DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response and amendment dated 3/24/26 are acknowledged and entered. Claim 3 is added. Claims 1-3 are pending. Claim 2 is withdrawn from consideration.1 Claims 1 and 3 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamgaing (US 2016/0020165, previously cited) in view of Wald (“Measuring the Elastic Modulus of Soft Thin Films on Substates, published in the Proceedings of the SEM Annual Conference, Society for Experimental Mechanics, June 7-10, 2010, previously cited)2 and in further view of Yamazaki, et al. (US 2011/0068438, herein Yamazaki).3 Regarding claim 1, Kamgaing teaches an IC tag comprising: an IC chip (paragraph 0021: IC assembly 100); an antenna that electrically transmits and receives information stored in the IC chip (paragraph 0043: antenna); a sheet-like substrate that supports the IC chip and the antenna (paragraph 0025: substrate 102); and a resin protective layer which is a dielectric covering the IC chip and the antenna between the resin protective layer and the substrate (paragraph 0029: resin). Kamgaing does not explicitly teach wherein a tensile modulus [GPa] of the substrate and a tensile modulus [GPa] of the protective layer are defined within an area surrounded by five lines represented by the following formulas (1), (2), (3), (4), and (5), with the tensile modulus of the substrate on an X-axis and the tensile modulus of the protective layer on a Y-axis: X = 0.8 (1) X = 8 (2) Y = 0.03 (3) Y = X^0.4 (4) Y = 0.01 * X^2 (5). Wald teaches a tensile modulus [GPa] of the substrate and a tensile modulus [GPa] of the protective layer with the tensile modulus of the substrate, wherein the tensile modulus is on an X-axis and the tensile modulus of the protective layer is on a Y-axis (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of Kamgaing and Wald so that the protective layer are defined within an area surrounded by five lines represented by the following formulas (1), (2), (3), (4), and (5), with the tensile modulus of the substrate on an X-axis and the tensile modulus of the protective layer on a Y-axis: X = 0.8 (1) X = 8 (2) Y = 0.03 (3) Y = X^0.4 (4) Y = 0.01 * X^2 (5), because such a combination optimizes the stiffness of the substrates. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Here, the prior art discloses the general conditions of the claims, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to optimize the ranges and formulas for the space on the tensile plot for a particular application. See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.”). Kamgaing in view of Wald does not explicitly teach the sheet-like substance being made of resin, the IC chip and antenna being disposed between the resin protective layer and the substrate, and the resin protective layer being bonded to the substrate so as to cover the IC chip and the antenna along the IC chip and the antenna on the substrate. Yamazaki teaches the sheet-like substance being made of resin, the IC chip and antenna being disposed between the resin protective layer and the substrate (see substrate 12 and resin 2 in Fig. 2, see also paragraph 0040), and the resin protective layer being bonded to the substrate so as to cover the IC chip and the antenna along the IC chip and the antenna on the substrate (see substrate 12 and resin 2 in Fig. 2, see also paragraph 0040). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of Kamgaing, Wald and Yamazaki, because such a combination helps prevent damages from stresses to the tag (paragraph 0017 of Yamazaki). Regarding claim 3, Yamazaki further teaches a sheet-like cover made of the same material as the sheet-like substrate and disposed on the resin protective layer (paragraph 0032).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New reference Yamazaki has been used to teach the amended limitations. See above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 See Response to Restriction dated 9/17/25.
2 See Non-patent literature dated 9/25/25.
3 In addition to the cited portions of each reference, please see also the associated figures.
4 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.