DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 2, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ninomiya et al. (USP 8,166,737).
Regarding claim 1: Ninomiya discloses a power lawn mower (as seen in figures 1-19) comprising:
a mower chassis (as seen in figure 1, area of 11) supporting a cutting deck (as seen in figure 1, area of 11a) containing at least one rotary cutting blade (as seen in figure 1, at 14), the chassis defining a lower chassis plane and a travel axis (as seen in annotated figure 4 below);
two wheels (as seen in figure 7, at 13) operatively connected to the mower chassis and adapted to support a rear portion of the mower chassis in rolling engagement with a ground surface (as seen in figure 1), wherein the two wheels include a first wheel located on a first side of the mower chassis, and a second wheel located on an opposite, second side of the mower chassis (as seen in figure 7, at 13);
a height-of-cut (HOC) system (as seen in figure 3) adapted to adjust a height of the two wheels simultaneously relative to the mower chassis, thereby adjusting an elevation of the cutting blade relative to the ground surface between a maximum HOC position and a minimum HOC position (column 6, line 46 to column 7, line 50), wherein the HOC system comprises:
first and second bellcranks (as seen in figure 5, at 22R and 22L) associated with the first and second wheels, respectively, wherein each bellcrank is pivotally coupled to the mower chassis such that each pivots about a common pivot axis extending transverse to the travel axis (as seen in figures 5 and 6, as denoted by “Pr”), wherein each of the first and second bellcranks comprises:
a first end (as seen in figures 3-7, area of 42) spaced-apart from the common pivot axis and adapted to support a wheel axle (as seen in figures 3-7, at 42) of its associated first or second wheel (as seen in figures 6 and 7); and
a second end also spaced-apart from the common pivot axis (as seen in figures 4 and 6, area of 24); and
a connecting rod connecting the second ends of the first and second bellcranks (as seen in figure 5, at 24) such that pivotal motion of the first bellcrank about the common pivot axis produces corresponding pivotal motion of the second bellcrank about the common pivot axis, wherein the first and second bellcranks are pivotable between a first position corresponding to the maximum HOC position, and a second position corresponding to the minimum HOC position, and wherein an uppermost portion of the connecting rod is positioned at an elevation at or below the lower chassis plane when the first and second bellcranks are at the first position, the second position, and any position between the first and second positions (as seen in annotated figure 4 below and as seen in figure 5 via movement of 24 in plane and phantom views).
Regarding claim 3: Ninomiya discloses the power lawn mower of claim 1. Further, Ninomiya discloses wherein the mower chassis comprises first and second adjustment plates, and wherein the first and second bellcranks are pivotally coupled to the first and second adjustment plates, respectively (as seen in figures 5 and 6, area of 11b and opposing side; also, column 7, lines 19-26).
Regarding claims 5-7: Ninomiya discloses the power lawn mower of claim 1. Further, Ninomiya discloses the mower comprising a prime mover carried by the mower chassis and adapted to rotate the at least one rotary cutting blade (as seen in figure 1, at 15) and to rotate one or both of the two wheels (column 6, lines 7-9 and column 8, lines 33-45).
Regarding claim 8: Ninomiya discloses the power lawn mower of claim 1. Further, Ninomiya discloses wherein comprising an upwardly and rearwardly extending operator handle assembly connected to the mower chassis (as seen in figures 1 and 2 at 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ninomiya et al. (USP 8,166,737).
Regarding claim 4: Ninomiya discloses the power lawn mower of claim 1 substantially as discussed above but fails to show the connecting rod having both a core shaft and a sleeve. However, the Examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known to use a sleeve (i.e., as seen in figure 6 around shaft 47 and figure 20 around “shafts” 32, 82, 31) around a shaft. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have replaced sleeveless shaft of the connecting rod in Ninomiya with a sleeved shaft if so desired by the operator/manufacturer, absent any showing to the contrary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not show or reasonably suggest in combination with other claimed features/limitations, a power lawn mower comprising a connecting rod wherein the cutting blade defines a cutting plane, and wherein a lowermost portion of the connecting rod is at an elevation below an elevation of the cutting plane when the cutting blade is at the maximum HOC position, the minimum HOC position, and any position therebetween.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Strong et al. (USP 5,526,633) discloses a height adjustment system employing bellcranks and connecting rod means.
Kaland (USP 4,321,785) discloses a height adjustment system employing a mower chassis with adjustment plates attached thereto.
/ROBERT E PEZZUTO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671