites "a width direction" in line 21, which is claimed as an arbitrary width direction and does not sufficiently provide antecedent basis for the limitation "the width direction of the guide belt" (claim 2, line 5). It is advised that the limitation "a width direction" in claim 1 (line 21) be changed to --a width direction of the guide belt--. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation "the width direction" in claim 2 (lines 5 and 6) is indefinite because it is not clear as to whether it refers to the limitation "a width direction" in claim 1 (line 21) or the limitation "the width direction of the guide belt" in claim 2 (line 5). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, the limitations "wherein the locking portion extends in the thickness direction from at least one end of the base portion in the width direction of the guide belt and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction" in claim 2 (lines 4-6) are indefinite. As best understood, the limitation "the thickness direction" in claim 2 (line 4) appears to refer to the limitation "a thickness direction of the guide belt" in claim 2 (line 3). It is not clear as to what it means by "wherein the locking portion extends in the thickness direction from at least one end of the base portion in the width direction of the guide belt" as claimed. Does the locking portion (29) extend in two directions, i.e., in "the thickness direction" of the "guide belt" and also in "the width direction" of the "guide belt"? Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation "at least one end of the base portion" in claim 3 (lines 3 and 4) is indefinite. It is not clear as to whether the limitation "at least one end of the base portion" in claim 3 (lines 3 and 4) and the limitation "at least one end of the base portion" in claim 2 (lines 3 and 4) refer to the same "at least one end of the base portion" or different ends of the base portion. Note that both claims 2 and 3 recite "the locking portion extends in the thickness direction from at least one end of the base portion in the width direction." Same rejection applies to the limitations in claim 4 (lines 3-5), claim 5 (lines 3-5), and claim 7 (lines 5-10). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations "wherein the locking portion extends in the thickness direction from at least one end of the base portion in the width direction at a central part of the base portion in an extension direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction" in claim 3 (lines 3-5) are indefinite because they are confusingly worded. What does it mean by "wherein the locking portion extends in the thickness direction from at least one end of the base portion in the width direction at a central part of the base portion in an extension direction" as claimed? What is the claimed "extension direction"? It is not clear as to how the locking portion (29) extends in three directions as claimed. It is advised that Applicant break down the instant limitations in claim 3 (lines 3-5) and explain as to how the locking portion (29) extends in each of the claimed directions. Same rejection applies to the limitations in claim 4 (lines 3-5), claim 5 (lines 3-5), and claim 7 (lines 5-10). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations "wherein the locking portion extends in the thickness direction from both ends of the base portion in the width direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction" in claim 5 (lines 3-5) are indefinite. It is not clear as to how the "locking portion" as claimed, i.e., ONE locking portion, can possibly extend from "both ends of the base portion" as claimed, i.e., TWO ends. As clearly shown in Figure 8, one locking portion (30, 31a, or 31b) can extend from only one end part of the base portion (28). Same rejection applies to the limitations in claim 6 (lines 5 and 6) and claim 7 (lines 5-10). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 6, the limitations "wherein the base portion… is provided at a position facing a surface opposite to a surface near the flexible flat cable in the guide belt" in claim 6 (lines 2-4) are indefinite because they are confusingly worded. It is not clear as to which element is "near the flexible flat cable" as claimed. Also, it is not clear as to which element is "in the guide belt" as claimed. Same rejection applies to the limitations in claim 7 (lines 2-4). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations "wherein the locking portion includes a bulging portion… and a claw portion" in claim 7 (lines 5-8) are indefinite. As best understood, the limitation "the locking portion" refers to ONE locking portion. Also, as shown in Figure 8, the bulging portion (30) and the claw portion (31) are two separate, spaced-apart portions that do not constitute a single locking portion. It makes no logical sense to state "wherein the locking portion includes a bulging portion… and a claw portion" as claimed. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations "a claw portion which extends in the thickness direction from at least one end of the base portion in the width direction at both end parts of the base portion in an extension direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction" in claim 7 (lines 7-10) are indefinite. It is not clear as to how the "claw portion" as claimed, i.e., ONE claw portion, can possibly extend from "both ends of the base portion" as claimed, i.e., TWO ends. As clearly shown in Figure 8, one claw portion (31a or 31b) can extend from only one end part of the base portion (28). Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 7, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the length" (i.e., a part of the limitation "the length of the bulging portion" in line 2) in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 7, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the length" (i.e., a part of the limitation "the length of the claw portion" in line 2) in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 8, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the predetermined direction" (line 3) in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 8, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the side" (line 6) in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 9, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation "the side" (line 5) in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 10-15, the limitations recited in claims 10-15 are similar to the limitations recited in claims 2-7, and so claims 10-15 are similarly rejected in the manner as discussed above with respect to claims 2-7. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is reminded that the indefinite limitations identified and discussed above are merely exemplary and are not exhaustive. It is requested that Applicant proofread claims 1-15 and amend wherever applicable. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyata et al. (US 10,618,432 B2), hereinafter Miyata.
Regarding claim 1, Miyata discloses a power supply rail (1, fig 3), comprising: a casing (8, fig 3) which extends in a predetermined direction and has a cylindrical shape (see Figures 3 and 6); a sliding portion (16, fig 3) which is attached to the casing to be movable along the predetermined direction (see Figures 3, 6, 8(a), and 8(b)); a flexible flat cable (11, fig 3) which is accommodated in the casing and extends along the predetermined direction (see Figures 3 and 6); a movable terminal portion (13, fig 3) which is provided at one end of the flexible flat cable and is attached to the sliding portion (see Figures 3, 8(a), and 8(b)); a fixed terminal portion (12, fig 3) which is provided at the other end of the flexible flat cable and is attached to the casing (see Figures 3, 8(a), and 8(b)); a guide belt (17, fig 3) which is accommodated in the casing, extends in the predetermined direction along the flexible flat cable, and guides the flexible flat cable (see Figures 3, 6, 8(a), and 8(b)); and a holding member (22, fig 3) that holds the guide belt (see Figures 3 and 6), wherein the flexible flat cable includes a tip portion (11a, fig 7, see annotation below) which is connected to the movable terminal portion (see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)) and a base end (11b, fig 7, see annotation below) which is connected to the fixed terminal portion (see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), wherein the guide belt includes a moving end (17a, fig 7, see annotation below) which is attached to the sliding portion together with the tip portion (see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), a fixed end (17b, fig 7, see annotation below) which is fixed to the casing together with the base end (see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), and a curved portion (17c, fig 7, see annotation below) which is provided between the moving end and the fixed end in a curved state (see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), and wherein the holding member is provided between the fixed end and the curved portion (see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), includes a locking portion (22a, fig 6, see annotation below; alternatively, 22a and 22b, fig 6, see annotation below) which locks at least one end of the guide belt in a width direction, and holds the guide belt by the locking portion (see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)).
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (22a – Locking Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (22c – Base Portion)][AltContent: textbox (22b – Locking Portion)]
[AltContent: textbox (22c1 – Upper End)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (22c2 – Lower End)]
[AltContent: textbox (17b – Fixed End)][AltContent: textbox (11a – Tip Portion)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (17c – Curved Portion)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (17a – Moving End)]
[AltContent: textbox (11b – Base End)]
Regarding claim 2, wherein the holding member includes a base portion (22c, fig 6, see annotation above) which is disposed at a position overlapping the guide belt in a thickness direction of the guide belt and the locking portion (see Figures 3 and 6), and wherein the locking portion (22a, fig 6, see annotation above; alternatively, 22a and 22b, fig 6, see annotation above) extends in the thickness direction from at least one end (22c1, fig 6, see annotation above; alternatively, 22c1 and 22c2, fig 6, see annotation above) of the base portion in the width direction of the guide belt and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction (see Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the base portion extends in the predetermined direction along the guide belt (see Figures 3 and 6), and wherein the locking portion (22a, fig 6, see annotation above) extends in the thickness direction from at least one end (22c1, fig 6, see annotation above) of the base portion in the width direction at a central part (22c3, fig 3, see annotation below) of the base portion in an extension direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction (see Figures 3 and 6).
[AltContent: textbox (22c4 – Side End Part)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (22a – Locking Portion)][AltContent: textbox (22c3 – Central Part)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (22c5 – Side End Part)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 4, wherein the base portion extends in the predetermined direction along the guide belt (see Figures 3 and 6), and wherein the locking portion (22a, fig 6, see annotation above) extends in the thickness direction from at least one end (22c1, fig 6, see annotation above) of the base portion in the width direction in at least one side end part (22c4, fig 3, see annotation above) of the base portion in an extension direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction (see Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the base portion extends in the predetermined direction along the guide belt (see Figures 3 and 6), and wherein the locking portion (22a, fig 6, see annotation above) extends in the thickness direction from at least one end (22c1, fig 6, see annotation above) of the base portion in the width direction at both end parts (22c4 and 22c5, fig 3, see annotation above) of the base portion in an extension direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction (see Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the base portion extends in the predetermined direction along the guide belt and is provided at a position facing a surface opposite to a surface near the flexible flat cable in the guide belt (see Figures 3 and 6), and wherein the locking portion (22a and 22b, fig 6, see annotation above) extends in the thickness direction from both ends (22c1 and 22c2, fig 6, see annotation above) of the base portion in the width direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction (see Figures 3 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyata et al. (US 10,618,432 B2), hereinafter Miyata, in view of Ogihara et al. (US 10,780,848 B2), hereinafter Ogihara.
Regarding claim 8, Miyata discloses a vehicle seat (2, fig 1), comprising: a seat body (2a and 2b, fig 1, see annotation below) which includes a seat portion (2a, fig 1, see annotation below) and a seat back (2b, fig 1, see annotation below); a slide rail (3, fig 1) which extends in the predetermined direction and supports the seat body to be movable in the predetermined direction (see Figure 1); and the power supply rail (1, fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein the power supply rail is disposed on the side of the slide rail along a direction in which the slide rail extends (see Figures 1-3).
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (2b – Seat Back)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (2a – Seat Portion)]
Miyata does not explicitly disclose the power supply rail, wherein the seat portion is a seat cushion.
Ogihara teaches a vehicle seat (1, fig 1), comprising: a seat body (2, fig 1) which includes a seat portion (3, fig 1) and a seat back (5, fig 1).
Miyata and Ogihara are analogous art because they are at least from the same field of endeavor, i.e., supports. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the seat portion (Miyata: 2a, fig 1, see annotation above) as a seat cushion (Ogihara: 3, fig 1), as taught by Ogihara, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would have been to provide comfort to the user sitting on the vehicle seat of Miyata. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Miyata and Ogihara to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Miyata, as modified by Ogihara (see above discussions with respect to claim 8) teaches a method of manufacturing a vehicle seat (Miyata: 2, fig 1), comprising: preparing a seat body (Miyata: 2a and 2b, fig 1, see annotation above, as modified by, Ogihara: 2, fig 1) which includes a seat cushion (Miyata: 2a, fig 1, see annotation above, as modified by, Ogihara: 3, fig 1) and a seat back (Miyata: 2b, fig 1, see annotation above); attaching the seat body to a slide rail (Miyata: 3, fig 1) which extends in a predetermined direction so that the seat body is movable in the predetermined direction (Miyata: see Figure 1); and disposing a power supply rail (Miyata: 1, fig 1) on the side of the slide rail along a direction in which the slide rail extends (Miyata: see Figures 1-3), wherein the power supply rail includes a casing (Miyata: 8, fig 3) which extends in the predetermined direction and has a cylindrical shape (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6), a sliding portion (Miyata: 16, fig 3) which is attached to the casing to be movable along the predetermined direction (Miyata: see Figures 3, 6, 8(a), and 8(b)), a flexible flat cable (Miyata: 11, fig 3) which is accommodated in the casing and extends along the predetermined direction (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6), a movable terminal portion (Miyata: 13, fig 3) which is provided at one end of the flexible flat cable and is attached to the sliding portion (Miyata: see Figures 3, 8(a), and 8(b)), a fixed terminal portion (Miyata: 12, fig 3) which is provided at the other end of the flexible flat cable and is attached to the casing (Miyata: see Figures 3, 8(a), and 8(b)), a guide belt (Miyata: 17, fig 3) which is accommodated in the casing, extends in the predetermined direction along the flexible flat cable and guides the flexible flat cable (Miyata: see Figures 3, 6, 8(a), and 8(b)), and a holding member (Miyata: 22, fig 3) that holds the guide belt (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6), wherein the flexible flat cable includes a tip portion (Miyata: 11a, fig 7, see annotation above) which is connected to the movable terminal portion (Miyata: see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)) and a base end (Miyata: 11b, fig 7, see annotation above) which is connected to the fixed terminal portion (Miyata: see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), wherein the guide belt includes a moving end (Miyata: 17a, fig 7, see annotation above) which is attached to the sliding portion together with the tip portion (Miyata: see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), a fixed end (Miyata: 17b, fig 7, see annotation above) which is fixed to the casing together with the base end (Miyata: see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), and a curved portion (Miyata: 17c, fig 7, see annotation above) which is provided between the moving end and the fixed end in a curved state (Miyata: see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), wherein the holding member is provided between the fixed end and the curved portion (Miyata: see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), includes a locking portion (Miyata: 22a, fig 6, see annotation above; alternatively, Miyata: 22a and 22b, fig 6, see annotation above) which locks at least one end of the guide belt in a width direction, and holds the guide belt by the locking portion (Miyata: see Figures 3, 4, 6, 7, 8(a), and 8(b)), and wherein the method further comprises electrically connecting the movable terminal portion of the power supply rail to the slide rail (Miyata: see col 3, lines 25-67, col 4, lines 1-42).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the holding member includes a base portion (Miyata: 22c, fig 6, see annotation above) which is disposed at a position overlapping the guide belt in a thickness direction of the guide belt and the locking portion (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6), and wherein the locking portion (Miyata: 22a, fig 6, see annotation above; alternatively, Miyata: 22a and 22b, fig 6, see annotation above) extends in the thickness direction from at least one end (Miyata: 22c1, fig 6, see annotation above; alternatively, Miyata: 22c1 and 22c2, fig 6, see annotation above) of the base portion in the width direction of the guide belt and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the base portion extends in the predetermined direction along the guide belt (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6), and wherein the locking portion (Miyata: 22a, fig 6, see annotation above) extends in the thickness direction from at least one end (Miyata: 22c1, fig 6, see annotation above) of the base portion in the width direction at a central part (Miyata: 22c3, fig 3, see annotation above) of the base portion in an extension direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the base portion extends in the predetermined direction along the guide belt (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6), and wherein the locking portion (Miyata: 22a, fig 6, see annotation above) extends in the thickness direction from at least one end (Miyata: 22c1, fig 6, see annotation above) of the base portion in the width direction in at least one side end part (Miyata: 22c4, fig 3, see annotation above) of the base portion in an extension direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the base portion extends in the predetermined direction along the guide belt (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6), and wherein the locking portion (Miyata: 22a, fig 6, see annotation above) extends in the thickness direction from at least one end (Miyata: 22c1, fig 6, see annotation above) of the base portion in the width direction at both end parts (Miyata: 22c4 and 22c5, fig 3, see annotation above) of the base portion in an extension direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the base portion extends in the predetermined direction along the guide belt and is provided at a position facing a surface opposite to a surface near the flexible flat cable in the guide belt (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6), and wherein the locking portion (Miyata: 22a and 22b, fig 6, see annotation above) extends in the thickness direction from both ends (Miyata: 22c1 and 22c2, fig 6, see annotation above) of the base portion in the width direction and overlaps the guide belt in the width direction (Miyata: see Figures 3 and 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892 for various rails.
/G. H. G./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/JONATHAN LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3631