DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02 December 2024 and 11 December 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Pyo et al. (USPGPub 20190181166 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pyo teaches a photodetector, comprising: a semiconductor substrate (100) in which a photoelectric conversion section (110) is provided (see figure 7A, semiconductor substrate 100 with photoelectric conversion regions 110 disposed therein); an inter-pixel light-shielding section (101) that is provided over the semiconductor substrate (100) and defines a light incident region (110) of a pixel (P) corresponding to the photoelectric conversion section (110) (see figures 6 and 7A, isolation structure 101; and ¶63, The first isolation structure 101 may be a device isolation layer defining the unit pixel regions PG1, PG2, PR, and PB); and an on-chip lens (307) that is provided on the light incident region (110) of the semiconductor substrate (100) (see figure 7A, micro lenses 307), wherein at least edge sections of the on-chip lens (307) in a diagonal direction of the pixel fall (P) onto the light incident region (110) (see figure 6, diagonal edges of micro lenses 307 falling onto light incident regions 110).
Regarding claim 3, Pyo teaches the photodetector according to claim 1, wherein the edge sections of the on-chip lens (307) in an opposite side direction of the pixel (P) fall onto the light incident region (110) (see figures 6 and 7A, edge of micro lenses 370 falling on photoelectric conversion regions 110 (i.e. light incident region)).
Regarding claim 4, Pyo teaches the photodetector according to claim 1, wherein the pixel (P) including the on-chip lens (307) which has the edge sections falling onto the light incident region (110) is provided at least in a peripheral section of a pixel array (1) in which a plurality of the pixels (P) is planarly arranged in a matrix (see figure 8, edge of micro lenses 307 in the diagonal pixel direction overlapping the photoelectric conversion regions 110 (i.e. light incident region); and ¶57, FIG. 8 is an enlarged plan view of the second region R2 of FIG. 5A).
Regarding claim 10, Pyo teaches the photodetector according to claim 1, wherein in the photoelectric conversion section (110), an infrared ray is subjected to photoelectric conversion (¶51, The infrared filter Z of the depth pixel may transmit infrared light, and the photoelectric conversion element of the depth pixel may generate photoelectrons corresponding to the infrared light).
Regarding claim 12, Pyo teaches a photodetection device, comprising: a photodetector (110); and a processing circuitry that performs signal processing on an output from the photodetector (100) (¶60, The electrical signals converted in the first and second photoelectric conversion regions 110a and 110b may be signal-processed in the interconnection layer 20), wherein the photodetector (110) includes a semiconductor substrate (100) in which a photoelectric conversion section (110) is provided (see figure 7A, semiconductor substrate 100 with photoelectric conversion regions 110 disposed therein), an inter-pixel light-shielding section (101) that is provided over the semiconductor substrate (100) and defines a light incident region of a pixel (P) corresponding to the photoelectric conversion section (110) (see figures 6 and 7A, isolation structure 101; and ¶63, The first isolation structure 101 may be a device isolation layer defining the unit pixel regions PG1, PG2, PR, and PB), and an on-chip lens (307) that is provided on the light incident region (110) of the semiconductor substrate (100) (see figure 7A, micro lenses 307), and at least edge sections of the on-chip lens (307) in a diagonal direction of the pixel (P) fall onto the light incident region (110) (see figure 6, diagonal edges of micro lenses 307 falling onto light incident regions 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyo et al. (USPGPub 20190181166 A1) in view of Moriya (WO 2022091576 A1) (using US 20240030252 A1 as a translation).
Regarding claim 2, Pyo teaches the on-chip lens (307) and the inter-pixel light-shielding section (101) (see figures 6 and 7A). However, Pyo fails to explicitly teach wherein the edge sections of the on-chip lens in an opposite side direction of the pixel fall onto the inter-pixel light-shielding section.
However, Moriya teaches wherein the edge sections of the on-chip lens (30) in an opposite side direction of the pixel (3) fall onto the inter-pixel light-shielding section (28/25) (see figures 2 and 4, microlens 30 overlapping partitions walls 28 and trenches 25 (i.e. light-shielding section)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pyo to incorporate the teachings of Moriya to have the microlenses overlapping the light-shielding section because a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyo et al. (USPGPub 20190181166 A1) in view of Kurose et al. (USPGPub 20220173150 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Pyo teaches the light incident region (110) provided in the semiconductor substrate (100) (see figures 6 and 7A). However, Pyo fails to explicitly teach wherein the light incident region is provided with an irregular section in which irregularities are arranged in an array-shape over a surface of the semiconductor substrate.
However, Kurose teaches wherein the light incident region (42) is provided with an irregular section (48) in which irregularities are arranged in an array-shape over a surface of the semiconductor substrate (12) (see figure 2, recessed regions 48 (i.e. irregular section) disposed in an array shape over semiconductor substrate 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pyo to incorporate the teachings of Kurose to further include an irregular section in order to prevent the reflection of incident light to improve sensitivity (Kurose, ¶5).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyo et al. (USPGPub 20190181166 A1) in view of Kurose et al. (USPGPub 20220173150 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Chou et al. (USPGPub 20210183922 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Pyo as modified by Kurose teaches the irregularities (Kurose 48) (Kurose, see figure 2). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the irregularities include square pyramid-shaped recesses.
However, Chou teaches wherein the irregularities (142) include square pyramid-shaped recesses (¶83, the first EMR diffuser 142 has an inverted pyramid-like shape (e.g., an inverted square pyramid, an inverted rectangular pyramid, an inverted triangular pyramid, etc.), as shown in the simplified top view 300 of FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pyo and Kurose to incorporate the teachings of Chou to have the shape of the irregularities include a square pyramid because changing the shape of the element is an obvious matter of choice that would not alter the function of the device (see MPEP 2144.04 IV B).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyo et al. (USPGPub 20190181166 A1) in view of Kurose et al. (USPGPub 20220173150 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Murase et al. (TW 202117637 A) (using US 20220397651 A1 as a translation).
Regarding claim 7, Pyo as modified by Kurose teaches the on-chip lens (Pyo 307 | Kurose 52) and the irregularities (Kurose 48) (Kurose, see figure 2). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein at least the edge sections of the on-chip lens in the diagonal direction fall onto the irregular section.
However, Murase teaches wherein at least the edge sections of the on-chip lens (30) in the diagonal direction fall onto the irregular section (SF) (see figures 39, 41, 42, and 44, on-chip lens 30 falling on scattering structures SF in the diagonal pixel direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pyo and Kurose to incorporate the teachings of Murase to have the on-chip lenses falling onto the irregularities because a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Regarding claim 8, Pyo as modified by Kurose teaches the on-chip lens (Pyo 307 | Kurose 52) and the irregularities (Kurose 48) (Kurose, see figure 2). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein at least the edge sections of the on-chip lens in the diagonal direction fall onto the light incident region outside the irregular section.
However, Murase teaches wherein at least the edge sections of the on-chip lens (30) in the diagonal direction fall onto the light incident region (PX) outside the irregular section (SF) (see figures 38, 40, 43, 45, and 46, on-chip lens 30 falling on the pixel PX (i.e. light incident region) outside of the scattering structures SF in the diagonal pixel direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pyo and Kurose to incorporate the teachings of Murase to have the on-chip lenses falling onto the light incident region outside of the irregularities because a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (MPEP 2144.05 II A).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyo et al. (USPGPub 20190181166 A1) in view of Takatsuka (CN 110291635 A) (using US 20210183930 A1 as a translation).
Regarding claim 11, Pyo teaches the photoelectric conversion section (110) (see figures 6 and 7A). However, Pyo fails to explicitly teach wherein the photoelectric conversion section includes a single photon avalanche diode.
However, Takatsuka teaches wherein the photoelectric conversion section includes a single photon avalanche diode (¶52, The pixel 100 is a pixel including an APD (Avalanche Photodiode) as a light detection unit (photoelectric conversion unit) for detecting a light signal; and ¶53, The APD is used in a linear mode in which a reverse bias voltage is operated with a breakdown voltage or less or a Geiger mode in which the reverse bias voltage is operated with the breakdown voltage or more. In the Geiger mode, an avalanche phenomenon can occur even with the incidence of a single photon. Such a photodiode is called a SPAD).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pyo to incorporate the teachings of Takatsuka to have the photoelectric conversion section include a SPAD because of their high sensitivity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the photodetector according to claims 5 and 1 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the pixel including the on-chip lens which has the edge sections falling onto the irregular section is provided in a peripheral section of a pixel array in which a plurality of the pixels is planarly arranged in a matrix, and the pixel including the on-chip lens which has the edge sections falling onto the light incident region outside the irregular section is provided in a center section of the pixel array.
Conclusion
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878