DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending. Note that, the preliminary amendment filed December 6, 2024, has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to instant claim 3, it is suggested that Applicant delete “(Mw/Mn)” in line 3 and delete “(Mz-Mp)” in line 6 and insert the non-abbreviated terminology for Mw, Mn, Mz, and Mp.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 6, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 2-4, 6, and 9-11 recite a broad recitation and the claims also recite “preferably …” or “more preferably…” which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Note that, for purposes of examination, the Examiner has interpreted the clauses “preferably…” or “more preferably…” as merely exemplary and not as patentable limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feng (US 2021/0339217).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, Feng microcapsules are chitosan urea and encapsulate a benefit agent. The process comprises combining an adjunct material formed of microcapsules formed by a water phase comprising hydrolyzing chitosan in an acidic medium at a pH of 6.5 or less for an extended period and combining with a polyisocyanate. The chitosan in the hydrolyzing step is depolymerized to an average size of 95kDa or less. See para. 36. Note that, the Examiner asserts that 95kDa would clearly fall within the scope of “about” 100 kDa as recited by the instant claims. The reaction product of the hydrolyzed chitosan and polyisocyanate yields a microcapsule having improved release characteristics, with enhanced degradation characteristics in OECD test method 301B. See Abstract. The polyisocyanate can be selected from the group consisting of a polyisocyanurate of toluene diisocyanate, a trimethylol propane adduct of toluene diisocyanate and a trimethylol propane adduct of xylylene diisocyanate, methylene diphenyl isocyanate, toluene diisocyanate, tetramethylxylidene diisocyanate, naphthalene-1,5-diisocyanate, and phenylene diisocyanate. See para. 38. The benefit agent is selected from the group consisting of perfume, fragrance, etc. See para. 41. The core-shell microcapsules can have a mean particle size of from 1 to 100 microns and the microcapsule can be selected to be cationic. See para. 42. The microcapsules may encapsulate a partitioning modifier in addition to the benefit agent. Non-limiting examples of partitioning modifiers include isopropyl myristate, mono-, di-, and tri-esters of C.sub.4-C.sub.24 fatty acids, castor oil, mineral oil, soybean oil, hexadecanoic acid, methyl ester isododecane, isoparaffin oil, polydimethylsiloxane, brominated vegetable oil, and combinations thereof. See para. 61. In one embodiment, the formed population of microcapsules is in the form of an aqueous slurry. See paras. 63-70. In one embodiment, the ratio of the isocyanate monomer, oligomer or prepolymer to hydrolyzed chitosan is up to 1:10 by weight. Chitosan as a percentage by weight of the polyisocyanate shell can be as little as 21° A up to 95% of the shell. Based on total microcapsules weight, the shell can comprise at least 5% by weight of the core-shell microcapsule, or even at least 3% by weight, or even at least 1% by weight of the core-shell microcapsule, and up to 15% by weight of the core-shell microcapsule. The chitosan can have a degree of deacetylation of at least 75% or even at least 85%, or even at least 92%. See para. 32.
When combined with an adjunct material, the combination with the microcapsules can comprise a wide range of novel articles of manufacture. The adjunct material can be one or more of a carrier, a binder, an adhesive, a structurant, a surfactant or deposition aid.
Preferably, the adjunct material is selected from the group consisting of builders, chelating agents, dye transfer inhibiting agents, dispersants, enzymes, and enzyme stabilizers, catalytic materials, bleach activators, hydrogen peroxide, sources of hydrogen peroxide, preformed peracids, polymeric dispersing agents, clay soil removal/anti-redeposition agents, brighteners, suds suppressors, dyes, hueing dyes, perfumes, perfume delivery systems, structure elasticizing agents, carriers, structurants, hydrotropes, processing, aids, solvents in addition to said solubilizing agent, a fabric softener active selected from the group consisting of a silicone polymer, a polysaccharide, a clay, a fatty ester, a dispersible polyolefin, a polymer latex and mixtures thereof, pigments, and mixtures thereof, preferably said composition comprises an organic acid, preferably citric acid and/or lactic acid, hydrogenated castor oil, ethoxylated polyethleneimines, preferably PEI 600 EO 20 and/or PEI 600, an enzyme, preferably a cold water amylase, cold water protease and/or xylogluconase. See para. 105-106. The microcapsules of the invention can be incorporated dry, as an aqueous slurry, as a coating or as a gel into or onto a variety of commercial products to yield novel and improved articles of manufacture. Articles of manufacture can be selected from the group consisting of a soap, a surface cleaner, a laundry detergent, a fabric softener, a shampoo, a textile, a paper towel, an adhesive, etc. See para. 107. “Cleaning and/or treatment compositions” means products comprising dry or fluid laundry detergents, fabric enhancers, laundry and/or rinse additives, dishwashing detergents, hard surface cleaning and/or treatment compositions, toilet bowl cleaners that may or may not be contained in a unit dose delivery product all for consumer, agricultural, industrial or institutional use. See para. 109. The cleaning composition comprises, based on total cleaning and/or treatment composition weight with from 0.001% about to about 25%, preferably from about 0.01% to about 10%, more preferably from about 0.05% to about 5%, most preferably from about 0.1% to about 0.5% of the microcapsules. The cleaning and/or treatment composition comprises: (a) a surfactant selected from the group consisting of nonionic surfactants, anionic surfactants, cationic surfactants, ampholytic surfactants, zwitterionic surfactants, semi-polar nonionic surfactants and mixtures thereof, etc. See para. 132-134.
Exemplary liquid rinse-off personal care compositions can include an aqueous carrier, which can be present at a level of from about 5% to about 95%, or from about 60% to about 85%. The aqueous carrier may comprise water, or a miscible mixture of water and organic solvent. Non-aqueous carrier materials can also be employed. See para. 255. Specifically, ‘217 teaches liquid laundry detergent compositions 0-30 Alkyl (ethoxy) sulfate, 0-30 Linear alkyl benzene sulfonic acid, 0-30 HSAS, 0-15 Nonionic Surfactant, 0-8 Amine Oxide, 0-10 Citric Acid, 0-10 Lactic Acid, 0-5 C12-C10 Fatty Acid, 0-3 Protease (55.3 mg/g), 0-2 Amylase (25.4 mg/g), 0-5 Borax, 0-0.5 Calcium Formate, 0-5 Microcapsules, Water and Solvent To 100 and pH 3.5-8.5. See para. 281.
A water phase is prepared by dispersing 12.40 g ChitoClear (chitosan) into 350.00 g water while mixing in a jacketed reactor. The pH of the water phase is then adjusted to 4.7 using concentrated HCl under agitation. The water phase temperature is then increased to 85° C. over 60 minutes and then held at 85° C. fora period of time to hydrolyze the ChitoClear. The water phase temperature is then reduced to 25° C. after the hydrolyzing step over a period of 90 minutes. An oil phase is prepared by mixing 87.50 g perfume oil and 22.50 g isopropyl myristate together along with 15.00 g Takenate D-110 (aliphatic polyisocyanate) at room temperature. The oil phase is added to the water phase under high shear milling to obtain an emulsion. The emulsion is heated to 40° C. over 30 minutes and held for 60 minutes. The emulsion is then heated to 85° C. and maintained at this temperature for 6 hours while mixing. The capsules formed at this pH condition had a free oil of 0.090% and a one week leakage of 3.604%. See paras. 84-100. Feng discloses the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
Accordingly, the teachings of Feng anticipate the material limitations of independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Feng (US 2021/0339217).
Note that, the Examiner asserts that the delivery particles (i.e., microcapsules) as specifically taught by Feng would inherently have the same degradation properties as recited by the instant claims because Feng teaches microcapsules containing the same core and shell as recited by the instant claims. Feng discloses the claimed invention with sufficient specificity to constitute anticipation.
Accordingly, the teachings of Feng anticipate the material limitations of independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Alternatively, even if the broad teachings of Feng are not sufficient to anticipate the material limitations of the instant claims, it would have been nonetheless obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed degradation properties to the delivery particles because Feng teaches that the amounts and types of required components, cores, and shells added and used in the delivery particles (i.e., microcapsules) and the composition may be varied.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-20 of copending Application No. 18/522451 (reference application); claims 1-15 of 18/522424; claims 1-20 of 18/522443; claims 1-20 of 18/522477; or claims 1-20 of 18/522382. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 and 7-20 of copending Application No. 18/522451 (reference application); claims 1-15 of 18/522424; claims 1-20 of 18/522443; claims 1-20 of 18/522477; or claims 1-20 of 18/522382 encompass the material limitations of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition containing a treatment adjunct, a population of delivery particles, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because claims 1-5 and 7-20 of copending Application No. 18/522451 (reference application); claims 1-15 of 18/522424; claims 1-20 of 18/522443; claims 1-20 of 18/522477, or claims 1-20 of 18/522382 suggest a composition containing a treatment adjunct, a population of delivery particles, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,624,316. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,624,316.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition containing a treatment adjunct, a population of delivery particles, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,624,316 suggest a composition containing a treatment adjunct, a population of delivery particles, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/July 18, 2026