DETAILED ACTION
This is on the merits of Application No. 18/872188, filed on 12/05/2024. Claims 1-7 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 12/05/2024, 10/22/2025, 12/30/2025, and 02/19/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 101532430 to Zhang (cited in applicant’s IDS).
Zhang discloses:
(Claim 6) A mounting bracket (2) fixed to an end surface, located at one end side in a cylinder line direction, of an internal combustion engine (see Fig. 1), the mounting bracket comprising: a plurality of mounting portions (3) for securing the internal combustion engine to a vehicle body, wherein the plurality of mounting portions are formed by respective mutually independent bulging portions protruding forward with respect to the end surface, located at the one end side, of the internal combustion engine (see Fig. 6, two independent bulges).
(Claim 7) wherein the plurality of mounting portions are formed so as to extend in an up-down direction along a cylinder axis of the internal combustion engine (see Figs. 1, 4, and 6, element 3 extends in an up-down direction).
(Claim 11) wherein the bulging portions have a semi-cylindrical cross section formed by hollowing out a rear side portion of the bulging portion (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 4 element 12, bulging portions are semi-cylindrical and are hollowed out with reducing pit/hole 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of JP 07259578 to Tashiro et al (cited in applicant’s IDS).
Zhang discloses:
The limitations of claim 7.
(Claim 9) wherein the mounting portions have ribs (Fig. 4 element 13).
(Claim 10) further comprising: a plurality of ribs (Fig. 4 element 13) connected to the plurality of mounting portions.
Zhang does not disclose:
(Claim 8) wherein at least one of the plurality of mounting portions is formed so that its center line in the up-down direction is inclined with respect to the cylinder axis when viewed from an axial direction of a crankshaft of the internal combustion engine.
(Claim 9) wherein the adjacent mounting portions are connected to each other by ribs.
(Claim 10) wherein the mounting bracket is formed so that a contour line formed by connecting the plurality of mounting portions and the plurality of ribs continues annularly when viewed from an axial direction of a crankshaft of the internal combustion engine.
Tashiro teaches:
(Claim 8) wherein at least one of the plurality of mounting portions (Figs. 2-5, element 17b) is formed so that its center line in the up-down direction is inclined with respect to the cylinder axis when viewed from an axial direction of a crankshaft of the internal combustion engine (see Fig. 2 and 4, inclined relative to the cylinder axis, as the cylinder axis is from a V-shaped engine).
(Claim 9) wherein the adjacent mounting portions are connected to each other by ribs (see Fig. 5 element 17d, ribs connect adjacent mounting portions).
(Claim 10) further comprising: a plurality of ribs (17d) connected to the plurality of mounting portions, wherein the mounting bracket is formed so that a contour line formed by connecting the plurality of mounting portions and the plurality of ribs continues annularly when viewed from an axial direction of a crankshaft of the internal combustion engine (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Zhang to have the mounting portion inclined with respect to the cylinder axis, as taught by Tashiro, as an obvious design choice to the type of engine wanted. Zhang does not explicitly state the type of engine being mounted. Tashiro teaches a V-shaped engine being mounted. One of ordinary skill would be able to apply teachings of Tashiro to Zhang and produce predictable results. The resulting structure would have the cylinder axis be inclined relative to the mounting portion.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Zhang to have the ribs connect the adjacent mounting portions as well as the mounting bracket formed so that a contour line formed by connecting the plurality of mounting portions and the plurality of ribs continues annularly when viewed from an axial direction of a crankshaft, as taught by Tahsiro, in order to have the structure more secure and rigid. One of ordinary skill could easily apply the rib structure of Tashiro to Zhang and produce predictable results.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of U.S. Patent No. 5743229 to Hosoya (cited in applicant’s IDS).
Zhang discloses:
The limitations of claim 6.
Zhang does not disclose:
(Claim 12) wherein the bulging portions are formed so as to extend in an up-down direction along a cylinder axis of the internal combustion engine, and lower ends of the bulging portions are directed toward respective securing points of the mounting bracket to the internal combustion engine.
Hosoya teaches:
(Claim 12) wherein a bulging portion is formed so as to extend in an up-down direction along a cylinder axis of the internal combustion engine (10), and lower ends of the bulging portions are directed toward respective securing points (Fig. 5 element 68) of the mounting bracket (66) to the internal combustion engine (See Figs. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, the structure of Zhang to have the lower ends directed towards respective securing points, as taught by Hosoya, as an obvious design choice to the bulging portion. Zhang discloses two open ended bulges that do not have a lower ends directed toward a securing point. Hosoya teaches a bulge that does. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to apply the teachings of Hosoya and have the lower ends of the bulges in Zhang be directed toward a securing point and produce predictable results. The added structure would allow for a more rigid and strong connection for the mounting of the engine with less weak points to fail.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Steiner et al (US 6148786) discloses a mounting device for an engine bearing of an internal combustion engine.
/TIMOTHY HANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655