DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "second baffle". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For this examination, claim 23 will be treated as being dependent upon claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 18, 22, 24, 26, 27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (CN1839334 A).
With regards to claims 16, 18, 26, and 27, D1 discloses a micro-electromechanical system, MEMS, device 202 configured to actuate a first part 204 relative to a second part 107, the MEMS device comprising:
a first electrode 204a and a second electrode 126a configured such that, in use, application of a voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode would cause a force to be applied to the first part relative to the second part (Fig. 8 and corresponding description; electrostatic force is fundamentally Coulomb force); and
a first baffle 210 configured to prevent ingress of a fluid or transmission of radiation from an environment outside of the MEMS device into a space occupied by the first electrode and the second electrode (Figs. 5 and 6 and corresponding descriptions).
With regards to claim 22, D1 discloses wherein the first part further comprises a mirror, such that the mirror is caused to move in response to the force being applied to the first part relative to the second part (Figs, 7A and 8 and corresponding descriptions).
With regards to claim 24, D1 discloses wherein the first baffle is substantially opaque to electromagnetic radiation (Figs. 5 and 6 and corresponding descriptions).
With regards to claim 30, D1 discloses a method, comprising:
providing a substrate 105;
forming a first part 204 and a second part 107;
forming a first electrode 204a and a second electrode 126a configured such that, in use, application of a voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode would cause a force to be applied to the first part relative to the second part (Fig. 8 and corresponding description; electrostatic force is fundamentally Coulomb force); and
forming a first baffle 210 configured to prevent ingress of a fluid or transmission of radiation from an environment outside of the MEMS device into a space occupied by the first electrode and the second electrode (Figs. 5 and 6 and corresponding descriptions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 20, 28, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regards to claim 19, D1 does not specify the claimed configuration. Nevertheless, such a modification would have been known. Those skilled in the art recognize that substituting the electrostatic Coulomb force driver with the claimed piezoelectric component would have been considered an obvious alternative for producing motion in MEMS devices in order to obtain a predictable actuation of a moveable member.
With regards to claim 20, D1 does not teach grounding the baffle. However, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the electrical ground to prevent charge accumulation and reduce unwanted electrostatic effects near the electrostatic actuator.
With regards to claim 28, D1 does not teach the claimed lithographic apparatus. However, those skilled in the art recognize that such a modification would have been obvious. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configuration in order to selectively shape, modulate, and control radiation used within the lithographic system, yielding predictable results.
With regards to claim 29, D1 does not teach the claimed inspection and/or metrology apparatus. However, those skilled in the art recognize that such a modification would have been obvious. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 in order to provide programmable control of illumination and measurement radiation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 21, 23, 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art teach the labyrinth seal of claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884