DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This Office Action is in response to the Amendments of 03/12/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1 and 3 have been amended, no claims have been canceled, and claim 9 has been added. Thus, claims 1-9 are presently pending in this application.
Specification
3. In light of Amendments/Remarks of 03/12/2026, the objection to the Specification set forth in the Office Action of 01/15/2026, is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over NISHIBORI et al. (hereinafter “NISHIBORI”) (Pub. No.: US 2017/0259647 A1) in view of YAMASHITA et al. (hereinafter “YAMASHITA”) (JP2018168769 (A), English translation appended).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, NISHIBORI discloses an electric compressor (electric compressor 10, as shown in annotated Figure 1 and/or electric compressor 110, as shown in annotated Figure 2) comprising:
an electric motor (motor 12, see Paragraphs [0005]& [0020]-[0024]);
a compression mechanism (compression unit 14, as discussed in Paragraphs [0020] & [0022] & [0024]) driven by the electric motor (compression unit 14 is driven by motor 12 to execute compression work, as stated in Paragraph [0020]);
an inverter (inverter unit 16 for driving motor 12, as presented in Paragraphs [0020] & [0023]-[0024]) that drives the electric motor (inverter unit 16 is surely driving motor 12);
a casing (housing 18 for accommodating the motor, the compression unit, and the inverter unit, as discussed in Paragraph [0024] and/or housing 118, which, as stated in Paragraph [0042], is integrally provided with mounting legs 118a, 118b) in which the electric motor, the compression mechanism, and the inverter are housed (housing 18 is including first internal space 18a accommodating motor 12 and compression unit 14, and second internal space 18b accommodating inverter unit 16, as stated in Paragraph [0024]).
Particularly, NISHIBORI demonstrates the electric compressor 10 that, as stated in Paragraph [0024], “includes housing 18 for accommodating motor 12, compression unit 14, and inverter unit 16. Housing 18 includes first internal space 18a accommodating motor 12 and compression unit 14, and second internal space 18b accommodating inverter unit 16. In addition, addition, housing 18 is mounted with cover 20 which closes second internal space 18 b accommodating inverter unit 16”.
Likewise, in Paragraphs [0044]-[0045], NISHIBORI further notes that: As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, mounting leg 130 includes vehicle fixing part 130a which is to be fixed to a vehicle, and cover fixing parts 130b to 130d, each of which is shaped like a cantilever beam and extends from vehicle fixing part 130a to be fixed to cover 120. In the present exemplary embodiment, through hole 130e, through which a shaft of a bolt (not shown) is passed for fixing electric compressor 110 to the vehicle, is formed in vehicle fixing part 130a of mounting leg 130. Through hole 130 e of vehicle fixing part 130a extends in a fore-and-aft direction of the vehicle (along a Y-axis).
Notably, in Paragraphs [0025]-[0026], NISHIBORI performs as how: A plurality of mounting legs 18c, 18d, 20a are provided to electric compressor 10 for mounting electric compressor 10 to the vehicle. In the present exemplary embodiment, electric compressor 10 has three mounting legs. Two mounting legs 18c, 18d are provided on outer peripheral surface 18e of housing 18. In the present exemplary embodiment, these two mounting legs 18c, 18d are provided integrally with outer peripheral surface 18e of housing 18 in the height direction of the vehicle (along the Z-axis) to be opposite to compression unit 14 accommodated by housing 18.
Then, in Paragraphs [0027]-[0028], NISHIBORI details that: remaining mounting leg 20a is provided integrally with outer surface 20b of cover 20 which closes second internal space 18 b accommodating inverter unit 16. Through holes 18f, 18g, 20c, each of which allows a shaft of bolt 22 to pass, are formed in mounting legs 18c, 18d, 20a, respectively. In the present exemplary embodiment, through holes 18f, 18g, 20c extend in the fore-and-aft direction of the vehicle (along the Y-axis). In other words, electric compressor 10 is mounted to a designated position such as an engine (not shown) of the vehicle in the fore-and-aft direction of the vehicle by bolts 22 passing through respective through holes 18f, 18g, 20c of mounting legs 18c, 18d, 20a.
Similarly, in Paragraphs [0046]-[0047], NISHIBORI also states that: mounting legs 118a and mounting legs 118a, 118b provided integrally with housing 118 extend in the fore-and-aft direction of the vehicle (along the Y-axis). Through holes 118c, 118d through which shafts of bolts (not shown) pass for fixing electric compressor 110 to the vehicle are formed in mounting legs 118a, 118b, respectively. By means of such mounting legs 118a, 118b, 130, electric compressor 110 is mounted to a designated position of the vehicle in the fore-and-aft direction of the vehicle (along the Y-axis).
Clearly, disclosing the arrangement of the mounting legs 18c, 18d, 20a and/or mounting legs 118a, 118b, 130, NISHIBORI specifically teaches a mounting portion MP10 and/or mounting portion MP110 that is formed in the casing C10 and/or C110 mounting the casing C10 and/or C110 of the electrical compressor 10 and/or 110, respectively, on a predetermined object or vehicle, as instantly claimed.
Essentially, as seen immediately above, NISHIBORI’s electrical compressor is designed such that the mounting portion MP10 and/or MP110 that is formed in the casing and mounts the casing on a predetermined object or vehicle, wherein the casing C10 and/or C110 includes a motor casing in which the electric motor is housed, a compression mechanism casing in which the compression mechanism is housed, and an inverter casing in which the inverter is housed, and the mounting portion MP10 includes a first mounting leg provided in the compression mechanism casing and a second mounting leg provided in the inverter casing 20a.
However, although NISHIBORI discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he is still silent as to the fact that the casing is being separated into the motor casing, the compression mechanism casing, and the inverter casing.
Nonetheless, YAMASHITA in the same field of endeavor teaches another electric compressor, wherein, as stated in Abstract, a housing includes a first housing 110 which has a generally cylindrical motor storage portion 111 housing a motor portion; and a second housing which is fastened with the first housing 110 by a fastening member.
YAMASHITA, in Paragraph [0006], successfully teaches that: The housing includes a first housing having a substantially cylindrical motor housing portion for housing the motor unit, and a second housing fastened to the first housing by a fastening member. The first housing has a flange portion on the second housing side that protrudes outward from the motor housing portion and has a hole in which a fastening member is arranged inside.
YAMASHITA, in Paragraph [0015], then goes on to describe how: The housing 100h includes a first housing which is a motor housing 110, an inverter housing 120, and a second housing which is a compressor housing 130. Each of the motor housing 110, inverter housing 120, and compressor housing 130 has a bottomed cylindrical shape. An inverter housing 120 is connected to one end of the motor housing 110, and a compressor housing 130 is connected to the other end of the motor housing 110.
Clearly, YAMASHITA explicitly teaches as how the housing 100h is being separated into the first or motor casing 110 for housing the motor and second or compressor housing 130 for housing the compressor and inverter housing 120 while being integrally fastened to each other by bolts 190.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using motor/compressor/inventor housings that are connected to each other, as taught by YAMASHITA, to the electric compressor of NISHIBORI, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of motor/compressor/inventor housings that are separated from each other and/or being formed in the housing of the electric compressor to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further control compression capacity that is applied to the electric compressor. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that the casing of the electric compressor would be further being separated into the motor casing, the compression mechanism casing, and the inverter casing and/or the motor casing, the compression mechanism casing and the inverter casing would be further integrally fastened by a fastening device to further constitute the casing, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 2, NISHIBORI and YAMASHITA substantially disclose the electric compressor, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraphs [0026]-[0027], NISHIBORI specifically teaches that: Two mounting legs 18c , 18d are provided on outer peripheral surface 18e of housing 18 . In the present exemplary embodiment, these two mounting legs 18c, 18d are provided integrally with outer peripheral surface 18e of housing 18 in the height direction of the vehicle (along the Z - axis) to be opposite to compression unit 14 accommodated by housing 18. On the other hand, remaining mounting leg 20a is provided integrally with outer surface 20b of cover 20 which closes second internal space 18b accommodating inverter unit 16.
Similarly, as shown in annotated Figure 2, NISHIBORI states that: cover 120 is provided with, on its outer surface 120a, mounting leg 130 which is separate from cover 120, and housing 118 is integrally provided with mounting legs 118a, 118b.
However, although the combination of NISHIBORI/ YAMASHITA discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that the number of the first mounting legs is one and/or the number of the second mounting legs is two.
Note that as a result of the teaching of NISHIBORI/ YAMASHITA, all of the claimed elements, i.e., the number of the first mounting legs is one and/or the number of the second mounting legs is two, were known in the art and result merely in a rearrangement of the position of the two first mounting legs and/or one second mounting leg in the casing. One skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed with no substantive change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) (citing Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976): "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. [W]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious."
Consequently, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the number of the first mounting legs would be further being one and the number of the second mounting legs would be further being two, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 3, NISHIBORI and YAMASHITA substantially disclose the electric compressor, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, in Paragraph [0028], NISHIBORI teaches that: Through holes 18f, 18g, 20c, each of which allows a shaft of bolt 22 to pass, are formed in mounting legs 18c, 18d, 20a, respectively. In the present exemplary embodiment, through holes 18f, 18g, 20 c extend in the fore-and-aft direction of the vehicle (along the Y-axis). In other words, electric compressor 10 is mounted to a designated position such as an engine (not shown) of the vehicle in the fore-and-aft direction of the vehicle by bolts 22 passing through respective through holes 18f, 18g, 20c of mounting legs 18c, 18d, 20a.
Specifically, in Paragraphs [0044]-[0045], NISHIBORI teaches as how: mounting leg 130 includes vehicle fixing part 130a which is to be fixed to a vehicle, and cover fixing parts 130b to 130d, each of which is shaped like a cantilever beam and extends from vehicle fixing part 130 a to be fixed to cover 120. In the present exemplary embodiment, through hole 130e, through which a shaft of a bolt (not shown) is passed for fixing electric compressor 110 to the vehicle, is formed in vehicle fixing part 130a of mounting leg 130. Through hole 130e of vehicle fixing part 130a extends in a fore-and-aft direction of the vehicle (along a Y-axis).
More specifically, in Paragraph [0050], NISHIBORI further states: through holes 130f to 130h extending in a width direction of the vehicle (along an X-axis) are formed in three cover fixing parts 130b to 130 d of mounting leg 130, respectively. On the other hand, bosses 120b to 120d of cover 120 are formed with, in their top faces, respective female screw holes 120e to 120g extending in the width direction of the vehicle. Mounting leg 130 is mounted to cover 120 by engagement of bolts (not shown) passing through respective through holes 130f to 130 of three cover fixing parts 130b to 130d with respective female screw holes 120e to 120g of bosses 120b to 120d.
Likewise, as best seen immediately above, NISHIBORI evidently illustrates as how a seat portion SP having a seating face SF that would be necessarily in contact with the object or vehicle while being formed at a distal end of the first mounting leg 18c & 118a &118b and the second mounting leg 20a &120, and a female screw is formed in the seat portion.
Furthermore, with respect to the particular relationship, as stated in claim 3, i.e., “the seating face of the first mounting leg and the seating face of the second mounting leg are located on an equal virtual plane”, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the "preferred" or "optimum" positioning, that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the intended use and the dimensions of the device, etc. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 8, NISHIBORI and YAMASHITA substantially disclose the electric compressor, as claimed and detailed above.
Furthermore, with respect to the particular relationship, as stated in claim 8, i.e., “the object is located above the casing and/or the casing is suspended below the object via the mounting portion”, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the "preferred" or "optimum" positioning, that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the intended use and the dimensions of the device, etc. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
8. Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over NISHIBORI in view of YAMASHITA, and further in view of TETSUYA et al. (hereinafter “TETSUYA”) (Pub. No.: JP 2019/178673 (A), English translation appended).
Regarding claim 4, NISHIBORI and YAMASHITA substantially disclose the electric compressor, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, as best seen immediately above, NISHIBORI evidently demonstrates as how the inverter casing 20 and/or 120 protrudes toward an object side from an outer surface of the compression mechanism casing and an outer surface of the motor casing.
Further, as shown in annotated Figure 2, NISHIBORI explicitly exhibits as how a total length of the first mounting leg 118b is being longer than a total length of the second mounting leg 130.
Although the combination of NISHIBORI and YAMASHITA discloses the vast majority of the Applicant’s claimed invention, it does not explicitly disclose that the first mounting leg includes a leg main body formed in a columnar shape and/or a reinforcing rib extending in a leg portion lateral direction along an outer surface of the leg main body.
Nevertheless, TETSUYA in the same field of endeavor teaches another motor compressor, very similar to that seen in annotated Figures 1&2 of NISHIBORI, and performs how: ribs extending from the outer surfaces of the mounting legs to the outer surface of the top plate in a second direction intersecting a first direction in which the bolt insertion holes pass through the mounting legs; the switching element is arranged in an element arrangement area set on the substrate; and the rib is arranged in a position where at least a portion of the rib overlaps the element arrangement area when the top plate is viewed in a plane (see Paragraph [0006]).
As shown in annotated Figures 3& 4, TETSUYA, in Paragraphs [0030]-[0033], teaches: first ribs 41 are provided on the outer surface 14e of the top plate portion 14b of the cover 14 so as to sandwich the third mounting leg portion 25 in the second direction Y2. Each of the first ribs 41 is provided on the outer surface 14e so as to extend longitudinally in the first direction Y1. Each of the first ribs 41 is provided at a position spaced apart from the third mounting leg portion 25 in the second direction Y2. In this embodiment, of the pair of first ribs 41, the upper first rib 41 is provided at a position closer to the third mounting leg portion 25 than the lower first rib 41. Each of the first ribs 41 and the third mounting leg 25 are parallel to each other. The tip of each first rib 41 in the direction of protrusion from the outer surface 14e of the top plate portion 14b is defined as a protruding end 41a. The tip of the third mounting leg 25 in the direction of protrusion from the outer surface 14e of the top plate 14b is defined as a protruding end 25b. The dimension H1 from the outer surface 14e of the top plate 14b to the protruding end 41a of the first rib 41 is smaller than the dimension H2 from the outer surface 14e of the top plate 14b to the protruding end 25b of the third mounting leg 25. A plurality of second ribs 42 are provided on the outer surface 14 e of the top plate portion 14 b of the cover 14, and are bridged between the third mounting leg portions 25 and the first ribs 41. Each second rib 42 extends from the outer surface of the third mounting leg 25 to the outer surface 14e of the top plate portion 14b. The second rib 42 spans the side surfaces of the first rib 41 and the third mounting leg 25 that face each other in the second direction Y2, and connects the first rib 41 and the third mounting leg 25 together. The second rib 42 is shaped to be inclined from the protruding end 41a of the first rib 41 toward the protruding end 25 b of the third mounting leg 25. The plurality of second ribs 42 are provided with a gap between adjacent second ribs 42 in the first direction Y1. The second rib 42 extending from the third mounting leg 25 toward the first rib 41 on one side (upper side) and the second rib 42 extending from the third mounting leg 25 toward the first rib 41 on the other side (lower side) have different dimensions in the second direction Y2. In this embodiment, the second rib 42 extending from the third mounting leg 25 toward the upper first rib 41 is shorter than the second rib 42 extending from the third mounting leg 25 toward the lower first rib 41.
In fact, TETSUYA’s electric compressor is certainly designed such that the mounting leg includes a leg main body formed in a columnar shape or tubular shape and/or a reinforcing rib extending in a leg portion lateral direction along an outer surface of the leg main body 25.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using special mounting leg design, as taught by TETSUYA, in the mounting leg of NISHIBORI/ YAMASHITA, in order to further improve the heat dissipation performance of switching elements while suppressing an increase in size, as motivated by TETSUYA in Paragraph [0005].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the first mounting leg would be further includes a leg main body formed in a columnar shape, and a reinforcing rib extending in a leg portion lateral direction along an outer surface of the leg main body, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, NISHIBORI, YAMASHITA and TETSUYA substantially disclose the electric compressor, as claimed and detailed above. Additionally, in Paragraph [0022], NISHIBORI specifically teaches that: Compression unit 14 includes fixed scroll 14a, and movable scroll 14c defining compression space 14b in association with fixed scroll 14. Movable scroll 14c is mounted to rotating shaft 12a of motor 12, thereby being rotatively driven by motor 12.
Then, with reference to annotated Figure 1, NISHIBORI explicitly teaches as how the compression mechanism casing includes a cylindrical portion CP18 surrounding a periphery of the compression mechanism or compression unit 14.
Moreover, as best seen in annotated Figures 3&4, TETSUYA especially states as how: first ribs 41 are provided on the outer surface 14e of the top plate portion 14b of the cover 14 so as to sandwich the third mounting leg portion 25 in the second direction Y2. Each of the first ribs 41 is provided on the outer surface 14e so as to extend longitudinally in the first direction Y1. Each of the first ribs 41 is provided at a position spaced apart from the third mounting leg portion 25 in the second direction Y2. In this embodiment, of the pair of first ribs 41, the upper first rib 41 is provided at a position closer to the third mounting leg portion 25 than the lower first rib 41. Each of the first ribs 41 and the third mounting leg 25 are parallel to each other. The tip of each first rib 41 in the direction of protrusion from the outer surface 14e of the top plate portion 14b is defined as a protruding end 41a. The tip of the third mounting leg 25 in the direction of protrusion from the outer surface 14e of the top plate 14b is defined as a protruding end 25b. The dimension H1 from the outer surface 14e of the top plate 14b to the protruding end 41a of the first rib 41 is smaller than the dimension H2 from the outer surface 14e of the top plate 14b to the protruding end 25b of the third mounting leg 25 (see Paragraphs [0030]-[0031]).
In addition, as best seen in annotated Figures 3&4, TETSUYA explicitly exhibits as how the combination of reinforcing ribs RR of the first mounting leg includes a first rib or second ribs 42 extending in the leg portion lateral direction along a motor casing side portion and a second rib or upper first rib 41 and a third rib or lower first rib 41 that are being orthogonal to the first rib, which is defined by the second rib 42, and/or how the first rib 42, the second or upper first rib 41, and the third or lower first rib 41 are directly and/or indirectly being formed away from an outer surface of the leg main body 21 toward the cylindrical portion of the compression mechanism casing.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using the rib arrangement, as taught by TETSUYA, in the mounting leg of NISHIBORI/ YAMASHITA/ TETSUYA, in order to further improve the heat dissipation performance, as motivated by TETSUYA in Paragraph [0005].
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that the reinforcing rib of the first mounting leg would be further including a first rib that would be further extending in the leg portion lateral direction along a motor casing side portion of an outer surface of the leg main body and a second rib and a third rib would be further being orthogonal to the first rib and/or the first rib, the second rib, and the third rib would be further being formed away from an outer surface of the leg main body toward the cylindrical portion of the compression mechanism casing, as instantly claimed.
However, although the combination of NISHIBORI/ YAMASHITA/TETSUYA discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it does not explicitly disclose that the motor casing is provided between the compression mechanism casing and the inverter casing.
Nevertheless, as best seen immediately above, TETSUYA successfully teaches as how the motor casing is provided between the compression mechanism casing and the inverter casing.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arrangement of the electric motor casing of the Figure 1 embodiment of NISHIBORI to be positioned between the compression mechanism casing and the inverter casing as taught by the Figures 1 of TETSUYA because it has been held that merely rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art - MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C).
Regarding claim 7, NISHIBORI, YAMASHITA and TETSUYA substantially disclose the electric compressor, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraphs [0031]-[0032], TETSUYA specifically teaches that: Each of the first ribs 41 and the third mounting leg 25 are parallel to each other. The tip of each first rib 41 in the direction of protrusion from the outer surface 14e of the top plate portion 14b is defined as a protruding end 41a. The tip of the third mounting leg 25 in the direction of protrusion from the outer surface 14e of the top plate 14b is defined as a protruding end 25b. The dimension H1 from the outer surface 14e of the top plate 14b to the protruding end 41a of the first rib 41 is smaller than the dimension H2 from the outer surface 14e of the top plate 14b to the protruding end 25b of the third mounting leg 25. A plurality of second ribs 42 are provided on the outer surface 14 e of the top plate portion 14 b of the cover 14, and are bridged between the third mounting leg portions 25 and the first ribs 41. Each second rib 42 extends from the outer surface of the third mounting leg 25 to the outer surface 14e of the top plate portion 14b. The second rib 42 spans the side surfaces of the first rib 41 and the third mounting leg 25 that face each other in the second direction Y2, and connects the first rib 41 and the third mounting leg 25 together. The second rib 42 is shaped to be inclined from the protruding end 41a of the first rib 41 toward the protruding end 25b of the third mounting leg 25. The plurality of second ribs 42 are provided with a gap between adjacent second ribs 42 in the first direction Y1.
Most importantly, however, is the specific arrangement and/or structure of the mounting ribs, wherein, as best seen in annotated Figure 4, a rib main body is certainly formed so as to be away from an outer surface of the leg main body toward the cylindrical portion of the compression mechanism casing and/or a rib root or rib root portion RRP connecting the rib main body to an outer surface of the cylindrical portion of the compression mechanism casing.
As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a rib main body and/or rib roots, as taught by TETSUYA, to the mounting ribs of NISHIBORI/ YAMASHITA/TETSUYA, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of ribs and/or rib mane bodies and/or rib roots in a mounting portion to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further improve the connecting portion. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably appraised that the first rib would be further including a rib main body that would be further formed so as to be away from an outer surface of the leg main body toward the cylindrical portion of the compression mechanism casing and/or a rib root RRP that would be further connecting the rib main body to an outer surface of the cylindrical portion of the compression mechanism casing and/or the rib root RRP would be further extending from the outer surface of the leg main body to a motor-casing-side end face position of the cylindrical portion, as instantly claimed.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. Further, the Examiner notes that the newly applied reference addresses the applicant's arguments as set forth in the above rejections.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746