DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-11, 14, 18, 20, 24, 26-27, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KILJUNEN et al. (US 2011/0223417) in view of HAACK et al. (US 2015/0266269) and DIETZE et al. (US 2018/0355215).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 11, 24, and 30, KILJUNEN teaches bonding a metal to a wood material via glue adhesive bonding (para. 42), but does not teach riveting. HAACK teaches a method of bonding dissimilar materials via applying adhesive to a material, stacking the material with a second material, curing the adhesives, and inserting self-piercing rivet through the material stack, in order (paras. 6-8 and 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include the riveting step of HAACK in the method of KILUNEN in order to improve joining strength between the substrates (HAACK; para. 4). HAACK does not teach placing the stack on a riveting machine, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to place the stack on a riveting machine during riveting in order to support pressing a rivet through the laminate. KILJUNEN teaches applying an adhesive to a portion of one material and contacting the materials to bond (para. 42), but does not teach curing the adhesive. DIETZE teaches an adhesive for bonding metal to wood comprising methyl methacrylate adhesive that is reactively cured during bonding, which is time curing, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the adhesive of DIETZE as the adhesive of KILJUNEN in order to join very sensitive substrates (DIETZ; paras. 11, 107, and 111).
Regarding claim 4, KILJUNEN teaches aluminum or steel material as a second substrate (para. 18).
Regarding claim 9, KILJUNEN teaches priming and other surface treatments before adhesion (paras. 21-22).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize general J, P, or R rivets, as there would have been a reasonable expectation of securing the laminate of HAACK in the same manner utilizing any self-piercing rivets (MPEP 2141; KSR).
Regarding claim 18, HAACK does not teach a particular riveting speed, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a maximum speed possible without destruction of products or apparatus.
Regarding claim 20, HAACK teaches a rivet head that is substantially flush with a surface of the first material (fig. 7).
Regarding claims 26-27, HAACK teaches bonding the materials to form an automotive device part (para. 26).
Regarding claim 29, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize densified wood as the wood because there would be a reasonable expectation of producing essentially the same product (MPEP 2141).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as combined as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YAMAGUCHI et al. (US 2021/0283678).
Regarding claim 16, HAACK does not explicitly teach a force utilized to insert the rivet. YAMAGUCHI teaches another method of applying self-piercing rivets wherein a force of 20-100 kN is utilized, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize 20-100 kN in the insertion of the rivet of HAACK (para. 66). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a force of 20-50 kN because the claimed range overlaps that of the prior art (MPEP 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 9-11, 14, 16, 18, 20, 24, 26-27, and 29-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is based upon the new amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745