Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7- 8, 11- 21, 23-24 are amended.
Claims 1 – 24 are pending.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The 112(f) has not been withdrawn. See expanded 112(f) below with suggestions.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103 for claims 1 – 24 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by applicant's amendments
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is:
information device… configured to in claims 1, 10 – 13, and 15 – 19.
Just adding the processor does not clear up the 112F, it is the information device, interpreted as software that is the issue. The phrase as indicated is just data and software being processed, nothing that is not an abstract idea. Suggest maybe something like “processor for the information device provides…” Taking out configured to strengthens to limitation and would further help (in all cases) the concepts and flow of the limitations.
Also, The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. The words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless the plain meaning is inconsistent with the specification. 2111.01 (I). See also In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ("'[C]laims are not to be read in a vacuum, and limitations therein are to be interpreted in light of the specification in giving them their ‘broadest reasonable interpretation.'"2111.01 (II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MITA KATSUSHI, et al. [JP2019080369, now Mita], in view of Lindemann et al. [US20200117204, now Lindemann], in view of Scott David Nelson [US 20180037136, now Nelson].
Claim 1
Mita discloses a noncontact power supply system, [see at least Mita, Abstract (“To efficiently supply power generated using renewable energy to a vehicle at an appropriate price. [Solution] A power supply system 1 comprises: a plurality of power generation devices 2 that generate power using renewable energy; a plurality of wireless power supply devices 4 that supply power to the vehicle 5 by a wireless method; a control device 6 that controls a power distribution device 8 that distributes power generated by each of the power generation devices 2 to at least one of the wireless power supply devices 4; and an information device 7 connected to the control device 6 via a wireless line, The control device 6 sets the price of the supply power to be supplied from the wireless power supply device 4 to the vehicle 5 by using the comparison result between the power demand amount of each vehicle 5 that receives power supply from the wireless power supply device 4 and the power supply amount that can be supplied from each of the power generation devices 2, and transmits the set supply power price to the information device 7, and the information device 7 notifies the price of the supply power.”); ¶ 0006 (“a plurality of wireless power supply devices that supply power to the vehicle by a wireless method and are installed along a road; a control device that controls a power distribution device that distributes power generated by each of the power generation devices to at least one of the wireless power supply devices; and an information device connected to the control device via a wireless line, The control device includes: setting means for setting a price of supply power to be supplied from the wireless power supply device to the vehicle by using a comparison result between a power demand amount of a vehicle receiving power supply from the wireless power supply device and a power supply amount that can be supplied from power storage means of each of the power generation devices; and transmission means for transmitting a price of the supply power set by the setting means to the information device through the wireless line, wherein the information device includes notification means for notifying a price of the supply power transmitted from the transmission means.”); 0029 (“The wireless power supply device 4 supplies electric power generated by the power generation device 2 to the vehicle 5 by a wireless method (also referred to as a "non-contact method") without connecting the vehicle 5 and the wireless power supply device 4 by wiring, for example, by using electromagnetic induction caused by a magnetic flux generated by causing a current to flow through the coil.“)].
comprises:
an information device associated with a moving body and configured to provide information to a user of the moving body, the moving body configured to be able to receive noncontact power supply from ground power supply apparatuses [see at least Mita, Abstract; Fig. 1: ¶ 0026-0027 (“FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example of a state on a road into which the power supply system 1 according to the present embodiment is introduced. [0027] The road shown in FIG. 1 is, for example, a road of three lanes on one side with a center line 3 as a boundary, and a plurality of vehicles 5 are traveling. On the side of the road, a plurality of power generation devices 2 are installed along a road. The vehicle 5 according to the present embodiment includes a drive device that travels using electricity as power. Specifically, the vehicle 5 will be described as an electric vehicle (EV) vehicle or a plug-in hybrid vehicle (PHV) vehicle. The vehicle 5 is not limited to a four-wheeled vehicle as long as it is a one-wheeled vehicle or more.”); 0037 (“The control device 6 includes a setting unit 10 that sets the price of the supply power supplied from each of the wireless power supply devices 4 to the vehicle 5, a power distribution control unit 20 that selects the wireless power supply device 4 that is the supply destination of the power generated by each of the power generation devices 2, and a communication unit 30 that performs data communication with the information device 7. Further, the setting unit 10 includes a power storage monitoring unit 11, a power generation amount prediction unit 12, a power supply amount prediction unit 13, a traffic volume prediction unit 14, a power demand amount prediction unit 16, and a power price setting unit 17.”)] ; and
a server configured to communicate with the information device, wherein the server is configured to set charges for usage of ground power supply apparatuses based on electric power demand to keep the plurality of moving bodies from concentrating at some of the ground power supply apparatuses [see at least Mita, ¶ 0037; 0038 (“the amount of stored power stored in the power storage unit 2B of each power generation device 2 at a predetermined interval, and monitors the amount of power that can be supplied by each power generation device 2.”); 0157 (“discusses regulating charge); 0158 (“use the power stored in the battery of the vehicle 5 instead of the commercial power. As a result, switching to power at a lower cost is promoted. As described above, the search process illustrated in FIG. 11 ends.”)],
end the set charges for usage to the information device; and control a power supply state of the noncontact power supply system to disperse the plurality of the moving bodies, by using the set charges for usage as a control parameter [see at least Mita, ¶ 0047-0048 (discusses control unit to control the power supply0]; and
the information device is configured to provide the user with information relating to the charges for usage of the ground power supply apparatuses acquired by communicating with the server [see at least Mita, ¶ Claim 9 (“the demand amount of the power used as the alternative power to the demand amount of the power used for traveling of the vehicle 5. In addition, the information device 7 A can notify a message urging switching to lower-cost power in accordance with a comparison result between the price of the commercial power and the price of the supply power supplied from the wireless power supply device 4.”); 0127 (shows usage of power supply); 0161 (“the demand amount of the power used as the alternative power to the demand amount of the power used for traveling of the vehicle 5. In addition, the information device 7 A can notify a message urging switching to lower-cost power in accordance with a comparison result between the price of the commercial power and the price of the supply power supplied from the wireless power supply device 4.”)].
Note that charges and costs are the same when taking into consideration the BRI of the claims.
Mita does not specifically teach but does suggest a processor, Lindemann does specifically teach a processor [see at least Lindemann, ¶ 0028 (“processors”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Neither Mita or Lindemann specifically teach but Nelson does teach a plurality of moving bodies and including a processor configured to provide information to a user; control a power supply state of the noncontact power supply system to disperse the plurality of the moving bodies, by using the set charges for usage as a control parameter [see at least Nelson, ¶ 0119 (“The communication interface 305 or the processor 300 receives real time data related to the road segment and the charging station. The real time data may be a route received from a mobile device or a vehicle. The real time data may be multiple routes for a fleet of vehicles. The real time data may include a demand for energy for the fleet of vehicles, and the demand for energy is based on a quantity of the fleet of vehicles, at least one battery level associated with the fleet of vehicles, or a quantity of compatible vehicles in the plurality of vehicles.”)],
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann, further with the management of ground supply technology of Nelson. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Claim 2
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the electric power demand is electric power demand from the moving body with respect to the ground power supply apparatuses [see at least Mita, ¶ 0044-0045 (“[0044] The power price setting unit 17 acquires the power supply amount in the prediction period from the power supply amount prediction unit 13, acquires the power demand amount in the prediction period from the power demand amount prediction unit 16, and sets the price of the supply power to be supplied to the vehicle 5 by the wireless power supply device 4 for each wireless power supply device 4 from the comparison result of the power supply amount and the power demand amount (also referred to as "supply and demand balance"). The setting unit 0 that sets the price of the supply power for each wireless power supply device 4 in this manner is an example of the setting unit. [0045] The price of the supply power set by the power price setting unit 17 is notified to the communication unit 30, and the communication unit 30 transmits the price of the supply power for each wireless power supply device 4 to each information device 7 through a wireless line such as a mobile phone network, for example. The communication unit 30 that transmits the price of the supply power for each wireless power supply device 4 to each information device 7 is an example of a transmission means.”); 0161 ].
Claim 3
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the server is configured to make a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus with high electric power demand from the moving body higher than the charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus with a low electric power demand from the moving body [see at least Mita, Claim 9; ¶ 0158 (“lower cost is promoted”); 0161].
Nelson more specifically teaches “cost for the charging lanes” [see at least Nelson, ¶ 0022; 0074 (discusses cost or prince of the electricity )].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann, further with the management of ground supply technology of Nelson. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Claim 4
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses a ground power supply apparatus is configured to supply power by noncontact to the plurality of moving bodies, and the server is configured to make a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus with a larger number of moving bodies for supply with power higher than a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus with a smaller number of moving bodies for supply with power [see at least Mita, Fig. 1; ¶ 0006; 0020 (“According to a fifteenth aspect of the present invention, the control device of the control device performs power distribution control for each of the wireless power supply devices such that power is preferentially supplied from the power generation device having a short wiring distance for connecting the wireless power supply device and each of the power generation devices among the plurality of power generation devices.”); 0158].
Claim 5
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses a ground power supply apparatus is configured to supply power by noncontact toa plurality of moving bodies, and the server is configured to: calculate estimated numbers of vehicles for supply with power of the ground power supply apparatuses; and set charges for usage of the ground power supply apparatuses based on the estimated numbers of vehicles for supply with power of the ground power supply apparatuses in the same time frame [see at least Mita, Abstract; Fig. 1; ¶ 0037; 0075 (“In step S50, the CPU 61 predicts the power demand amount for each wireless power supply device 4 from the traffic volume of the vehicle 5 for each road in the prediction period predicted in step S40. A known method is used to predict the power demand amount, and for example, among the number of vehicles traveling in front of the wireless power supply device 4, the power demand amount for each wireless power supply device 4 is predicted to supply a predetermined average power amount. The CPU 61 stores the predicted amount of power demand for each wireless power supply device 4 in the RAM 63.”); 0158].
Note that if the power devices can be used with multiple vehicles at the same time then there are a plurality of moving bodies.
Nelson also teaches these limitations [see at least Nelson, Abstract; ¶ 0022-0023].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann, further with the management of ground supply technology of Nelson. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Claim 6
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the server is configured to make a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus with a larger estimated number of vehicles for supply with power in the same time frame higher than a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus with a smaller estimated number of vehicles for supply with power in the same time frame [see at least Mita, 0006; 0037; 0075].
Claim 7
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the server is configured to make a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus with a higher rate of power use higher than a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus with a lower rate of power use [see at least Mita, 0006; 0037; 0075].
Claim 8
Mita further discloses the electric power demand is electric power demand of a region in which the ground power supply apparatuses are installed [see at least Mita, ¶ 0006; 0009; 0165 (“1(1A) power supply system, 2... power generation device, 2A... power generation unit, 2B... power storage unit, 4... wireless power supply device, 5... vehicle, 6(6A)... control device, 7(7A)... information device, 8... power distribution device, 10... setting unit, 11... power storage monitoring unit, 12... power generation amount prediction unit, 13... power supply amount prediction unit, 14... traffic volume prediction unit, 15... alternative power demand prediction unit, 16(16A)... power demand amount prediction unit, 17... power price setting unit, 20... power distribution control unit, 30... communication unit, 60(70)... computer, 61(71)... CPU, 62(72)... ROM, 63(73)... RAM, 64(74)... non-volatile memory”)].
Claim 9
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mila further discloses the server is configured to make a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus installed in a region with a higher rate of power use higher than a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus installed in a region with a lower rate of power use [see at least Mita, ¶ 0007 (“According to a second aspect of the present invention, the setting unit sets the price of the supply power to be higher as the sum of the power demand amounts of the vehicles that receive power supply from the wireless power supply device is larger than the sum of the power supply amounts that can be supplied from the power storage unit of each of the power generation devices, as the sum of the power demand amounts for each of the wireless power supply devices increases.”); 0044; 0157 (“In this case, since the price of the power stored in the battery of the vehicle 5 is lower than the price of the commercial power, the electricity charge is lower when the electric power stored in the battery of the vehicle 5 is used than using the commercial power at home.”)].
Claim 10
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the information device is configured to acquire information relating to a changed charge for usage from the server and providing to the user [see at least Mita, Claim 9; ¶ 0006].
Mita does not specifically teach but does suggest a processor, Lindemann does specifically teach a processor [see at least Lindemann, ¶ 0028 (“processors”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Neither Mita or Lindemann disclose/teach but Nelson teaches in response to a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus provided to the user having changed greater than or equal to a predetermined value, the changed charge for usage to the user [see at least Nelson, ¶ 0074].
Claim 11
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the information device is configured to provide the user with information relating to a charge for usage of a ground power supply apparatus installed at least at one of a front in an advancing direction or a rear in the advancing direction of the moving body associated with the information device [see at least Mita, ¶ 0006; 0009; 0011 (“According to a sixth aspect of the present invention, the setting unit sets a discount price that is lower than a price of the supply power set in advance by the wireless power supply device installed on a road corresponding to the planned travel route on the basis of a comparison result between a power demand amount for each wireless power supply device and a power supply amount that can be supplied to each wireless power supply device with respect to the information device that has provided the planned travel route, and the transmission means transmits the discount price set by the setting means to the information device that has provided the planned travel route through the wireless channel.”); 0044; 0047 (“When the information device 7 receives the price of the supply power for each wireless power supply device 4 from the control device 6, the information device 7 notifies the user of the information device 7 of the price of the supply power for each wireless power supply device 4 from the output unit 78. The output unit 78 that notifies the price of the supply power for each wireless power supply device 4 is an example of a notification means.”)].
Mita does not specifically teach but does suggest a processor, Lindemann does specifically teach a processor [see at least Lindemann, ¶ 0028 (“processors”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Claim 12
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the information device is configured to provide the user with an absolute price of a ground power supply apparatus as information relating to the charge for usage of the ground power supply apparatus [see at least Mita, ¶ 0006; 0010; 0044; 0047].
Mita does not specifically teach but does suggest a processor, Lindemann does specifically teach a processor [see at least Lindemann, ¶ 0028 (“processors”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Claim 13
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the information device is configured to provide the user with a relative price with respect to a charge for usage of a reference ground power supply apparatus as information relating to the charge for usage of the ground power supply apparatus [see at least Mita, ¶ 0044; 0047].
Mita does not specifically teach but does suggest a processor, Lindemann does specifically teach a processor [see at least Lindemann, ¶ 0028 (“processors”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Claim 14
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the reference ground power supply apparatus is a ground power supply apparatus to supply power to the moving body associated with the information device [see at least Mita, ¶ 0138].
Claim 15
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the information device is configured to further provide the user with information relating to another moving body when there is another moving body for supply of power present at a ground power supply apparatus installed at least at one of a front in an advancing direction or a rear in the advancing direction of the moving body associated with the device [see at least Mita, ¶ 0046 (“a car navigation device mounted in advance in the vehicle”)].
Mita does not specifically teach but does suggest a processor, Lindemann does specifically teach a processor [see at least Lindemann, ¶ 0028 (“processors”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Claim 16
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita further discloses the information device is configured to: calculate a presumed amount of total charge for usage when running on a scheduled running route based on the scheduled running route of the moving body associated with the information device and the charges for usage of the ground power supply apparatuses on the scheduled running route; and provide the user with the presumed amount as information relating to the charges for usage of ground power supply apparatuses [see at least Mita, ¶ 0044; 0114 (“Therefore, in step S60, the price of the supply power based on the power demand amount in the prediction period in which the demand amount of the power used as the alternative power is added to the demand amount of the power used for traveling of the vehicle 5 is set for each wireless power supply device 4.”); 0121 (“Each wireless power supply device 4 communicates with an information device 7 such as a car navigation device installed in the vehicle 5 that supplies power or a smartphone possessed by a passenger of the vehicle 5 by using electromagnetic waves used during power supply, and receives the planned travel route from the information device
7. When the wireless power supply device 4 receives the planned travel route from the information device 7, the wireless power supply device 4 transmits the scheduled travel route received by the communication unit 30 of the control device 6.”); 0142 (“] In step S50A, the CPU 61 predicts the demand amount of power supplied for traveling of the vehicle 5 by each wireless power supply device 4 from the traffic amount of the vehicle 5 for each road in the prediction period predicted in step S40, and predicts the power demand amount for each wireless power supply device 4 in the prediction period by adding the demand amount of the alternative power in the prediction period predicted in step S45 to the demand amount of the predicted power.”)].
Mita does not specifically teach but does suggest a processor, Lindemann does specifically teach a processor [see at least Lindemann, ¶ 0028 (“processors”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Claim 17
With regards to Claim 17, this claim is the server for the system of Claims 1 and is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
Claim 18
With regards to Claim 18, this claim is an information device that is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
To clarify, Mita further discloses an information device associated with a moving body and configured to provide information to a user [see at least Mita, Fig. 1; ¶ 0010; 0026-0027; 0037],
Claim 19
With regards to Claim 18, this claim moving body doing the limitations of Claim 1 and that is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
For clarity, Mita further discloses a moving body configured to be able to receive noncontact power supply from a ground power supply apparatus [see at least Mita, Fig. 1; ¶ 0026-0027; 0037; 0045; 0161].
Claim 20
Claim 20 has similar limitations to claim 19, therefore claim 20 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 19.
Claim 21
With regards to Claim 21, this claim is the control device for the system of Claim 1 and is substantially similar to Claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same references and rationale.
For clarity, Mita also teaches a communication part [see at least Mita, ¶ 0037]
Lindemann discloses a control device mounted in a moving body [see at least Lindemann, Abstract; ¶ 0005 (“As vehicle processing, communication, and sensing capabilities continue to improve, manufacturers persist in offering more system-automated driving capabilities with the aspiration of eventually commercializing fully autonomous vehicles competent to operate among heterogeneous vehicle types in both urban and rural scenarios”); 0010 (“mounted”); 0006].
Lindemann does not disclose/teach but Mita teaches which is configured to be able to receive noncontact power supply from a ground power supply apparatus [see at least Mita, Claim 9; ¶ 0006],
to use information relating to the charges for usage of ground power supply apparatuses acquired by communicating with the server so as to automatically control the moving body [see at least Mita, Claim 9; ¶ 0158; 0161].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Claim 22
Claim 22 has similar limitations to claim 15, therefore claim 22 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 15.
Claim 23
Claim 23 has similar limitations to claim 11, therefore claim 23 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 11.
Claim 24
Mita, Lindemann and Nelson disclose/teach the system of Claim 1.
Mita does not specifically disclose but Lindemann taches the automated driving control part is configured to automatically change a relative position with another vehicle so that the charge for usage of the ground power supply apparatus becomes cheaper [see at least Lindemann, ¶ 0041 (“Turning next to FIG. 3, method 100 of FIG. 2 advances from predefined process block 117 to predefined process block 119 of FIG. 3—as indicated by the circled “A” in each of FIG. 2 and FIG. 3—and performs a comprehensive route-based energy calculation. A route-based energy calculation utilizes the set of energy characteristics that is selected for the designated candidate route at process block 115 and subsequently evaluated at predefined process block 117 to derive a total vehicle energy expenditure to traverse the candidate route from origin to destination under real-time operating and environmental conditions. This calculation takes into account power costs needed to perform attendant vehicle maneuvers, including acceleration, deceleration, turns, lane changes, stops, etc., and the time needed to execute each maneuver. Predefined process block 119 may also account for power costs associated with environmental elements, such as wind speed, rain, snow, ambient temperature, etc., which may be collectively designated as “additive elements” that are calculated together. Occupant behavior-related costs associated with accessory usage, gross vehicle weight (GVW), driving behavior, etc., are also accounted for at this juncture of method 100.”); 0057 (“Aspects of the present disclosure have been described in detail with reference to the illustrated embodiments; those skilled in the art will recognize, however, that many modifications may be made thereto without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. The present disclosure is not limited to the precise construction and compositions disclosed herein; any and all modifications, changes, and variations apparent from the foregoing descriptions are within the scope of the disclosure as defined by the appended claims. Moreover, the present concepts expressly include any and all combinations and subcombinations of the preceding elements and features.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the more detailed techniques of Mita for noncontact charging of vehicles, with the autonomous/automated driving technology of Lindemann. Providing a more effective, efficient and safer technique to recharge any car capable of noncontact charging.
Allowable Subject Matter
Examiner has reviewed the claims and to further prosecution, wants to suggest a few things. See 112(f) above for suggestions on new ways to phrase so the 112(f) is overcome. Also, Examiner suggests moving at least 1 dependent claim into all the independent claims. Some suggestions; Claim 3 and/or other claims that are smore specific on the charges/cost; Claim 4 to more specifically clarity the power supply system. Note that you must overcome the art of record in this rejection. Please contact me for an interview if you have questions (see below).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YASUHIRO et al. [JP2000341887]
SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION The present invention has been made to solve the above problems, and a first object of the present invention is to use an infrared communication method as a communication method between a power supply coupler and a power receiver, and furthermore, a coupler case main body. An object of the present invention is to provide a power supply coupler, a power supply device, a power receiver, and an electromagnetic induction-type non-contact charging device that can ensure the reliability of infrared communication even when the whole is made of an opaque resin.
/JOAN T GOODBODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664
(571) 270-7952