DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed2/23/2026. Claims 1-3, 9 and 17 were amended. Claims 6-10 are new. Claims 1-10 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
In regards to rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101: Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/23/2026, with respect to claims 1-10 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In regards to Applicant’s arguments that “Applicant disagrees with the Examiner's analysis on both Steps 2A and 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, and further has amended claims 1-3, in response to the Examiner's analysis of these prongs, which Applicant submits takes the pending claims far outside of the judicial exception. In particular, with respect to Step 2A, Prong 1, Applicant disagrees that the claim set, as previously or currently presented, is directed to a certain method of organizing human activity. As explained in MPEP § 2106.04(a)(3), the "method of organizing human activity" grouping of abstract ideas under § 101 is "limited to activity that falls within the enumerated sub-groupings of fundamental economic principles or practices, commercial or legal interactions, and managing personal behavior and relationships or interactions between people, and is not to be expanded beyond these enumerated sub-groupings except in rare circumstances." MPEP§2106.04(a)(2)(II) (emphasis added). The Examiner has not identified any rare circumstance that would justify expansion of this grouping of abstract ideas to cover the claimed system... the invention is directed to a method which has at least one tangible output in the form of, for example, physical gates which open and close to allow traffic to pass, or prevent it from passing, and in another example, lights with specific displays and/or patterns which direct diverse types of shipping traffic to different areas within a shipping yard. Those physical features are an integral part of the claim set, as amended herein, and cannot be dissected from the claims at large. "The 'directed to' inquiry, therefore, cannot simply ask whether the claims involve a patent-ineligible concept, because essentially every routinely patent-eligible claim involving physical products and actions involves a law of nature and/or natural phenomenon." Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 2016). "Examiners should accordingly be careful to distinguish claims that recite an exception (which require further eligibility analysis) and claims that merely involve an exception (which are eligible and do not require further eligibility analysis)." MPEP §2106.04(I)(A)(1). Applicant asserts that the claims, as amended herewith, merely involve an exception, as opposed to recite an exception, in addition to the tangible outputs of the claimed system, and that therefore the claims as amended herein should be deemed eligible without further analysis. Applicant respectfully submits that the additional elements added to claim 1 in particular, by amendment filed herewith, further direct the claims to a non-general-purpose, but specifically designed, tangible product such that the claims are clearly not "directed to" a recitation of instructions. Specifically, the claims as amended further require an image capture device, and at least one physical traffic direction system, the combination of which have specific, physical characteristics which make it custom fit for a specific application: directing traffic in a vehicular checkpoint. In consideration of these claim amendments and for all of the reasons set forth above, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of this rejection. Applicant further disagrees with the Examiner's application of Step 2A, Prong 2. As noted, this step of the Alice/Mayo test requires the Examiner to consider whether any identified judicial exception is "integrated into a practical application." The practical application of the elements recited in claim 1 is the improvement to tracking and sorting shipping vehicles, including the tangible result of physically (visually or by movement of physical barriers) sorting traffic into system-output-specific locations within a shipping checkpoint. Applicant submits that the amendments submitted herewith clarify these tangible elements of the claimed invention. For all of the foregoing reasons, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection based on 35 U.S.C. § 101”, (see remarks , pg. 8-10).
Examiner respectfully disagrees, the current claims are not statutory because they are directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite method for improving shipment for hazardous materials, which is a method of managing interactions between people, which falls into the methods of organizing human activity grouping as an individual with database can review data for transportation bottlenecks to reduce physical and logistical transportation. The computing elements such as “hub, database, input means, image capture device, output device, traffic direction system, software, pass/fail signal of claim 1; signal and output device of claim 3” are recited at a high level of generality and are generically recited computer elements. The generically recited computer elements amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The combination of these additional elements are additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Also, with respect to technological improvement "claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer" does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015). Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, elements being analyzed for significantly more are mere generic computer components being implemented to implement the abstract idea on a computer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites method for improving shipment of hazardous materials.
Step 2A – Prong 1
Independent Claims 1 and 3-4 as a whole recite a method of organizing human activity. The limitations from exemplary Claim 1 reciting “system for reducing physical and logistical transportation bottlenecks in the shipment of hazardous materials, the system comprising: a placard compliance verification; at least one regulatory operatively connected to said placard compliance verification; operatively connected to said placard compliance verification; operatively connected to said placard compliance verification; operatively connected to said placard compliance verification; and at least one physical operatively connected to said placard compliance verification, whereby said at least one physical is equipped for receiving control from said placard compliance verification; wherein said placard compliance verification is capable of receiving inputs from said at least one regulatory, and generating an output comprising a "pass/fail" pertaining to a compliance status of a shipping vehicle with one or more regulations regarding the placement of placards on said vehicle” is a method of managing interactions between people, which falls into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. The mere recitation of a generic computer (hub, database, input means, image capture device, output device, traffic direction system, software, pass/fail signal of claim 1; signal and output device of claim 3) does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Claims 1, 3-5 and 8-10 and their underlining limitations, steps, features and terms, are further inspected by the Examiner under the current examining guidelines, and found, both individually and as a whole, not to include additional elements that are sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The limitations are directed to limitations referenced in MPEP 2106.05 that are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Limitations that are not enough include, as a non-limiting or non-exclusive examples, such as: (i) adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions, (ii) insignificant extra solution activity, and/or (iii) generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim recites the additional elements of (hub, database, input means, image capture device, output device, traffic direction system, software, pass/fail signal of claim 1; signal and output device of claim 3). The hub, database, input means, image capture device, output device, traffic direction system, software, pass/fail signal of claim 1; signal and output device of claim 3, are recited at a high level of generality and are generically recited computer elements. The generically recited computer elements amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The combination of these additional elements are additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Thus, even when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are ineligible.
Dependent claims 2 and 5-10 are also directed to same grouping of methods of organizing human activity. The additional elements of the automated electronic entry or exit gate in claim 2; hub in claim 2; signal and output device in claim 5, are additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ivens et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20220084186 - hereinafter Ivens).
Re. claim 4, Ivens discloses:
A method for reducing physical and logistical transportation bottlenecks in the shipment of hazardous materials, the method comprising:
receiving a first set of data including shipping details for a shipment of hazards materials; [Ivens; ¶15].
generating a second data set including identification of one or more hazardous material placards required for compliance of said shipment with one or more hazardous materials regulations, said one or more hazardous material placards collectively comprising a placard arrangement. [Ivens; ¶15]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivens in view of Bryant et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 20200253193 - hereinafter Bryant).
Re. claim 3, Ivens teaches:
A method for reducing physical and logistical transportation bottlenecks in the shipment of hazardous materials, the method comprising:
receiving a first set of data including shipping details for a shipment of hazards materials; [Ivens; ¶15].
receiving a second set of data including identification of one or more hazardous material placards corresponding to said shipment, said one or more hazardous material placards collectively comprising a placard arrangement; [Ivens; ¶15].
determining a compliance status of said placard arrangement with regulations related to said shipment; and [Ivens; ¶73].
Ivens doesn’t teach, Bryant teaches:
sending a pass/fail signal related to said compliance status to an output device. [Bryant; ¶114 and ¶130].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Bryant in the system of Ivens, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Re. claim 5, Ivens teaches method of claim 4.
Ivens doesn’t teach, Bryan tteaches:
sending a control signal related to said placard arrangement to an output device. [Bryant; ¶114 and ¶130].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include limitation(s) as taught by Bryant in the system of Ivens, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Novel/Non-Obvious Subject Matter
Examiner has determined that Independent claim 1 has overcome having prior art rejections. The reason for this is that Examiner does not believe that, at the time of Applicant’s priority date, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art disclosures to result in the particular combination of elements/limitations in that claim, including the particular configuration of the elements/limitations with respect to each other in the particular combination, without the use of impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM N EL-BATHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628