DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "wherein the method" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the claim is directed to a raw material set and not a method. There is no previous recitation of a method or any method steps. To be consistent with the other independent claims, “wherein the method satisfies the following…” can be amended to “which satisfies the following…”.
Claim 13 is included as it depends from rejected claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faire un Panache (Comment faire un Panache, WikiHow, 2021; made of record by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Faire teaches a method for producing a beer-taste beverage comprising a mixing step of mixing a beer-taste stock solution, e.g. the “fresh beer”, and an edible aqueous solution, e.g. the lemonade, and a cooling material, e.g. ice cubes (page 1).
With respect to the method satisfying the claimed formula, wherein the ratio of the weight of the cooling material to combined weight of beer-taste stock solution and edible aqueous solution being between 0.1 and 3, the examiner notes that Faire fails to specifically teach the weight of the cooling material. Faire, however, teaches that a few ice cubes can be used and the amount can vary depending on the desired coldness of the drink and the lightness of the drink as the ice will dilute the drink (page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of ice used to arrive at a desired ratio X as claimed depending on the desired flavor and temperature of the beverage as taught by Faire. This is merely routine experimentation that is well understood in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claims 2-3, with respect to the order of mixing the three ingredients, Faire teaches that the beer is added first, then the lemonade and then the ice (pages 1-2). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the order of adding ingredients. All the ingredients are mixed together to form the final beverage and therefore changing the exact order of mixing is merely an obvious variant over Faire as it would not change the final beverage product.
As stated in MPEP 2144.04 IV C: Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In the instant case, changing the order would not change the final product and therefore the order of mixing is obvious.
Regarding claim 5, Faire teaches that the mixing step is performed in an open container (e.g. poured into a glass, pages 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Faire fails to specifically teach that the open container, or glass, has a volume of 3 L or less. However, it is well known in the art that a “glass” for use for a beverage is less than 3 L. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a glass that is less than 3 L depending on the amount of beverage desired to be consumed.
Regarding claim 7, Faire teaches that the edible aqueous solution can be sparling lemonade or lemon soda, such as Sprite, and therefore Faire an aqueous solution containing carbon dioxide (pages 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Faire teaches that the cooling material is ice (pages 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Faire teaches a beer-taste beverage produced by the production method of claim 1 (pages 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Faire teaches a method for providing a beer-taste beverage comprising mixing a beer-taste stock solution, e.g. the “fresh beer”, and an edible aqueous solution, e.g. the lemonade, and a cooling material, e.g. ice cubes (page 1).
With respect to the method satisfying the claimed formula, wherein the ratio of the weight of the cooling material to combined weight of beer-taste stock solution and edible aqueous solution being between 0.1 and 3, the examiner notes that Faire fails to specifically teach the weight of the cooling material. Faire, however, teaches that a few ice cubes can be used and the amount can vary depending on the desired coldness of the drink and the lightness of the drink as the ice will dilute the drink (page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of ice used to arrive at a desired ratio X as claimed depending on the desired flavor and temperature of the beverage as taught by Faire. This is merely routine experimentation that is well understood in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 11, Faire teaches that the cooling material is ice (pages 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Faire teaches a raw material set for producing a beer-taste beverage comprising a beer-taste stock solution, e.g. the “fresh beer”, and an edible aqueous solution, e.g. the lemonade, and a cooling material, e.g. ice cubes (page 1).
With respect to the set satisfying the claimed formula, wherein the ratio of the weight of the cooling material to combined weight of beer-taste stock solution and edible aqueous solution being between 0.1 and 3, the examiner notes that Faire fails to specifically teach the weight of the cooling material. Faire, however, teaches that a few ice cubes can be used and the amount can vary depending on the desired coldness of the drink and the lightness of the drink as the ice will dilute the drink (page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of ice used to arrive at a desired ratio X as claimed depending on the desired flavor and temperature of the beverage as taught by Faire. This is merely routine experimentation that is well understood in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 13, Faire teaches that the cooling material is ice (pages 1-2).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faire un Panache (Comment faire un Panache, WikiHow, 2021; made of record by applicant) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peirsman (WO 2018/100107 A1; June 7, 2018; made of record by applicant).
Regarding claim 4, Faire discloses the method as described above with respect to claim 1. Faire further teaches that the edible aqueous solution is present in an amount of 150 ml and the beer is present in an amount of 150 ml. Therefore, the weight ratio of edible aqueous solution to beer-taste stock solution as taught by Faire is 1 (150/150), which falls outside the claimed range of 1.5-7.0.
Peirsman discloses a method of producing a beer taste beverage by mixing a beer-taste concentrate with carbonated water ([0001]). Peirsman further teaches a ratio of carbonated water to concentrate of 3:1 (page 4 line 30, [0018]), thus falling within the claimed range of 1.5-7.0.
As Peirsman teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a beverage having a ratio of carbonated water to beer stock solution within the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a similar ratio in the method of Faire. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to vary the ratio of that in Faire to that taught by Peirsman depending on the desired taste of the beverage. Using a higher amount of edible aqueous solution in Faire would provide less beer taste and would have been obvious if such taste was desired. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/870,048 (reference application) in view of Faire un Panache (Comment faire un Panache, WikiHow, 2021; made of record by applicant).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both make claim to a beer taste beverage and method of producing such by mixing a beer-taste stock solution and an edible aqueous solution in a similar ratio, in an open container that is less than 3 L, and wherein the aqueous solution contains carbon dioxide.
With respect to the beverage further including a cooling material that is ice, Faire teaches a method for producing a beer-taste beverage comprising a mixing step of mixing a beer-taste stock solution, e.g. the “fresh beer”, and an edible aqueous solution, e.g. the lemonade, and a cooling material, e.g. ice cubes (page 1). Faire, teaches the ice cubes can be used and the amount can vary depending on the desired coldness of the drink and the lightness of the drink as the ice will dilute the drink (page 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add ice to the beverage of ‘048 depending on the desired flavor and temperature of the beverage. It further would have bene obvious to vary the amount of ice used to arrive at a desired ratio X as claimed depending on the desired flavor and temperature of the beverage as taught by Faire. This is merely routine experimentation that is well understood in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791