DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “shim support element” and the “body support element” (claim 15) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the length l2 diverges along the direction of the major axis [B]”. It is unclear how the length l2, which is understood from claim 3 as being perpendicular to the major axis [B], can diverge along a direction of that axis. Diverging would suggest not following that direction, while “along” would suggest following that direction or being parallel thereto.
Claim 5 also recites “l2, has its maximum”. First, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “its maximum” in the claim. Second, it is unclear how a length, which is typically understood as a fixed dimension, would have a maximum, which would suggest a variable or multiple values thereof.
For examination purposes, claim 5 will be interpreted as best understood from the disclosure, for example Fig. 3d.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekden (U.S. PGPub 2017/0297115) in view of Hecht (U.S. PGPub 2010/0150670) or alternatively Hecht et al. (U.S. Patent 9,120,154).
Claim 1: Ekden discloses a cutting tool (20) comprising: a toolholder (22) including a toolholder body (Fig. 6A-6C) and at least one insert pocket (defined by walls 30, 32 - paragraph 35); and at least one cutting insert (21), wherein the at least one cutting insert is mounted within the at least one insert pocket (Id.), wherein said at least one cutting insert comprises: a first square shaped main surface (23 - paragraph 17); a second square shaped main surface (27 - Id.); and a peripheral side surface (31) connecting the first main surface and the second main surface, wherein the at least one cutting insert includes a central plane extending midway between the first main surface and the second main surface (a plane that would be parallel to and midway between P1 and P2 in Fig. 2), wherein the at least one cutting insert includes a central axis extending between the first main surface and the second main surface perpendicular to the central plane (e.g. the central axis of hole 59), wherein the second main surface has an exactly two-fold rotational symmetry around the central axis (e.g. paragraph 26 and Fig. 3), and wherein the first main surface has an exactly two-fold rotational symmetry around the central axis (Id., paragraph 17), wherein the at least one cutting insert includes a first cutting edge (371, 372, 373, 374) at a first intersection between the first main surface and the peripheral side surface, and a second cutting edge (391, 392, 393, 394) at a second intersection between the first main surface and the peripheral side surface (paragraph 20), wherein the first cutting edge and the second cutting edge are separated from each other (Fig. 1), wherein the insert pocket includes a bottom support surface (top surface of shim 24 or the portion on which the shim rests) and at least one side support surface (30, 32), wherein the bottom support surface is in contact with the second main surface (implied at paragraph 35 and Figs. 6A-6C), and wherein the at least one side support surface is in contact with the peripheral side surface (Id.). Ekden is silent regarding at least one insert support element and at least one pocket support element as claimed.
However, Hecht (‘670) teaches a square insert (20 - Fig. 5 and paragraph 43) wherein the at least one cutting insert includes at least one insert support element, the insert support element being any of: an indention extending from the second main surface towards the central plane; or a protrusion extending from the second main surface away from the central plane (e.g. protrusions as shown), wherein the insert pocket includes at least one pocket support element, the pocket support element being any of: a protrusion engaging with the indention in the second main surface, or an indention engaging with the protrusion at the second main surface (a complementary surface as shown in Fig. 8 and described in paragraph 36), wherein the insert support element includes an insert support surface (e.g. 80, 82, 88), and wherein the pocket support element includes a pocket support surface (e.g. 44, 46 - paragraph 49), wherein the insert support surface is in contact with the pocket support surface (Id.), and wherein the insert support surface contacts the pocket support surface in a plurality of contact regions (as shown in Fig. 5), wherein each contact region is separated from the other contact regions (Id.). In this case, the insert pocket also includes a bottom support surface (50, 52), wherein the bottom support surface is in contact with the second main surface (at 72, 74 - paragraph 46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Ekden with the support elements as taught by Hecht to achieve a force-withstanding, secure engagement between the surfaces (Hecht, paragraph 8).
Alternatively, Hecht et al. (‘154) teaches a square insert (30 - column 2, lines 53-54) wherein the at least one cutting insert includes at least one insert support element, the insert support element being any of: an indention extending from the second main surface towards the central plane; or a protrusion extending from the second main surface away from the central plane (e.g. protrusions 50 as shown), wherein the insert pocket includes at least one pocket support element, the pocket support element being any of: a protrusion engaging with the indention in the second main surface, or an indention engaging with the protrusion at the second main surface (indentations 64), wherein the insert support element includes an insert support surface (e.g. flank surfaces 54), and wherein the pocket support element includes a pocket support surface (e.g. flank surfaces 68), wherein the insert support surface is in contact with the pocket support surface (column 5, lines 5-8), and wherein the insert support surface contacts the pocket support surface in a plurality of contact regions (at least two surfaces 54 - Fig. 8), wherein each contact region is separated from the other contact regions (Id.). In this case, the insert pocket also includes a bottom support surface (70), wherein the bottom support surface is in contact with the second main surface (column 5, lines 9-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided Ekden with the support elements as taught by Hecht et al. to achieve a high level of clamping stability (Hecht et al., column 5, lines 34-47).
Claim 2: Ekden further discloses wherein the first main surface includes four corners (251, 252, 253, 254) and wherein the first cutting edge and the second cutting edge (371, 373) are located at diagonally opposing corners of the first main surface (paragraph 21, Fig. 1).
Claim 13: Ekden further discloses the at least one cutting insert is a double sided cutting insert (paragraph 17), wherein the central plane includes a central axis extending perpendicular to the central axis of the at least one cutting insert (a hypothetical axis running parallel to D1 or D2 through the central plane), and wherein the at least one cutting insert has a symmetry defined by a rotation of 180° around the central axis of the central plane plus a 90° rotation around the central axis of the at least one cutting insert (paragraphs 17, 34).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekden and Hecht/Hecht et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0371101).
Claim 14: Ekden further discloses the insert pocket includes a removable shim (24) arranged between the toolholder body and the cutting insert (Figs. 6A-6C; paragraph 35), wherein the shim includes a top surface and a bottom surface (evident, Id.), and a shim peripheral side surface connecting the top surface and the bottom surface (evident), wherein the shim includes a central plane extending midway between the top surface and the bottom surface (such a hypothetical plane may exist), wherein the shim includes a central axis extending between the top surface and the bottom surface perpendicular to the central plane of the shim (e.g. the central axis of the hole therethrough), wherein the central axis of the shim is arranged coaxially with the central axis of the at least one cutting insert (evident in Figs. 6A-6C). Ekden and Hecht or Hecht et al. do not teach wherein the top surface (of the shim) constitutes the bottom support surface, and wherein the pocket support element is arranged in the top surface.
However, Choi et al teaches a cutting insert arrangement wherein pocket support elements (660, 670) may be provided either directly in an insert pocket or in a shim (600) thereof (paragraph 79, 83, 86). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the assembly such that the top surface (of the shim) constitutes the bottom support surface, and wherein the pocket support element is arranged in the top surface, so that the benefits of the support elements could be used in embodiments using a shim.
Claim 15: Further referring to Choi, the bottom surface (of the shim) includes at least one shim support element (groove), wherein the shim support element is any of: an indention (groove) extending from the bottom surface towards the central plane of the shim; or a protrusion extending from the bottom surface away from the central plane of the shim (paragraph 80), and wherein the toolholder body includes at least one body support element (protrusion on 705), the at least one body support element being any of: a protrusion engaging with the indention in the bottom surface; or an indention engaging with the protrusion at the bottom surface (paragraph 80).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 6-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, because both Hecht and Hecht et al. teach 4-sided square inserts, the lengths of the support surfaces along perpendicular axes are equal.
Claims 4 and 6-7 depend from claim 3.
Regarding claim 8, in both Hecht and Hecht et al., the support surfaces are specifically angled and would not be parallel to the central plane.
Regarding claim 9, in both Hecht and Hecht et al. there are fewer than 4 operative support surfaces.
Claims 10-12 depend from claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPub 2006/0083594 discloses an insert and shim assembly with protrusions/recesses. However, Only three protrusions on the insert contact the upper surface of the shim at one time, while the recesses of the shim are intended to provide clearance for the other protrusions while they are in an “inactive” state or position, and thus none of the protrusions contact any of the recesses.
U.S. PGPub 2013/0236255 is similar to Hecht et al. but for a rhomboidal insert.
U.S. Patent 9,120,156 teaches a rhomboidal insert having projections which engage with grooves in the pocket seat.
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726