DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, “the latter” should be changed to “the vacuum feeder”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4, “the pealing means” should be changed to “the peeling means”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “the runaway” should be changed to “the runway”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-5 and 7-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the blowing direction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as “a blowing direction”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the working surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as “a working surface”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the axis of rotation" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as “an axis of rotation”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the axis of the pressure roller" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be interpreted as “an axis of the pressure roller”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the mould" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as “the at least one mould”. This should be changed in line 8 as well.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the part forming the outer surface" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as “a part forming an outer surface”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the working direction" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as “a working direction”.
The term “thin” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As a result, a thickness of plate required by the claim is not defined.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the working surface" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as “a working surface”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the working edge" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as “a working edge”.
The term “low” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As a result, the distance the working edge must be placed above .
Claim 5 recites “it” in line 5, but does not define whether this refers to the peeling means or the vacuum feeder.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the plane of the working surface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as “a plane of a working surface”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the mechanism of the winder" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This will be read as “the winder”.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “peeling means” in claim 8 recites the generic placeholder “means” coupled with the functional modifier “peeling” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 20, shown in figure 3, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (CN 113978871; citations to translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN teaches a label application apparatus comprising a dispenser that is connected to a vacuum feeder 8 that is connected to a winder, where the vacuum feeder includes a housing and a perforated tape 81 stretched over shafts connected to a drive 84, and the winder comprises a mold 51, pressure roller 71, and winder drive 63 (figs. 1 and 5-6; p. 3, last paragraph; p. 4, para. 3; p. 5, para. 2). CHEN does not explicitly teach the vacuum feeder comprises a vacuum generator, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a vacuum generator in the vacuum feeder to perform the vacuum function.
Regarding claim 5, CHEN teaches the dispenser comprises a first spool 31, second spool 32, plural rollers, a tensioner, and a thin plate peeling means parallel and above the working surface of the vacuum feeder (fig. 7). Chen does not explicitly describe a winding and unwinding drive, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include drives to drive the rollers in order to automate the process (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 6, CHEN does not explicitly teach a vacuum generator power control, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a means of initiating the suction and stopping the suction when operation is complete.
Regarding claim 8, CHEN teaches peeling a label above a working surface of a vacuum feeder, sucking the label to the surface of the vacuum feeder, placing a container on a mold of a winder, pressing and rotating the mold to press the container against a pressure roller, moving the label with the vacuum feeder from the dispenser to the winder, placing the label on the winder mechanism via the vacuum feeder, and gluing the label to the container by pressing them together with the pressure roller (p. 5, para. 2; figs. 5 and 7). CHEN does not explicitly disclose a winder drive, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a drive to perform the driving function disclosed.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HARTE (US 2007/0113965).
Regarding claim 2, CHEN does not teach that the vacuum generator comprises a fan mounted in a worktop under a working surface of the perforated tape. HARTE teaches another method of applying self-adhesive labels to containers utilizing a vacuum feeder, wherein the vacuum generator comprises plural fans 78 mounted in a worktop 70 below the tape feeder (para. 33; fig. 1) such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a fan in the worktop as the vacuum generator of CHEN because fans were common suction means in the web processing art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 3, CHEN does not teach that the housing extends below the working surface to form a trough with a side channel fan pneumatically connected to the housing. HARTE teaches the vacuum generator comprises a fan below the work surface para. 33; fig. 1, where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a fan in the housing as a well-known means of vacuum generation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to move the fans to the side channel as there would have been a reasonable expectation of producing the same suction function (MPEP 2141).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest a device as claimed wherein the winder comprises a variable position head on which the mould is replaceably installed on the head, or wherein the winder comprises a runaway consisting of a flat surface and a proximity sensor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: DEMOLINO et al. (US 6,095,218), REED (US 4,475,969), AUSTERMEIER (US 2009/0020223), STERNBERG (US 2013/0175418), HORNG et al. (US 2006/0096999), CHAMBERLAIN et al. (US 5,614,278), HOLBROOK et al. (US 4,332,635), HOLLIS et al. (US 2007/0107187), YOSHIMI et al. (US 5,908,590), NEDBLAKE et al. (US 5,487,807), BUSSE et al. (US 2019/0185195), and VEGA et al. (US 11,254,461).
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745