DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 37-42 and 52-56 in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the to induce internal interfacial electric field normal to the layers plane at an interface between the two stacked material layers, as recited in claim 37, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 40, 41, 52, and 53 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 40 and 41 recite “comprising” after the preamble when --further comprising-- is the customary linking clause.
Claim(s) 52 recite(s) the language (emphasis added) “multilayer is N doped”, where independent claim uses the term “n-doped” and should be used consistently throughout the claims.
Claim(s) 53 recite(s) the language (emphasis added) “multilayer is P doped”, where independent claim uses the term “p-doped” and should be used consistently throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 37-42 and 52-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 37 recite(s) the language (emphasis added) “A conductive stacked multilayer diatomic hexagonal material or a conductive stacked multilayer structure”, where claims 38-42 and 52-56 are only drawn to “the material”. The scope of the claimed invention is unclear because the limitations of statutory invention recited in the independent claim is not required in its respective dependent claims.
Claim(s) 37 recite(s) the language (emphasis added) “a conductive stacked multilayer diatomic hexagonal material or a conductive stacked multilayer structure formed by orienting any two stacked layers of a doped diatomic hexagonal material…the two stacked material layers and in-plane conductivity, wherein”, where it appears the applicant is trying to structure the preamble of the claim as a product-by-process (see MPEP 2173.05(p)). The “conductive stacked multilayer structure” is not recited as a process, i.e. steps of depositing, etching, positioning, etc., but instead recites a device which incorporates the claimed “material”, thus the claim improperly implements a product-by-process. Examiner suggests amending the claim so that the “conductive stacked multilayer structure” is unambiguously implemented in the process of fabricating the “conductive stacked multilayer diatomic hexagonal material”, or that the “conductive stacked multilayer structure” and the “conductive stacked multilayer diatomic hexagonal material” are recited as different independent claims.
Claim(s) 37 recite(s) the language (emphasis added) “into a stacked (substantially) parallel lattice orientation to induce”, where the use of paratheses with “substantially” implies a subjectivity to the limitation (see MPEP 2173.05(b).IV). Reciting “(substantially)” in the claim renders the claim language indefinite and not patentable.
Claim(s) 38 recite(s) the language (emphasis added) “doping of the 2D materials prior”, where “2D materials” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 37-39, 42, and 52-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li, X., et al. (2016), Isoelectronic Tungsten Doping in Monolayer MoSe2 for Carrier Type Modulation. Adv. Mater., 28: 8240-8247, hereafter cited as NPL Li
As to claim 37, NPL Li discloses a conductive stacked multilayer diatomic hexagonal material (see NPL Li Fig 5 Ref junction; The use of “or” means that only one of the recited inventions needs rejected.) or a conductive stacked multilayer structure formed by orienting any two stacked layers of a doped diatomic hexagonal material into a stacked (substantially) parallel lattice orientation to induce internal interfacial electric field normal to the layers plane at an interface between the two stacked material layers and in-plane conductivity, wherein
the multilayer is n-doped or p-doped (see NPL Li Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 38, NPL Li discloses the material according to claim 32, wherein
the doped multilayer is formed by chemical doping of the 2D materials prior to forming the multilayer structure (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 39, NPL Li discloses the material according to claim 32, wherein
the doped multilayer is formed by electrostatic doping of a preformed multilayer (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4; Examiner takes notice that the diffusive phenomenon disclosed in citation 29 is well known in the art.).
As to claim 42, NPL Li discloses a device implementing a material according to claim 37 (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 1, Para 1).
As to claim 52, NPL Li discloses the material according to claim 37, wherein
the multilayer is N doped (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 53, NPL Li discloses the material according to claim 37, wherein
the multilayer is P doped (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 54, NPL Li discloses the material according to claim 37, wherein the diatomic hexagonal material is a 2D material (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 55, NPL Li discloses the material according to claim 37, wherein
the diatomic hexagonal material is selected from hexagonal-boron-nitride (h-BN), transition-metal- dichalcogenides (TMD), hexagonal-aluminum-nitride (h-AIN), hexagonal-zinc-oxide (h- ZnO), and hexagonal-gallium-nitride (h-GaN) (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 56, NPL Li discloses the material according to claim 54, wherein
the 2D material is a transition-metal-dichalcogenides (TMD) selected from MoS2, WS2, MoSe2 and WSe2 (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 37-42, and 52-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unuchek, US 20210217919 A1, in view of Li, X., et al. (2016), Isoelectronic Tungsten Doping in Monolayer MoSe2 for Carrier Type Modulation. Adv. Mater., 28: 8240-8247, hereafter cited as NPL Li.
As to claim 37, Unuchek discloses a conductive stacked multilayer diatomic hexagonal material or a conductive stacked multilayer structure (see Unuchek Fig 1b; The use of “or” means that only one of the recited inventions needs rejected.) formed by orienting any two stacked layers of a doped diatomic hexagonal material (see Fig 1b Refs 103 and 105) into a stacked (substantially) parallel lattice orientation (see Fig 1b Refs 103 and 105) to induce internal interfacial electric field normal (see Para [0015] and Fig 1b Ref p) to the layers plane at an interface (see Fig 1b Refs 103 and 105) between the two stacked material layers.
Unuchek does not appear to explicitly disclose in-plane conductivity, wherein
the multilayer is n-doped or p-doped.
NPL Li discloses in-plane conductivity (see NPL Xi Fig 5b), wherein the multilayer is n-doped or p-doped (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that a conductive stacked multilayer structure, as disclosed by Unuchek, may implement conductive, doped layers, as disclosed by NPL Li The inventions are well known variants of devices implement 2D semiconductors, and the combination of known inventions which produces predictable results is obvious, and not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is NPL Li’s attempt to engineer band structures (see NPL LI Page 1, Col 1, Para 2).
As to claim 38, Unuchek and NPL Li disclose the material according to claim 32, wherein
the doped multilayer is formed by chemical doping of the 2D materials prior to forming the multilayer structure (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 39, Unuchek and NPL Li disclose the material according to claim 32, wherein
the doped multilayer is formed by electrostatic doping of a preformed multilayer (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4; Examiner takes notice that the diffusive phenomenon disclosed in citation 29 is well known in the art.).
As to claim 40, Unuchek and NPL Li disclose the material according to claim 32, comprising two or more stacked layers of a 2D material exhibiting out-of-plane switchable polarization (see Unuchek Para [0122]) and comprising free charge carriers of a density that is at least 1010 cm-2 (see Unuchek Fig 26i) evenly distributed in the multilayer (see Unuchek Para [0160]).
As to claim 41, Unuchek and NPL Li disclose the material according to claim 40, comprising two or more layers of a TMD material stacked in a substantially parallel lattice orientation and exhibiting out-of-plane switchable polarization (see Unuchek Para [0122]) and comprising free electrons or holes of a density that is at least 1010 cm-2 (see Unuchek Fig 26i) evenly distributed in the multilayer (see Unuchek Para [0160]).
As to claim 42, Unuchek and NPL Li disclose a device implementing a material according to claim 37 (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 1, Para 1).
As to claim 52, Unuchek and NPL Li disclose the material according to claim 37, wherein
the multilayer is N doped (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 53, Unuchek and NPL Li disclose the material according to claim 37, wherein
the multilayer is P doped (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 54, Unuchek and NPL Li disclose the material according to claim 37, wherein the diatomic hexagonal material is a 2D material (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 55, Unuchek and NPL Li disclose the material according to claim 37, wherein
the diatomic hexagonal material is selected from hexagonal-boron-nitride (h-BN), transition-metal- dichalcogenides (TMD), hexagonal-aluminum-nitride (h-AIN), hexagonal-zinc-oxide (h- ZnO), and hexagonal-gallium-nitride (h-GaN) (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
As to claim 56, Unuchek and NPL Li disclose the material according to claim 54, wherein
the 2D material is a transition-metal-dichalcogenides (TMD) selected from MoS2, WS2, MoSe2 and WSe2 (see NPL Xi Page 1, Col 2, Para 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu, W., et al. (2013), Role of Metal Contacts in Designing High-Performance Monolayer n-Type WSe2 Field Effect Transistors, Nano Letters 2013 13 (5) discloses electrostatic doping.
Wang, US 20200312398 A1 discloses an internal interfacial electric field.
/JEROME LEBOEUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 - 03/11/2026