DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is a single run-on sentence (i.e. not in narrative form) that is substantially similar to the independent claim,
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 108843713 – see Notice of References Cited).
The citations below to Wang are from the English translation also found in the Notice of References Cited).
Regarding claim 1: Wang discloses a damping bushing (suitable for a cab) (Figs. 1, 2; p. 1). Wang discloses an outer cylinder 1 configured to be attached to a vehicle body frame (Figs. 1, 2; pp. 1-2). Wang discloses an inner cylinder 3 configured to be inserted inside the outer cylinder and attached to a cab (Figs. 1, 2; pp. 1-2). Wang discloses a body rubber 2 configured to connect between an inner peripheral surface of the outer cylinder and an outer peripheral surface of the inner cylinder with each other (Figs. 1, 2; pp. 1-3). Wang discloses a regulation member 51 configured to be attached to an upper end opening edge of the outer cylinder, the regulation member being configured to be provided so as to protrude inward in a radial direction than the inner peripheral surface of the outer cylinder and to leave a gap in the radial direction between the regulation member and the outer peripheral surface of the inner cylinder (Figs. 1, 2; pp. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2: Wang discloses that the regulation member is configured to be provided in a non-adhering state to the body rubber (Figs. 1, 2; p. 2 – step S3).
Regarding claims 3 and 6: Wang discloses that the regulation member is configured to have an inner circumferential surface that surrounds an entire circumference of the outer peripheral surface of the inner cylinder, the cab mount is configured to be attached to a vehicle such that the gap between the inner circumferential surface of the regulation member and the outer peripheral surface of the inner cylinder is narrowest in a vehicle front-and-back direction (Figs. 1, 2 – the mount is configurable to be attached in any direction in a vehicle).
Regarding claims 4, 7, 9, and 12: Wang discloses that the regulation member is configured with a rib at an inner end in the radial direction, the rib being configured to protrude in a vertical direction (Figs. 1, 2; pp. 2-4; rib -52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5, 8, 10, 11, 13, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 108843713 – see Notice of References Cited) in view of Satou (WO 2022113890 - see Notice of References Cited).
The citations below to Wang and Satou are from the English translation also found in the Notice of References Cited).
Wang discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claims 5, 8, 10, 11, 13, and 14-16: Wang does not explicitly disclose that a fit tube is fitted into an upper end of the inner cylinder, a fixing bolt is integrally inserted inside each of the inner cylinder and the fit tube, and an inner diameter of the inner cylinder or an inner diameter of the fit tube varies with position varying upward or downward. Satou discloses a fit tube 400 is fitted into an upper end of the inner cylinder, a fixing bolt 50 is integrally inserted inside each of the inner cylinder and the fit tube, and that an inner diameter of the inner cylinder or an inner diameter of the fit tube varies with position varying upward or downward (Figs. 2-6; pp. 2-4). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Wang so that a fit tube is fitted into an upper end of the inner cylinder, a fixing bolt is integrally inserted inside each of the inner cylinder and the fit tube, and an inner diameter of the inner cylinder or an inner diameter of the fit tube varies with position varying upward or downward as taught by Satou. As both Wang and Satou are directed damping bushings (cab mounts), as Wang is silent regarding the fit tube and fixing bolt, as dampening structures such as bushings and cab mounts are very well-known in the vehicle art, and as Satou explicitly discloses the recited structure, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a mount configuration from a finite selection of mount configurations. Such a simple substitution/addition and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
7/31/2026