DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsuo et al. (US 2009/0286035).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Matsuo teaches a sheet joined body comprising a first sheet member 10 and a second sheet member 20 which are joined together by joining member 30 (¶ 34, see Fig. 1C). The sheet members are metal (¶ 60). The sheet members abut each other by cross section, and the joining member covers the end edge portions of the sheet members (see Fig. 1C). Matsuo teaches the joining member is a thermoplastic resin, which is joined to the sheet members by a welding operation (¶ 27). Melting and solidification of the joining member is inherent to a welding operation absent objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 2, Matsuo teaches the thickness of the sheet members is not more than 500 μm (¶ 64), which lies within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 3-4, Matsuo teaches the sheet joined body are wound by rolls (¶ 120), which implicitly teaches a band-like shape in the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 5, Matsuo teaches forming a joining member on both sides of the joined sheet body (¶ 53).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuo teaches the thermoplastic resin is chosen from various polymers, including polystyrene and polycarbonate (¶ 73), which are amorphous polymers.
Regarding claim 9, Matsuo teaches the thickness of the joining member is 10-150 μm (¶¶ 70-71), which lies within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, Matsuo teaches using a temporary adhesive on the joining member to stick onto the sheet members (¶ 75).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al. (US 2009/0286035), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Akiba et al. (JP 2021-066805).
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed above. Matsuo does not expressly teach the joining member is an epoxy or phenoxy resin. Akiba discloses a thermoplastic phenoxy resin (¶ 46). The resin has applications including metal foils with resins and adhesives (¶ 80). It would have been obvious at the effective time of filing for the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the resin of Akiba for the joining member of Matsuo because Akiba recognizes its resin can be used with metal foils, and there is an expectation of success in substituting known elements the prior art recognizes as a substitute.
Regarding claim 8, Akiba teaches the resin contains an epoxy equivalent of 4,000-20,000 (¶ 44), which lies within the claimed range.
Conclusion
/XIAOBEI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784