DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 08/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-15 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation silicates or aluminosilicates, and the claim also recites preferably biotite or muscovite which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 10 recites the d50 is in a range of 6.5 to 30 microns. It is not clear whether d50 refers to the black particulate zinc composite, zinc, zinc oxide or a further material.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 to 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3-13 recite “black particulate”. It should be “The black particulate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sueda et al. (JP 2021-038331).
Regarding claim 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9, Sueda discloses black zinc powder, i.e. black particulate zinc composite, (title) comprising metallic zinc, i.e. elemental zinc, in an amount of 70 mass% or less based on the weight of the composite (0013), zinc oxide (0034) and silica in a total amount of 6 mass% or less (1 mass% or less of silica as a lubricant and 5 mass% or less as a pigment) (0055-0056, 0070-0071). Given that the composition of Sueda is used as a anticorrosive paint (0068) and the composition of Sueda discloses the same components as presently claimed, it is clear that the composition of Sueda would inherently have the same properties as claimed in present claim. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 7, Sueda discloses the black particulate zinc composite of claim 1, wherein the amount of zinc oxide is 30 to 95 mass% (0034) and the amount of silica is up to 6 mass% as explained above, therefore the total of both is 36 wt% or less.
Regarding claim 10, Sueda discloses the black particulate zinc composite of claim 1, wherein the zinc powder has an average particle size of 1 to 40 microns (0051) therefore it is clear that D50 of zinc particle powder of Sueda is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, Sueda discloses the black particulate zinc composite of claim 1, wherein Sueda discloses elemental zinc and therefore zinc alloy is not required by the prior art.
Regarding claim 12, Sueda discloses the black particulate zinc composite of claim 1, wherein silica is used as a lubricant, i.e. abrasion aid, (0056).
Although Sueda does not disclose dry milling process, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that Sueda meets the requirements of the claimed composite, Sueda clearly meets the requirements of the present claims.
Regarding claim 13, Sueda discloses the black particulate zinc composite of claim 1, the composite exhibits a L* value of 40 or less (0012).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sueda et al. (JP 2021-038331) in view of Savin (US 2005/0150984).
Regarding claim 4, Sueda discloses the black particulate zinc composite of claim 1, but fails to disclose hydrophobized silica.
Savin discloses dry milling zinc powder comprising hydrophobic silica to obtain reduced penetration of moisture and to reduce the milling time (0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the hydrophobic silica of Savin in the composition of Sueda to obtain reduced penetration of moisture and to reduce the milling time.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sueda et al. (JP 2021-038331) in view of Battaglia et al. (US 2018/0305558).
Regarding claim 11, Sueda discloses the black particulate zinc composite of claim 1, but fails to disclose zinc alloy as represented by formula 1.
Battaglia discloses corrosion protection pigment comprising zinc alloy such as zinc, aluminum and magnesium to obtain good corrosion protection (0059-0060). Battaglia does not specifically disclose amounts of aluminum and magnesium.
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amounts of aluminum and magnesium is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As corrosion protection is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amounts of aluminum and magnesium, the precise amounts would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amounts cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amounts of aluminum and magnesium in Sueda to obtain the desired property (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787