DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Damnjanovic et al. (US 2023/0254702 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Damnjanovic et al. (figures 1 and 2) disclose a system (base station 105, 200), comprising: at least one baseband unit entity (baseband unit (BBU), central unit (CU) 210); a plurality of radio units (remote radio head (RRH)) including: at least one donor radio unit (distributed unit (DU) 230) communicatively coupled to the at least one baseband unit entity via a wired connection; and at least one mesh radio unit (radio unit (RU) 240) communicatively coupled to the at least one donor radio unit via a wireless connection, wherein the at least one mesh radio unit is communicatively coupled to the at least one baseband unit entity via the at least one donor radio unit (paragraphs [0057] and [0058]); and a plurality of antennas communicatively coupled to the plurality of radio units, wherein each respective radio unit of the plurality of radio units is communicatively coupled to a respective subset of the plurality of antennas; wherein the at least one baseband unit entity, the plurality of radio units, and the plurality of antennas are configured to implement a base station for wirelessly communicating with user equipment (UE 115) (figures 1 and 2); wherein the at least one donor radio unit is configured to communicate fronthaul communications (fronthaul link) with the at least one mesh radio unit over the wireless connection (paragraphs [0059]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Damnjanovic et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the wireless connection is implemented using licensed spectrum, shared licensed spectrum, and/or unlicensed spectrum (paragraphs [0003], [0004] and [0052]).
Regarding claim 9, Damnjanovic et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one baseband unit entity includes: one or more central units and one or more distributed units, wherein the at least one donor radio unit is communicatively coupled to the one or more distributed units via the wired connection; or a baseband controller, wherein the at least one donor radio unit is communicatively coupled to the baseband controller via the wired connection (paragraphs [0057]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 11, Damnjanovic et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of radio units includes a plurality of donor radio units (figure 2A, left and right DU 230), wherein the plurality of radio units includes a first mesh radio unit (left RU 240) and a second mesh radio unit (right RU 240), wherein the first mesh radio unit is communicatively coupled to a first subset of the plurality of donor radio units (left DU 230), wherein the second mesh radio unit is communicatively coupled to a second subset of the plurality of donor radio units (right DU 230) different than the first subset of the plurality of donor radio units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damnjanovic et al. in view of Xie et al. (US 9,882,803 B2)
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Damnjanovic et al. disclose the system of claim 1 above. Damnjanovic et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless connection between the at least one mesh radio unit and the at least one donor radio unit is implemented using in-band channels, wherein the in-band channels are also used for wireless communications between the at least one donor radio unit and user equipment or out-of-band channels, wherein the out-of-band channels are not used for wireless communications between the at least one donor radio unit and user equipment. However, Xie et al. disclose a wireless connection between at least one mesh radio unit (relay node) and at least one donor radio unit (from base station) is implemented using in-band (type 1 or 1B relay node) or out-of-band channels (type 1A relay node) (column4, lines 10-41). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of Xie et al. for using in-band channels or out-of-band channels to the wireless connection between the at least one mesh radio unit and the at least one donor radio unit of Damnjanovic et al. as a system design choice to perform the same function as providing wireless communication between donor radio unit and mesh radio unit.
Regarding claim 6, Damnjanovic et al. disclose the system of claim 1 above. Damnjanovic et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one mesh radio unit and the at least one donor radio unit are configured to transmit signals to user equipment using the same physical cell identifier. However, Xie et al. disclose at least one mesh radio unit (relay node) and the at least one donor radio unit (from base station) are configured to transmit signals to user equipment using the same physical cell identifier (column 4, line 10-41, type 2 relay node having no independent cell identifier, so the relay node has the same physical cell identifier). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt type 2 relay node with the same cell identifier of Xie et al. to the mesh radio unit of Damnjanovic et al. as a system design choice to perform the same function as providing relay communication between the base station and user equipment.
Regarding claim 7, Damnjanovic et al. disclose the system of claim 1 above. Damnjanovic et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one mesh radio unit is configured to transmit signals to user equipment using a first physical cell identifier, wherein the at least one donor radio unit is configured to transmit signals to user equipment using a second physical cell identifier different than the first physical cell identifier (column 4, line 10-41, type 1 relay node having independent cell identifier, so the relay node has different physical cell identifier with the at least one donor radio unit). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt type 1 relay node with different cell identifier of Xie et al. to the mesh radio unit of Damnjanovic et al. as a system design choice to perform the same function as providing relay communication between the base station and user equipment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 10, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Damnjanovic et al. the system of claim 1. However, Damnjanovic et al. fail to further disclose the system above wherein the at least one mesh radio unit is configured to conduct a cell search procedure using in-band channels, wherein the in-band channels are also used for wireless communications between the at least one donor radio unit and user equipment.
Regarding claim 5, Damnjanovic et al. the system of claim 1. However, Damnjanovic et al. fail to further disclose the system above wherein the at least one baseband unit entity is configured to mark packets destined for the at least one mesh radio unit, wherein the at least one donor radio unit is configured to separate the packets destined for the at least one mesh radio unit from packets destined for user equipment in communication with the at least one donor radio unit based on the marking.
Regarding claim 10, Damnjanovic et al. the system of claim 1. However, Damnjanovic et al. fail to further disclose the system above wherein the plurality of radio units includes a plurality of donor radio units, wherein at least two donor radio units of the plurality of donor radio units are communicatively coupled to the at least one mesh radio unit and configured to communicate fronthaul communications with the at least one mesh radio unit using respective wireless connections.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Damnjanovic et al. the system of claim 1. In addition, Damnjanovic et al. disclose wherein the plurality of radio units includes a first mesh radio unit (left relay unit (RU) 240) and a second mesh radio unit (middle RU 240) (figure 2A). However, Damnjanovic et al. fail to further disclose the system above wherein the second mesh radio unit is communicatively coupled to the at least one donor radio unit and the at least one baseband unit entity via the first mesh radio unit.
Claims 14-20 are allowed over the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 14, Damnjanovic et al. (figures 1 and 2) disclose a method of operation for a mesh radio unit (relay unit (RU) 240), comprising: establishing a wireless connection with at least one donor radio unit (DU 230); receiving downlink fronthaul communications from the at least one donor radio unit via the wireless connection; and transmitting downlink communications to user equipment (115) based on the downlink fronthaul communications. However, Damnjanovic et al. fail to further disclose the method above further comprising conducting a cell search procedure before establishing the wireless connection, and obtaining network configuration details from a management system before receiving and transmitting downlink communications.
Claims 15-20 are allowed for being dependent from claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng et al. (US 9,445,380 B2) disclose a method of communicating includes a relay node that uses a cell identifier that is also used by a base station having a coverage area within which the relay node is located; the method includes determining that a mobile station is within a communication range of the relay node; at least one uplink control parameter is set at the base station based upon uplink information regarding a link between the mobile station and the relay node.
Banaei (US 10,980,062 B1) teaches a base station refers to as a remote radio head (RRH), a baseband unit (BBU) in connection with one or more RRHs, a repeater or relay for coverage extension and/or any combination thereof; some of the protocol layers (e.g., upper layers) of the base station may be implemented in a first unit (e.g., a central unit (CU)) and some other protocol layer (e.g., lower layers) may be implemented in one or more second units (e.g., distributed units (DUs)).
Rofougaran et al. (US 2020/0403689 A1) disclose a repeater device for New Radio (NR) communication, includes a baseband processor that establishes a communication link with a base station and decodes control information that is received from the base station through a control channel; the baseband processor further aligns a timing reference of the repeater device with that of an NR cell frame for an uplink or a downlink time division duplex (TDD) switching, based on the decoded control information; the baseband processor further selects and forms one or more donor beams of RF signals at a donor side of the repeater device and one or more service beams of RF signals at a service side of the repeater device, based on the decoded control information and the aligned timing reference with that of the NR cell frame for the uplink or the downlink TDD switching for communication in an NR frequency band.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645