DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to applicant’s reply filed on 06/29/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-3 and 7-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/29/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II. (Figs. 3-6) in the reply filed on 06/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, and 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,913,575 (see table below). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they disclose the same structure of the cable hanger, as disclosed in the claims.
Regarding the limitations drawn to the material for the hanger and size of the mounting hole in claims 5-6 and 19-20, the Examiner submits the following. Providing a polymeric material would have been obvious because the technique for improving a particular class of devices was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teaching of the technique for improvement in other situations (see MPEP 2141, III. (C)). Further, changing the size of the mounting hole would have been obvious, because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense” (see MPEP 2141, III. (E)).
Conflicting claims
Application 18873456
U.S. Pat. 11913575
1,17
1
4,18
7
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Varale (U.S. Pat. 10927980).
Regarding claim 1, Varale discloses a cable hanger 1, comprising: a generally flat base 2 with a mounting opening 3; first and second arms 4 extending in a first direction from opposite edges of the base 2 (as seen in Fig. 1); first and second locking members 5 extending in the first direction from, respectively, ends of the first and second arms 4, each of the locking members 5 comprising a respective hook 5b-c; first and second gripping members 7, each of the first and second gripping members 7 extending from the base 2 or one of the arms 4 and forming a pocket 6 configured to receive and grasp a cable C; and a support member 8 extending from the base 2 or one of the arms 4, the support member 8 sized and positioned to engage the first gripping member 7 when the first gripping member 7 deflects to grasp a cable C (as seen in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 4, Varale discloses the cable hanger 1, where the opening 3 in the base 2 is configured to receive the hooks 5b-c of an identical second cable hanger 1 (as shown in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 5, Varale discloses the cable hanger 1, formed of a polymeric material (as disclosed in col. 3, lines 48-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varale.
Regarding claim 6, Varale teaches the cable hanger 1 above, having a mounting opening 3. However, Varale fails to teach where the mounting opening 3 has a nominal diameter of 3/4 inch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the mounting hole, because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense” (see MPEP 2141, III. (E)).
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varale in view of Schmidt (U.S. Pat. 7097142).
Regarding claim 17, Varale teaches a cable hanger 1, comprising: a generally flat base 2 with a mounting opening 3; first and second arms 4 extending in a first direction from opposite edges of the base 2 (as seen in Fig. 1); first and second locking members 5 extending in the first direction from, respectively, ends of the first and second arms 4, each of the locking members 5 comprising a respective hook 5b-c; first and second gripping members 7, each of the first and second gripping members 7 extending from the base 2 or one of the arms 4 and forming a pocket 6 configured to receive and grasp a cable C; and a support member 8 extending from the base 2 or one of the arms 4, the support member 8 sized and positioned to engage the first gripping member 7 when the first gripping member 7 deflects to grasp a cable C (as seen in Fig. 12). However, Varale fails to teach where the cable hanger 1 comprises first and second stabilizing members. Schmidt teaches a cable hanger 12 comprising a base 60 having a mounting hole 40, arms 16,18, and locking members 34,36, and first and second stabilizing members 46,48, each of the first and second stabilizing members 46,48 extending from a respective arm 16,18 adjacent one of the first or second locking members 34,36.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the stabilizing members of Schmidt with the arms of Varale, in order to provide a means for engaging a flat surface surrounding an aperture into which the locking members are inserted, as taught to be desirable by Schmidt (see discussion in col. 4, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 18, Varale discloses the cable hanger 1, where the opening 3 in the base 2 is configured to receive the hooks 5b-c of an identical second cable hanger 1 (as shown in Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 19, Varale discloses the cable hanger 1, formed of a polymeric material (as disclosed in col. 3, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 20, Varale teaches the cable hanger 1 above, having a mounting opening 3. However, Varale fails to teach where the mounting opening 3 has a nominal diameter of 3/4 inch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the mounting hole, because “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense” (see MPEP 2141, III. (E)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the reference to Varale and Schmidt above, the Examiner submits the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). U.S. Pats. 9853434 to Vaccaro, 10941883 to Bell et al., and 8439316 to Feige teach cable hangers having the ability to stack and secure to each other.
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 8-Jul-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632