DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-13 filed on 11/25/2024 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2004 was filed before the first Office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kurokawa et al. (WO2014097850A1) cited in an IDS.
Regarding claim 1-4 and 11-13 Kurokawa discloses producing a beer-taste fermented beverage with no added spirits by preparing wort from malt-containing brewing materials and fermenting the wort with yeast. In Example 2 Kurokawa discloses an original wort extract concentration of 30 mass %,falling within the range of 15-50% by mass in claim 2, and an alcohol concentration of 15.49% by volume, falling within the range of “above 8% by volume” in claim 3 and below 50% by volume in claim 4. The ratio of original extract concentration (B) to alcohol concentration (A) is B/A=30/15.49=1.94. Similarly, example 3 discloses an original extract concentration of 30 mass% and an alcohol concentration of 15.14% by volume resulting in a ratio of 1.98, both examples falling within the claimed range in claim 1.
Claim 5-8 are rejected under 35USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kurokawa as applied to claim 1 above, in view of in view of Okajima et al. (JP7052131B1), cited in an IDS.
Claim 5 requires a malt ratio of at least 30%. Kurokawa teaches preparing fermented beverages from malt-containing brewing materials. Okajima discloses beerp-taste beverages having a malt ratio of at least 50 mass%, and that malt ratio is a known formulation parameter that influences the composition and sensory properties of beverages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a malt ratio of at least 30 mass% in preparing a fermented wort of Kurokawa as taught by Okajima, to obtain a desired malt-derived flavor , extract composition and beverage quality.
Regarding claim 6, Kurokawa teaches fermented wort produced from malt-containing brewing materials which contribute nitrogen-containing compounds to the wort, but does not specifically disclose a total nitrogen concentration. Example 2 in Okajima teaches total nitrogen concentrations including 45mg/100mL or more and that nitrogen concentration can be adjusted through selection and proportion of nitrogen-containing brewing raw materials and through conventional wort preparation conditions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the total nitrogen concentration of Kurokawa’s fermented wort to at least 45 mg/100mL as taught in Okajima to provide desired flavor, body, and product consistency.
Because the prior art expressly identifies the claimed concentration and provides conventional means for controlling nitrogen content, a skilled brewer would have modified the method in Kurokawa with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Okajima discloses a total polyphenol concentration of 200 mg/L or less falling within the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the polyphenol concentration in Kurokawa’s fermented wort to a value within the claimed range to obtain desirable flavor , reduced astringency and consistent beverage quality. Such adjustment would have involved conventional brewing techniques and would have been expected to produce predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Okajima discloses FAN concentrations of 39mg/100mL or less which fall within the claimed range. Okajima further recognizes FAN as a compositional parameter influenced by brewing raw materials and processing conditions . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in them art to adjust the FAN concentration of the fermented wort of Kurokawa to 40 mg/100mL or less to obtain the desired fermentation and beverage characteristics. A skilled brewer would have recognized that FAN concentration is affected by the availability of amino nitrogen in wort and its consumption during fermentation.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kurokawa as applied to claim 1 above in view of Sato et al. (WO2002055652A1), cited in an IDS.
Regarding claim 9, Kurokawa and Sato (abstract) disclose malt-based fermented wort containing naturally occurring phosphates. Regarding claim 10 both Kurokawa and Sato teach high-gravity brewing to produce a concentrated fermented liquid that is diluted.
A person skilled in the art could, as appropriate, adjust phosphoric acid content, and optimize dilution level in consideration of a desired ratio B/A and palatability, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-13 are therefore prima facie obvious in view of the art.
Correspondence
/SUBBALAKSHMI PRAKASH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793