The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 12/3/2024. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/3/2024 have been considered by the
Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1-6 are directed to an information processing device (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claims 1-6 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 7 is directed to A position information providing method (i.e., a process). Therefore, claims 7 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 8 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium (i.e., a manufacture). Therefore, claim 8 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed
to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity,
and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 46 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (mental process)
and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejections. Claims 1, 5, 6 and 11 recite:
connected to a mobile object including at least a GNSS receiver through a communication network, the position information providing device comprising: a processor; and a program installed in the position information providing device, wherein according to the program, the processor is configured to measure a current position of the mobile object based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver; predict a future position of the mobile object based on a movement history of the mobile object and an operation plan of the mobile object; and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “measure a current position of the mobile object” and “predict a future position of the mobile object” in the context of this claim encompasses a person observing a vehicle and then making a guess as to where the vehicle would be at a future point in time based on the current gathering of position data which can be done with pen and paper or simply within the mental. Essentially, the device is just a way of predicting future positions of a vehicle. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
connected to a mobile object including at least a GNSS receiver through a communication network, the position information providing device comprising: a processor; and a program installed in the position information providing device, wherein according to the program, the processor is configured to measure a current position of the mobile object based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver; predict a future position of the mobile object based on a movement history of the mobile object and an operation plan of the mobile object; and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of, “connected to a mobile object including at least a GNSS receiver through a communication network, the position information providing device comprising: a processor; and a program installed in the position information providing device,”, and the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (‘device’) to perform the mental process. Similarly, “based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver;” and “based on a movement history of the mobile object and an operation plan of the mobile object; and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source” Each of the above cited limitations are simply further defining the mental process and explaining at what point is data collected or transmitted to the server for the prediction steps and are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of gathering and predicting position data for use in the outputting step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The system, is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates predicting position data to be sent to the server.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond
generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above, the additional limitations of “based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver;”, “based on a movement history”, and “provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position;” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in
Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well understood,
routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of ““based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver;”, “based on a movement history”, and “provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position;” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the specification recites that the components are all conventional computer components mounted on the vehicle, and the specification does not provide any indication that the system is anything other than what a conventional computer does within a vehicle. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner.
Dependent claims 2-6 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 2 mentions “…provide… requested position information”, which would fail under Step 2A Prong Two as a step of mere data gathering and sending which would not make claim 2 to be considered patent eligible subject matter. Claim 3, 5, and 6 mentions “…predict the future position of the mobile object…”, which would fail under Step 2A Prong one as a mental process as the device is simply guessing at where the position of the vehicle would be which is something a human mind is capable of doing with pen and paper which would not make claims 3 to be considered patent eligible subject matter. Claim 4 mentions “…determine whether or not an obstacle exists …”, which would fail under Step 2A Prong one as a mental process as the device is simply guessing at where the position of the obstacle would be which is something a human mind is capable of doing with pen and paper which would not make claims 4 to be considered patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robsion et al. (EP 3696575 A1) and in view of Sugio et al. (US 2022/0222867 Al).
Regarding Claim 1 Robinson teaches A position information providing device connected to a mobile object including at least a GNSS receiver through a communication network, (Pg. 6 – “Disclosed is a robotic vehicle for movable operation in a work area…The vehicle comprises a position detector…In one embodiment the position detector is or comprises a Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS, receiver.”& See Also Pg. 14 – “For example, the user interface 132 and the controller 118 may communicate over wireless communication means like while WLan, Bluetooth, a telecommunications network, any wide area network, the Internet etc. the communication may involve sending of a signal 130 from the controller 118 to the user interface one of 132.” (equates to A position information providing device connected to a mobile object including at least a GNSS receiver through a communication network, as the quote shows a system disclosed in which the position is received from a GNSS receiver on the vehicle.)) the position information providing device comprising: a processor; and a program installed in the position information providing device, (Pg. 23 – “robotic vehicle (100) for movable operation in a work area (108), the movable operation comprising a soil cultivation, the work area (108) being represented by a set of discretized coordinate grid points (112), the vehicle (100) comprising a position detector and a controller (118), the controller (118) comprising a memory (122) and a processor, the memory (122) comprising instructions (124)” (equates to the position information providing device comprising: a processor; and a program installed in the position information providing device as the position detector comprises a processor with instructions to execute the disclosed embodiment)) wherein according to the program, the processor is configured to measure a current position of the mobile object based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver; (Pg. 11 – “In accordance with an embodiment, the planning of the movable operation is comprising scheduling the movable operation for obtaining a movement trajectory of the vehicle for performing the movable operation, the scheduling comprising selecting one or more of the sets of clustered grid points, the movement trajectory comprising the grid points of the one or more sets of clustered grid points.” & See Also Pg. 11 – “As a consequence, the available data regarding location determination accuracy is more and more completed with real measurements data of GNSS signals for different points in time” (equates to wherein according to the program, the processor is configured to measure a current position of the mobile object based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver; as the quotes show a current trajectory being determined of the vehicle in which a grouping of points or positions of the vehicle are taken to determine a trajectory in which the position updates are received from GNSS signals from the vehicle.)) predict a future position of the mobile object based on a movement history of the mobile object and an operation plan of the mobile object; (Pg. 15 – “Since satellite constellations repeat periodically within satellite repeat cycles and since satellite constellations or satellite positions are predictable for future points in time using GNSS Ephemerides or Almanacs, it is possible to perform a predicting process for at least some of the grid points and for forecasting the accuracy of the location determination for points in time in future” & See Also Pg. 18 – “The planning comprises a scheduling of the movable operation for obtaining a movement trajectory of the mower for performing the movable operation, the scheduling comprising selecting one or more of the sets of clustered grid points, the movement trajectory comprising the grid points of the one or more sets of clustered grid points.” (equates to predict a future position of the mobile object based on a movement history of the mobile object and an operation plan of the mobile object; as the first quote shows the prediction of the vehicle future points being done and the second quote shows how the planning to use the reference trajectory is In line with the operation of the work vehicle to be completed wherein the future points being predicted lie within the trajectory.) )
Yet Robinson fails to teach and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source.
Sugio teaches and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source. (Pg. 103 – [0356] – “When a region on a map is specified, data collection server 2024 may specify terminal 2021 within the specified region by collecting current position information of each terminal 2021, and may send a transmission request for position-related data to specified terminal 2021…determines whether terminal 2021 is present within the specified region, and determines that terminal 2021 is present within the specified region, rather than specifying terminal 2021 within the region, terminal 2021 may transmit position-related data.” (equates to and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source. As we see a data collection server or request source request the position information from a terminal in which the terminal then sends the position related to the current position. )) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Robinson to include and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source as this allows for a central requesting source to get updated position information based on the vehicle’s current position.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source as this allows for the vehicle collecting position information to be used to update a central requesting source.
Regarding Claim 2 Robinson-Sugio teaches The position information providing device according to claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Robinson fails to teach wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: provide, in response to the request from a server that executes processing related to automatic driving of the mobile object, the requested position information to the server.
Sugio teaches wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: provide, in response to the request from a server that executes processing related to automatic driving of the mobile object, the requested position information to the server (Pg. 103 – [0356] – “When a region on a map is specified, data collection server 2024 may specify terminal 2021 within the specified region by collecting current position information of each terminal 2021, and may send a transmission request for position-related data to specified terminal 2021…determines whether terminal 2021 is present within the specified region, and determines that terminal 2021 is present within the specified region, rather than specifying terminal 2021 within the region, terminal 2021 may transmit position-related data.” & See Also Pg. 93 – [0212] – “A structure of a system according to the present embodiment will first be described. FIG. 10 is a diagram showing the structure of a transmission/reception system of a three-dimensional map and sensor information according to the present embodiment. This system includes server 901, and client devices 902A and 902B. Note that client devices 902A and 902B are also referred to as client device 902 when no particular distinction is made therebetween. [0213] Client device 902 is, for example, a vehicle mounted device equipped in a mobile object such as a vehicle.” & See Also Pg. 91 – [0186] – “Own vehicle 600 uses the information obtained by nearby vehicle 601 to complement the three-dimensional data of occlusion region 604 and region 606 outside of the sensor detection range. [0187] The usage of three-dimensional data in autonomous operations of a vehicle or a robot includes self location estimation, detection of surrounding conditions, or both” (equates to wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: provide, in response to the request from a server that executes processing related to automatic driving of the mobile object, the requested position information to the server as the first quote shows the transmission of position information from the terminal to the server and the second and third quote show the server connection to the mobile terminal wherein the map data exchanged between each of them is used for autonomous driving operations. ) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Robinson to include wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: provide, in response to the request from a server that executes processing related to automatic driving of the mobile object, the requested position information to the server. As this limitation allows for the server to receive position information from the on ground data of the mobile device and to have ethe information be used in autonomous driving operations.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: provide, in response to the request from a server that executes processing related to automatic driving of the mobile object, the requested position information to the server as these limitations allow for the use of autonomous driving capabilities to be attained via the use of the positional information transmitted from the mobile device.
Regarding Claim 3 Robinson-Sugio teaches (Robinson teaches the following limitations: ) The position information providing device according to claim 1, wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: predict the future position of the mobile object based further on at least one of 2D map information, 3D map information, 4D map information, weather information, traffic information, accident information, construction information, calendar information, event information, crop information in a field to which the mobile object moves, or information regarding a nature or model of the mobile object. (Pg 6 – “Disclosed is a robotic vehicle for movable operation in a work area, the movable operation comprising a soil cultivation, the work area being represented by a set of discretized coordinate grid points. The vehicle comprises a position detector. The position detector can be an optical detector like a camera, it can be a detector that determines the vehicle's position using external guiding beacons, it could be a radar system that detects the vehicle's position using radar detectable known reference points etc. In one embodiment the position detector is or comprises a Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS, receiver. Generally, each grid point represents a respective area segment, i.e. tile, of the work area.” & See Also Pg. 15 – “Since satellite constellations repeat periodically within satellite repeat cycles and since satellite constellations or satellite positions are predictable for future points in time using GNSS Ephemerides or Almanacs, it is possible to perform a predicting process for at least some of the grid points and for forecasting the accuracy of the location determination for points in time in future” & See Also Pg. 18 – “The planning comprises a scheduling of the movable operation for obtaining a movement trajectory of the mower for performing the movable operation, the scheduling comprising selecting one or more of the sets of clustered grid points, the movement trajectory comprising the grid points of the one or more sets of clustered grid points.” (equates to wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: predict the future position of the mobile object based further on at least one of 2D map information, 3D map information, 4D map information, weather information, traffic information, accident information, construction information, calendar information, event information, crop information in as the quote shows the prediction of the future points being based on GNSS signals received from the satellite grouping in which the GNSS signals are comprised into a grid wherein and 2d map is thus used to predict the future trajectory.))
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robsion-Sugio and in view of DEZHAO et al. (CN 108762272 B)
Regarding Claim 4 Robinson-Sugio teaches (Robinson teaches the following limitations:) The position information providing device according to claim 1, , and according to the program, the processor is further configured to: determine whether or not an obstacle exists when the mobile object moves according to the operation plan (Pg. 2 – “Further shown in figure 4 is an area of 408 which contains only one marked grid point. The reason is understandable from figure 5 which shows the area 108 is partially shadowed by an obstacle 500, a tree. In figure 4 the presence of the tree is illustrated by the contour line 406. The reason for the shadowing it is understandable from figure 5. Here, a satellite 200 is illustrated, wherein the obstacle 500 shadows the signals sent by the satellite 200 within shadow area of 502 of the work area 108. The finer the discretization of the work area with coordinate grid points, and the more data on achievable location accuracy is available in a clustering, the more precise will be the exact shape of the shadow area of 502. Since in figure 4 the grid is rough and the amount of data on achievable location accuracy within the are 408 is low, the trajectory 410 must completely omit area 408 since accurate GNSS based navigation is not possible within that area for the given time point of starting the mowing operation” (equates to the processor is further configured to: determine whether or not an obstacle exists when the mobile object moves according to the operation plan as the object is shown to exist in the grid area of the gnss signals and the movement plan having to avoid the area in response to the object determination.)); create or predict a movement route that avoids the obstacle when it is determined that the obstacle exists; (Pg. 16 – “wherein the obstacle 500 shadows the signals sent by the satellite 200 within shadow area of 502 of the work area 108. The finer the discretization of the work area with coordinate grid points, and the more data on achievable location accuracy is available in a clustering, the more precise will be the exact shape of the shadow area of 502. Since in figure 4 the grid is rough and the amount of data on achievable location accuracy within the are 408 is low, the trajectory 410 must completely omit area 408 since accurate GNSS based navigation is not possible within that area for the given time point of starting the mowing operation” (equates to create or predict a movement route that avoids the obstacle when it is determined that the obstacle exists; as the quote shows the object blocking the grid area of the gnss signals and the trajectory having to omit the area in which the object exists within.))
Yet Robinson fails to teach wherein the mobile object further includes an imaging device; based on an image captured by the imaging device; and predict the future position of the mobile object based on the movement history of the mobile object and the created or predicted movement route.
Sugio teaches wherein the mobile object further includes an imaging device (Pg. 85 – “Three-dimensional data is obtained through various means including a distance sensor such as a rangefinder, as well as a stereo camera and a combination of a plurality of monocular cameras” 7 See Also Pg. 94 – [0226] – “Client device 902 includes data receiver 1011, communication unit 1012, reception controller 1013, format converter 1014, sensors 1015,” ) based on an image captured by the imaging device (Pg. 94 – [0232] - “Three-dimensional data creator 1016 generates three-dimensional data 1034 of a surrounding area of the own vehicle based on sensor information 1033. For example, three-dimensional data creator 1016 generates point cloud data with color information on the surrounding area of the own vehicle using information obtained by LIDAR and visible light video obtained by a visible light camera.” (equates to based on an image captured by the imaging device as the 3d map is created based on the imaging means provided.))
Yet both Robinson-Sugio fail to teach and predict the future position of the mobile object based on the movement history of the mobile object and the created or predicted movement route.
Dezhao teaches and predict the future position of the mobile object based on the movement history of the mobile object and the created or predicted movement route. ((Pg. 11 – “Step 170, the central processing unit obtains the detour path information according to the size data of the obstacle; specifically, when the obstacle distance data is within a preset range, the obstacle absolute speed data is smaller than a preset speed value, and the obstacle historical track data is first obstacle historical data, it indicates that a fixed obstacle exists within a certain distance in front of the cleaning device, and the central processing unit obtains detour path information according to the obstacle volume data and the obstacle occupation raster data. The detour path information includes detour start point information and detour end point information. This process may be understood as a process in which the central processing unit determines a detour.” & See Also Pg. 11 – “At this time, the central processing unit sends the detour path information and the preset detour speed information to the micro-processing unit, and the micro-processing unit performs digital-to-analog conversion on the detour path information and the preset detour speed information to obtain second corner control information and second corner control information. And sending the second motor torque control information to the motor unit for the motor unit to work according to the second motor torque control information. And the central processing unit sends second steering angle control information to the electric power steering unit so that the electric power steering unit works according to the second steering angle control information” (equates to and predict the future position of the mobile object based on the movement history of the mobile object and the created or predicted movement route as the quote shows the historical object data being included in the detour path in which the predicted future position of the robot would be included within and the movement history being used from the avoidance of the object that exists in the historical object database for the vehicle to maneuver around. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Robinson-Sugio to include and predict the future position of the mobile object based on the movement history of the mobile object and the created or predicted movement route as this allows for current and historical data of movement patterns of the vehicle to be utilized to maneuver the vehicle in a variety of situations.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and predict the future position of the mobile object based on the movement history of the mobile object and the created or predicted movement route as this allows for different types of data to be used to predict a future position of the vehicle ensuring its collision free travel.
Regarding Claim 5 Robinson-Sugio teaches The position information providing device according to claim 3, as previously mapped above.
Yet Robinson-Sugio fails to teach wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: when the mobile object has been remotely controlled to avoid an obstacle in the past, predict the future position of the mobile object based also on predetermined information including steering information at the time of the remote control.
Dezhao teaches wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: when the mobile object has been remotely controlled to avoid an obstacle in the past, (Pg. 8 – “According to the obstacle identification and avoidance method provided by the embodiment of the invention,” & See Also Pg. 7 – “Further preferably, the determining whether the environment information includes the first obstacle information or the second first obstacle information specifically includes: obtaining historical obstacle track data according to the obstacle occupation grid data and the obstacle position data;” (equates to wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: when the mobile object has been remotely controlled to avoid an obstacle in the past, as the first quote shows the art pertaining to obstacle avoidance and the second quote showing the historical obstacle data being attained. )) predict the future position of the mobile object based also on predetermined information including steering information at the time of the remote control. (Pg. 11 – “Step 170, the central processing unit obtains the detour path information according to the size data of the obstacle; specifically, when the obstacle distance data is within a preset range, the obstacle absolute speed data is smaller than a preset speed value, and the obstacle historical track data is first obstacle historical data, it indicates that a fixed obstacle exists within a certain distance in front of the cleaning device, and the central processing unit obtains detour path information according to the obstacle volume data and the obstacle occupation raster data. The detour path information includes detour start point information and detour end point information. This process may be understood as a process in which the central processing unit determines a detour.” & See also Pg. 11 – “At this time, the central processing unit sends the detour path information and the preset detour speed information to the micro-processing unit, and the micro-processing unit performs digital-to-analog conversion on the detour path information and the preset detour speed information to obtain second corner control information and second corner control information. And sending the second motor torque control information to the motor unit for the motor unit to work according to the second motor torque control information. And the central processing unit sends second steering angle control information to the electric power steering unit so that the electric power steering unit works according to the second steering angle control information” (equates to predict the future position of the mobile object based also on predetermined information including steering information at the time of the remote control as the first quote shows the detour path and thus the predicted future p[stion being included in the mobile objects route and the second quote showing that based on the detour path a steering angle to avoid the object is understood and given t the vehicle to avoid the object.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Robinson-Sugio to include wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: when the mobile object has been remotely controlled to avoid an obstacle in the past, predict the future position of the mobile object based also on predetermined information including steering information at the time of the remote control as this limitation allows for a historical data set of objects located within the path of the vehicle to be analyzed and then steering information based on the past avoidance to be provided to the vehicle.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein according to the program, the processor is further configured to: when the mobile object has been remotely controlled to avoid an obstacle in the past, predict the future position of the mobile object based also on predetermined information including steering information at the time of the remote control as these limitations allow for a past dataset to be incorporated in future position generation allowing for past actions to also be used to maneuver the vehicle and update position accordingly.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robsion-Sugio and in view of Yukio (JP 2014-232508 A)
Regarding Claim 6 Robsion-Sugio teaches The position information providing device according to claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Robsion-Sugio fails to teach wherein when the mobile object has a likelihood of a collision with another mobile object, avoidance control including deceleration control to avoid the collision is performed, and according to the program, the processor is further configured to: when the mobile object has a likelihood of a collision with the other mobile object, predict the future position of the mobile object based also on the avoidance control.
Yukio teaches wherein when the mobile object has a likelihood of a collision with another mobile object, avoidance control including deceleration control to avoid the collision is performed, (Pg. 3 – “The support function will be described. When the other vehicle avoidance route is calculated by the other vehicle avoidance route calculation function, if the other vehicle can be avoided by the other vehicle avoidance route, the ECU 30 determines whether the current acceleration / deceleration or the steering angle has passed an arbitrary time (loop × unit time). Since there is a possibility of collision with another vehicle, teaching information for teaching the other vehicle avoidance route and the damaged area by voice or image is generated and the teaching information is transmitted to the HMI device 20. As a teaching method, for example, an image showing the damaged area in red and the other vehicle avoidance route in different colors such as blue is generated, and an intuitively recognizable display is performed. If the other vehicle cannot be avoided on the other vehicle avoidance route, or if the host vehicle does not perform avoidance travel on the other vehicle avoidance route even when alerting, the ECU 30 generates information for alarming and uses the alarm information as the HMI. Transmit to device 20. Further, the ECU 30 calculates each intervention control amount for performing guidance support control to the other vehicle avoidance route by accelerator, brake, and steering, and transmits each intervention control amount to the intervention control ECU 21… For example, in this embodiment, the present invention is applied to the function of predicting the avoidance path for the other vehicle to avoid the obstacle in the collision”& See Also Pg. 6 – “Intervention control ECU21 is ECU which performs intervention control in the own vehicle. The intervention control ECU 21 includes a brake ECU (not shown), an engine ECU (not shown), a steering ECU (not shown), and the like. Upon receiving each intervention control amount from the ECU 30, the intervention control ECU 21 controls a brake actuator (not shown), an accelerator actuator (not shown), and a steering actuator (not shown) according to each intervention control amount, and automatically Implement intervention control (deceleration control,” (equates to wherein when the mobile object has a likelihood of a collision with another mobile object, avoidance control including deceleration control to avoid the collision is performed, as the quote shows the intervention control being performed when the own vehicle is determined to collide with the obstacle and thus the deceleration takes place with the intervention control. )) and according to the program, the processor is further configured to: when the mobile object has a likelihood of a collision with the other mobile object, predict the future position of the mobile object based also on the avoidance control. (Pg. 1 – Abstract - “An object of the present invention is to provide an avoidance trajectory prediction device capable of accurately predicting an avoidance trajectory for a target vehicle to avoid an object on the road” (equates to and according to the program, the processor is further configured to: when the mobile object has a likelihood of a collision with the other mobile object, predict the future position of the mobile object based also on the avoidance control as the quote shows the future position being represented by a point on the avoidance trajectory wherein the avoidance trajectory is generated based on avoidance control so the own vehicle doesn’t collide with the obstacle. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Robsinson-Sugio to include wherein when the mobile object has a likelihood of a collision with another mobile object, avoidance control including deceleration control to avoid the collision is performed, and according to the program, the processor is further configured to: when the mobile object has a likelihood of a collision with the other mobile object, predict the future position of the mobile object based also on the avoidance control as these limitations allow for vehicle control to be used wherein specific deceleration control is utilized to avoid objects and update position accordingly.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein when the mobile object has a likelihood of a collision with another mobile object, avoidance control including deceleration control to avoid the collision is performed, and according to the program, the processor is further configured to: when the mobile object has a likelihood of a collision with the other mobile object, predict the future position of the mobile object based also on the avoidance control as these limitations allow for specific means of avoidance control to be actualized while updating the vehicle future position prediction.
Regarding Claim 7 Robinson teaches A position information providing method (Pg. 1 – “The invention relates to an obstacle identification and avoidance method,”) executed by a position 35 information providing device connected to a mobile object including at least a GNSS receiver through a communication network, (Pg. 6 – “Disclosed is a robotic vehicle for movable operation in a work area…The vehicle comprises a position detector…In one embodiment the position detector is or comprises a Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS, receiver.”& See Also Pg. 14 – “For example, the user interface 132 and the controller 118 may communicate over wireless communication means like while WLan, Bluetooth, a telecommunications network, any wide area network, the Internet etc. the communication may involve sending of a signal 130 from the controller 118 to the user interface one of 132.” (equates to executed by a position 35 information providing device connected to a mobile object including at least a GNSS receiver through a communication network, as the quote shows a system disclosed in which the position is received from a GNSS receiver on the vehicle.)) the position information providing method comprising: measuring a current position of the mobile object based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver; (Pg. 11 – “In accordance with an embodiment, the planning of the movable operation is comprising scheduling the movable operation for obtaining a movement trajectory of the vehicle for performing the movable operation, the scheduling comprising selecting one or more of the sets of clustered grid points, the movement trajectory comprising the grid points of the one or more sets of clustered grid points.” & See Also Pg. 11 – “As a consequence, the available data regarding location determination accuracy is more and more completed with real measurements data of GNSS signals for different points in time” (equates to wherein according to the program, the processor is configured to measure a current position of the mobile object based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver; as the quotes show a current trajectory being determined of the vehicle in which a grouping of points or positions of the vehicle are taken to determine a trajectory in which the position updates are received from GNSS signals from the vehicle.)) a prediction step of predicting a future position of the mobile object based on a movement history of the mobile object and an operation plan of the mobile object; (Pg. 15 – “Since satellite constellations repeat periodically within satellite repeat cycles and since satellite constellations or satellite positions are predictable for future points in time using GNSS Ephemerides or Almanacs, it is possible to perform a predicting process for at least some of the grid points and for forecasting the accuracy of the location determination for points in time in future” & See Also Pg. 18 – “The planning comprises a scheduling of the movable operation for obtaining a movement trajectory of the mower for performing the movable operation, the scheduling comprising selecting one or more of the sets of clustered grid points, the movement trajectory comprising the grid points of the one or more sets of clustered grid points.” (equates to predict a future position of the mobile object based on a movement history of the mobile object and an operation plan of the mobile object; as the first quote shows the prediction of the vehicle future points being done and the second quote shows how the planning to use the reference trajectory is In line with the operation of the work vehicle to be completed wherein the future points being predicted lie within the trajectory.) )
Yet Robinson Fails to teach and providing, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source.
Sugio teaches and providing, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source. (Pg. 103 – [0356] – “When a region on a map is specified, data collection server 2024 may specify terminal 2021 within the specified region by collecting current position information of each terminal 2021, and may send a transmission request for position-related data to specified terminal 2021…determines whether terminal 2021 is present within the specified region, and determines that terminal 2021 is present within the specified region, rather than specifying terminal 2021 within the region, terminal 2021 may transmit position-related data.” (equates to and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source. As we see a data collection server or request source request the position information from a terminal in which the terminal then sends the position related to the current position. )) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Robinson to include and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source as this allows for a central requesting source to get updated position information based on the vehicle’s current position.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source as this allows for the vehicle collecting position information to be used to update a central requesting source.
Regarding Claim 8 Robinson teaches A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program causing a position information providing device connected to a mobile object including at least a GNSS receiver through a communication network to execute: (Pg. 6 – “is an objective to provide for an improved robotic vehicle for soil cultivation, an improved method for operating a robotic vehicle and a computer program product” & See Also Pg. 6 – “Disclosed is a robotic vehicle for movable operation in a work area…The vehicle comprises a position detector…In one embodiment the position detector is or comprises a Global Navigation Satellite System, GNSS, receiver.”& See Also Pg. 14 – “For example, the user interface 132 and the controller 118 may communicate over wireless communication means like while WLan, Bluetooth, a telecommunications network, any wide area network, the Internet etc. the communication may involve sending of a signal 130 from the controller 118 to the user interface one of 132.” (equates to executed by a position 35 information providing device connected to a mobile object including at least a GNSS receiver through a communication network, as the quote shows a system disclosed in which the position is received from a GNSS receiver on the vehicle.)) measuring a current position of the mobile object based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver; (Pg. 11 – “In accordance with an embodiment, the planning of the movable operation is comprising scheduling the movable operation for obtaining a movement trajectory of the vehicle for performing the movable operation, the scheduling comprising selecting one or more of the sets of clustered grid points, the movement trajectory comprising the grid points of the one or more sets of clustered grid points.” & See Also Pg. 11 – “As a consequence, the available data regarding location determination accuracy is more and more completed with real measurements data of GNSS signals for different points in time” (equates to wherein according to the program, the processor is configured to measure a current position of the mobile object based on a GNSS signal received by the GNSS receiver; as the quotes show a current trajectory being determined of the vehicle in which a grouping of points or positions of the vehicle are taken to determine a trajectory in which the position updates are received from GNSS signals from the vehicle.)) a prediction step of predicting a future position of the mobile object based on a movement history of the mobile object and an operation plan of the mobile object; (Pg. 15 – “Since satellite constellations repeat periodically within satellite repeat cycles and since satellite constellations or satellite positions are predictable for future points in time using GNSS Ephemerides or Almanacs, it is possible to perform a predicting process for at least some of the grid points and for forecasting the accuracy of the location determination for points in time in future” & See Also Pg. 18 – “The planning comprises a scheduling of the movable operation for obtaining a movement trajectory of the mower for performing the movable operation, the scheduling comprising selecting one or more of the sets of clustered grid points, the movement trajectory comprising the grid points of the one or more sets of clustered grid points.” (equates to predict a future position of the mobile object based on a movement history of the mobile object and an operation plan of the mobile object; as the first quote shows the prediction of the vehicle future points being done and the second quote shows how the planning to use the reference trajectory is In line with the operation of the work vehicle to be completed wherein the future points being predicted lie within the trajectory.) )
Yet Robinson fails to teach and providing, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source.
Sugio teaches and providing, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source. (Pg. 103 – [0356] – “When a region on a map is specified, data collection server 2024 may specify terminal 2021 within the specified region by collecting current position information of each terminal 2021, and may send a transmission request for position-related data to specified terminal 2021…determines whether terminal 2021 is present within the specified region, and determines that terminal 2021 is present within the specified region, rather than specifying terminal 2021 within the region, terminal 2021 may transmit position-related data.” (equates to and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source. As we see a data collection server or request source request the position information from a terminal in which the terminal then sends the position related to the current position. )) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Robinson to include and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source as this allows for a central requesting source to get updated position information based on the vehicle’s current position.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and provide, in response to a request for position information indicating a past, current, or future position of the mobile object, the requested position information to a request source as this allows for the vehicle collecting position information to be used to update a central requesting source.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 8442760 B2 - A GPS receiver is used to receive a signal from GPS satellites, and a current vehicle position is detected based on the received signal. A control unit estimates the current vehicle position based on a travel speed of a vehicle from a vehicle speed sensor and a travel direction of the vehicle from a direction sensor. After correcting the estimated current vehicle position based on the current vehicle position from the GPS receiver, a power supply to the GPS receiver is turned off,
/R.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
7/2/26