DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“driving unit” (Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, and 16, described in P[0109]). The limitation is being interpreted under 112(f) due to the presence of a generic placeholder and the use of functional language as disclosed. The limitation is further defined within the present application as “The driving unit 170 is a means for moving the transport robot 100, may include wheels or legs, and may include a wheel driving unit and a leg driving unit for controlling the wheels or legs” Therefore, the limitation is being interpreted under 112(f) and further understood as wheel, legs, or equivalence thereof.
“sensor unit” (Claim(s) 6 and 15, described in P[0095-100]). The limitation is being interpreted under 112(f) due to the presence of a generic placeholder and the use of functional language as disclosed. The limitation is further defined within the present application as “cameras with different functions may be provided. For example, a wide-angle camera, an infrared (IR) camera, etc. may be provided. The camera may serve as a sensor unit 140 for detecting surrounding objects… a distance detection sensor or a proximity sensor 141 and a Lidar 141.” Therefore, the limitation is being interpreted under 112(f) and further understood as camera, LIDAR, proximity sensor, or equivalence thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1.
[Claim 11] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
A transport means comprising:
a transport robot including a body [0022] provided with a driving unit and a connector holder
coupled to the body [0034]; and
(Jacobsen [0022] the navigational system includes an automatic control and guide system for reaching a given target and at the same time avoid collision with the surroundings.)
(Jacobsen [0030] FIG. 1 shows the cart attaching mechanism (1) mounted on the robot (2). The cart attaching mechanism has automatically made a coupling with a cart (3) and transports it to the destination.)
(Jacobsen [0030] FIG. 1 shows the cart attaching mechanism (1) mounted on the robot (2). The cart attaching mechanism has automatically made a coupling with a cart (3) and transports it to the destination.)
(Jacobsen [0034] FIG. 6 shows how the vehicle controls the cart. The safe coupling between the cart (3) and cart attaching mechanism (1) is established by the two support brackets (22) and hook (20),)
a trailer including a connector rotatably coupled to the connector holder of the transport robot,
(Jacobsen [0034] FIG. 6 shows how the vehicle controls the cart. The safe coupling between the cart (3) and cart attaching mechanism (1) is established by the two support brackets (22) and hook (20),)
wherein the connector holder includes:
a fixed bracket fixed to the body;
(Jacobsen [0034] FIG. 6 shows how the vehicle controls the cart. The safe coupling between the cart (3) and cart attaching mechanism (1) is established by the two support brackets (22))
a rotation bracket rotatably coupled to the fixed bracket; and
(Jacobsen [0031] FIG. 3 shows the cart attaching mechanism (1) with a two stage mechanism having flexible suspension with the pivot points of the axles (13) and (14). The bar (10) allows the link (11) to rotate about the axle (13). The joint (12) in which the cart attaching mechanism is mounted can rotate about the axle (14).)
a fastening pin (e.g. hook, pins) configured to penetrate the connector of the trailer and fastened to the rotation bracket.
(Jacobsen [0034-35] FIG. 6 shows how the vehicle controls the cart. The safe coupling between the cart (3) and cart attaching mechanism (1) is established by the two support brackets (22) and hook (20)… View D illustrates the situation where the linear actuator (21) extends and pushes the base frame (50) back toward the hook (20) (View A) and the coupling between the cart attaching mechanism (1) and the cart (3) is established. Decoupling is done by the reverse operation (not shown).)
Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1: FIG.1 Annotated
[Claim 12] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport means according to claim 11, wherein the connector includes:
a connection bracket rotatably coupled to a frame of the trailer in a vertical direction;
and a rod-end bearing located at an end of the connection bracket and configured to enable the fastening pin to pass therethrough.
(Jacobsen [claim.1] a vertical bar element attached to the trailer arm; a horizontal bar element flexibly attached via a pivot point P1 to the vertical bar element)
Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1: FIG.1 Annotated
[Claim 13] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport means according to claim 12, further comprising:
an auxiliary roller rotatably coupled to a lower part of the connection bracket with respect to a rotary shaft arranged horizontal to an extension direction of the connection bracket.
(Jacobsen [0031] FIG. 3 shows the cart attaching mechanism (1) with a two stage mechanism having flexible suspension with the pivot points of the axles (13) and (14). The bar (10) allows the link (11) to rotate about the axle (13). The joint (12) in which the cart attaching mechanism is mounted can rotate about the axle (14). The springs (15) and (16) will constantly try to minimize the angles δ and ε to a neutral position, when the attaching mechanism isn't attached to a cart.)
Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1: FIG.2 Annotated
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 in view of Gramm US-6202395-B1.
[Claim 1] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
A transport robot comprising:
a body configured to include a driving unit; and
(Jacobsen [0022] the navigational system includes an automatic control and guide system for reaching a given target and at the same time avoid collision with the surroundings.)
(Jacobsen [0030] FIG. 1 shows the cart attaching mechanism (1) mounted on the robot (2). The cart attaching mechanism has automatically made a coupling with a cart (3) and transports it to the destination.)
a connector holder located in the body and coupled to a connector of a trailer,
(Jacobsen [0030] FIG. 1 shows the cart attaching mechanism (1) mounted on the robot (2). The cart attaching mechanism has automatically made a coupling with a cart (3) and transports it to the destination.)
(Jacobsen [0034] FIG. 6 shows how the vehicle controls the cart. The safe coupling between the cart (3) and cart attaching mechanism (1) is established by the two support brackets (22) and hook (20),)
wherein the connector holder includes:
a fixed bracket fixed to the body;
(Jacobsen [0034] FIG. 6 shows how the vehicle controls the cart. The safe coupling between the cart (3) and cart attaching mechanism (1) is established by the two support brackets (22))
a rotation bracket rotatably coupled to the fixed bracket;
(Jacobsen [0031] FIG. 3 shows the cart attaching mechanism (1) with a two stage mechanism having flexible suspension with the pivot points of the axles (13) and (14). The bar (10) allows the link (11) to rotate about the axle (13). The joint (12) in which the cart attaching mechanism is mounted can rotate about the axle (14).)
a fastening pin configured to penetrate the connector of the trailer and fastened to the rotation bracket; and
(Jacobsen [0034-35] FIG. 6 shows how the vehicle controls the cart. The safe coupling between the cart (3) and cart attaching mechanism (1) is established by the two support brackets (22) and hook (20)… View D illustrates the situation where the linear actuator (21) extends and pushes the base frame (50) back toward the hook (20) (View A) and the coupling between the cart attaching mechanism (1) and the cart (3) is established. Decoupling is done by the reverse operation (not shown).)
Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1: FIG.1 Annotated
an encoder (e.g. sensor) configured to detect ***operational data***.
(Jacobsen [0010] a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
Gramm US-6202395-B1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle controllers responsive to angular rotation sensors wherein sensors are configured to “ …detect rotation of the rotation bracket”
(Gramm [col.5 ln.20] Rotation of bracket 62 relative to the rotation sensor 48 results in the output of an appropriate electrical signal by the rotation sensor indicating the extent of relative rotation between the bracket and the fixed rotation sensor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include sensors configured to detect rotation of the rotation bracket with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Gramm, for the benefit of monitoring a value of rotation between related components as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a rotational value range of safe/effective operations.
[Claim 4] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport robot according to claim 1, further comprising:
a controller configured to calculate position information of the trailer based on ***sensor information***.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
Gramm US-6202395-B1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle controllers responsive to angular rotation sensors wherein sensors information is configured to include a “ …rotation amount data of the rotation bracket measured by the encoder”
(Gramm [col.5 ln.20] Rotation of bracket 62 relative to the rotation sensor 48 results in the output of an appropriate electrical signal by the rotation sensor indicating the extent of relative rotation between the bracket and the fixed rotation sensor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include sensors configured to detect rotation of the rotation bracket by the encoder with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Gramm, for the benefit of monitoring a value of rotation between related components as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a rotational value range of safe/effective operations.
[Claim 6] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport robot according to claim 4, further comprising:
a sensor unit configured to detect at least one surrounding obstacle,
(Jacobsen [claim.1] at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
wherein the controller is configured to calculate position information of the obstacle based on information about a peripheral area recognized by the sensor unit (e.g. calculating positional information in achieving steering/avoidance operations when obstacles are detected in proximity to the system).
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 and Gramm US-6202395-B1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Johnson US-11439743-B2.
[Claim 2] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport robot according to claim 1, further comprising:
at least one **** rotation bracket and configured to ***enable*** a rotation range of the rotation bracket.
(Jacobsen [0034] FIG. 6 shows how the vehicle controls the cart. The safe coupling between the cart (3) and cart attaching mechanism (1) is established by the two support brackets (22))
Johnson US-11439743-B2 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for carts/wagons wherein rotational components include at least one “ … stopper located on one side of the rotation bracket and configured to limit…”
(Johnson [col.6 ln.15] the end cap 134 has a stop 140 that engages the mounting bracket 104 to prevent over-rotation of the pivot arm 110 when the pivot arm 110)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include at least one stopper located on one side of the rotation bracket and configured to limit a rotation range of the rotation bracket with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Johnson, for the benefit of providing a restraint/safety between two mechanically related components as to prevent operational conditions which would exceed a rotational value range of safe/effective operations.
[Claim 3] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport robot according to claim 2, wherein:
the ***bracket is*** in a driving direction of the driving unit, and provided to be bilaterally symmetrical with respect to the driving direction.
(Jacobsen [0034] FIG. 6 shows how the vehicle controls the cart. The safe coupling between the cart (3) and cart attaching mechanism (1) is established by the two support brackets (22))
Johnson US-11439743-B2 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for carts/wagons wherein rotational components include at least one “ … the stopper is located on the rotation bracket in a driving direction of the driving unit, and provided to be bilaterally symmetrical with respect to the driving direction…”
(Johnson [FIG.4-6, col.6 ln.15] the end cap 134 has a stop 140 that engages the mounting bracket 104 to prevent over-rotation of the pivot arm 110 when the pivot arm 110)
Johnson US-11439743-B2: FIG.5-6 Annotated
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include at least one stopper located on one side of the rotation bracket and configured to limit a rotation range of the rotation bracket with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Johnson, for the benefit of providing a restraint/safety between two mechanically related components as to prevent operational conditions which would exceed a rotational value range of safe/effective operations.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 and Gramm US-6202395-B1, as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Prasad US-20180045823-A1.
[Claim 5] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport robot according to claim 4, wherein the controller is configured to:
calculate position information of the trailer based on the ***sensor information***,
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
Gramm US-6202395-B1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle controllers responsive to angular rotation sensors wherein sensors information is configured to include a “ …rotation amount data of the rotation bracket”
(Gramm [col.5 ln.20] Rotation of bracket 62 relative to the rotation sensor 48 results in the output of an appropriate electrical signal by the rotation sensor indicating the extent of relative rotation between the bracket and the fixed rotation sensor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include sensors configured to detect rotation of the rotation bracket with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Gramm, for the benefit of monitoring a value of rotation between related components as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a rotational value range of safe/effective operations.
Prasad US-20180045823-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle controllers responsive to angular rotation sensors wherein sensors information is configured to include a “ … and information about a length and width of the trailer, wherein the position information of the trailer includes position information of four corners of a bottom surface of the trailer”
(Prasad [0009] FIG. 1 illustrates a non-limiting example of a trailer-detection system 10, hereafter referred to as the system 10. The system 10 is generally configured to detect objects proximate to a host-vehicle 12 equipped with the system 10. As will be described in more detail below, the system 10 is an improvement over prior trailer-detection systems because the system 10 is configured to more accurately determine a dimension (e.g. height, width, and/or length) of a trailer 14 being towed by the host-vehicle 12 by using a radar-sensor 16 to determine a range 18, and an azimuth-angle 20 of a radar-signal 22 reflected by a feature 24 of the trailer 14, and by using a camera 26 to capture an image 28 (FIG. 3) of the trailer 14 that is in a field-of-view 30 of the camera 26. This improvement enables the system 10 to more accurately determine a trailer-length 32, a trailer-width 34, and a trailer-height 36...)
[0011] The signal characteristics may include or be indicative of, but are not limited to, the range 18 to the detected-target 38 from the host-vehicle 12, … Data that corresponds to a strong-target 38A will generally be from consistent, non-intermittent signals. However, data that corresponds to a weak-target 38B may be intermittent or have some substantial variability due to a low signal-to-noise ratio.
Prasad US-20180045823-A1: FIG.1 Annotated
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that Prasad discloses a consideration for a measurement of a trailer length, width, height, and range. As such, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, Prasad teaches a consideration for “wherein the position information of the trailer includes position information of four corners of a bottom surface of the trailer” in that the dimensions of all four corners of a trailer are measured in calculating length and width whereby the position of each corner (to include its bottom surface) are measured relative to one another and further provides position information in that the position of each corner is known relative to the system.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include sensors configured to detect information about a length and width of the trailer and wherein the position information of the trailer includes position information of four corners of a bottom surface of the trailer with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Prasad, for the benefit of enabling the system to more accurately determine a trailer-length, a trailer-width, and a trailer-height [0009].
Claim(s) 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 and Gramm US-6202395-B1, as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Son US-20210146526-A1 and Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1.
[Claim 7] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport robot according to claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to:
calculate a driving path to a destination based on ***sensor information***; and
(Jacobsen [0010] In a particularly preferred embodiment of the present invention the navigational system includes an automatic control and guide system for reaching a given target and at the same time avoid collision with the surroundings.)
Son US-20210146526-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle control response wherein sensor information is configured to include a “ … a destination based on fixed map information about the destination”
(Son [0117] The robot 100a may use at least one of the map data, the object information detected from the sensor information, or the object information acquired from the external apparatus to determine the travel route and the travel plan, and may control the driving unit such that the robot 100a travels along the determined travel route and travel plan.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include a destination based on fixed map information about the destination with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Son, for the benefit of providing map details, positions, and orientations to be used in controlling and navigation of a vehicle, increasing data regarding operational environment information.
calculate a modified path and ***navigation*** for enabling the transport robot to move while avoiding the obstacle based on the position information of the trailer and the position information of the obstacle.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include a path and modified “ … a driving speed”
(Fukuhara [0032] Then, for example, should the auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 meet …, which are used to detect obstacles ahead, reflect off respective auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 and are detected by sensors 34, which causes the auto-running tow vehicles to stop at a pre-determined distance from each other. … or some other rule-based method could be used to continue operations while avoiding accidents such as collisions between the auto-running tow vehicles 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include a driving speed with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Fukuhara, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle movement/orientation in relation to obstacles in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a speed/movement range of safe/effective operations.
[Claim 9] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport robot according to claim 7, wherein the controller is configured to:
measure ***proximity*** position information of the obstacle and position information of the ***vehicle***; and
set ***operational movements to avoid the obstacle***.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include a path and a modified “ … measure a distance to the trailer … set the driving speed to zero "0" when the trailer is located within a predetermined distance from the obstacle”
(Fukuhara [0032] Then, for example, should the auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 meet …, which are used to detect obstacles ahead, reflect off respective auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 and are detected by sensors 34, which causes the auto-running tow vehicles to stop at a pre-determined distance from each other. … or some other rule-based method could be used to continue operations while avoiding accidents such as collisions between the auto-running tow vehicles 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include measuring a distance and setting a drive speed to “0” when within a predetermined distance from an obstacle with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Fukuhara, for the benefit of providing a method used to continue operations while avoiding accident and/or collisions between vehicles and obstacles [0032].
[Claim 10] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport robot according to claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to:
rotate the body such that a direction of the encoder ***covers a range/proximity area*** with respect to the driving direction; and
(Jacobsen [FIG.1-6].)
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Gramm US-6202395-B1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle controllers responsive to angular rotation sensors wherein sensors are configured to “ …detect rotation of the rotation bracket”
(Gramm [col.5 ln.20] Rotation of bracket 62 relative to the rotation sensor 48 results in the output of an appropriate electrical signal by the rotation sensor indicating the extent of relative rotation between the bracket and the fixed rotation sensor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include sensors configured to detect rotation of the rotation bracket with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Gramm, for the benefit of monitoring a value of rotation between related components as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a rotational value range of safe/effective operations.
The modified system of Jacobsen and Gramm discloses the claimed invention except distinctly disclosing “…a direction of the encoder is at an angle of 180 degrees with respect to the driving direction”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to arrange an sensor such that an orientation comprises “…an angle of 180 degrees with respect to the driving direction”, since it has been upheld that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skills in the art MPEP 2144.04 VI. (C)
calculate a modified path so that the transport robot drives ***to avoid collision***.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include a path including “ … a straight direction until the obstacle and the trailer are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance or more”
(Fukuhara [0032] Then, for example, should the auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 meet …, which are used to detect obstacles ahead, reflect off respective auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 and are detected by sensors 34, which causes the auto-running tow vehicles to stop at a pre-determined distance from each other. … or some other rule-based method could be used to continue operations while avoiding accidents such as collisions between the auto-running tow vehicles 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include a straight direction until the obstacle and the trailer are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance or more with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Fukuhara, for the benefit of providing a method used to continue operations while avoiding accident and/or collisions between vehicles and obstacles [0032].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1, Gramm US-6202395-B1, Son US-20210146526-A1 and Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Kraft US 20190357430 A1, Nakamoto US-20200282565-A1, and Bidram US-20190283973-A1.
[Claim 8] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport robot according to claim 7, wherein the controller is configured to:
calculate an expected position of the trailer based on ***sensor information of the vehicle in an operational environment of the transport vehicle and trailer***;
and calculate the modified path and ***operation*** to prevent the transport robot from colliding with the obstacle at the expected position of the trailer.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Kraft US 20190357430 A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein sensor information includes “ … wheel position information”
(Kraft [0067] The navigation system may be configured to fuse sensor data from one or more sensors to provide pitch and/or roll data. Non-limiting examples of on-board sensors include: inertial measurement units (IMUs), wheel sensors, global positioning systems (GPS), or any other devices suitable for determining position and/or orientation of the mower 100.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include wheel position information with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Kraft, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle movement/orientation in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a speed/movement range of safe/effective operations.
Nakamoto US-20200282565-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein sensor information includes “ … weight information of the trailer”
(Nakamoto [claim.9] The transport device according to claim 1, further comprising: a second acquirer configured to acquire the weight of the cargo on the basis of detection results of the force sensor and a third acquirer which acquires a position based on the center of gravity of the cargo on the basis of detection results of the force sensor)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include weight information of the trailer with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Nakamoto, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle orientation/weight in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a weight/movement range of safe/effective operations.
Bidram US-20190283973-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein sensor information includes “ … weight information of articles loaded on the trailer”
(Bidram [0077] In other embodiments where the sensors 1116 are implemented as force-sensitive elements a force ... The electrical signals produced by sensors underlying the article may be processed by the controller 1208 to determine an approximate position and also the weight of the article.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include weight information of articles loaded on the trailer with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Bidram, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle orientation/weight in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a weight/movement range of safe/effective operations.
Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include a path and modified “ … a driving speed”
(Fukuhara [0032] Then, for example, should the auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 meet …, which are used to detect obstacles ahead, reflect off respective auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 and are detected by sensors 34, which causes the auto-running tow vehicles to stop at a pre-determined distance from each other. … or some other rule-based method could be used to continue operations while avoiding accidents such as collisions between the auto-running tow vehicles 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include a driving speed with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Fukuhara, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle movement/orientation in relation to obstacles in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a speed/movement range of safe/effective operations.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Gramm US-6202395-B1.
[Claim 14] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport means according to claim 11, wherein the transport robot further includes:
an encoder configured to detect ***operational data***; and
(Jacobsen [0010] a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
Gramm US-6202395-B1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle controllers responsive to angular rotation sensors wherein sensors are configured to “ …detect rotation of the rotation bracket”
(Gramm [col.5 ln.20] Rotation of bracket 62 relative to the rotation sensor 48 results in the output of an appropriate electrical signal by the rotation sensor indicating the extent of relative rotation between the bracket and the fixed rotation sensor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include sensors configured to detect rotation of the rotation bracket with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Gramm, for the benefit of monitoring a value of rotation between related components as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a rotational value range of safe/effective operations.
a controller configured to calculate position information of the trailer based on ***sensor information***.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
Gramm US-6202395-B1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle controllers responsive to angular rotation sensors wherein sensors information is configured to include a “ …rotation amount data of the rotation bracket measured by the encoder”
(Gramm [col.5 ln.20] Rotation of bracket 62 relative to the rotation sensor 48 results in the output of an appropriate electrical signal by the rotation sensor indicating the extent of relative rotation between the bracket and the fixed rotation sensor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include sensors configured to detect rotation of the rotation bracket by the encoder with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Gramm, for the benefit of monitoring a value of rotation between related components as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a rotational value range of safe/effective operations.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 and Gramm US-6202395-B1 as applied to claim 14 above and further in view of Son US-20210146526-A1 and Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1.
[Claim 15] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The transport means according to claim 14, wherein the transport robot further includes:
a sensor unit (e.g. proximity sensor) configured to detect at least one surrounding obstacle,
wherein the controller is configured to:
calculate position information of an obstacle based on information about a peripheral area recognized by the sensor unit;
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
calculate a driving path to a destination based on ***sensor information***; and
(Jacobsen [0010] In a particularly preferred embodiment of the present invention the navigational system includes an automatic control and guide system for reaching a given target and at the same time avoid collision with the surroundings.)
Son US-20210146526-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle control response wherein sensor information is configured to include a “ … a destination based on fixed map information about the destination”
(Son [0117] The robot 100a may use at least one of the map data, the object information detected from the sensor information, or the object information acquired from the external apparatus to determine the travel route and the travel plan, and may control the driving unit such that the robot 100a travels along the determined travel route and travel plan.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include a destination based on fixed map information about the destination with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Son, for the benefit of providing map details, positions, and orientations to be used in controlling and navigation of a vehicle, increasing data regarding operational environment information.
calculate a modified path and ***navigation*** for enabling the transport robot to move while avoiding the obstacle based on the position information of the trailer and the position information of the obstacle.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include a path and modified “ … a driving speed”
(Fukuhara [0032] Then, for example, should the auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 meet …, which are used to detect obstacles ahead, reflect off respective auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 and are detected by sensors 34, which causes the auto-running tow vehicles to stop at a pre-determined distance from each other. … or some other rule-based method could be used to continue operations while avoiding accidents such as collisions between the auto-running tow vehicles 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include a driving speed with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Fukuhara, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle movement/orientation in relation to obstacles in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a speed/movement range of safe/effective operations.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1, and Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1, in view of Prasad US-20180045823-A1.
[Claim 16] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
A method for controlling a transport robot comprising:
receiving a command required to move the transport robot to a destination;
(Jacobsen [0022] the navigational system includes an automatic control and guide system for reaching a given target and at the same time avoid collision with the surroundings.)
(Jacobson [0030] FIG. 1 shows the cart attaching mechanism (1) mounted on the robot (2). The cart attaching mechanism has automatically made a coupling with a cart (3) and transports it to the destination.)
calculating a driving path to the destination;
(Jacobsen [0022] the navigational system includes an automatic control and guide system for reaching a given target and at the same time avoid collision with the surroundings.)
calculating a ***navigation***;
(Jacobsen [0022] the navigational system includes an automatic control and guide system for reaching a given target and at the same time avoid collision with the surroundings.)
Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include a path and modified “ … a driving speed”
(Fukuhara [0032] Then, for example, should the auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 meet …, which are used to detect obstacles ahead, reflect off respective auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 and are detected by sensors 34, which causes the auto-running tow vehicles to stop at a pre-determined distance from each other. … or some other rule-based method could be used to continue operations while avoiding accidents such as collisions between the auto-running tow vehicles 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include a driving speed with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Fukuhara, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle movement/orientation in relation to obstacles in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a speed/movement range of safe/effective operations.
controlling a driving unit so that the transport robot drives along the driving path ***during operation***;
(Jacobsen [0022] the navigational system includes an automatic control and guide system for reaching a given target and at the same time avoid collision with the surroundings.)
Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include a path and modified “ … a driving speed”
(Fukuhara [0032] Then, for example, should the auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 meet …, which are used to detect obstacles ahead, reflect off respective auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 and are detected by sensors 34, which causes the auto-running tow vehicles to stop at a pre-determined distance from each other. … or some other rule-based method could be used to continue operations while avoiding accidents such as collisions between the auto-running tow vehicles 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include a driving speed with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Fukuhara, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle movement/orientation in relation to obstacles in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a speed/movement range of safe/effective operations.
calculating position information ***based on sensor information***;
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
Prasad US-20180045823-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle controllers responsive to angular rotation sensors wherein sensors information is configured to include a “ …position information of a connected trailer”
(Prasad [0009] FIG. 1 illustrates a non-limiting example of a trailer-detection system 10, hereafter referred to as the system 10. The system 10 is generally configured to detect objects proximate to a host-vehicle 12 equipped with the system 10. As will be described in more detail below, the system 10 is an improvement over prior trailer-detection systems because the system 10 is configured to more accurately determine a dimension (e.g. height, width, and/or length) of a trailer 14 being towed by the host-vehicle 12 by using a radar-sensor 16 to determine a range 18, and an azimuth-angle 20 of a radar-signal 22 reflected by a feature 24 of the trailer 14, and by using a camera 26 to capture an image 28 (FIG. 3) of the trailer 14 that is in a field-of-view 30 of the camera 26. This improvement enables the system 10 to more accurately determine a trailer-length 32, a trailer-width 34, and a trailer-height 36...)
[0011] The signal characteristics may include or be indicative of, but are not limited to, the range 18 to the detected-target 38 from the host-vehicle 12, … Data that corresponds to a strong-target 38A will generally be from consistent, non-intermittent signals. However, data that corresponds to a weak-target 38B may be intermittent or have some substantial variability due to a low signal-to-noise ratio.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include position information of a connected trailer with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Prasad, for the benefit of enabling the system to more accurately determine a trailer-length, a trailer-width, and a trailer-height [0009].
recognizing obstacles present in a peripheral area; and
calculating a modified path so that the trailer does not collide with the obstacle based on the position information of the trailer.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
[Claim 17] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The method according to claim 16, wherein:
measure ***proximity*** position information of the obstacle and position information of the ***vehicle***; and
set ***operational movements to avoid the obstacle***.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include a path and a modified “ … measure a distance to the trailer … set the driving speed to zero "0" when the trailer is located within a predetermined distance from the obstacle”
(Fukuhara [0032] Then, for example, should the auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 meet …, which are used to detect obstacles ahead, reflect off respective auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 and are detected by sensors 34, which causes the auto-running tow vehicles to stop at a pre-determined distance from each other. … or some other rule-based method could be used to continue operations while avoiding accidents such as collisions between the auto-running tow vehicles 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include measuring a distance and setting a drive speed to “0” when within a predetermined distance from an obstacle with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Fukuhara, for the benefit of providing a method used to continue operations while avoiding accident and/or collisions between vehicles and obstacles [0032].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1, Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1, and Prasad US-20180045823-A1 as applied to claim 16 above and further in view of Xue US-20230331322-A1.
[Claim 18] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The method according to claim 16, further comprising:
rotating the transport robot such that a direction of connection between the trailer and the transport robot is at an angle ***of degrees*** with respect to a driving direction; and
(Jacobsen [FIG.1-6].)
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Xue US-20230331322-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include rotation “ … at an angle of 180 degrees with respect to a driving direction”
(Xue [0080] In other words, the traction apparatus rotates 180 degrees in place in the bottom space of the material vehicle 10, after the traction apparatus tows the material vehicle 10 to travel in the first direction, to complete the operation of turning around, so that the material vehicle 10 may be towed by the traction apparatus to travel in the second direction. In this way, the traction apparatus may not need to drive out of the bottom space of the material vehicle 10 and occupy additional space for turning around, thereby saving an area of a transport passage.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include an angle of 180 degrees with respect to a driving direction with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Xue, for the benefit of providing a method for transporting material which may not need to drive out of the bottom space of the material vehicle and occupy additional space for turning around, thereby saving an area of a transport passage [0080].
calculate a modified path so that the transport robot drives ***to avoid collision***.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include a path including “ … a straight direction until the obstacle and the trailer are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance or more”
(Fukuhara [0032] Then, for example, should the auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 meet …, which are used to detect obstacles ahead, reflect off respective auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 and are detected by sensors 34, which causes the auto-running tow vehicles to stop at a pre-determined distance from each other. … or some other rule-based method could be used to continue operations while avoiding accidents such as collisions between the auto-running tow vehicles 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include a straight direction until the obstacle and the trailer are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance or more with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Fukuhara, for the benefit of providing a method used to continue operations while avoiding accident and/or collisions between vehicles and obstacles [0032].
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1, Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1, and Prasad US-20180045823-A1 as applied to claim 16 above and further in view of Gramm US-6202395-B1, Kraft US 20190357430 A1, Nakamoto US-20200282565-A1, and Bidram US-20190283973-A1.
[Claim 19] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The method according to claim 16, wherein the calculating the position information of the trailer includes:
receiving information ***from sensors regarding an operational environment of the trailer and the transport robot***; and
calculating an expected position of the trailer based on ***the sensor information***.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
Gramm US-6202395-B1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle controllers responsive to angular rotation sensors wherein sensors information is configured to include a “ … an angle between”
(Gramm [col.5 ln.20] Rotation of bracket 62 relative to the rotation sensor 48 results in the output of an appropriate electrical signal by the rotation sensor indicating the extent of relative rotation between the bracket and the fixed rotation sensor.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include sensors configured to detect rotation or angle with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Gramm, for the benefit of monitoring a value of rotation between related components as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a rotational value range of safe/effective operations.
Kraft US 20190357430 A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein sensor information includes “ … wheel position information”
(Kraft [0067] The navigation system may be configured to fuse sensor data from one or more sensors to provide pitch and/or roll data. Non-limiting examples of on-board sensors include: inertial measurement units (IMUs), wheel sensors, global positioning systems (GPS), or any other devices suitable for determining position and/or orientation of the mower 100.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include wheel position information with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Kraft, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle movement/orientation in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a speed/movement range of safe/effective operations.
Nakamoto US-20200282565-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein sensor information includes “ … weight information of the trailer”
(Nakamoto [claim.9] The transport device according to claim 1, further comprising: a second acquirer configured to acquire the weight of the cargo on the basis of detection results of the force sensor and a third acquirer which acquires a position based on the center of gravity of the cargo on the basis of detection results of the force sensor)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include weight information of the trailer with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Nakamoto, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle orientation/weight in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a weight/movement range of safe/effective operations.
Bidram US-20190283973-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein sensor information includes “ … weight information of articles loaded on the trailer”
(Bidram [0077] In other embodiments where the sensors 1116 are implemented as force-sensitive elements a force ... The electrical signals produced by sensors underlying the article may be processed by the controller 1208 to determine an approximate position and also the weight of the article.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include weight information of articles loaded on the trailer with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Bidram, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle orientation/weight in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a weight/movement range of safe/effective operations.
[Claim 20] Jacobsen US-20180281178-A1 discloses
The method according to claim 19, further comprising:
calculating the modified path and ***operation*** to prevent the transport robot from colliding with the obstacle at the expected position of the trailer.
(Jacobsen [0010] a control system utilizing a navigational system; a cart attaching mechanism mounted on said robot body for coupling the cart to said vehicle; at least one proximity sensor mounted on the robot body, said control system coupled to said at least one proximity sensor for adjusting the calculated robotic position and detecting any obstacles;)
(Jacobsen [0034] (1) measures the angle β, whereby the robot can safely steer the cart around obstacles irrespective of whether the robot is moving forward or backward.)
Fukuhara US-20020159869-A1 discloses in a similar endeavor, a consideration for vehicle navigation wherein configured to include a path and modified “ … a driving speed”
(Fukuhara [0032] Then, for example, should the auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 meet …, which are used to detect obstacles ahead, reflect off respective auto-running tow vehicles 32, 33 and are detected by sensors 34, which causes the auto-running tow vehicles to stop at a pre-determined distance from each other. … or some other rule-based method could be used to continue operations while avoiding accidents such as collisions between the auto-running tow vehicles 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Jacobsen to include a driving speed with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Fukuhara, for the benefit of monitoring a value of vehicle movement/orientation in relation to obstacles in an environment as to prevent/record operational conditions which would exceed a speed/movement range of safe/effective operations.
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
Kim (US-20210337693-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [0197] The outer body 300 may be fastened to the inner frame 330 by the fastening member 301. The fastening member 301 may be a pin or a screw.”;
Park (US-20200012292-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [0048] The moving robot 100 may detect a plurality of obstacles 11 and 12 existing in an indoor area 1 to recognize the obstacle, and perform any one of approaching, passing, and avoiding according to the type of the obstacle. In this case, the moving robot 100 may avoid the obstacle without approaching an obstacle, or may perform a certain operation after approaching a certain distance and may avoid the obstacle after approaching the obstacle, and may pass an obstacle according to the shape of the obstacle.”;
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30.
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663