DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/4/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Matsuo (US 2009/0286035) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection have been entered in view of Moore (US 2006/0147720).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (US 2009/0286035) in view of Moore (US 2006/0147720).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Matsuo teaches a sheet joined body comprising a first sheet member 10 and a second sheet member 20 which are joined together by joining member 30 (¶ 34, see Fig. 1C). The sheet members are metal (¶ 60). The sheet members abut each other by cross section, and the joining member covers the end edge portions of the sheet members (see Fig. 1C). Matsuo teaches the joining member is a thermoplastic resin, which is joined to the sheet members by a welding operation (¶ 27). Melting and solidification of the joining member is inherent to a welding operation absent objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112.
Matsuo does not expressly teach the joining member is the claimed epoxy or phenoxy resin. Moore teaches a phenoxy resin derived from bisphenol A and epichlorohydrin (¶¶ 8-12) which is used for bonding metal to metal (¶¶ 20-21). It would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the phenoxy resin of Moore as the thermoplastic resin for joining metal members because the prior art recognizes the phenoxy resin can be used to bond metals and there is an expectation of success in substituting one element for another element known in the art to be effective for bonding metal. Since the phenoxy resin of Moore is the same as that claimed, it is presumed to be an amorphous thermoplastic resin absent objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 2, Matsuo teaches the thickness of the sheet members is not more than 500 μm (¶ 64), which lies within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 3-4, Matsuo teaches the sheet joined body are wound by rolls (¶ 120), which implicitly teaches a band-like shape in the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 5, Matsuo teaches forming a joining member on both sides of the joined sheet body (¶ 53).
Regarding claim 8, Moore states phenoxy resins do not contain epoxy groups.
Regarding claim 9, Matsuo teaches the thickness of the joining member is 10-150 μm (¶¶ 70-71), which lies within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, Matsuo teaches using a temporary adhesive on the joining member to stick onto the sheet members (¶ 75).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIAOBEI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784