DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Triantafyllou (US 2002/0081367 A1; June 27, 2002).
Regarding claim 1, Triantafyllou discloses an enzyme preparation for non-dairy plant-based ice cream comprising the enzyme beta-amylase ([0010]-[0017], [0062]-[0065], See Examples).
With respect to the enzyme preparation improving the shape-retainability of a plant-base ice cream, as Triantafyllou teaches a plant-based ice cream comprising the same enzyme preparation as claimed, i.e. beta-amylase, the enzyme preparation of Triantafyllou would inherently improve the shape-retainability.
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Regarding claim 2, Triantafyllou teaches a plant-base ice cream using the enzyme preparation of claim 1, wherein the enzyme preparation comprises beta-amylase ([0010]-[0017], [0062]-[0065], See Examples 8-12).
With respect to the enzyme preparation improving the shape-retainability of a plant-base ice cream, as Triantafyllou teaches a plant-based ice cream comprising the same enzyme preparation as claimed, i.e. beta-amylase, the enzyme preparation of Triantafyllou would inherently improve the shape-retainability.
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Regarding claim 3, Triantafyllou discloses a method for producing a plant-base ice cream comprises a beta-amylase action step in which beta-amylase is allowed to act one a carbohydrate-containing plant-base material, e.g. the cereal starch ([0010]-[0017], [0062]-[0065], See Examples 8-12).
Regarding claim 4, Triantafyllou discloses a method for producing a plant-base ice cream comprises a beta-amylase action step in which beta-amylase is allowed to act one a carbohydrate-containing plant-base material, e.g. the cereal starch ([0010]-[0017], [0062]-[0065], See Examples 8-12).
With respect to the method improving the shape-retainability of a plant-base ice cream, as Triantafyllou teaches a plant-based ice cream comprising the same beta-amylase action step as claimed, the method of Triantafyllou would inherently improve the shape-retainability.
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791