DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuhan (CN 113042618 A).
With regards to claim 1, Wuhan discloses a sequential shaping method for shaping a metal sheet into a three-dimensional form by pressing and moving a distal end of a rod- form tool (1) against the metal sheet, the sequential shaping method comprising:
using the rod-form tool disposed on one main-surface side of the metal sheet, and a heating device (4, 6, 7) disposed on another main-surface side of the metal sheet to heat the metal sheet, as seen in Figure 1-5;
dividing a path along which the rod-form tool moves on the metal sheet into a plurality of local movement regions based on a preset movement path of the rod-form tool (“preset track,” page 2, last paragraph);
heating an entirety of each of the local movement regions from a reverse side, and then shaping the metal sheet using the rod-form tool [at least page 2, last paragraph and claims 7-8].
Wuhan also discloses heating during forming, as described in at least claim 2-5. Wuhan further discloses that the heating is completed at a specified temperature [at least page 2, last paragraph] and one of ordinary skill would consider it to be inherent that the heating would be completed at a fixed time.
Wuhan discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for repeating heating and shaping steps as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a multiple heating and forming steps, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working steps involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
With regards to claim 2, Wuhan discloses wherein when heating the entirety of the local movement regions for the fixed time from the reverse side, the heating is started from a region over which the rod-form tool projects in an axial direction, as seen in at least Figures 1-3. It is noted that the “term “when” is considered to make this limitation conditional i.e. the claim is not positively reciting this limitation.
With regards to claim 3, Wuhan discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the metal sheet is heated for a time of 2.4 x t or greater, where t is a sheet thickness of the metal sheet. It is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would know that it takes longer to heat a metal plate the thicker it is. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the claimed heating time, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a results effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With regards to claim 4, Wuhan discloses wherein the metal sheet is shaped while being held along a periphery thereof [held via clamp 3, as seen in Figure 1-3].
With regards to claims 5 and 6, Wuhan discloses wherein the heating device irradiates the metal sheet with laser light/contactless manner to heat the metal sheet (via laser generator 7).
With regards to claim 7, Wuhan discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the heating device blows hot air onto the metal sheet to heat the metal sheet. It is considered to be well-known that there are different types of heating device including a laser, an inductor, one that blow hot air and flame heaters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a hot air heating device since it would have been obvious to try this technique when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for heating, with a reasonable expectation of success. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
With regards to claim 8, Wuhan discloses a sequential shaping apparatus used in the sequential shaping method according to claim l, the sequential shaping apparatus comprising:
the rod-form tool (forming tool 1) disposed on the one main-surface side of the metal sheet,
the heating device (4, 6, 7) disposed on another main-surface side of the metal sheet,
a tool-driving device (forming tool head) that drives the rod-form tool in at least three orthogonal axial directions, and a main control device (not explicitly stated, but considered to be inherent as there is reference to a preset track for movement of the forming tool) configured to control the tool-driving device.
Wuhan discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for the heating device being configured to individually heat the local movement regions from reverse sides thereof, and the main control device being configured to control the heating device based on data pertaining to driving the rod-form tool. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Wuhan’s with heating and control device configured as claimed because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 Sc.D. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US Patent 8,322,176.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725