DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2 line 4, the term “thermal chemical vapor deposition (thermal CVD)” is deemed vague and confusing. The use of parenthetical elements creates confusion as to which item is being claimed. The same issue applies to claims 3-5.
In claim 7 lines 2-3, the terms “high frequency”, “very high frequency”, and “low frequency” are deemed relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “high”, “very high”, “low” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The same issue applies to claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (6,221,174) in view of Chang et al. (Surface and Coatings Technology article).
Chen teaches a method of performing titanium/titanium nitride integration (title) in which a titanium nitride film is deposited by CVD using titanium tetrachloride and ammonia (abstract). It is noted that a substrate 190 is placed on a support pedestal 150 located in a process chamber 100 (col.3 lines 13-33, Figure 1). However, the reference fails to teach a post treatment plasma step.
Chang teaches plasma treating a TiN film (title) using a hydrogen/nitrogen plasma (abstract). Specifically, the plasma treatment occurs in two repeated cycles in which flow rates of H2 and N2 were used (p.648 col.2). It would have been obvious to utilize a plasma treatment step in Chen with the expectation of success because Chang teaches of using a two step plasma treatment process for a TiN film.
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches a temperature of 450-750oC (col.3 lines 23-33).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches titanium nitride (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches titanium tetrachloride (abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches ammonia (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Chang teaches hydrogen (p.648 col.2).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (6,221,174) and Chang et al. (Surface and Coatings Technology article) and further in view of Pyo (KR 20020048268) (see English Translation). The combination of Chen/Chang fails to teach a dual frequency.
Pyo teaches of depositing a titanium nitride film (p.2 paragraph 6) followed by performing a dual frequency plasma treatment (paragraph bridging pp.2-3). The dual frequency uses a high frequency and a low frequency (paragraph bridging pp.2-3). It would have been obvious to utilize a dual frequency plasma treatment step in the combination with the expectation of success because Pyo teaches of using a dual frequency plasma treatment on a titanium nitride film.
Regarding claim 7, Pyo teaches a single or dual frequency plasma treatment (paragraph bridging pp.2-3).
Regarding claim 8, Pyo teaches a dual frequency plasma treatment (paragraph bridging pp.2-3).
Regarding claim 9, Pyo teaches a single or dual frequency plasma treatment (paragraph bridging pp.2-3).
JP 2001-507514 teaches of annealing a titanium nitride layer using an RF plasma and has been cited as relevant art. Chen et al. (Thin Solid Films article) teaches the plasma treatment of a TiN film barrier using an RF plasma treatment and has been cited as relevant art. Huang et al. (Thin Solid Films article) teaches of using a N2/H2 plasma treatment on an MOCVD titanium nitride film to reduce impurities and has been cited as relevant art.
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 09/17/2026