DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR ‘925 (KR 10-2022-0019425) in view of KR ‘958 (KR 10-2340958).
Claim 1 – KR ‘925 teaches a method of manufacturing an antimicrobial film-coated substrate configured to directly form antimicrobial particles (Abstract, aggregated particles commensurate with antimicrobial particles of the claim), the method comprising:
mixing a metal compound with a hydrophobic solvent to prepare a coating solution (e.g. Claims 4 and 8, in claim 8 ethanol and methanol are hydrophobic);
coating a surface of a plastic or polymer substrate with the coating solution (Claim 10, at least PVA is a plastic substrate).
KR ‘925 does not expressly teach or suggest the use of a metal salt, nor does it expressly teach or suggest the heat treatment to form said antimicrobial particle layer. KR ‘958 is drawn broadly to surface coatings and specifically to antimicrobial coatings (Abstract); KR ‘958 discloses the use of metal salts as metal sources (e.g. Claims 13-15) and heat treatment as part of the coating process (Claim 29). The substrates may be e,g, plastic substrates (Claim 40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of KR ‘925 to use metal salts as metal sources for the antimicrobial composition and to perform a heat treatment in the coating process as suggested by KR ‘958, as both references want to make antimicrobial coatings using plastic substrates and KR ‘958 discloses materials and techniques demonstrated to be suitable for the purpose.
Claim 2 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 1, wherein the hydrophobic solvent comprises at least one of ethanol or methanol (KR ‘925 Claim 8).
Claim 3 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 1, wherein the plastic is a thermoplastic plastic (KR ‘925 Claim 10, PVA is thermoplastic).
Claim 4 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 1, wherein the metal salt comprises metal nitrate-based material (KR ‘958 Claim 15).
Claim 5 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 4, wherein the metal comprises copper (Cu) (KR ‘958 Claim 14).
Claim 6 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 1, wherein the heat-treating comprises inducing an oxidation reaction and an aggregation reaction to fix the antimicrobial particles to the surface of the plastic or polymer substrate (KR ‘958 abstract, see also the paragraph bridging pages 18-19, the titanium oxide coating is derived from titanium isopropoxide; per KR ‘958 Claim 29, the coating is subjected to heat treatment which oxidizes the titanium and agglomerates it by driving off solvent via desiccation).
Claim 7 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a concentration of the metal salt is 0.001 M (molar concentration) to 0.1 M. The metal salt is discussed at Page 14 in concentrations of 0.03 – 3 wt% for the preferred copper metal precursor, but it is disclosed that the metal precursor is being added to improve or alter the antimicrobial action (Page 14). Therefore, selection of a desired molar concentration to effect the desired change in antimicrobial function is held to be prima facie obvious.
Claim 8 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 7, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a size of the antimicrobial particles increases as the concentration of the metal salt increases. This is held as prima facie obvious as part of the processing conditions; as the solvent is desiccated from the coating solution, surface tension of the remaining liquid will tend to agglomerate the metal precipitates, with greater metal content leading to greater metal precipitates.
Claim 9 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 7, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein transmittance of the antimicrobial particle layer increases as the concentration of the metal salt decreases. This is held as prima facie obvious as part of the processing conditions; as the solvent is desiccated from the coating solution, surface tension of the remaining liquid will tend to agglomerate the metal precipitates, with greater metal content leading to greater metal precipitates (and by extension, with lesser metal content leading to lesser metal precipitates which will exhibit less of a blocking or scattering effect).
Claim 10 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 1, wherein the metal salt comprises one of copper (II) acetate (Cu(CH3COO)2), copper (II) nitrate (Cu(NO3)2), or copper(I) chloride (CuCl2) (KR ‘958, copper acetate, nitrate and chloride generally disclosed; selection of desired valence is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of an unexpected result derived from the selection).
Claim 11 – KR ‘925 teaches a method of manufacturing an antimicrobial film-coated substrate, the method comprising:
mixing a metal compound (Claim 4) with an alcohol-based solvent (Claim 8, diverse alcohols listed) to prepare a coating solution;
coating a surface of a plastic or polymer substrate with the coating solution (Claim 10, at least PVA is a plastic substrate).
KR ‘925 does not expressly teach or suggest the use of a metal salt, nor does it expressly teach or suggest the heat treatment to form said antimicrobial particle layer. KR ‘958 is drawn broadly to surface coatings and specifically to antimicrobial coatings (Abstract); KR ‘958 discloses the use of metal salts as metal sources (e.g. Claims 13-15) and heat treatment as part of the coating process (Claim 29). The substrates may be e,g, plastic substrates (Claim 40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of KR ‘925 to use metal salts as metal sources for the antimicrobial composition and to perform a heat treatment in the coating process as suggested by KR ‘958, as both references want to make antimicrobial coatings using plastic substrates and KR ‘958 discloses materials and techniques demonstrated to be suitable for the purpose.
Claim 12 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 11, wherein the heat-treating comprises inducing an oxidation reaction and an aggregation reaction to fix the antimicrobial particles to the surface of the plastic or polymer substrate (KR ‘958 abstract, see also the paragraph bridging pages 18-19, the titanium oxide coating is derived from titanium isopropoxide; per KR ‘958 Claim 29, the coating is subjected to heat treatment which oxidizes the titanium and agglomerates it by driving off solvent via desiccation).
Claim 13 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 11, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a concentration of the metal salt is 0.001 M (molar concentration) to 0.1 M. The metal salt is discussed at Page 14 in concentrations of 0.03 – 3 wt% for the preferred copper metal precursor, but it is disclosed that the metal precursor is being added to improve or alter the antimicrobial action (Page 14). Therefore, selection of a desired molar concentration to effect the desired change in antimicrobial function is held to be prima facie obvious.
Claim 14 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 13, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a size of the antimicrobial particles increases as the concentration of the metal salt increases. This is held as prima facie obvious as part of the processing conditions; as the solvent is desiccated from the coating solution, surface tension of the remaining liquid will tend to agglomerate the metal precipitates, with greater metal content leading to greater metal precipitates.
Claim 15 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 13, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein transmittance of the antimicrobial particle layer increases as the concentration of the metal salt decreases. This is held as prima facie obvious as part of the processing conditions; as the solvent is desiccated from the coating solution, surface tension of the remaining liquid will tend to agglomerate the metal precipitates, with greater metal content leading to greater metal precipitates (and by extension, with lesser metal content leading to lesser metal precipitates which will exhibit less of a blocking or scattering effect).
Claim 16 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the method according to claim 11, wherein the metal salt comprises one of copper (II) acetate (Cu(CH3COO)2), copper (II) nitrate (Cu(NO3)2), or copper(I) chloride (CuCl2) (KR ‘958, copper acetate, nitrate and chloride generally disclosed; selection of desired valence is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of an unexpected result derived from the selection).
Claim 17 – KR ‘925 teaches an antimicrobial film-coated substrate comprising a metal compound directly formed on a surface thereof (Claims 1 and 4). KR ‘925 does not fairly teach or suggest wherein the metal compound is a metal salt including at least a metal acetate, a metal chloride, or a metal nitrate. KR ‘925 also does not fairly teach or describe wherein the formation includes an oxidation reaction and an aggregation reaction. KR ‘958 is drawn broadly to surface coatings and specifically to antimicrobial coatings (Abstract); KR ‘958 discloses the use of metal salts as metal sources (e.g. Claims 13-15) and heat treatment as part of the coating process (Claim 29). The substrates may be e,g, plastic substrates (Claim 40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made or filed to have modified the invention of KR ‘925 to use metal salts as metal sources for the antimicrobial composition and to perform a heat treatment in the coating process as suggested by KR ‘958, as both references want to make antimicrobial coatings using plastic substrates and KR ‘958 discloses materials and techniques demonstrated to be suitable for the purpose. As to the oxidation and aggregation reactions, this is discussed at KR ‘958 abstract and the paragraph bridging pages 18-19, the titanium oxide coating is derived from titanium isopropoxide; per KR ‘958 Claim 29, the coating is subjected to heat treatment which oxidizes the titanium and agglomerates it by driving off solvent via desiccation).
Claim 18 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the antimicrobial film-coated substrate according to claim 17, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a concentration of the metal salt is 0.001 M (molar concentration) to 0.1 M. The metal salt is discussed at Page 14 in concentrations of 0.03 – 3 wt% for the preferred copper metal precursor, but it is disclosed that the metal precursor is being added to improve or alter the antimicrobial action (Page 14). Therefore, selection of a desired molar concentration to effect the desired change in antimicrobial function is held to be prima facie obvious.
Claim 19 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the antimicrobial film-coated substrate according to claim 18, but does not expressly teach or suggest wherein a size of the antimicrobial particles increases as the concentration of the metal salt increases. This is held as prima facie obvious as part of the processing conditions; as the solvent is desiccated from the coating solution, surface tension of the remaining liquid will tend to agglomerate the metal precipitates, with greater metal content leading to greater metal precipitates.
Claim 20 – KR ‘925 / KR ‘958 renders obvious the antimicrobial film-coated substrate according to claim 17, wherein the metal salt comprises one of copper (II) acetate (Cu(CH3COO)2), copper (II) nitrate (Cu(NO3)2), or copper(I) chloride (CuCl2) (KR ‘958, copper acetate, nitrate and chloride generally disclosed; selection of desired valence is held as prima facie obvious in the absence of an unexpected result derived from the selection).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL G MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712