DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calamari (Small non-alcoholic beer, Cookpad, 2012; made of record by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Calamari teaches a method for producing a beer-taste beverage comprising a mixing step of mixing a beer-taste stock solution, e.g. the “hoppy”, and an edible aqueous solution, e.g. the carbonated water (page 1).
With respect to both the beer-taste stock solution and the edible aqueous solution being at a temperature of 3-15 C, Calamari teaches that both the hoppy and carbonated water are chilled in the refrigerator before mixing. It is well known in the art that refrigeration temperatures overlap the claimed temperature of 3-15 C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
It would have been obvious to chill both the hoppy and carbonated water to a desired chilled temperature depending on the desired temperature of the mixed product. As Calamari already teaches chilling both components, determining the optimum temperature is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 3, Calamari teaches that the mixing step is performed in an open container (e.g. poured into a glass, page 1).
Regarding claim 4, Calamari fails to specifically teach that the open container, or glass, have a volume of 3 L or less. However, it is well known in the art that a “glass” for pouring a beverage is less than 3 L. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a glass that is less than 3 L depending on the amount of beverage desired to be consumed.
Regarding claim 5, Calamari teaches that the edible aqueous solution is carbonated water and is therefore an aqueous solution containing carbon dioxide (page 1).
Regarding claim 6, Calamari teaches a beer-taste beverage produced by the production method of claim 1 (page 1).
Regarding claim 7, Calamari teaches a method for providing a beer-taste beverage comprising mixing a beer-taste stock solution, e.g. the “hoppy”, and an edible aqueous solution, e.g. the carbonated water, and providing a mixture thereof (page 1).
With respect to both the beer-taste stock solution and the edible aqueous solution being at a temperature of 3-15 C, Calamari teaches that both the hoppy and carbonated water are chilled in the refrigerator before mixing. It is well known in the art that refrigeration temperatures overlap the claimed temperature of 3-15 C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
It would have been obvious to chill both the hoppy and carbonated water to a desired chilled temperature depending on the desired temperature of the mixed product. As Calamari already teaches chilling both components, determining the optimum temperature is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 8, Calamari teaches a raw material set for producing a beer-taste beverage comprising a beer-taste stock solution, e.g. the “hoppy”, and an edible aqueous solution, e.g. the carbonated water (page 1).
With respect to both the beer-taste stock solution and the edible aqueous solution being at a temperature of 3-15 C, Calamari teaches that both the hoppy and carbonated water are chilled in the refrigerator before mixing. It is well known in the art that refrigeration temperatures overlap the claimed temperature of 3-15 C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
It would have been obvious to chill both the hoppy and carbonated water to a desired chilled temperature depending on the desired temperature of the mixed product. As Calamari already teaches chilling both components, determining the optimum temperature is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calamari (Small non-alcoholic beer, Cookpad, 2012; made of record by applicant) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peirsman (WO 2018/100107 A1; June 7, 2018; made of record by applicant).
Regarding claim 2, Calamari discloses the method as described above with respect to claim 1. Calamari further teaches that the carbonated water is 1/3 of your glass and the hoppy is 2/3 of your glass. Therefore, the weight ratio of edible aqueous solution to beer-taste stock solution as taught by Calamari is 0.5 (1:2), which falls outside the claimed range of 1.5-7.0.
Peirsman discloses a method of producing a beer taste beverage by mixing a beer-taste concentrate with carbonated water ([0001]). Peirsman further teaches a ratio of carbonated water to concentrate of 3:1 (page 4 line 30, [0018]), thus falling within the claimed range of 1.5-7.0.
As Peirsman teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a beverage having a ratio of carbonated water to beer stock solution within the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a similar ratio in the method of Calamari. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to vary the ratio of that in Calamari to that taught by Peirsman depending on the desired taste of the beverage. Using a higher amount of carbonated water in Calamari would provide a less hoppy beer taste and would have been obvious if such taste was desired. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-10 and 12 of copending Application No. 18/870,067 (reference application) in view of Calamari (Small non-alcoholic beer, Cookpad, 2012; made of record by applicant).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both make claim to a beer taste beverage and method of producing such by mixing a beer-taste stock solution and an edible aqueous solution in a similar ratio, in an open container that is less than 3 L, and wherein the aqueous solution contains carbon dioxide.
With respect to the both the beer-taste stock solution and the edible aqueous solution being at a temperature of 3-15 C, Calamari teaches that both the hoppy and carbonated water are chilled in the refrigerator before mixing. It is well known in the art that refrigeration temperatures overlap the claimed temperature of 3-15 C. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
It would have been obvious to chill both the beer-taste stock solution and the edible aqueous solution to a desired chilled temperature depending on the desired temperature of the mixed product. As Calamari already teaches chilling both components, determining the optimum temperature is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791