DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the communication filed on 12/02/2024 and the preliminary amendment filed on the same date, claims 1-59 are canceled, claims 60-79 are pending of which claims 60, 72, 79 are recited in independent form. The present Application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/097064 with a filing date of 06/06/2022.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC para. 103
Claims 60-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20220279480 (hereinafter d1) in view of WO-2021213657 (hereinafter d2)
Regarding claim 60, as to the limitation “An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor” d1 discloses techniques generally applicable in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0001) including a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including apparatuses (see d1 Figs. 7-9) which execute a communication method (see d1 Figs. 4, 10, 12, 14, 16), wherein the apparatuses are known to include at least one processor (see d1 para. 0151-0158) and at least one memory comprising computer program code (see d1 para. 0006), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor execute any of the aforementioned method;
As to the limitation “receive, from a network element, clustered paging information comprising at least a paging window configuration” d1 discloses methods which involve a step of receiving PDCCH which contains paging the control information (see d1 Fig. 10 step S1040, para. 0159) wherein the PDCCH is applied to techniques of clustered paging and paging window configuration (see d1 Fig. 11 para. 0188-0192);
As to the limitation “determine a paging occasion within a clustered paging window based on the paging window configuration” d1 continues disclosing a determination of allocation of paging time instance (i.e. paging occasion) (see d1 Fig. 10 step S1050) as continuing to apply to clustered paging (see d1 para. 0188-0192);
As to the limitation “monitor the paging occasion within the clustered paging window” d1 continues disclosing monitoring a paging DCI (i.e. paging occasion) (see d1 Fig. 10 step S1070) and continuing to apply to clustered paging (see d1 Fig. 11 para. 0188-0192).
Given the above disclosure and discussion, it Appears to the Examiner that all the limitations may be met by d1. However, in order to provide further support, and in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation of the claim or be otherwise disqualified, attention is directed to d2.
D2 discloses “An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor” d1 discloses techniques generally applicable in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 pg. 1 para. 1) including apparatuses (see d1 Figs. 2, 5) which execute a communication method (see d2 Figs. 3, 6), wherein the apparatuses are known to include at least one processor (see d2 element 202, 502) and at least one memory comprising computer program code (see d2 elements 204, 208, 208, 508), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor execute any of the aforementioned method(s);
As to the limitation “receive, from a network element, clustered paging information comprising at least a paging window configuration” d2 discloses methods which involve broadcasting-time indicator indicates a time offset and/or a time window between the at least one reference signal and the clustered paging occasions (see d2 page 6, last paragraph);
As to the limitation “determine a paging occasion within a clustered paging window based on the paging window configuration” d2 continues disclosing a timer indicator indicates that the at least one reference signal will be repeatedly broadcasted for a predefined number of next paging occasions for the subset of UEs or for a predefined time period (see d2 page 7, first paragraph);
As to the limitation “monitor the paging occasion within the clustered paging window” d2 continues disclosing a transceiver caused by the at least one processor to perform time-frequency synchronization with the network node according to the first aspect and/or channel estimation based on the at least one reference signal and monitor a paging message for the UE during the paging occasion (see d2 page 8, second paragraph). D2 also appears to teach the limitations of the claims.
It is noted that d1 and d2 included each element claimed although possibly in each single reference, but certainly in combination, wherein the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Wherein, d1 and d2 contain ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings including enabling energy- efficient paging for UEs and network nodes in a wireless communication network (see d2 pg. 2 paras. 2-4). Further, implementation, in the same field, utilizing elements of d1 and d2 in the same way would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 61, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 60, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: receive an indication from the network element that the network element is operating in a clustered paging mode” d1 in view of d2 discloses reception of the messages which are indicative of operation in a clustered paging mode (see d1 para. 0175-0177, 013, 0195-0204; d2 pg. 4 paras. 2-4).
Regarding claim 62, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 60, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: determine a location of the clustered paging window in time domain” d1 in view of d2 discloses determining the location of a paging window for TD (see d1 para. 0034, 0139, 0163, 0178, 0187-0188; d2 pg. 4 paras. 2-4).
Regarding claim 63, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 62, wherein the determination of the location of the clustered paging window in time domain is based on a paging window start time provided in the clustered paging information” d1 in view of d2 discloses a start time as an element of paging information (see d1 para. 0178, 0187-0188; d2 pg. 21 para. 2-4).
Regarding claim 64, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 60, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: determine at least one of a paging frame and a paging occasion within the clustered paging window based at least on the location of the clustered paging window in the time domain” d1 in view of d2 discloses determination of a paging frame or PO as applied to clustered paging (see d1 para. 0097, 0115, 0118, 0163, 0163, 0178; d2 pg. 14 last 2 paras.).
Regarding claim 65, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 64, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: map a legacy paging occasion to the paging occasion within the clustered paging window by identifying the paging frame and the paging occasion within a paging frame of the clustered paging window based on the location of the clustered paging window in the time domain” d1 in view of d2 discloses mapping paging occasions by means of paging frames and PO (see d1 para. 0031, 0097, 0168, 0182; d2 pg. 20 paras. 1-3).
Regarding claim 66, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 60, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: receive a reference signal configuration specific to the clustered paging window in time domain, wherein the reference signal configuration comprises one or more synchronization signals for synchronizing with the network element in or before the clustered paging window” d1 in view of d2 discloses reference signal configuration including synchronization signals for clustered paging (see d2 pg. 15 paras. 1-3).
Regarding claim 67, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 60, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: receive paging information from the network element based on the paging window configuration” d1 in view of d2 discloses paging information communicated based on configuration (see d1 Fig. 4, para. 0088, 0178-0188; d2 pg. 15, para. 2-4).
Regarding claim 68, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 60, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: receive a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block burst transmitted with a periodicity that is greater than 20 ms” d1 in view of d2 discloses reception of synchronization transmitted with a configurable periodicity (see d2 pg. 15 paras. 2-4).
Regarding claim 69, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 60, wherein the paging occasion is monitored on a dedicated bandwidth part operating in the clustered paging mode” d1 in view of d2 discloses monitoring PO based on a dedicated BWP based on clustered paging implementation (see d1 para. 0116, 0135; d2 Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 70, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 60, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: initiate a random access in an occasion associated with the clustered paging window” d1 in view of d2 discloses use of random access as applied to the aforementioned closeted paging (see d1 para. 0031; d2 Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 71, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 60, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: determine the paging occasion based on a user equipment identification and the paging window configuration” d1 in view of d2 discloses determining a PO with the use of UE ID and the paging configuration (see d1 para. 0136-0137, 0172; d2 Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 72, as to the limitation “An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured” d1 discloses techniques generally applicable in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0001) including a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including apparatuses (see d1 Figs. 7-9) which execute a communication method (see d1 Figs. 4, 10, 12, 14, 16), wherein the apparatuses are known to include at least one processor (see d1 para. 0151-0158) and at least one memory comprising computer program code (see d1 para. 0006), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor execute any of the aforementioned method;
As to the limitation “transmit, to a user equipment, a clustered paging information comprising at least a paging window configuration” d1 discloses methods which involve a step of transmitting PDCCH which contains paging the control information (see d1 Fig. 10, para. 0159) wherein the PDCCH is applied to techniques of clustered paging and paging window configuration (see d1 Fig. 11 para. 0188-0192);
As to the limitation “determine that the user equipment needs to be paged; and page the user equipment based on the paging window configuration, wherein the clustered paging window comprises one or more paging frames, or one or more paging occasions” d1 continues disclosing monitoring a paging DCI (i.e. paging occasion) (see d1 Fig. 10) and continuing to apply to clustered paging (see d1 Fig. 11 para. 0188-0192).
Given the above disclosure and discussion, it Appears to the Examiner that all the limitations may be met by d1. However, in order to provide further support, and in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation of the claim or be otherwise disqualified, attention is directed to d2.
D2 discloses “An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory comprising computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor” d1 discloses techniques generally applicable in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 pg. 1 para. 1) including apparatuses (see d1 Figs. 2, 5) which execute a communication method (see d2 Figs. 3, 6), wherein the apparatuses are known to include at least one processor (see d2 element 202, 502) and at least one memory comprising computer program code (see d2 elements 204, 208, 208, 508), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor execute any of the aforementioned method(s);
As to the limitation “transmit, to a user equipment, a clustered paging information comprising at least a paging window configuration” d2 discloses methods which involve broadcasting-time indicator indicates a time offset and/or a time window between the at least one reference signal and the clustered paging occasions (see d2 page 6, last paragraph);
As to the limitation “determine that the user equipment needs to be paged; and page the user equipment based on the paging window configuration, wherein the clustered paging window comprises one or more paging frames, or one or more paging occasions” d2 continues disclosing a timer indicator indicates that the at least one reference signal will be repeatedly broadcasted for a predefined number of next paging occasions for the subset of UEs or for a predefined time period (see d2 page 7, first paragraph); d2 continues disclosing a transceiver caused by the at least one processor to perform time-frequency synchronization with the network node according to the first aspect and/or channel estimation based on the at least one reference signal and monitor a paging message for the UE during the paging occasion (see d2 page 8, second paragraph). D2 also appears to teach the limitations of the claims.
It is noted that d1 and d2 included each element claimed although possibly in each single reference, but certainly in combination, wherein the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Wherein, d1 and d2 contain ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings including enabling energy- efficient paging for UEs and network nodes in a wireless communication network (see d2 pg. 2 paras. 2-4). Further, implementation, in the same field, utilizing elements of d1 and d2 in the same way would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 73, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 72, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: transmit an indication to the user equipment that a network element is operating in a clustered paging mode” d1 in view of d2 discloses reception of the messages which are indicative of operation in a clustered paging mode (see d1 para. 0175-0177, 013, 0195-0204; d2 pg. 4 paras. 2-4).
Regarding claim 74, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 72, wherein the transmission of the clustered paging information and the indication is based on a system information broadcast or a dedicated signaling” d1 in view of d2 discloses transmission of the clustered paging information and the indication is based on a system information broadcast or a dedicated signaling (see d1 para. 0127, 0135, 0184, 0193; d2 pg. 4 paras. 2-4; pg. 5 paras. 1-2).
Regarding claim 75, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 72, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: transmit a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block burst with a periodicity that is greater than 20 ms” d1 in view of d2 discloses reception of synchronization transmitted with a configurable periodicity (see d2 pg. 15 paras. 2-4).
Regarding claim 76, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 72, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: transmit an indication to the user equipment that a network element is operating in a clustered paging mode” d1 in view of d2 discloses reception of the messages which are indicative of operation in a clustered paging mode (see d1 para. 0175-0177, 013, 0195-0204; d2 pg. 4 paras. 2-4).
Regarding claim 77, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 72, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: transmit a reference signal configuration that comprises one or more synchronization signals for the user equipment to synchronize with the network element in or before the clustered paging window” d1 in view of d2 discloses transmitting a reference signal configuration that comprises one or more synchronization signals for the user equipment to synchronize with the network element in or before the clustered paging window (see d2 pg. 15).
Regarding claim 78, as to the limitation “The apparatus according to claim 72, wherein operating in the clustered paging mode triggers a change of at least one of: a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block, a system information broadcast transmission periodicity, or a random access occasion so that the random access occasion is located within or after the clustered paging window” d1 in view of d2 discloses of at least one of a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block, a system information broadcast transmission periodicity, or a random access occasion so that the random access occasion is located within or after the clustered paging window (see d2 pg. 15).
*
Regarding claim 79, as to the limitation “A method comprising:” d1 discloses techniques generally applicable in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d1 para. 0001) including a system (see d1 Fig. 2) including apparatuses (see d1 Figs. 7-9) which execute a communication method (see d1 Figs. 4, 10, 12, 14, 16), wherein the apparatuses are known to include at least one processor (see d1 para. 0151-0158) and at least one memory comprising computer program code (see d1 para. 0006), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor execute any of the aforementioned method;
As to the limitation “receiving, from a network element, clustered paging information comprising at least a paging window configuration” d1 discloses methods which involve a step of receiving PDCCH which contains paging the control information (see d1 Fig. 10 step S1040, para. 0159) wherein the PDCCH is applied to techniques of clustered paging and paging window configuration (see d1 Fig. 11 para. 0188-0192);
As to the limitation “determining a paging occasion within a clustered paging window based on the paging window configuration” d1 continues disclosing a determination of allocation of paging time instance (i.e. paging occasion) (see d1 Fig. 10 step S1050) as continuing to apply to clustered paging (see d1 para. 0188-0192);
As to the limitation “monitoring the paging occasion within the clustered paging window” d1 continues disclosing monitoring a paging DCI (i.e. paging occasion) (see d1 Fig. 10 step S1070) and continuing to apply to clustered paging (see d1 Fig. 11 para. 0188-0192).
Given the above disclosure and discussion, it Appears to the Examiner that all the limitations may be met by d1. However, in order to provide further support, and in the event d1 is shown to not teach any limitation of the claim or be otherwise disqualified, attention is directed to d2.
D2 discloses “A method comprising:” d1 discloses techniques generally applicable in the field of endeavor of wireless communication (see d2 pg. 1 para. 1) including apparatuses (see d1 Figs. 2, 5) which execute a communication method (see d2 Figs. 3, 6), wherein the apparatuses are known to include at least one processor (see d2 element 202, 502) and at least one memory comprising computer program code (see d2 elements 204, 208, 208, 508), the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor execute any of the aforementioned method(s);
As to the limitation “receive, from a network element, clustered paging information comprising at least a paging window configuration” d2 discloses methods which involve broadcasting-time indicator indicates a time offset and/or a time window between the at least one reference signal and the clustered paging occasions (see d2 page 6, last paragraph);
As to the limitation “determine a paging occasion within a clustered paging window based on the paging window configuration” d2 continues disclosing a timer indicator indicates that the at least one reference signal will be repeatedly broadcasted for a predefined number of next paging occasions for the subset of UEs or for a predefined time period (see d2 page 7, first paragraph);
As to the limitation “monitor the paging occasion within the clustered paging window” d2 continues disclosing a transceiver caused by the at least one processor to perform time-frequency synchronization with the network node according to the first aspect and/or channel estimation based on the at least one reference signal and monitor a paging message for the UE during the paging occasion (see d2 page 8, second paragraph). D2 also appears to teach the limitations of the claims.
It is noted that d1 and d2 included each element claimed although possibly in each single reference, but certainly in combination, wherein the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Wherein, d1 and d2 contain ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings including enabling energy- efficient paging for UEs and network nodes in a wireless communication network (see d2 pg. 2 paras. 2-4). Further, implementation, in the same field, utilizing elements of d1 and d2 in the same way would yield a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 73 be found allowable, claim 76 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JINSONG HU can be reached on 5712723965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643