DETAILED ACTION
2. The preliminary amendment has been received and entered.
3. Claims 1-17 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
The analysis then moves to Step 2A, Prong One, which asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claims recite ceramide extracted from cacao bean shells. Ceramide is a naturally occurring compound. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”.
In this case, the claims are drawn to product-by-process claims. MPEP § 2106.4(c)(I)( B) states “For a product-by-process claim (e.g., a claim to a cloned farm animal produced by a nuclear transfer cloning method), the analysis turns on whether the nature-based product in the claim has markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart…”. The claims are directed to ceramide which encompasses purified ceramide. Since ceramide is a naturally occurring compound, the claims at their broadest interpretation read directly on a product of nature, i.e. ceramide.
In addition, the claims also encompass a ceramide containing extract from cacao shell. However, extraction of plants only concentrates and portions the naturally occurring compounds in the plants which are soluble or insoluble in the particular solvent. General extraction does not necessarily result in a markedly distinct change in the naturally occurring compounds from the plant. Thus, while a solvent extract itself may not be found in the nature, the compounds which are present in the plant and soluble in the selected solvent are found in nature. The creation of a solvent extract only partitions and concentrates the molecules that are naturally in the plant. There is no evidence or reason to expect that any new compounds are formed. The extract itself is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are simply soluble in a particular solvent. Thus, while extraction of the compounds with the selected solvent would separate a portion of the plant matter away from the naturally-occurring ingredients, the result of extraction is still a mixture of ingredients which are naturally-found in the plant material; i.e., the compound is not inventive or “man-made.” There is no indication that the specified extract displays a change in the structure, function, or other properties of the extract in any marked way in comparison with the closest naturally occurring counterpart. The closest naturally occurring counterpart for the extract is a mixture of the naturally occurring compounds that are present in the extract. Thus, the claimed mixture as a whole does not display markedly different characteristics in comparison with the naturally occurring counterparts. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, applicant’s claims are directed to a composition with an intended use as a moisturizer, skin quality improvement agent, hair quality improvement agent, cosmetic, pharmaceutical, or food. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) specifically states that a claim is only directed to “an intended use of a claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the ‘treatment or prophylaxis’ consideration.” Therefore, applicant’s intended use is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, the additional element in the claims is the combination of the ceramide to formulate foods, cosmetics, and pharmaceuticals. However, MPEP § 2106.05(d) states that well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not sufficient to show that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The formulations can either read on the ceramide extract itself or can be formed by mixing the ceramide with carriers such as water, fruit, starch, etc. These are also judicial exceptions. Mixing specific compounds does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exceptions because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Thus, mixing the ingredients together does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exceptions because mixing compounds is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field.
In addition, applicant’s intended uses are not considered to amount to significantly more. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A), “Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use” is not considered to be enough to qualify as significantly more. An intended use of a claimed composition only generally links the exception to the field of use. Therefore, the additional elements are not considered to amount to significantly more. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz (US 2001/0041683) in view of Pleasants (US 2012/0142963).
Schmitz teaches an extract from cocoa beans which contain sphingolipids and their metabolic derivatives. The reference specifically teaches ceramide as a metabolic derivative. The reference teaches that the extract is formed by crushing the whole bean (which would contain the shell), extracting with a solvent, and further purifying the extract. The reference teaches that the extract is formulated into a food, topical, or pharmaceutical composition (see paragraphs 11, 24, 25, 30, 33, 34, 39, 40, 42, 48, 49, and Example 1). The reference does not teach that the shells are separated from the nibs by winnowing prior to extraction.
However, Pleasants teaches that the shell (husk) of the cocoa bean is generally separated from the cocoa pulp (nib) by winnowing during the processing of a cocoa bean into chocolate. Pleasants teaches that the shell is considered a low value by-product and suggests its use for extraction of useful compounds (see paragraph 13). Thus, an artisan of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that the extraction of Schmitz could be improved if the shells were separated from the nibs prior to extraction of the sphingolipids from the shell. The artisan would expect that chocolate could then be made from the nibs while the sphingolipids could be extracted from the shells in order to extract the most value from the cocoa bean itself. This reasonable expectation of improvement would have motivated the artisan to include a winnowing step in the extraction of Schmitz.
6. Claim(s) 4, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmitz (US 2001/0041683) in view of Pleasants (US 2012/0142963) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 16 above, and further in view of Yunoki (WO 2018/021476 – English translation).
The teachings of Schmitz and Pleasants are discussed above. While Schmitz teaches that the cocoa extract can be formulated into a topical composition, a food, or a pharmaceutical, the reference does not teach that these compositions contain ceramide in the concentrations claimed by applicant. However, Yunoki teaches that ceramide is useful in concentrations over 0.01% for formulating foods, moisturizers, pharmaceutical, or skin improvement agents (see page 8 of the translation). Thus, an artisan of ordinary skill would have reasonably expect that the ceramide containing extract taught by Schmitz and Pleasants could be used in the concentrations suggested by Yunoki to formulate ceramide containing products. This reasonable expectation of success would have motivated the artisan to modify Schmitz and Pleasants to include formulating products with a ceramide concentration as suggested by Yunoki.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/872,116 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to free ceramide extracted from cacao in overlapping concentrations. The reference application does not teach that the ceramide is extracted in the same manner as claimed. However, regarding product-by-process claims, MPEP § 2113 states that:
[w]hen the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 of the statute is appropriate…A lesser burden of proof is required to make out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1063, 173 USPQ 685 (1972) ; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA1974)… Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
The product in the reference application reasonably appears to be the same product as claimed because they are both directed to ceramide extracted from cacao.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
8. Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/872,093 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to ceramide extracted from cacao in overlapping concentrations. The reference application does not teach that the ceramide is extracted in the same manner as claimed. However, regarding product-by-process claims, MPEP § 2113 states that:
[w]hen the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 of the statute is appropriate…A lesser burden of proof is required to make out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1063, 173 USPQ 685 (1972) ; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA1974)… Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
The product in the reference application reasonably appears to be the same product as claimed because they are both directed to ceramide extracted from cacao.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
9. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655