DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-7 of U.S. Application 18/871355 filed on December 3, 2024 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 3, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki (US 20150097470).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches (see figs. 1A and 1B below) an electric compressor (intended use limitation not given patentable weight) including an inverter (2) that has a plurality of switching elements (103) and supplies power to a motor (10) (¶ 15 to ¶ 18; ¶ 24),
the electric compressor (intended use limitation not given patentable weight) comprising: a housing (10A, 2A) including a motor chamber (see annotated fig. 1A below) in which the motor (10) is incorporated, and an inverter accommodating portion (see annotated fig. 1A below) in which the inverter (2) is mounted (Abstract; ¶ 15; ¶ 21);
a partition wall (1A) between the motor chamber (see annotated fig. 1A below) and the inverter accommodating portion (see annotated fig. 1A below) (¶ 15; ¶ 18; ¶ 19); and
a plurality of connecting terminals (104) each having one end electrically connected to the motor (10) and protruding from the motor (10) in a direction of the partition wall (1A), wherein the connecting terminals (104) are dispersedly provided and each have the other end electrically connected to the inverter (2) through the partition wall (1A) (¶ 19 to ¶ 23), and
the switching elements (103) are dispersedly provided on the partition wall (1A) in such a manner as to correspond to each of the connecting terminals (104) (¶ 18 to ¶ 23).
Regarding claim 2/1, Sasaki teaches (see figs. 1A and 1B above) the switching elements (103) are located near the connecting terminals (104) and provided on the partition wall (1A) (fig. 1A; ¶ 18 to ¶ 23).
Regarding claim 3/1, Sasaki teaches (see figs. 1A and 1B above) the connecting terminals (104) are dispersedly provided at equal intervals in a circumferential direction of the motor (figs. 1A, 1B; ¶ 18 to ¶ 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in view of Nakanishi (JP 2007116840, see English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 4/1, Sasaki teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach three connecting terminals are provided, the inverter includes six switching elements, and the switching elements are placed in pairs, the pairs corresponding to the connecting terminals respectively.
However, Nakanishi teaches (see figs. 1, 5 and 9 below) three connecting terminals (46) are provided, the inverter includes six switching elements (5a and 5c form one switch element, 5b and 5d for another, 6a and 6c form another, 6b and 6d for another, 7a and 7c for another, 7b and 7d for another), and the switching elements (5-7) are placed in pairs (5a and 5c form a pair with 5b and 5d; 6a and 6c form a pair with 6b and 6d; 7a and 7c form a pair with 7b and 7d), the pairs corresponding to the connecting terminals (46) respectively (Abstract; pages 2-4 and 13) in order to provide a compact and light weight configuration with reduced noise (Nakanishi, Abstract, page 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sasaki and provide three connecting terminals are provided, the inverter includes six switching elements, and the switching elements are placed in pairs, the pairs corresponding to the connecting terminals respectively as taught by Nakanishi in order to provide a compact and light weight configuration with reduced noise (Nakanishi, Abstract, page 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834