DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2 December 2024 and 2 April 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
[Broadest Reasonable Interpretation] The claim recites a mathematical relationship which identifies vehicle actions what expend less fuel. A driver can select several choices: coasting down a hill, windows versus AC, driving closer to the ideal fuel speed, and selecting a route that would shorten time on the road by avoiding known grid-lock segments.
[Step 1] Representative claim 1 teaches a method for controlling a powertrain of a vehicle. This falls under “process”, which is a statutory invention category.
[Step 2A: Prong 1] This is a mathematical relationship. But for the vehicle, the processor, and the memory required to carry out the steps which are not explicitly recited in the claims, claim 1 is merely drawn to a series of steps:
obtaining vehicle event data for a vehicle event associated with a vehicle
receiving a plurality of optimization variables
receiving a cost function representing a vehicle system, wherein the cost function comprises a plurality of weights assigned to the plurality of optimization variables
decomposing the cost function into a plurality of control problems
generating a solution to the cost function by solving the plurality of control problems
The steps are, essentially, a process of calculating the cost optimization for vehicle powertrain control. This is an abstract idea or ideas characterized under mathematical relationship.
[Step 2A: Prong 2] This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Other than the above-cited abstract idea, claim 1 doesn’t explicitly claim a specific type of vehicle, processor, and memory that would be necessary to carry out the steps. There are no special hardware features of the process recited in the claims as presented. The hardware of a vehicle, a processor, and a memory is recited in the specification at a high-level of generality, (see [Specification Para. 16]) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions of the judicial exception linked to a particular technological environment. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. These limitations essentially linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP2106.05(h), MPEP2106.04(d)). This claim is directed to an abstract idea.
[Step 2B] This claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a vehicle, a processor, and a memory to no more than mere instructions of the judicial exception linked to a particular technological environment. There is no inventive concept in the vehicle, the processor, and the memory. Mere linking the judicial exception to a particular technological environment cannot provide an integrated inventive concept. This claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 3-5, 7, 9-10, and 12 have been rejected on the same grounds and recite substantially similar abstract ideas to the cited independent claim 1.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of states.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the plurality of states comprise at least one of vehicle speed, vehicle distance, gear number, gear dwell time count, battery state-of-charge, battery temperature. engine status, engine on/off dwell time counter, fuel consumption, pre- Diesel Oxidation Catalyst (DOC) temperature, DOC temperature, Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) temperature, and selective catalytic reduction (SCR) temperature.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of design parameters.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the optimization variables further comprise a plurality of control variables.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of design parameters, and wherein the design parameters comprise number of battery cells in series (Ns), number of battery cells in parallel (Np), scaling factor for a genset power. and genset selection between diesel and compressed natural gas (CNG).
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the cost function is a function that comprises values representing fuel, battery energy, and emissions.
12. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the solution to the cost function comprises a design- space optimization.
The 101 analysis for claim 1 would apply similarly to the dependent claims above. Therefore, dependent claims 3-5, 7, 9-10, and 12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 10, 13-16, 18-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Publication 2022/0415181 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a computer-implemented method for controlling a powertrain of a vehicle comprising: receiving a plurality of optimization variables (Wang: Para. 35, 44; a nonlinear MPC control protocol with SOC terminal cost is provided to optimize fuel consumption in power split output control for hybrid powertrains, while maintaining a desired SOC level; motor torque; engine torque; motor power; battery current; battery open circuit voltage); receiving a cost function representing a vehicle system, wherein the cost function comprises a plurality of weights assigned to the plurality of optimization variables (Wang: Para. 6; adapt the weights on the MPC cost function using dynamic programming techniques and route preview information; MPC weights may optionally be adapted using predicted and historic vehicle data, current state of charge); decomposing the cost function into a plurality of control problems (Wang: Para. 44; estimating an MPC cost function weight that represents a fuel equivalence factor based on predicted preview route information); and generating a solution to the cost function by solving the plurality of control problems (Wang: Para. 50; calculates a minimum cost function of motor power such that a summation of fuel consumption to generate the engine power outputs for the rolling road segments of the predicted path is minimized).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising outputting the solution to a vehicle, whereby the powertrain of the vehicle is controlled based on the solution to the cost function (Wang: Para. 51; vehicle controller transmitting one or more command signals to the engine and motor to output engine torque and motor torque based on the calculated minimum cost function of motor power).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of states (Wang: Para. 49; vehicle controller determining, based on the aforesaid path plan data, estimated vehicle velocities for a plurality of rolling road segments of the predicted path; determine an optimal power split between engine power output and motor power output to minimize fuel consumption for the desired trip).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the plurality of states comprise at least one of vehicle speed, vehicle distance, gear number, gear dwell time count, battery state-of-charge, battery temperature, engine status, engine on/off dwell time counter, fuel consumption, pre- Diesel Oxidation Catalyst (DOC) temperature, DOC temperature, Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) temperature, and selective catalytic reduction (SCR) temperature (Wang: Para. 30; inputs may include vehicle speed).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the computer-implemented method claim 1, wherein the optimization variables further comprise a plurality of control variables (Wang: Para. 35; motor torque; engine torque; battery current; battery open circuit voltage).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the cost function is a function that comprises values representing fuel, battery energy, and emissions (Wang: Para. 8, 51; AI-enhanced MPC powertrain control architectures and methodologies, increased fuel economy and reduced emissions are realized with minimal additional cost and reduced powertrain calibration time; method translates engine torque and motor torque, subject to SOC and battery power constraints, as well as a single motor torque min/max constraint).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches a system for controlling a powertrain of a vehicle. the system comprising: a vehicle powertrain (Wang: Para. 16; electric-drive motor vehicle with a hybrid powertrain); and a computing device in operable communication with the vehicle powertrain, wherein the computing device comprises a processor and a memory, the memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (Wang: Para. 57; machine readable instructions for execution by: (a) a processor) receive a plurality of optimisation variables (Wang: Para. 35, 44; a nonlinear MPC control protocol with SOC terminal cost is provided to optimize fuel consumption in power split output control for hybrid powertrains, while maintaining a desired SOC level; motor torque; engine torque; motor power; battery current; battery open circuit voltage); receive a cost function representing a vehicle system, wherein the cost function comprises a plurality of weights assigned to the plurality of optimization variables (Wang: Para. 6; adapt the weights on the MPC cost function using dynamic programming techniques and route preview information; MPC weights may optionally be adapted using predicted and historic vehicle data, current state of charge); decompose the cost function into a plurality of control problems (Wang: Para. 44; estimating an MPC cost function weight that represents a fuel equivalence factor based on predicted preview route information); generate a solution to the cost function by solving the plurality of control problems (Wang: Para. 50; calculates a minimum cost function of motor power such that a summation of fuel consumption to generate the engine power outputs for the rolling road segments of the predicted path is minimized); and control the vehicle powertrain based on the solution to the cost function (Wang: Para. 54; transmit command signals through a powertrain control module (PCM) and an exhaust system control module (ECM) to execute powertrain and exhaust system operations in accordance with the MPC control).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the memory has further computer- executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to output the solution to a vehicle comprising the vehicle powertrain. whereby the vehicle powertrain is controlled based on the solution to the cost function (Wang: Para. 51; vehicle controller transmitting one or more command signals to the engine and motor to output engine torque and motor torque based on the calculated minimum cost function of motor power).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of states (Wang: Para. 49; vehicle controller determining, based on the aforesaid path plan data, estimated vehicle velocities for a plurality of rolling road segments of the predicted path; determine an optimal power split between engine power output and motor power output to minimize fuel consumption for the desired trip).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the plurality of states comprise at least one of vehicle speed, vehicle distance, gear number, gear dwell time count, battery state-of-charge, battery temperature, engine status, engine on/off dwell time counter, fuel consumption, pre- Diesel Oxidation Catalyst (DOC) temperature. DOC temperature, Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) temperature, and selective catalytic reduction (SCR) temperature (Wang: Para. 30; inputs may include vehicle speed).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of continuous and discrete variables (Wang: Para. 30, 41; inputs may include vehicle speed and acceleration data, speed limit data, traffic light status and location data, road gradient data, stop sign location data, traffic flow data, geospatial data, road and lane-level data, vehicle dynamics data; a lumped thermal mass and the engine exhaust variables may act as static maps of engine operating conditions).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of control variables (Wang: Para. 35; motor torque; engine torque; battery current; battery open circuit voltage).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches the system of claim 19, wherein the control variables comprise at least one of vehicle acceleration, gear shift command, torque split, and engine switch (Wang: Para. 6, 28; minimizing fuel consumption through electric-assisted propulsion or engine load-up and load-down shifting; power transmission may use differential gearing to achieve selectively variable torque and speed ratios).
Regarding claim 22, Wang teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the cost function is a function that comprises values representing fuel, battery energy, and emissions (Wang: Para. 8, 51; AI-enhanced MPC powertrain control architectures and methodologies, increased fuel economy and reduced emissions are realized with minimal additional cost and reduced powertrain calibration time; method translates engine torque and motor torque, subject to SOC and battery power constraints, as well as a single motor torque min/max constraint).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12, 17, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Publication 2022/0415181 A1) in view of Telford (US Publication 2023/0322204 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Wang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of design parameters.
However Telford, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of design parameters (Telford: Para. 190; simulation is used for model-based design, which allows the selection of different components for the required range of drive modes and duty cycles of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle fuel consumption cost optimization (Wang: Para. 44, 50) with the model-based design simulations (Telford: Para. 190) with a reasonable expectation of success because a model-based design simulation allows the selection of different components for the required range of drive modes and duty cycles of the vehicle (Telford: Para. 190).
Regarding claim 12, Wang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the solution to the cost function comprises a design- space optimization.
However Telford, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the solution to the cost function comprises a design- space optimization (Telford: Para. 256; model-based dynamic multivariate analysis get and control system optimisation; dynamically explore the entire design space; arrive at an instantaneous set of variable settings that best meet the prevailing performance requirements of the vehicle while satisfying the defined energy sub-system constraints).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle fuel consumption cost optimization (Wang: Para. 44, 50) with the model-based design simulations (Telford: Para. 190) with a reasonable expectation of success because a model-based design simulation allows the selection of different components for the required range of drive modes and duty cycles of the vehicle (Telford: Para. 190).
Regarding claim 17, Wang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of design parameters.
However Telford, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of design parameters (Telford: Para. 190; simulation is used for model-based design, which allows the selection of different components for the required range of drive modes and duty cycles of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle fuel consumption cost optimization (Wang: Para. 44, 50) with the model-based design simulations (Telford: Para. 190) with a reasonable expectation of success because a model-based design simulation allows the selection of different components for the required range of drive modes and duty cycles of the vehicle (Telford: Para. 190).
Regarding claim 24, Wang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the solution to the cost function comprises a design-space optimization.
However Telford, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the solution to the cost function comprises a design-space optimization (Telford: Para. 256; model-based dynamic multivariate analysis get and control system optimisation; dynamically explore the entire design space; arrive at an instantaneous set of variable settings that best meet the prevailing performance requirements of the vehicle while satisfying the defined energy sub-system constraints).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle fuel consumption cost optimization (Wang: Para. 44, 50) with the model-based design simulations (Telford: Para. 190) with a reasonable expectation of success because a model-based design simulation allows the selection of different components for the required range of drive modes and duty cycles of the vehicle (Telford: Para. 190).
Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Publication 2022/0415181 A1) in view of Genter et al. (US Publication 2023/0278651 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Wang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of design parameters, and wherein the design parameters comprise number of battery cells in series (Ns), number of battery cells in parallel (Np), scaling factor for a genset power, and genset selection between diesel and compressed natural gas (CNG).
However Genter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of design parameters, and wherein the design parameters comprise number of battery cells in series (Ns), number of battery cells in parallel (Np), scaling factor for a genset power, and genset selection between diesel and compressed natural gas (CNG) (Genter: Para. 6, 43, 50, 95, 109; optimize the regenerative braking split for optimal vehicle/powertrain level; cells connected in series and parallel to achieve the total voltage and current requirements; operation of the genset; engines as described herein may be compression-ignited diesel internal combustion engines or spark-ignited internal combustion engine, and may be fueled by at least one of gasoline, ethanol, methanol, hydrogen, CNG).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle fuel consumption cost optimization (Wang: Para. 44, 50) with vehicle component options (Genter: Para. 95) with a reasonable expectation of success because the tractor unit may be configured in any suitable configuration with optimized regenerative braking split for optimal vehicle/powertrain level operation to ensure efficient operation (Genter: Para. 43, 95, 109).
Regarding claim 21, Wang doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of design parameters. and wherein the design parameters comprise number of battery cells in series (Ns), number of battery cells in parallel (Np), scaling factor for a genset power, and genset selection between diesel and compressed natural gas (CNG).
However Genter, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the optimization variables comprise a plurality of design parameters. and wherein the design parameters comprise number of battery cells in series (Ns), number of battery cells in parallel (Np), scaling factor for a genset power, and genset selection between diesel and compressed natural gas (CNG) (Genter: Para. 6, 43, 50, 95, 109; optimize the regenerative braking split for optimal vehicle/powertrain level; cells connected in series and parallel to achieve the total voltage and current requirements; operation of the genset; engines as described herein may be compression-ignited diesel internal combustion engines or spark-ignited internal combustion engine, and may be fueled by at least one of gasoline, ethanol, methanol, hydrogen, CNG).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the vehicle fuel consumption cost optimization (Wang: Para. 44, 50) with vehicle component options (Genter: Para. 95) with a reasonable expectation of success because the tractor unit may be configured in any suitable configuration with optimized regenerative braking split for optimal vehicle/powertrain level operation to ensure efficient operation (Genter: Para. 43, 95, 109).
Examiner’s Note
The examiner suggests to amend claim 2 into claim 1 in order to help with the 101 rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663